Disc Golf Store
Columbia, MO 
Indian Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mind Expansi0n Hole #13 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 226ft.   4 / 226ft.   3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee: This hole plays with a creek running next to the fairway on the left, and moderate woods along the right. The fairway bends slightly to the right - the basket is found in a clearing at the end.



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Indian Hills

2-4    6/29/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: kcRhyno
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: a beautiful course that makes you feel like youre in the middle of the country, very peaceful. a great varity of holes from long hyzers to short tunnels. great tee pads, well use of park and OBs and very well maintaned and groomed. a very fun course that will challenge every golfer.
Cons: couldnt find too many cons out here. there where no tee signs and at times could be tricky to navigate from tee to tee. also if you are unfamilar with the course, you will want to walk the fairway to find the basket first. it also lacked trash cans, it had a couple, but it could have used more. parking wouldnt normally be an issue, but i could see it causing some problems for tournies.
Other Thoughts: 3 of us made a road trip from KC to check out the 3 local courses. we played oakland top and back, and figured we would play Indian once then return to play the Back course because we enjoyed it so much. after the 4th hole we new right then adn there we had to stay and play another round, it really is a great course, i highly recommend playing it if passing by, or to make a small raod trip for it

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Glad to find this course

1    5/2/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: green_hornet915
Played: 100  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is at the top of my list it has the best of both worlds here. You like to pitch your disc out there you have the frount nine if you want the tight alleys play the back nine. I can not say enough about the layout take a spotter on some of the holes you are going to need one very tight holes and kindof grown up.
Cons: A brush hog could be used so lesser players can find there discs it is rough if one hits the brush on the back nine you could be saying good bye to your fav disc.
Other Thoughts: If some of the holes had some clearing done not much but just enough to be able to enjoy the time and find that errend shot this would be a great course for all to play and have fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Little bit too much love

1    12/24/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: bjfergus21
Played: 90  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Okay so the course starts off with a front nine that has its challenges and some holes are sort of long. The holes are well layed out and some of them can be challenging with small and bigger trees in the middle of the fairways. Its in a nice, quiet location in a neighborhood that you would not expect to have a course in.
Cons: Ok where do I begin? The back nine or so has shots that are impossible because the trees and the brush is not cut enough away to have a shot at all. Also the back half of the course makes it hard to figure out where you are going from tee to tee because the lay-out is not setup in a nice pattern. Once you get to number 12 you have to go into a whole other part of the park which gets very confusing. I only give this course 2 discs because the last 2 holes are cool and the front 10 or so are reasonable disc golf holes. The canopies in the woods makes it impossible to score and there is plenty of confusion on where new holes start.
Other Thoughts: If you're driving through Missouri and want to stop on the way, just keep driving to Kansas City.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good test

5+    10/4/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: shyguy30
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Front 9 relatively open, back 9 in deep woods, offers a good variety of hole lengths and shots required to play them.
-Nice level tee pads, long enough for me anyway.
-Multiple pin placements on most holes
Cons: -Signage is lacking, print off a course map before tackling. Took me 20 minutes to find the second tee the first time I played here.
-Course isn't in the best of neighborhoods, trash is often found in the woods, no trash cans
-Hole 12 is ridiculous. The fairway goes 75 feet then takes a 60 degree turn to the right. From there it is only another 250 feet uphill with a 20 foot wide fairway. By the way there are two trees in the middle of that fairway so it is really two 4 foot lanes or an overhead shot if you happen to place your tee shot in the perfect spot.
Other Thoughts: A pleasant walk through the park can be spoiled by this course. The holes don't look that tough but for some reason I never seem to score well here. Some longer holes and the shorter ones are pretty tight. Has much sharper doglegs than I have seen elsewhere, particularly 11 and 12. If it has been raining certain areas can get slippery (7 green and 8 tee especially).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 eh or neh?

5+    4/30/2006   7/30/2009
Review By: dirtydmix
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long, short, and medium holes. there even is a tomahawk throw i had to use on hole 17. I love the way that you have to walk quite far on this course. (some may think that this is a con). But, i love to get something more outta playing than just throwing.
Cons: no maps. until you learn the course you will walk around a bit on the first couple of times.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play on. By far a favorite of mine. We had a great time. The best pro about this course is that it gives you a wide variety of different holes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough on a windy day

1    4/26/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: Chucktown
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really liked this course for its diversity of hole lengths and obstacles. The first 12 holes or so play mostly through open areas with big pine trees on each side. The next 5 holes are in some open woods and some really tight woods. The wood holes are not easy, they are short but they are really easy to bogey or double bogey. Despite the name "Indian Hills" the course is nice a flat, easy to walk, you could play 36 holes easily and not be too tired.
Cons: The course really needs a map or new tee signs that show the path of the hole. Many times I had to walk quite a ways to find out where the pin is. Trees are a big problem here, you really have to be able to throw straight every drive.
Other Thoughts: Love this course, could play it over and over again.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Roadtrip to Columbia

1    10/29/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 161  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2008
8 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course offered a definite challenge throughout all 18 holes, backdropped by beautifully laid out fairways and some of the most interesting pin placements I've encountered. One notable hole (cannot recall the number) my buddy dubbed "The Ninja Scroll" hole. Row after row after row of young trees with high branches formed a copse that you had 4-5 foot wide lane to throw down. Low and pro is the only throw here!
Cons: Of the three courses I played in Columbia, Indian Hills was by far my favorite
Other Thoughts: For what it's worth, there are three things I consider when rating a course: Variety of shots, condition of course, and something I call Vibe. Vibe is the overall feeling of the environment, the ambiance. So if a course is short, long, even repetitive in shot type, but the vibe of the course is right, it satisfies me to one degree or another. This course has a great vibe.

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

7/31/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: dogfish
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It has both open fairways and wooded fairways, so you get plenty of both worlds. There is a decent variety in hole lengths.
Cons: The wooded holes are tight and unforgiving. The open holes are hardly creative. Definitely nothing fancy about this course.
Other Thoughts: By itself it stands as a very playable course, but when compared to the Oakland front and back courses nearby, this course should only be a supplement to your disc golf day.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.