Columbia, MO 
Indian Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mind Expansi0n Hole #5 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 275ft.   4 / 275ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Hole is 275ft straight ahead (blocked by a row of trees, running through the upper left of the picture. A left and right lane snake beside the row. Basket is down the row and to the right of it.

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 The better course.

1    10/3/2010   8/3/2011
Review By: mcooley
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good technical course with some great wooded holes. Nice variety of shot type demanded. I'll play this one again when I go back there.
Cons: A little tough to navigate, and I'm not a huge fan of concrete tees, but they'll last.
Other Thoughts: A better course, overall than Albert Oakland, which I've played a couple times.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Indian Hills!

5+    4/29/2011   4/30/2011
Review By: Mind Expansi0n
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Usually quiet, the fairways are often maintained, decent baskets, a variety of shots to challenge the player, nice private benches where you can take a break with plenty of shade, demanding of accuracy and good for shaping your game. Friendly and fun loving people are typically found here; B-Holes are #5 tee and #10 tee.
Cons: Trash (lack of trashcans), tends to be a bit muddy/wet, thorns and lack of top notch maintenance. Discs can be lost here, as with anywhere, but Indian Hills is full of particularly vicious cedar trees of various shapes and sizes. Lack of signage (bring a map if you've never played it!)
Other Thoughts: Difficulty: Intermediate - Pro. This is where I learned to play DG - I prefer it over the Oakland Park courses here in Columbia. It's more challenging, less crowded, and features longer holes. Bring your midranges, you are going to need them. Definitely worth playing - great 'private' feel to it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 technical challenge

5+    8/18/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: VictorB
Played: 57  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: High technical challenge, a true pro level course for the area. If you like a challenge, this is the course for you. Lots of tight fairways, coupled along with some 400'+ open holes. This course is not for the faint of heart! It offers a challenge that is unlike most anything in Missouri.

While the holes might be tough, every single hole and placement is birdie-able, no matter how tough it might seem at first.
Cons: Lack of tee signs, and trash cans, both an effect of the neighborhood it is located in - not the best part of town for sure. No updated signs as of May2012. Trash cans are the responsibility of the city P/R dept, but they have been stolen over and over again, so I think they gave up.

This course might offer too much of a technical challenge for casual or novice players - but is a supreme test of skill and accuracy for adv ams and pros.
Other Thoughts: The best course in Columbia, but unfortunately gets overlooked due to the neighborhood it is in, and the 36 hole park at Oakland.

A lot of work has been put in this season to make it a little more friendly for everyone to come play.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not what I expected.

1    7/26/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: jesse_v_m
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Not too much underbrush so it is easy to find your disc if you happen to throw it in the woods on some of the very tight holes. Also is nice because it has marked baskets and concrete tees. Also, there is a decent variety of holes.
Cons: Well...there are many more cons than pros. the course is not well up-kept and is not clearly marked. We had to park by hole 17 and find our way to the start.

The holes are not well designed as many baskets are just thrown in a mess of trees 300 feet from the tee.

It is a nice idea that each basket points you in the direction of the next tee, but the arrows can be moved and many were so that they did not point in the right direction...which is a huge problem.

There are a few holes that are so tightly designed that it is pretty much inevitable that your disc will bounce off of a tree into plenty potential poison ivy and oak.

Some of the holes are set up so that you WILL lose your disc in high grass and trees if you throw anything other than a miracle.
Other Thoughts: All in all, has some decent parts but also needs a lot of work for me to think of coming back there again. If you've never been there and are considering...pick another place.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Indian Hills

2-4    6/29/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: kcRhyno
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: a beautiful course that makes you feel like youre in the middle of the country, very peaceful. a great varity of holes from long hyzers to short tunnels. great tee pads, well use of park and OBs and very well maintaned and groomed. a very fun course that will challenge every golfer.
Cons: couldnt find too many cons out here. there where no tee signs and at times could be tricky to navigate from tee to tee. also if you are unfamilar with the course, you will want to walk the fairway to find the basket first. it also lacked trash cans, it had a couple, but it could have used more. parking wouldnt normally be an issue, but i could see it causing some problems for tournies.
Other Thoughts: 3 of us made a road trip from KC to check out the 3 local courses. we played oakland top and back, and figured we would play Indian once then return to play the Back course because we enjoyed it so much. after the 4th hole we new right then adn there we had to stay and play another round, it really is a great course, i highly recommend playing it if passing by, or to make a small raod trip for it

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Glad to find this course

1    5/2/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: green_hornet915
Played: 100  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is at the top of my list it has the best of both worlds here. You like to pitch your disc out there you have the frount nine if you want the tight alleys play the back nine. I can not say enough about the layout take a spotter on some of the holes you are going to need one very tight holes and kindof grown up.
Cons: A brush hog could be used so lesser players can find there discs it is rough if one hits the brush on the back nine you could be saying good bye to your fav disc.
Other Thoughts: If some of the holes had some clearing done not much but just enough to be able to enjoy the time and find that errend shot this would be a great course for all to play and have fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Little bit too much love

1    12/24/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: bjfergus21
Played: 94  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Okay so the course starts off with a front nine that has its challenges and some holes are sort of long. The holes are well layed out and some of them can be challenging with small and bigger trees in the middle of the fairways. Its in a nice, quiet location in a neighborhood that you would not expect to have a course in.
Cons: Ok where do I begin? The back nine or so has shots that are impossible because the trees and the brush is not cut enough away to have a shot at all. Also the back half of the course makes it hard to figure out where you are going from tee to tee because the lay-out is not setup in a nice pattern. Once you get to number 12 you have to go into a whole other part of the park which gets very confusing. I only give this course 2 discs because the last 2 holes are cool and the front 10 or so are reasonable disc golf holes. The canopies in the woods makes it impossible to score and there is plenty of confusion on where new holes start.
Other Thoughts: If you're driving through Missouri and want to stop on the way, just keep driving to Kansas City.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good test

5+    10/4/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: shyguy30
Played: 62  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Front 9 relatively open, back 9 in deep woods, offers a good variety of hole lengths and shots required to play them.
-Nice level tee pads, long enough for me anyway.
-Multiple pin placements on most holes
Cons: -Signage is lacking, print off a course map before tackling. Took me 20 minutes to find the second tee the first time I played here.
-Course isn't in the best of neighborhoods, trash is often found in the woods, no trash cans
-Hole 12 is ridiculous. The fairway goes 75 feet then takes a 60 degree turn to the right. From there it is only another 250 feet uphill with a 20 foot wide fairway. By the way there are two trees in the middle of that fairway so it is really two 4 foot lanes or an overhead shot if you happen to place your tee shot in the perfect spot.
Other Thoughts: A pleasant walk through the park can be spoiled by this course. The holes don't look that tough but for some reason I never seem to score well here. Some longer holes and the shorter ones are pretty tight. Has much sharper doglegs than I have seen elsewhere, particularly 11 and 12. If it has been raining certain areas can get slippery (7 green and 8 tee especially).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 eh or neh?

5+    4/30/2006   7/30/2009
Review By: dirtydmix
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long, short, and medium holes. there even is a tomahawk throw i had to use on hole 17. I love the way that you have to walk quite far on this course. (some may think that this is a con). But, i love to get something more outta playing than just throwing.
Cons: no maps. until you learn the course you will walk around a bit on the first couple of times.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play on. By far a favorite of mine. We had a great time. The best pro about this course is that it gives you a wide variety of different holes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough on a windy day

1    4/26/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: Chucktown
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really liked this course for its diversity of hole lengths and obstacles. The first 12 holes or so play mostly through open areas with big pine trees on each side. The next 5 holes are in some open woods and some really tight woods. The wood holes are not easy, they are short but they are really easy to bogey or double bogey. Despite the name "Indian Hills" the course is nice a flat, easy to walk, you could play 36 holes easily and not be too tired.
Cons: The course really needs a map or new tee signs that show the path of the hole. Many times I had to walk quite a ways to find out where the pin is. Trees are a big problem here, you really have to be able to throw straight every drive.
Other Thoughts: Love this course, could play it over and over again.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.