Trafalgar, IN
Indian Springs Share
Uploaded By: AdamH Hole #10 (Taken 9/2012)
4 / 657ft.   4 / 702ft.   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Approach



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    9/17/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Springs is a nine hole ball golf course with an 18 hole disc golf course. The baskets are an older model I've never seen before. They are white and highly visible which is a big help. The chains are rusty, but they have an inner web of chains so they caught great for me. The tee's are large rubber mats. They are starting to show their age but they are flat and get the job done. It was sprinkling a little as I arrived at the course so they were slightly wet, but I didn't have much problem with slipping at all.

There are a couple different ways to play this course. I believe it is set up so the left tee to left baskets play as holes 1-9 and the right tee to right baskets are holes 10-18. This is how I played the course and what I'm basing my review on. Alternatively you can play the left tee to right basket and right tee to left basket and still play 18 holes. This is a nice feature if you play here often and want to mix things up some.

This is a fairly long course since it's on a ball golf course, but it does still have a good variety of hole distances. There are 7 holes between 280 and 400 feet so there are certainly birdie possibilities on those if you have a decent arm. There are 8 holes listed between 585 and 1194 feet that are par 4 and 5. On a side note, hole 13 is listed as a par 5 but at 1194 feet with big uphill I believe it should be a par 6.

The course has great shot diversity, especially considering it's on a ball golf course. Many of the holes in the front nine play as straight or hyzer shots since the basket is on the left side of the fairway, but hole 4 requires a turnover shot of the tee for RHBH players. On the back nine the basket is on the right side of the fairway so a number of these holes require a turnover drive or approach.

Since it's a 9 hole ball golf course, you walk/ride around the course twice to get in 18 holes of disc golf. With the exception of holes 9 and 18 (see below), the two tees are quite different and present you with a completely new hole the second time around.

About half the holes play across flat ground but the other half has some big sized elevation changes that the course takes advantage of. Some of the putting greens are quite tricky as well with the baskets on or next to hills or drop offs and the basket for hole 6 is elevated on a medium sized mound.

The course is a bit on the open side which is to be expected since it's on a ball golf course, but there are a healthy amount of mature trees and tree lines to navigate and avoid. The putting greens play as OB for disc golfers and are another well used obstacle to take into account on a number of the holes.
Cons: Holes 8 and 9 and 18 are pretty bland, the second tee doesn't seem that much different that the first and overall they were a disappointing finish to an otherwise fun and enjoyable round. Additionally, hole 9's tee is too close to the basket on hole 8 which can be dangerous if there's a group ahead of you. Hole 18 plays dangerously close to the road.

Many of the baskets are placed on the edge of the fairways or tucked into the rough which I did like. The bad thing is they are so close to the rough that you could be in the circle and in the rough if you blow by the basket.

There's only a couple holes with obstacles directly off the tee, but this is on a ball golf course so what can you do.

Hole 7 forces you to throw over a pond. Those without much distance will have a problem with this one as there's no bail out zone. The lake by the basket on hole 7 isn't easily visible with the growth around it so play it safe there.

The chains on the baskets are very rusty and tees are showing their age, but they both seem to get the job done.

The ball golf course is starting to look a little worn down in a few areas. Some of the ball golf signs are in disrepair. A couple of the baskets had weeds growing up through them.
Other Thoughts: The cost to play here was reasonable IMO, $5/9 holes and $7/18. They have golf carts available for $5 if you want one. There are some drinks and snacks available in the club house.

I wasn't expecting much after reading the reviews of this course, but this course delivers! I thoroughly enjoyed the course and the challenges it presented, but I see how someone with less distance could find it a little monotonous. It's about 20 minutes off of I-65 and worth the trip if this is your type of course.

This course does cater to the bigger arms, but with the exception of the pond on hole 7, there nothing stopping people with less distance from playing here. With the grass cut so nice it's a great place to work on rollers.

I had a hard time deciding between a 3 and 3.5 rating of this course. The fun factor was very high for me and the course presented a number of challenges in different forms (distance, shot variety, OB golf greens, elevation changes, putting greens) which I quite enjoyed. These far outweigh the major cons (bland 8, 9 & 18 and some baskets close to rough) so I'm going to give this one a 3.5.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Indian springs

1    8/16/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: erkerkhof
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Longer holes, get to launch from some good hills. Good 9 holes.
Cons: Dislike the double hole layout. And the basket designs are much different than typical, and are putt robbers.
Other Thoughts: The posted pic says #6 plays over the pond... IT DOES NOT!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Big boy course

1    6/13/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: LeftyHook88
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course as it is shared with golfers. There are many wide open shots with great, rolling hills that offer great hole diversity! Also, a few holes had ice water in coolers - a very welcome sight during a hot day!
Cons: The course had quite a few muddy areas but there had been a large storm the night before so this was expected. The drainage was good and all of the tees and baskets were well out of the way of standing water. I would suggest that the owners coordinate pouring concrete slabs for tees because the rubber ones were quite slippery and, at times, uneven.

My biggest con of the course were the baskets. Im not sure if they were cheap pins but more than once they stole what would have been nice puts because the rim of the pin (below the chains) seemed to be smaller than usual.
Other Thoughts: All in all, A great course - the $8 dollars is completely worth it! I will definately be back

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good use of the golf course

2-4    8/19/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays on a hilly 9 hole golf course with thick trees off the fairways, as well as stands of trees scattered throughout. There is a pond that comes into play a couple times, including one force carry for some extra challenge. The ball golf greens are OB, adding another challenge as some pins are in the same area as the bolf greens.

On each of the 9 bolf holes, there are two rubber tee pads and two baskets, usually one of each on each side of the fairway. The course is designed to play the left pad to the left basket and the right pad to the right basket, but the other combination offers an alternate 18 for 36 total payable holes. Even though a pair of holes shares each fairway, they didn't feel the same with different lengths, and different shots usually required to get to pins tucked to either side of the fairway. Most of the pins were hidden back in the trees off the fairway for some late trouble.

This course does a great job of sharing space with the golf course without just being a wide open set of silly long holes like many courses on golf courses are. The holes offer a lot of variety, and some unique challenges with water, other ob, and some good elevation. The golfers were very polite and interested in the game, asking questions and eager to let us play through as we were much quicker. Both times we played, the course was pretty busy, but not a single golfer had an issue with us playing and sharing the course. Obviously the course is really nicely maintained, one of the advantages of playing on a golf course.
Cons: If you don't like pay to play, the cost of playing here might deter you. It's not ridiculous, but you will pay about $8 if you want to play 18 ($5 for 9 when we were there). Though the holes seem pretty different the second time around, the scenery doesn't change at all so it feels a little more like a 9 hole course with alternate tees and baskets. The baskets looked nice, but were not the best catchers compared to most professional level baskets.

The way the course is designed, you pretty much always have an open drive or two, an approach into the woods and a putt, with no early trouble off the tee. This is mostly because of how it has to fit with the golf course, but it makes for less variety. Though the golfers were extremely polite and accommodating, you will end up waiting on golfers if you play on a busy day, so expect your round to take longer than it would on most courses.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely a fun and different type of course that's worth playing, and worth the drive from Indy, Bloomington or Columbus. It's open enough for less experienced players who don't mind throwing a bunch of drives on longer holes, but has distance and different fairway shapes to challenge more experienced players.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your arm!

1    11/15/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: NSGDdoesdyes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Majority of holes are over 600 feet. This is a nine hole course with two tee pads and two pins per hole, so you could actually play 36 different holes here. Well maintained, no trash on the course, this is not a crowded course during the cold weather.
Cons: Tee pads can be slick in the rain, but if you dont mind going from the side... theres no problem with that. There is one particular hole that plays over a large pond, ill just say that if there is any wind at all, go to the drop zone on the other side of the water.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course. I played it in the freezing rain for almost 8 hours so I didn't get a good feel of the course. I would definately reccomend playing this course though. You will definately have a good time.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.