Eastville, VA 
Indiantown Park DGC - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: ShipItSayFMe Hole #7
4 / 270ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Tale of Two Courses, Part I

1    4/6/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
You can tell that lots of effort has been put in to create and maintain this course - plenty of benches, signs, baghooks, recycling bins, clean.
Cons:
Quit flat. Quiet short. A bit pinbally.
Other Thoughts:
This course appears to be the front nine of the original course, with nine newer holes accessible between original holes 2 and 3. The original holes have framed teepads, Discatchers, have some open bits (start of 1, most of 17, 18), and shortest hole being 169',while the newer holes have natural tee locations, Murray(?) baskets, are entirely in the woods, and have five holes 155' or less.

The course is primarily contained in a patch of small, intertwined trees (low, thick canopy). Throwing paths vary widely, from open to tight. Other than the super-long final hole, and one 90-degree, mid-fairway, right-turning newer hole, all other holes are sub-300'. A good number of holes need rights or lefts, of various degrees, from the tee, and some baskets are "overly" guarded by dense collections of small trees.

Navigation: From where the entry road enters the parking lot, tee-1 is to the left, past the yellow-banded practice basket, with basket-1 in the woods. After playing hole-2, a small path to the left will lead you to the newer holes, while proceeding straight will continue with the original course. The online map is quite useful, otherwise, halfway through the new holes, you might re-enter the original course prematurely - need to doubleback to continue with the newer holes

Worth a visit if you "happen" to be in the area (how can one just happen to be in Virginia's lower Eastern Shore?) If I had time to play just one round of 18, I'd play the original course, as the holes, on average, are longer, the fairways better defined, and the teepads a step above natural.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites

5+    1/20/2013   1/20/2013
Review By: GhostAcer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will make you better. While short, most holes demand precision along with a cool head. The low canopy and tight lines can frustrate even the most experienced disc golfer. Hole 9 allows for a big arm and little accuracy followed by a fun shot over the ball field on 10. After that, you're back in the woods. Most of the course can be played with little more than a putter but getting off of the fairways can punish you and punish you big. In the fall and winter it is not uncommon to see deer roaming the course. Beautiful place to play.
Cons: The summer months are particularly rough because the bugs are horrible, I wouldn't recommend the course between May and September but if you're up for it, the added foliage in the summer months demands even more accuracy. The Murray baskets out there can also throw a disc right back at you. Putt with some conviction on those holes or you run the risk of a solid putt becoming a solid two-putt. I had the opportunity to play a tournament on this course and while the locals were fun to play with, none of them had anything particularly nice to say about one another. If you find yourself in a tournament here, don't pay attention to the petty politics. You're out there throwing frisbees for god's sake.
Other Thoughts: It's a $17 round trip so the best way to go is to take a friend or two with you. I highly recommend it. It's a fun course and those that care for it put their own time and money into it so it deserves your respect. There's trash cans at every hole so there's no excuse for junking the course up. Have fun!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Give me my $17 toll back!

1    3/13/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: DonG
Played: 173  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: People put a lot of work into this. I'm sure it's fun for the locals. This course is still a work in progress.

-The designers have put a lot of work into it.
Cons: Practically unplayable.

-Can be very wet and muddy. Swampy holes and tees. Half the fairways were under water wet when I played in March.
-Extremely short, extremely woody holes.
-Confusing layout. It's very difficult to navigate b/c the hole #s don't match up. Not even an arrow on the basket to point to the next tee.
-Tight/non-existant fairways.
-Completely flat.
-Low canopies
-Mostly dirt tees.
-Some Murray (plastic) baskets.
-$12 toll coming across the Bay Bridge and $5 back.
Other Thoughts: Drink of choice: Engine coolant.

Simple suggestions: Put some arrows on the course pointing to the next hole. Number the holes. Chop down some trees to make fairways. Combine some holes to make the course more interseting.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/13/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 103  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pros: This has two courses on one park with 18 on either side of the park. The local club has put alot of work and money into sculpting this place. My pros:
-Benches at every hole
-recycle bins at most holes
-bag hooks at many holes
-Woods are peaceful and clean
-challenging and fun
-mostly wooded but a couple of open bomb shots
Cons: Cons: This is a work in progress, the course has changed over time but the tee signs for all of them haven't yet, it isn't hard to follow the flow of the course but the numbers stop matching up, just go to the next logical tee area.
-tee areas can get slippery and chewed up.
Other Thoughts: On each side the are 9 Innova Discatchers and 9 Murray baskets. If your coming from the south the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel will cost you 12$ and 5$ on the way back (if done within 24 hours.) Grab a few friends to spread out the toll and check this place out. I can't wait to get back!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Indiantown Park DGC

5+    1/1/2010   1/31/2010
Review By: Silly
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.8 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The orginal course has been upgraded to Innova DisCatcher Pro baskets plus a practice basket near hole 1. Tee pad upgrades are expected in early 2010. They will start as 5'5" X 10' boxed frames filled with crushed stone, then rubber pads will be installed on top. There are also 36 holes at the park now. Basically 18 on each side, with old hole 9 being played either across the park entrance or back to the practice basket (approx 615'). Signage on the original 18 is also completed with 4x4 posts and Houck designed signs. The fairways have really matured and been beaten back, so the course is ready for action. The additional holes feature Murray Disc Golf FiberShot baskets, which are PDGA approved basic targets. They have been slightly modified and are going to be re-submitted for use in A and B tier events.
Cons: The new 9's on the front and back are still in the "beat in" stage. They are completely playable, there is just minimal signage at this time. Given a little time, they will offer more of what Indiantown is known for - low ceilings and precision!
Other Thoughts: If you're passing through on the RT13 corridor, it's well worth the stop to play. The CBBT can be cost prohibitive for casual play, but if load your car full of buddies and pack a picnic, it makes for a good day of disc golf. The local club runs a series of monthly tournaments as well as annual bigger events (Ice Bowl, PDGA C tier event and more...) It's worth checking out! Look it up at: www.esdgc.com and www.murraydiscgolf.com
look for updated maps and info soon on the website.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Indian Town

5+    10/12/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: Gran Pa Fibbz
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun little course. The holes are tight and require that you throw well. The roughs are so thick that you disc can't go to deep. Hole nine is a true par four. Every year I work over on the Eastern Shore and I look forward to playing this course. I like to take new players out and give them a taste of disc golf. This course is actually easier for the player who doesn't throw too far. As they can easily reach most of the baskets in two if they can keep it in the fairway. The Holes are clearly marked. It is not hard to find your way away around. The only doubt you might have is locating hole 10. you have to walk aroud the back of the ball field. And the ball field is OB.
Cons: This course is short and tight. I wish they could make it a little longer. Bugs can be bad even in the fall. The closest restroom is the ball field. Bring water in the summer
Other Thoughts: Indian town is a good place to introduce folks to disc golf. You may not be able to boom one but you will be tested to get a respectable score. And that is the turth or my name is not Gran Pa Fibbz.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Low and Tight

1    7/25/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course where the pros are really, really good and the cons are really, really bad. You can easily summarize the course with the words, short, low, and tight.

Short- There are only two holes over 300 feet (one a true pro par 4 at 560 feet.) There are 11 holes under 200 feet, including one at 120 and another at 126 feet.

Low- Only two holes are out in the open, the par 4 9th hole and the 10th hole that you actually throw 290 feet over the left field fence on the baseball diamond. I believe every other hole has a canopy that you must shoot over. If you have a problem throwing your disc too high, this course will punish punish punish. On some of the short holes I threw a driver just because I could throw it lower and/or skip it better.

Tight- I'm almost embarrassed to say that I didn't birdie either the 120 foot hole or the 126 foot hole. In fact, I didn't even get halfway to the hole on either drive. That's how tight some of these fairways are. The bonus 9 holes are particularly short and tight, but fantastic practice for driving your putters. One of my favorite holes is the longest on the bonus 9, a 358 foot dead straight drive down a 15-20 foot wide fairway with a 10 foot canopy.

As I played this course I kept thinking, "Man! What a great course!" But then I gradually realized there were an awful lot of significant negatives that keep this from being a superior course. But it is so different from the other tidewater courses, every tidewater golfer should make at least one trip out here to check it out.

To really get at the character of this course, you have to think low budget and few people. The tees are almost all dirt (except the first one, which for some bizarre reason sports a nearly useless 6'x6' cement platform.) The baskets are the worst of any course I've played, I'm not sure what they are exactly, but they're like a disccatcher sport with fewer chains, a shallower basket, and a very narrow sweet spot through the main 18 holes and some plasticky (but still nice) baskets on the new 9 holes. The signs, when present, are a laminated piece of paper stapled to a small playwood sign. There was a signboard at the beginning with boxes for scorecards, but all it had was lots of pencils and ants, and no scorecards. But this is par for the park this place is in. As near as I can tell, no one actually works there. I saw a couple of other golfers over the course of two rounds on a Friday and a Saturday, but no one actually playing soccer, playing softball, maintaining the park, or working the only building around. It feels like a very lonesome place. Even the playground equipment feels like it hasn't been touched in a generation. But at the same time, there's some outhouses, a practice basket, every thing you need to get around the course (including a big sign at the beginning to help you find the first hole), and some one has even gone to the trouble to clear out/mow the underbrush on the fairways, a not insignificant feat as you will learn the first time you miss one. So a big A+ on the maintenance of the vegetation and ground (the dirt tees are some of the best I've used-including paved ones, and leaps and bound above the dirt ones at Bennett's Creek) and a big D+ for maintenance of baskets and signs. More on that in the cons column though.

The best part about this course though, is that precision is required and rewarded. Every hole is a different shot (unfortunately, lots of anhyzer for us RHBH types) and if you miss the gaps you'll need to throw a great upshot to save par. But the holes are so short you have dreams of ace and birdie on nearly every hole. Yet when I counted them up at the end, I only threw 4 birdies out of 27 holes (and 2 out of 18 the next day). I typically throw 5-8 birdies at Bayville, Bennett's Creek, or Newport News, at least from the short tees. You can't help but think "I can do better than that" every time you miss a gap.

Another great pro of this course is that it flows very well, the next tee is always close and almost always visible from the basket, but this isn't a problem like at Bayville because there are trees to protect the next tee from the thrower on the previous one, and besides, its apparently never all that busy out here anyway.

The cool "boot camp stuff" (I think it is an old ropes course) really adds flavor to the course. On the back nine, it seems like there is one contraption on every hole. Only a couple are still functional. My wife and I had to test ourselves and see if we could climb all the way up the rope hanging from the 30 foot tower. I made it up both days with thorns one day and a rope burn the other. My wife, not to be outdone, made it up as well.

The course is also flat with great trails, so it's great for a stroller. But I don't know that it is quite so good for the kids, as you'll notice below.

Cons: Okay, take a deep breath, now for the cons.

#1-This course sucks for the kids. All right, I admit the nice trails, the lack of elevation, and the short holes are benefits for those of us dragging kids around the course with us. But the crappy playground equipment, the bugs (not too bad unless you're playing late in the evening) and THE FACT THAT IF YOU MISS A FAIRWAY YOU'RE LITERALLY WADING THROUGH POISON IVY make this a lousy place to take the kids. We spent the whole time yelling at them to get out of the brush, which is the whole fun of being a kid in the woods. Despite yelling at them and wiping every bit of exposed skin down with baby wipes immediately after the round, the kiddo has already got classic poison ivy bumps all over her. Even if you don't have kids, wear pants, socks, and boots and wash your skin, discs, and bag ASAP after the round. I'd probably even bring a couple gallons of water to wash off with at the park.

#2 The baskets don't make the right sound. It's like a plasticky sound. There's no ching.

#3 The sweet spot on the baskets is pretty narrow. It's really tough to hit a long putt.

#4 The tee signs are very homemadey and a few of them are missing. (When they're not missing, they're perfectly adequate. If you've printed out the map and the hole info on this site, you don't really need much else. The only place you can get lost is the turnoff for the new nine holes (between hole 12 and hole 13.) Go left for the new ones and go right to continue on with 13. The goofy numbering is a little weird, but it works out okay. I wish they had just numbered them 19-27 or N1-N9 or something.

#5 No elevation, no water. No reason to bring your big drivers. Putters, mids, and a fairway driver are plenty. I threw my big dog over the end of the baseball field on 10, but if you can throw your fairway driver 290, you don't need to even bring it.

#6 Well, someone has to say it. This course is way the heck out there. You have to go to the Eastern Shore to play it. Just too inconvenient to get much traffic on the course. Also, it costs you $12 to get there from the other tidewater courses (Chesapeake Bay Bridge.) If you come back the same day, $5 more. If you stay longer than 24 hours and 1 second, boom-$12 more. So in a way it is pay-to-play.

There are apparently 3 more courses on the Eastern Shore. Unfortunately, they're all private. And although I ran into someone who graciously invited me out to the monthly at one of the privates the next day (and gave me directions) it's tough to play 2 or 3 courses for the average joe to make the long trip out here worth it. But hey, 3 private courses? That's gotta be a pretty hard core group of locals, which is always a good thing.
Other Thoughts: A worthwhile addition to any trip to the Eastern Shore. Bring the bug dope and watch out for the poison ivy and leave the big drivers at home.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

2-4    2/22/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: swellerdiscgolf
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I forgot about this short course on the Eastern Shore of Virginia. It is a fun, tightly wooded, flat course about 5 min off of rte 13. Almost all of the pins are visible from the tee box, and they have good, well defined fairways. It is pretty easy to navigate the original 18 holes, with only one small problem from pin 3 to tee 4, but there is signage saying "next tee". The course seems to be well maintained, with hardly any chance of losing a disc. The practice basket looks great, and they also have a box next to the first tee that usually has scorecards. The new baskets on the new 9 holes are visually appealing, and I really liked the use of color on teh hats and rims.
Cons: The cons for this course seem to be left to the new 9 holes in the middle of the back 9. It was a little tricky to navigate these new holes, because the designers started with #10 as #1, #11 as #2, #12 as #3, and then the new nine holes are 4-12. Without knowing this, I spent a good ten min looking for "#1". Once you find the tee to start the new 9, it's not too hard to follow. The extra holes fairways need to be cleared out a little more and the new baskets take some getting used to as they seem a little short from top of chains to bottom of chains. These new holes are also pretty short. I think it would have been better to lengthen the existing 18, and do other improvements to the course. The other things that could be done to improve this course are: update the old pins to the new "Fibershots", rework the tee boxes to be better defined, and add benches or bag hangers near the tees. The signage with hole info and next tee direction could use some updating also.
Other Thoughts: I do like this course, it just needs to be modernized a little to make it better. It is in a nice quiet park, but could probably get a little busy with soccer games, and baseball games going on. The back 9 has some weird boot-camp like structures that look like fun, and if you are able to get up on one of them, you can see the Atlantic Ocean. The new 9 have some trees with faces on them to help protect you from the disc golf devils, and Chupacabra that are in the area. Favorite hole(s) are 9 and 10. 9 plays across the park entrace road, so you have to watch for cars coming, and 10 plays over the outfield fence of the ball field. For the new holes, the basket colors are played as follows: 1-purple, 2-red, 3-yellow, 4-white, 5-tye died, 6- blue, 7-blue, 8-maroon, and 9-teal. This course is also mostly stroller friendly for you parents out there, but the park does not have a playground.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice terrain in a pretty remote location

1    10/18/2008   2/3/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 302  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is mostly in some quiet, scenic woods. Since it's pretty far from anything it feels very natural and I saw several deer cavorting nearby. The terrain is one of the main factors that increases my rating.
There are 2 sets of tees on 9 holes.
There's decent fairway shape variety, with more going right than left. 7 Straight/ 4 dogleg Left/ 6 dogleg Right/ 1 L shape. Most of the fairways have good routes to the basket. Hole 13 needs to be opened up more, though.
The course flows well because the next tees are not too far from each basket. The online map at DGCR is very basic, but does the job.
There's a pretty good homemade warm up basket.
Cons: If there's are lots of people on the course there could be some potential safety issues because some tees are too close to the previous basket.
Tee signs are only very basic laminated cards with the length. Some holes were missing the lengths. (I wish that some one would input all of the hole lengths at DGCR.)
Tees are uneven dirt, not framed, and some are muddy after a rain.
The baskets were only lighter weight Lightning DB-5 portables, so they don't catch as well as others.
The poor quality of the signs, tees, and baskets decreased my rating.
From the tee it's hard to see the baskets on 5 holes.
If you're not from the Eastern Shore it takes some driving to get there. Coming from the Tidewater area you also have to pay a big toll to cross the Chesapeake Bay Bridge tunnel.
The map works, but it's very basic and could be better.
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes play in the woods. 14 Woods/ 1 Open grass/ 3 Mixed foliage.
The course beauty, greens, and hole quality are all about average. Some holes are a little above, and some are a little below. There weren't many really stellar holes, and only a couple (9 & 10) that rather below average.
Because it's located not far from the ocean, the course is totally flat.

Course Level: Probably White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925)

You be the judge-
My favorite hole: 2. A tight tunnel through scenic woods. Even if it is pretty short I still took a 4.

Bottom line: I don't think I'd recommend that you drive all the way out there, and pay the tunnel toll, but if you're in the area it's worth stopping for a nice bucolic walk in the woods.

You can also read more of my reviews at the DG Course Reviews Yahoo Group, http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 LOW AND TIGHT

1    9/21/2008   9/27/2008
Review By: Riley
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good setting for a golf course. Great group of people running the course. If technical tight shots are the shots you like you will love Indiantown. This course is unforgiving and humbling. Lefty heaven.
Cons: GET NEW BASKETS.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast playing this course for the first time in "High Noon 4". The eastern shore disc golf club is run by a group of dedicated disc golfers. They course was clean and the signage for each hole was accurate and descriptive.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.