Santa Barbara (Isla Vista), CA 
Isla Vista Peace Course Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #7 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / 115ft.   3 / 154ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Scruffy Little Course In A Scruffy Park In A Scruffy Neighborhood!

1    8/28/2016   8/29/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 998  Reviewed: 948  Exp: 38.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Isla Vista Peace Course sits in this odd, scruffy park in Santa Barbara. The park seems to exist on three or four seperate sites. The biggest and main area contains basketball courts and two soccer fields. Another semi-connected area houses holes 1-5. A third seperate area has a community garden and holes 6 & 9 and then crossing the street and you find holes 7 & 8. One thing all this areas have in common is a general scruffiness. Not quite, ghetto, but mostly a needs clean up type of scruffiness. The neighborhood is scruffy with scruffy dudes hanging out. Once again, not ghetto or threatening but not UC - Santa Barbara students. The kind of scrufficans who bring a portable punching bag to the park to practice on.

The course is your basic scruffy, older, unkempt one with old scruffy baskets, old school fiberglass tee signs which have been altered and these strange tee pads which are made of patio blocks and set in a square pattern. There is sometimes a small hill just in front of the pad. Run-ups are frowned upon here in Sruffiville.

The course is a short pitch n' putt, excellent for beginners but you know, I found it to be pretty enjoyable. There are a few simple ACE runs in the 150' range and a couple of interesting holes with a bit of challenge.

# 3 is maybe 200' and gives you the option of threading your disc through a 6' wide gap in the trees or just throwing an easy hyser around the trees. Want to make this hole way more difficult? Make it a Mando through the small gap in between the trees.

# 9 was an interesting little gem, too. It's maybe 200' but needing an anhyser throw through the trees. Then the basket is set behind three large trees with low hanging branches. You might want to try rolling your first or second shot here. Fun little hole!
Cons: The tee pads are pretty uncomfortable to throw off if you want to have any kind of run up. Most of you probably don't require a run up on all these 175' holes.

The tee signs have been marked over by someone attempting to help. They did, in fact, help me navigate the course. I was in a rush and didn't have the luxury of looking around too much, so just having the hole # on the signs helped me quite a bit. But as a con, they don't have the distance, which I miss.

Park is scruffy!

Convoluted design which takes you all over the place. Luckily, there was one other group on the course and they pointed me in the right direction.

Course design has been changed but on-line map still shows the old layout. This would be fairly confusing if you were just following the map.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this little course. Some neighboring scruffies invited me to join them in their beer pong game. I had to decline as time was of the essence but it was a nice gesture on their part. A written invitation would've have been most appreciated.

It seems as if no-one does any maintenance on this course. On one hand, that's readily apparent but on the other hand, I'm amazed that the course has held up as well as it has. No vandalized signs, no baskets appear to have been jumped on. They are scruffy but they are resilient and solider on.

This is no destination course but I found it kinda fun. I wouldn't mind throwing here on a regular basis. I might even join in the beer pong games!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

It.... exists

1    8/10/2016   8/18/2016
Review By: spencervh
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: as mentioned in the title, it exists. it's nearby my house and if you are within ~30 mins, it is a playable course. i wouldn't drive from further for it though. some holes require planning, most are pretty straightforward. a good spot to take a first-timer or improve as a beginner. nobody is around so you could just use it as a practice area.
Cons: overgrown and unmaintained. holes are marked differently in person than they are on the map provided by the city's website, which makes navigation very confusing and could result in people playing the course opposite ways and colliding in the middle (however people are very rarely ever playing)
Other Thoughts: nice neighborhood course. i know it's 15+ years old and i don't think that anybody takes care of any part of it, so it's acceptable for what/where it is.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Pitch and Putt

2-4    11/20/2015   4/28/2016
Review By: ShortyToThrow
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes-quick to play
Not many people playing
Good use of land around the park
Cons: The course is in three sections-difficult to follow the first time or with out a map.
Other Thoughts: Good course to take a new player to or practice up shots. Fast to play and a putter is all you need!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short course.

2-4    2/10/2015   2/10/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 61  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 1.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short course you can squeeze in if you have 15 minutes. No one plays it. Easy for begginers.
Cons: Only 5 holes. Unkept fairways. No map on hole signs. Hole number 4 is a par 2. I mean I know it's short but still. Tee boxes are almost unusable. They are too short and I found myself going to the side just to get a run up. Super easy due to length. Hole number 1 is poorly marked. Danger of hitting vehicles due to close proximity to streets.
Other Thoughts: Kind of a fun course you can play in a short amount of time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cliche Alert: It is what it is

5+    9/20/2012   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 23  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It's perfect for someone who lives in the area (probably a UCSB student) and gets done with class/work early or has a long break
-Nice little community course to learn or experiment new throws on, as no holes are over 300ft, but there are some fun drive opportunities
Cons: -9 Holes
-Completely flat
-Minimal terrain and tree density variation
-CAUTION: Santa Barbara is very windy. Invest in a heavier driver or play it very safe on windy days.
Other Thoughts: This course is the disc golf equivalent of a pitch-and-putt. You can get through the whole course with a DX Eagle and a putter.
Don't walk in expecting to be blown away by the course layout or hole variety and just enjoy an afternoon.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Odd little park course

1    4/13/2013   5/7/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is spread out in 3 different parts of a small multi-use park. The course is flat, but has scattered brush and mature trees. These are used fairly well to create some challenge and some holes that aren't just wide open. One hole forces a shot under a low ceiling to a protected pin. There is plenty of room to make longer and more interesting shots, this course could make for a nice practice area.
Cons: There are long walks between the different areas of the course, without a guide it would be difficult to find all the holes here. The signage is in poor shape and doesn't help much. I do think that it was a better choice to spread the course out rather than play through the other park activities, but it makes for a disjointed feeling round. Roads are in play on a few holes, they didn't seem too busy but it's a potential safety issue. The course overall is very short and doesn't offer much challenge. The tees are small and in poor shape.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find reasonable lengths and enough obstacles to make the round interesting without being too frustrating. More experienced players won't need their full bag here, all the holes are reachable with a putter or mid and the lines you'll need are fairly straightforward.

This could be a nice place to work on some skills, but as a course it's not very exciting. Don't go out of your way to play this one.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 9 Baskets over 3 Blocks

2-4    12/17/2010   2/19/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 79  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 9.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course has 9 holes spread out over 3 blocks.

- It makes use of trees and obstacles when possible.

- The tight nature of the park does require some accuracy (can also be a con).

- It is nice and close to the highway and doesn't take much time to play since it is never too crowded.

- This is a great place to introduce your friends to the game for the first time, or small children
Cons: Super short, basically a putter only course. Parking can take you longer than playing 9 holes. Navigation is awful and very poorly marked. Also there are a few opportunities to lose a disc in someones back yard.
Other Thoughts: I went into this course with low expectations but I couldn't help but stop by since it is so close to Evergreen.

The course is exactly as advertised, not worth going out of your way for but it totally has it's place. As previously stated this course best functions as a hangover course or a place to introduce friends to the game.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 It's better than nothing

2-4    1/1/2007   7/12/2010
Review By: zenbot
Played: 31  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2010
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a course here and you probably only need one or two discs to play it. Perfect for hangover rounds after a few keggers at UCSB.
Some of the holes play in a small Eucalyptus grove and are actually pretty nice.

Cons: Course is separated on 3 different blocks. It is very easy to throw into backyards or the street.
No navigation indicators.
Course is very very short.
Not worth the trip if you want some serious DG.
Other Thoughts: Nestled in the wildest part of a college town this course is perfect for people with a relaxed interest in the game. If you're already in town bring out a putter and maybe a mid. If you're driving through stop south at Coyote Point or north at Evergreen.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Shorty only a mother could love

5+    1/20/2006   1/20/2010
Review By: backswing_aplenty
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Neat little course situated in the middle of an affluent ghetto in UCSB college town of Isla Vista. Course takes place in 3 different lots and has no holes over 250 ft'. Makes a great practice course if you live nearby.

The regular tees that are "marked" are really short and aceable with longer tees available that can make for some challenging options.

Decent use of the terrain given with hyzer and anhyzer routes on the last holes 6-9 around a giant eucalyptus tree. 2 low ceiling drives and a tunnel shot round out the obstacles, with 2 overhand shots available on 1-2.

There's a soccer field as you cross from 4-5 to 6-9 that can handle about 400' drives and is a great practice field with landmarks for gauging distance.

Baskets are in good shape, tees are natural but footing isn't really an issue as you're not heave-ho'ing any shots here.

Local tees/alternates can provide some longer throws in the 300-350' range, and the course just lends itself perfectly to safari holes.

You can play through in about 20mins.
Cons: This course is a relic from the early days of disc golf when 200' was a longer shot. Putter only on the reg tees. Almost impossible to park unless you live in town as the city is PACKED with cars. Need to bike in or live next door like I did for 2 years.

Other local course is much better and will provide a challenge, IV is mostly an afterthought as a destination.

Not the easiest to navigate, but you can figure it out after a few rounds.
Other Thoughts: Don't worry about coming here out of your way unless you have to mark off every course as played. If you live in town it's fun to frequent and safari a course. Will be a good warm up or practice round(s) for those willing to travel but again parking is an issue and you might have a trek ahead of you to get to the course.

I always play the course when I'm visiting just for the nostalgia as the course was my backyard for 2 years and learned to love it.

Play Evergreen for a full 18.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Forgotten Course

1    4/1/2008   7/4/2009
Review By: Vince Klortho
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It's close to my house.
Cons: Very poorly-marked holes and tees, confusing layout, mostly par 2s, lots of trash and random drunk people to deal with,
Other Thoughts: I live a mile from this course and I've only played it once.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.