Fargo, ND 
Iwen Park - South Share
Uploaded By: Anon Hole #1 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 187ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 1 Tee Box - South Iwen



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Nice Quickie

1    7/14/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: TEDIUM
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: Very short and quick course, can be longer if do the North course.
Nice signs at each tee
Surprisingly challenging for such a short course (Hole 9!)
Very beautiful scenery.
Cons: Right by highway, teeing off at 9 could get you in trouble.
Most of the baskets are a little rough (but still functional) and many have misleading pin numbers on top of them (Basket 1 says "5" for instance)
The weird rocky area you have to cross to get to tee 6 could maybe break an ankle if you're not careful.
Being by the river, and fairly wooded, parts of it can take awhile to dry after rain/floods
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was a nice fun course that you can play in half an hour over a lunch break. It has nice scenery and a surprising amount challenge to it (Basket 9 is INSIDE a thicket of trees) but it's not really enough to fully scratch that "itch" of an afternoon session. Luckily, Iwen North is at the same location and is very satisfying.

fun, technical, challenge

1    7/28/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 69  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: After reading a few review I'm guessing a lot of work was done before i got to play this course. I loved it! It was a technical challenge. Lots of trees and decent length of holes forced some very difficult shots through tight (almost mean) holes. When i played it had been cleaned up after the flooding. The tee pads and baskets were great. There are maps available online for both long and short courses, and everything is marked well with great hole marker posts. I saw the tee pads for the new holes were in already, but the baskets weren't yet. Can't wait to come back and play the new holes! Course looks great keep up the good work!
Cons: -Almost impossible to find parking because of all the trucks and boat trailers. There will almost certainly be cars parked right behind the basket for hole #2. (that's where I had to park and I almost hit my own car :p )
-Flooding. first time i came to play it was under water.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure about hole #9 which shoots up from under/along side a bridge out along a busy road with no way of seeing if cars are coming. fun hole but the potential for trouble is there...
I would say this is aimed at Intermediate and up, but saw some beginners enjoying the course as well.
If you like technical courses, this is the best in the Fargo area.

Fun course with potential

5+    9/9/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: Anon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great tee boxes
- Nicely marked, signs give a good idea of what faces you
- Technical shots on every hole
- Uncrowded
Cons: - Park is also a popular place to launch boats on the Red River, lots of trucks with trailers in the small parking lot
- Flood prone in early season
Other Thoughts: Iwen is a park that has come a long way from when it was first built. The underbrush on all holes has been cleaned up nicely and has resulted in a challenging and technical 9 hole that rarely sees play. The addition of the North course puts this complex at the forefront of the Fargo disc golf scene. Such a welcome addition. Major thanks to the designers and the city for getting this thing done.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Work!

1    6/3/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: Arnie
Played: 34  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I like the course layout.
Cons: Most of the Tees boxes are still cover in dirt and mud, from the flooding. Baskets # 4 is being used on hole # 3. Hole # 4, is dirt and mud up to the bottom side of the basket and cover up by weeds. Hole # 1 is missing it sign. No restrooms.
Other Thoughts: I walk the course for about 15 to 20 minutes, looking for Tee boxes and baskets. The course need cleaning up, and would be an excellent course. I would love to play this course after it have been repaired.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing...

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: CaptainAwesome
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging, considering the size
Great place to work on tree-diverting throws
Tee markers have good descriptions of holes
Cons: Very hard to navigate
Tough place to play if you have tree-seeking discs
Parking area is basically a boat ramp
Floods every spring, like every other course on the river
Other Thoughts: I finally decided to go to Iwen park today for the first time. Although it is very close to my house, I couldn't really see anything from the road- so I had my doubts that the course was there. I spent 15 minutes trying to find Tee #1, which actually turned out to be a nice hole. I couldn't find hole number 2, although it might have been the basket with the "8" on it. All in all, I was too frustrated with the layout after about 5 holes and drove to Oak Grove DGC to finish the day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/14/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is nice because it is short enough that having a big arm doesn't really matter. On the whole course, there is maybe 1 hole where the layout permits you going right at the hole. Water comes into play on a few holes. Hole number 4 is about 10 feet away from the Red River.
Cons: This course will flood pretty badly any time the red-river floods, which happens rather frequently. Also, holes are not that clearly marked, so it takes one or two rounds to get into the swing of things.
Other Thoughts: Not a fun place to play when it's windy as the wind most commonly blows your disc towards the water. Hole 4 is very tough if you care about your discs and it's windy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.