Cedar Hill, TX 
Lester Lorch Park - Beaver DGC Share
Uploaded By: chalos13   (Taken 11/2009)
Warning Sign



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Newbie Course

1    5/25/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: aktmjcor
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tee Pads, signs, baskets with #s on every hole. Good mix, at a par 54 it isnt a gimme. Some birdie holes, some tough 3's. Ive been playing for 5 years and I feel I could par this place after 10 or less tries. Pros would find it too easy. I brought a new player, he had fun without too much play from the rough. You will need most of you discs here. A forehand shot will prove beneficial too.
Cons: Poisonous Snake territory. One hole over grown.
Other Thoughts: Fix the few tees that are too short. Otherwise the place played well and was fun and challenging for a 880 rated player.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    5/26/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean and maintained course. Concrete tee pads. Every basket has the coordinating hole number on top of the basket so you don't have to guess which basket to throw to. More open holes and dog legs left and right.
Cons: More area to park. A better way to determine which holes go with coyote and which holes go with beaver. The signs on holes are faded and need to be redone. If you miss and land in the rough you will be looking for about 10-15 minutes and hope you find your disc.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the course, I liked Beaver better than Coyote. I enjoyed the more open and variety of shots on the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice challenges

1    4/13/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of two courses in the park, the Beaver course is a bit longer and a bit less technical. There are some longer shots that offer a chance to air it out with large grassy fairways and lurking brush. The rest of the course plays through the woods with a mix of shorter ace run chances and some longer shots that test your shot making ability without being too tight.

The rough is thick enough to cost strokes if you miss your line, but not so thick that it eats too many discs. The three holes by the pond are a nice way to mix things up with more open holes that still offer some tricky risks if you go for the birdies.

The concrete tees are in fine shape, as are the baskets. Tee signs are color coded to show which course they belong to, a nice touch in the area where the two play near one another. The alternate pin placements change things up nicely, if they're moved regularly it could offer some extra variety.
Cons: The signage is faded and damaged, many are difficult or impossible to read. That gets a little frustrating, with some longer holes and some blind shots in the woods. The ones that are readable don't have the current pin position marked, so it doesn't always save you the walk to figure out where to throw.

The tees are a bit small, and some were covered in mud washed over them in a previous storm. The fairways were all dry when I played, but a few showed evidence of being pretty muddy when wet. There are a few of the wooded holes that feel a bit repetitive, there was room for a little more creativity in lines with this much wooded property.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time at this complex, with two very fun courses that complement each other well. I played the Coyote course after the first 16 of this course to save the extra walk to and from the parking lot.

Beginners might find this course a bit long and tough, and the rough could get frustrating for a player without good line shaping skills. More experienced players will find this course a good test, with some length and a few tricky lines, and the two courses combined offer a great balance of different challenges.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Cedar Hill has a big brown beaver and shows it to all her........

2-4    5/23/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees
Easy enough to find way from hole to hole
good upkeep
Challenging
Awesome wildlife
Cons: Can eat discs
Some of the concrete tees are way too small, like they only poured half of it.
Needs real bathroom
parking lot can fill up

Other Thoughts: This is by far one of the best courses I have played and on top of it you have another 18 hole right on the other side. This course allows you to work on every type of shot you have, roller, thumber, hyzer, anhyzer....you will need your entire bag. I would not recommend this for new players because it would just destroy them, this is definitely a intermediate/pro course. And it is your first time print out the map you may or may not need it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 two course=long day and sore arm

1    5/17/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 50  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *most teeboxes are concrete (various sizes)
*park seemed mostly for disc golfers so not alot of extra people walking around
*good use of water on 2 of 3 water holes
*diverse it seemed pretty equal on open holes and heavily wooded holes, with a few that had both aspects on one hole (either started in woods and throw into open or vise versa)
*there is some good shade cover throughout, good for texas heat, but first 8 or so are pretty much in wide open
*number and signage to next hole
*pretty easy to navigate course/flowed well (but print the map from link section above)
*scenic, nice walking trail (hard to believe you are 15 mins from dallas or so)
*good overall layout and playability
*well maintianed fairways
*subtle elevation changes
*course has a good wind block with trees, in texas that sometimes is hard to do, that being said there still are breezes
Cons: *some teeboxes were a little rough (alot of gravel) and were all different sizes
*hole 9 was a bit itimidating, as you are throwing over a marsh to a basket you really cant see, and cant really see what is past the tree line (that being said it probably is one of the trademark holes)
*no stores seemed close, so make sure you bring water with you.
*a few hard to visualize baskets from teebox, you think it cant be that far left/right...it was (This is a pro for some, a con for the other, i kind of like knowing where im going to throw without having to walk to far just to see basket, yet i enjoyed the challenge)
-even though i did list some cons, i would go back and play in a heartbeat, as none of them would stop me
Other Thoughts: We decided to play both. I think we chose right as we played beaver and then coyote course, beaver seemed to be alot longer course then coyote did. By the end of the day my arm was all but gone. There are alot of hard dog-leg holes. you do come up to course entrance rather quickly so be watching

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Everyone

1    10/29/2011   10/29/2011
Review By: aggiegreg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best course that I have played in DF/W. Course has great signs that tell you were the basket is when you can't see it and also where the next pin is. Concrete tee pads are nice and point in the general direction of the tee. You can tell that there are multiple tee locations due to PVC pipes sticking out of the ground. Has a couple of signature holes, 9 which shoots over a creek bed. Which at the time was dried out due to lack of rain. But for some reason I was still able to lose a disc but find one that was not mine. The other signature hole is 17 which shoots over a pond, which is full of turtles. Course was well traveled which made it easy to find the next hole as well. Even though there were trash cans and benches everywhere there was trash on the course which is just not nice to see.
Cons: The course for some reason had a lot of trash on it, even though there were plenty of trash cans.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for all ages and ability levels. It is very scenic and the paths are well traveled and established. Course had a lot of variety which rewards risk. You have to take a lot of chances to shoot well on this course. You are going to have to jump ahead early because the back 9 are a little rough. But a course that if you are in D/FW you have to try. Reminds me a lot of Bear Creek in Grapevine, which is also a great course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/14/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: Frank-Flyer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great like its counter-part Coyote. This course is more open, for the most part especially the front 9. From 10 - 13 it gets kind of tight like Coyote. The trees do block that hot Texas sun, but that means you'll have to have really good lines on those holes or your next shot could be bad. For the rest of the course, you'll be throwing through some less threatening trees and some open ares.

The tees are concrete and in great shape, the baskets are solid, and the signs are great. The signs have the distances as well as a map showing OBs and the occasional MANDO. Holes 8,9, and 17 utilize the small fishing pond very well.
Cons: If you're playing after a heavy rain expect mud, but the bigger problem will be hole 9. If you happen do turn a disc over to the right you'll be trudging through a swamp to find it. This hole if very fun, but just be mindful of the swamp after a rain.I've also come across a very big snapping turtle there... careful.

Trash is also a slight problem. There are plenty of trashcans so this is mostly due to players not being responsible.
Other Thoughts: This course also has new short tees marked with the irrigation flags as well. For some of the holes the short tee will be a huge relief for newer players, or weaker arms. (ie. #1)

Enjoy the course, take care of your trash, and be friendly around. You'll probably meet some really great folks! :)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/15/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: Riceman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: unlike some disc golf courses that share the land with a park (picnic tables, walking path, etc.), lorch park is strictly for disc golfers.

two 18 hole courses together.

great scenery.

unlike many courses, wind has little effect because of all of the trees.
Cons: poison ivy....that is about it



Other Thoughts: i have lived within seven miles of this park since it has been opened and never noticed it. i have only been playing for six months, and i still get angry that i didn't discover disc golf sooner. this is a great location well worth the drive, and cedar hill has many great restaurants. parking lot is not that bad. my car is lowered and i have no problems.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Yet another terrific course

1    10/3/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: TerrenceJackson
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is stellar. It is well mapped out, goes through some very scenic territory, and it is actually challenging, which I believe helps build confidence. Met some great guys out there, and since I didn't know the course, they let me join their game. Overall, it was a great experience, and I will go back to play again.
Cons: You have to be really good at throwing over the pond. I threw too early and lost a disc in the pond, and then a friend borrowed a disc from me and proceeded to do the same. The pond is disgusting, and the area has water moccasins, so I won't be walking in to get my discs. This isn't really a con, so much as you simply need to have good throws on hole 17.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!!!

2-4    5/31/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 21  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great water shots! They can be extremely intimidating.
-Plenty of bombing holes.
-Some really great dogleg/tree holes
-Concrete boxes
-Has an info kiosk
-The locals are great
-2 excellent course right there!
Cons: -Can get hot during the summer, but hey, it is Texas!
-Parking lot is rather small
-#2 tee pad
Other Thoughts: Decided to go out there and play on Memorial Day. Ran into some guys I have played with at Z-Boaz a few times. All around fantastic course. The first 3 holes ate my lunch since I did not warm up. I would highly recommend warming up! And definitely bring something to drink during the summer. It can be a scorcher on the few holes that are in the open!

There aren't any restrooms here so plan accordingly.

The #2 Tee Pad is on asphalt parking lot. I slipped pretty good there. Its not bad, I just wish it was concrete. Still a badass tree hole though!

Can't wait for fall to play it when I am not drenched in sweat. :)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.