Cedar Hill, TX 
Lester Lorch Park - Beaver DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Must Play Course

1    1/25/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2011
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Where should I start? This course is awesome, it has a great variety of everything from nice long open shorts, short shots with plenty of chances of hitting some Ace's. There are slight elevation changes throughout most of the course adding a challenge. There are multiple pin positions and nice concrete tee pads with good signs showing you all the hole information. Be sure to look at the signs for the arrow that directs you to the next hole. There are bright red hole numbers on both tee box and basket making it easier to know which basket your throwing at. The park is clean and very well maintained, with plenty of trash cans and benches throughout most of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and challenging course and is a must play if you are in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area. This course has it all and is fun from the beginning to the end.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging!

1    12/18/2008   1/2/2009
Review By: Razorback Ramsey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Put your game to the test!
Perhaps a bit easier of the two in this park.
Tight fairways.
Water, Woods, Sharp turns...
Elevation (up hill / down hill)
Cons: Some holes are almost unreachable under par if you are unable to drive more then 250 ft.
Other Thoughts: The park is beautiful. Well worth playing or just spending time enjoying the scenery.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the DFW

5+    9/19/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Both of the courses at Lorch Park are top-notch in my book, but the Beaver (front) course offers a little more variety than the Coyote (back) course. The park itself isn't too far from the Cedar Hill commercial district, but is far enough removed that it feels very secluded. The best part about Lorch Park...DISC GOLF ONLY (and an occasional fisherman)!

Hole 1 on the Beaver tees off near the parking lot, and is one of the toughest (if not THE toughest) par 3 holes on the course. The next 4-5 holes are slightly technical and bring some elevation changes into play, but are short enough that a well-placed 300-375 drive can yield a birdie 2. As you walk over the ridge past Hole 7 you're welcomed by a beautiful man-made pond with a large beaver dam in the middle (hence the name). Holes 8, 9, and 17 bring this pond and the adjoining creek into play. Holes 10-13 are tight wooded shots, one straight, one to the left, one to the right...great mix! Hole 14 is simple shot, but is one of my personal favorites due to the TX flag flying from the tip of a large evergreen in the middle of the fairway. The course finishes with an over-the-pond shot and then a pretty straight-forward easy 3 hyzer shot.

All in all, Beaver offers a lot of scenic beauty coupled with a good mix of difficulty and different types of shots. Although most of the course is open, the tougher holes can be VERY tough and evens things out through the course of 18 holes. I love the fact that even though the course plays fairly challenging as a whole, there are still plenty of chances for birdies to keep it interesting.

Each hole has a concrete tee pad, nice signage, and several have large trashcans and park benches (donated by locals). There are also several holes with alternate pin placement that get changed a few times a year. Last time I was there, the city left 2 permanent port-o-johns in the parking lot...which is something this course needed badly!
Cons: Honestly, the only bad thing I can say about the Beaver course is that the tees for holes 5 and 6 can get pretty muddy after a rain...but that's really it!
Other Thoughts: Lorch Park is my former home course, and even though I've played many other great courses, the 2 at Lorch Park remain my absolute favorite. Rain or shine, this course is ALWAYS fun to play!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The Eager Beaver at the Lorch-ness Monster

5+    4/14/2010   9/17/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The two Lester Lorch courses are the bomb! Beaver is the front course. This course has it all! There are technical holes, shots over water, woodsy maneuvers, and beautiful scenery! The shot over the pond near the end of the round is just amazing. There are multiple cement tee-pads and baskets on many of the holes. There was hard work in making the tee-pads really nice. This course has metal-poled tee signs with directions to the next tee and the multiple footages clearly marked. There were trashcans on almost every hole and some even between holes (so very clean). There were seating areas along the way and stumps to set your bag down on. The beauty and layout of this course is incredible.

Update: They now have a bathroom on site by the parking lot.
Cons: There was also a hole that requires you to carry a marsh like pond area. It is said that they used to raise snakes in this area at one time and the locals say this marsh pond is home to a few of them. So clear that one! ;) However, I must tell you, I never saw a single snake. Some of tee pads could have been longer. The chances of you losing a disc here is probably not bad, but we escaped with all of ours.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is awesome! This is such a fun course; you will finish and be begging to play it again. I just hate that it is a drive to get here, or I would be playing this one all the time. Lester Lorch is just what the Disc Doctor ordered!

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 the best course so far

5/10/2008   5/15/2008
Review By: myoung
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.6 Years
9 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: this course has two courses on the lot, beaver and coyote. this is the best course so far. the beaver course is challenging, but the coyote course is a technical nightmare. you have to know how to play disc golf to play here. I met the guy who designed both courses, and finally got to meet the person i've cursed out every time i've gone to play. this course is top of the line.honestly this course is what disc golf is about.
Other Thoughts: you have to know how to throw your disc evry way possible. thumbers, rollers,hizers, you have to use them all.

9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Someone deserves a round of applause

4/16/2008   4/16/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.3 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beaver and Coyote. Two courses on the same property. Both equally challenging, but in different ways. Well kept all around. One is heavily wooded, with shorter holes and the other is more open with some water hazards. The setting is absolutly beautiful no matter where you are in the park. Great pin placements and course design. Terrain changes constantly. Very friendly locals.
Cons: Wear bug spray, no doubt.
Other Thoughts: To have two amazing courses there together is great.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1/13/2008   1/17/2008
Review By: geoloseth
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Both courses will test your accuracy. Many wooded and alley shots with low ceilings during the summer months. Excellent mix of left and right dogleg holes. Three shots encounter a water hazard. These courses will test every shot in your bag. Also, keep an eye on the wind and how it will affect the fairway conditions.
Cons: Some holes require blind luck to get through the many trees that are located in the fairway. A little more clearing out on these holes would raise the overall standard of play without sacrificing difficulty. Also, better directions are need to find your way around the courses. It's pretty easy to get lost if it's your first time out.
Other Thoughts: Having a few more alternate pin placements and a couple different tee locations would make these two of the best, if not the top courses in the DFW area. I highly recommend playing here if you get the chance.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.