Cedar Hill, TX 
Lester Lorch Park - Beaver DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 not for newbs

1    2/19/2012   2/19/2012
Review By: christogolfer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: challenging, technical, very scenic
Cons: fairways are tricky, no clear lines on many baskets.
Other Thoughts: tough course. you can throw some perfect shots that find trees in the middle. no real clear lines to some baskets. just grip and rip really. but it is fun. do not expect to score well and just have fun and you will enjoy. it is very cool for a dallas course. kinda like mclain in san antonio. not super fair, but super fun.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 a realy over rated course

1    2/12/2012   2/12/2012
Review By: z boaz ace 22
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: more open than the other course but it just cant com pare to the the other course it uses the water well and who ever layed out the course tryed to use the land well but i would have made one good course not two average courses but sill not a bad course
Cons: way over rated for what its worth. the course did not strike me as a course that was that good i think the longest shot was like four hundred feet and they could have used the hills better. but the tee boxes sucked and were way to small. basically natural tees would have been better and i felt crowded on the tee box by all the trees
Other Thoughts: this course is not worth the pins and concrete its made of

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  I love this course

5+    1/22/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: TmCHILLfromCEDARHILL
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: The layout is sick, there is a good mixture of long and short holes. Trees...Trees...oh did i say trees? Every hole has something different to offer.
Cons: It should be closer to my house. It should have less players, so i can play more often.
Other Thoughts: Great use of elevation, excellent views, and all around great local crowd. Minis are on Sat at 3pm from the teepads and Sun at 3pm from the short tees.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Everyone

1    10/29/2011   10/29/2011
Review By: aggiegreg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best course that I have played in DF/W. Course has great signs that tell you were the basket is when you can't see it and also where the next pin is. Concrete tee pads are nice and point in the general direction of the tee. You can tell that there are multiple tee locations due to PVC pipes sticking out of the ground. Has a couple of signature holes, 9 which shoots over a creek bed. Which at the time was dried out due to lack of rain. But for some reason I was still able to lose a disc but find one that was not mine. The other signature hole is 17 which shoots over a pond, which is full of turtles. Course was well traveled which made it easy to find the next hole as well. Even though there were trash cans and benches everywhere there was trash on the course which is just not nice to see.
Cons: The course for some reason had a lot of trash on it, even though there were plenty of trash cans.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for all ages and ability levels. It is very scenic and the paths are well traveled and established. Course had a lot of variety which rewards risk. You have to take a lot of chances to shoot well on this course. You are going to have to jump ahead early because the back 9 are a little rough. But a course that if you are in D/FW you have to try. Reminds me a lot of Bear Creek in Grapevine, which is also a great course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/25/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: yourmomrhymes
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent Course
Each hole is different than the one before it.
I really liked how some of the holes would start off in the trees then open up, or vice-versa.
Lots of shade for those hot Texas days
Cons: Briars and thorns in the brush, supposedly snakes (we didn't see any).
Just keep your disc in the fairway and none of these are problems.
Other Thoughts: Great course, we drove from northern Dallas down to play it and it was well worth it. Even if you don't play the second course on site, its still worth the drive.
Cannot wait to go back

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lea/e it to Bea/er

1    1/18/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Excellent layout on this di/erse property. Water comes into play, some tighter technical holes, some ele/ation change, some longer more open holes,a nd some longer parklike holes too . . . all in all a nice di/ersity of hole types.

2) Turf is in pretty decent shape on this course e/en in the woods. It almost seems like whoe/er did the design/install of those wooded holes knew to use a special type of grass seed because it was healthy under what I would think is /ery minimal sunlight and growing turf in the woods is no easy task . . . trust me I ha/e been doing it my whole life.

3) Shade is pre/alent on this course and the other course which I am sure is welcomed in season. I played it in winter and it was pleasant!

4)Concrete tees are nice.

5) Tee signs on both courses are helpful in na/igation and they ha/e all the information needed. Hole # Par, Distance, and a hole map with OB's indicated. A welcome site for a tra/elling disc golfer.

6) Garbage cans all o/er the place which is nice to see . . . if only e/eryone used them!

7) Chainstar baskets in great condition. I lo/e these baskets!!!

8)
Cons: 1) Lots of areas on the course would be slick and muddy after a rain, but the turf is in pretty good condition on most areas of this course.

2) Small parking area lot but it is only for disc golfers since that is all this park has to offer.

3) Snake Preser/e seriously . . . I wish I knew that when I played it. Seems like a risk to play when the snakes are acti/e but I suppose when I was there in January they weren't really acti/e.

4)
Other Thoughts: It sounds like I missed out on a lot of the complaints about this course because of the time of year I was there. Another perk to be a tra/elling disc golfer like myself . . . plus I didn't ha/e to deal with the 100 degree temperatures.

A great course, a great design, great /ariety, and 36 holes on site . . . what more could we ask for . . .other than bathrooms and a bar and grill with air conditioning, but that is just not going to happen.

This is on the low end of the 4.5 and the high end of the 4.0 rating, but I feel like a 4.0 rating is a disser/ice to such a fun course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/14/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: Frank-Flyer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great like its counter-part Coyote. This course is more open, for the most part especially the front 9. From 10 - 13 it gets kind of tight like Coyote. The trees do block that hot Texas sun, but that means you'll have to have really good lines on those holes or your next shot could be bad. For the rest of the course, you'll be throwing through some less threatening trees and some open ares.

The tees are concrete and in great shape, the baskets are solid, and the signs are great. The signs have the distances as well as a map showing OBs and the occasional MANDO. Holes 8,9, and 17 utilize the small fishing pond very well.
Cons: If you're playing after a heavy rain expect mud, but the bigger problem will be hole 9. If you happen do turn a disc over to the right you'll be trudging through a swamp to find it. This hole if very fun, but just be mindful of the swamp after a rain.I've also come across a very big snapping turtle there... careful.

Trash is also a slight problem. There are plenty of trashcans so this is mostly due to players not being responsible.
Other Thoughts: This course also has new short tees marked with the irrigation flags as well. For some of the holes the short tee will be a huge relief for newer players, or weaker arms. (ie. #1)

Enjoy the course, take care of your trash, and be friendly around. You'll probably meet some really great folks! :)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/15/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: Riceman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: unlike some disc golf courses that share the land with a park (picnic tables, walking path, etc.), lorch park is strictly for disc golfers.

two 18 hole courses together.

great scenery.

unlike many courses, wind has little effect because of all of the trees.
Cons: poison ivy....that is about it



Other Thoughts: i have lived within seven miles of this park since it has been opened and never noticed it. i have only been playing for six months, and i still get angry that i didn't discover disc golf sooner. this is a great location well worth the drive, and cedar hill has many great restaurants. parking lot is not that bad. my car is lowered and i have no problems.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/19/2011   1/10/2011
Review By: sheamous
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2011
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of hole types. The longest fairways on the front nine will try to deceive you, as the back nine gets tree heavy and approaches become increasingly more difficult. Overall, I really like Beaver. The course sits in a very secluded deep and woody park which makes for beautiful scenery. The hole types and design of the course is one of the best in the state. Lots of trash cans. Great cement teepads. Three water hazard holes. Great use of terrain. Porta-John in the parking lot is always clean.
Cons: Limited parking. The back nine can get a bit wet if it's rained recently, watch out for briars and poison ivy, but that's pretty typical for most courses in the area.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the drive. Sort of centrally located for all DFW disc golfers. A must play if it's on you wish list and if it's not then you better put it on there, cause you're missing out.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mix

1    7/27/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course seems to be dedicated to DG. Porta-John in parking lot. Kiosk near hole 1 with good information. Course was clean and maintained well. Another DG park on same grounds.

Concrete tee pads. Tee signs with layouts. Trashcans throughout course. Benchespicnic tables to sit and relax. Navigation through course was pretty intuitive, even without map. Some elevation, but nothing extreme.

Great variety of holes on one course. Open, semi-wooded, heavily wooded, tunnel shot, water obstacles, a few blind tee shots, long and short holes too. Multiple pin locations available.

Never once did I feel like I was going to lose my disc in the rough, though may have been due to the time of year I played.
Cons: Parking lot was tore up and small. Not that big of a deal, but worth noting.

Hole 5 was pretty spongy, hole 9 was all but unplayable due to high water over path, had to walk through woods to get to pin after tee shot.
Other Thoughts: Besides holes 11, 12, and 13, this course felt a lot like the courses in the Midwest, it was hard at times to remember I was in Texas while playing. And that's not a bad thing since that's where I live, just thought I would note it for those who haven't played any Midwest courses.

Interesting thought: If there would be a swap of holes between Beaver and Coyote: 11, 12, and 13 of Beaver fit in better on Coyote, and 1, 14, 15, and 16 of Coyote fit better on Beaver. Not a negative comment, but that would make the courses completely different than each other, however, this just makes you want to play both courses during a visit.

Overall, I had fun playing, but there weren't really enough holes that just blew me away. The water holes are more difficult mentally than they are a throwing challenge, fun nonetheless, but not overly challenging.

Couple of holes worth noting: Hole 1 is a very long (480') uphill hole. Not as easy as it looks as the trees in the fairway force you to keep your shots down, but combining the two makes for a great challenge. Hole 10 is fantastic. It's a great tunnel shot through a bunch of trees, then turns left @ around 300' or so.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center