Cedar Hill, TX 
Lester Lorch Park - Beaver DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    8/24/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a kiosk at hole #1 where you will find full page maps of both courses.

The variety on this course is excellent from open bomber holes to what some might call a pinball hole (#12) and everything in between. #13 is a fishhook requiring a full 180 degree curve to get to the basket, which is elevated. There are a couple of throws over the corner of a pond but most folks will have no problem clearing the water.

The fairways are just beautiful having almost a ball golf course type feel with short grass and large trees. Each fairway is defined by walls of dense native forest. In other words: keep it on the fairway or it will cost you.

The fun factor is very high on this course due to a combination of scenic beauty, shot variety, and medium difficulty level. I can't wait to go back and play it again.
Cons: It takes a perfect (lucky) shot to get through the trees on the #12 fairway (although my wife almost had her first ace on that hole). If the one almost dead, small tree were removed there would be a pretty fair line to the basket.

The signs are faded and the writing is so small you have to get pretty close to see the distances. This is really minor considering most courses don't even have signs.

A couple of the teepads are too short for folks that have a large x-step.

If you get off of the mowed fairways you will encounter poison ivy. This is minor considerring this is a nature preserve.
Other Thoughts: We did see a snake laying right in the middle of a mowed fairway. We just gave it some time and it slithered away.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 WOW,what a great course

2-4    6/2/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout with a great variety of holes.

Starts out with a long and hard hole with many options.

Hole 5 is a great wooded hole with open field 200 feet out.

Hole 6 is a fun Hyzer hole with many a tree waiting to knock your disc down.

Hole 8 is a great riskreward hole daring you to bite off as much as the pond as you dare.

hole 9 has perhaps the most beautiful tee shots in Texas.Throw through a gap in the trees over a marsh.Great hole!

Hole 16 offers an abundance of options off the tee.You can throw it down the middle and risk hyzering it into the pond,you can throw it right for an easy par or you can throw a roller as the contour of the hole suites a roller.

Hole 17 is another riskreward hole were the safe route is harder than the risky route as tree limbs force you to throw it low if you want to hit the safe line.

Cons: The only con I can think of is some of the holes on the backside fill like filler holes.Now maybe that's because of the outstanding quality of the frontside.

The 18th hole is a little undramatic for a course of this stature.
Other Thoughts: This definitely belongs on the "courses you most play in Texas"list.It's my third fav course behind z-boaz and beaver ranch,good company if you ask me.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Can you say wow!!

1    5/9/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2009
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The Beaver is a great mostly open course that shares the same parkinglot with its sister course, the coyote....adequate parking, port-a-john in parking lot, benches on several holes with plenty of trashcans as well....A+ for maintanance...Plenty of Variety with long, short, open, and technical holes, water even comes into play on two holes....i would say this is a lot more lh friendly than coyote....Several ace runs to amp up the "fun factor" and several longer and technical holes to keep it challenging....i would def have to say the beaver is more begginer friendly, but neither one are easy....

**Info Kiosk in parking lot with scorecards and maps.
Cons: No complaints except for a couple short teepads but had plenty of room behind most that its not too much trouble.

might be a little hard to navigate for first-timers, but theyve got maps at the kiosk
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome!! good CLEAN park, and always a challenge, tucked far away from the regular hustle and bustle of dfw....I would rate it a 5 but i havnt played very many courses and im sure theres some that are better out there, but this is definitely one of the better ones in my opinion

Talked to a local while i was there and MINI @ 3:00 on SATURDAYS switches out between beaver and coyote every week.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 09 review.

5+    4/11/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Trev_Masta
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great layout with beautiful scenery all throughout this course.Nice big concrete pads on every hole with maps to direct you to the next teebox. Nice mixture of open shots with a few trees to navigate around.
Cons: Sometimes course seems crowded since holes 1,2,4,5,7, and 8 are all pretty close to the parking area.
Other Thoughts: This next to the "coyote" are my favorite courses in the dfw area. If you are close i sincerely recommend you swing by and enjoy this course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 unique course

1    3/31/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The best aspect of this course is the variety of holes. The fact that when you step up to each hole, it is different from the one before. All types and variety of shots are needed. Great use of trees and elevation. Some holes are very tight with trees. You definately feel like you are in a natural setting playing disc golf. Very quiet and secluded feeling. Park is very clean. Unique in the fact that this park is pretty much entirely used by disc golfers as there is no other activies on site, beside fishing.
Cons: Signs could be better, seem old and a couple were missing. Shorter teepads on some holes than others.
Other Thoughts: I drove two hours to get here and play and it was probably worth the drive. Each hole is unique and playing in such natural environment makes for a relaxing fun disc golf experience.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beaver DGC

1    3/21/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The fun factor is off the charts. Holes of all types: wooded, water hazards, open, dog-legs, climbing, downhill shots...you name beaver has it. It gets pretty technical, but provides a good mixture so you don't piss yourself off on every hole. Multiple pin placements on most holes.
This was the most beautiful park I have visited.
Great signs and tee pads, plus there was a porta-potty in the parking lot.
The park was extremely clean, and there were trash cans everywhere. Places to sit were all along the course.
Very friendly locals. There was never any down time; we let a 2 man group play through us, but after that, no problems with traffic for the round.
Cons: The only cons I can come up with are a few tees were a little short, which wasn't even a problem, and the pond is misleading...I took one step in to fetch a disc 3 feet from the shore, and I sank in mud up to my knee.
Other Thoughts: Always keep the trees in mind, and you are golden. You don't even have to play to enjoy this park. If I didn't live an hour away, I would play one of the two at least once a week and probably more. I would make it a 5 disc, but I am reserving my perfect ratings until I have played more courses. That said, there is nothing like this course and its sister in the DFW area. If you are halfway decent at disc golf, you better play both of them, or you're missing out huge.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweetness

5+    2/6/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2009
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Sweet, this course tests everything you got, both in your bag and your body. Lots of different shot ranging from short to long and tight to open. You need alot of shots to score well here and have some endurance as well. Not alot of places to lose plastic. Great tees and baskets as well. Alot of elevation that is rare around here and its used very well. There are shots here that you can birdie one round and next get a 5 or worse, you can get into trouble quick if you find yourself off of the fairways that are very well taken care of. Accuracy is a must here. Consistancy will reward you with a good round too.
Cons: Long walk. Can be lots of poison ivy. Can get hot even now but really in the summer. Not alot of cons really, except for the fact that is a long drive for me but well worth the drive!!
Other Thoughts: 2 courses right here which make it worth the drive. Didnt get a 5 just because I think that there are very few perfect courses but these are VERY close!

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A "Must Play" in the DFW area.

2-4    2/6/2009   2/6/2009
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The pro's on this course and is co-located sitser course Coyote are many... There are wide open shots, tight shots through wooded areas, blind shots around corners, and awesome elevation changes you don't often get in other DG courses around DFW. The signage was excellent, the Tee pads were concrete and in great shape. One of the best things I liked about this course was that there was little to no trash, thanks to the abundent trash cans on nearly every tee box... There was even a sign on the bulletin board near the #1 tee to show you what Poison Oak, Poison Ivy, and Poison Sumac looked like.
Cons: The only con I could even think of for this course was the density of some of the under brush especially on some of the tight holes through the woods... I played in the winter so this really wasn't a big issue, but I could see how it could be with the trees and brush fully greened up.
Other Thoughts: A Phenomenal course, one that I will definately return to as often as possible. This course reqires the DG'er to use nearly every shot in his/her bag!!!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course

2-4    12/28/2007   1/28/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 104  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This a very fun and challenging course. There is a great variety of holes here...a few that are somewhat open, a few that are densely wooded, several that are just wooded enought that you have to combine both power and great technical accuaracy to score well, and a few holes that incorporate elevation change. The variety offered at this course is rarely paralleled by other courses in the DFW area. The course gives you a lot of different challenges to think about throughout your round. There are quality concrete teepads. The baskets are in great shape. The fairways are well maintained. The course is very pretty and could be enjoyed by just hiking around. Holes that stand out in my mind as being particularly great are holes 1 and 17. Hole one is a long uphill shot through a reasonable smattering of trees that requires a well placed long drive. Hole 17 is a really fun shot across the pond to a basket that is up a hill behind the pond and guarded by trees all around it...a rare treat.
Cons: There aren't really any cons that I can think of. The only reason that I don't mark this course as a 5 is that I think that there are better courses out there from what I've read on the rest of this site. Still, one of the best that I've ever played.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun and very challenging course to play. It is over an hour away for me to get to, but well worth it when I do make the trip. I'm jealous of the players that live nearby and get to play it all the time. Someone needs to replace the Texas flag that used to be at the top of the tree on hole 14.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play Course

1    1/25/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2011
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Where should I start? This course is awesome, it has a great variety of everything from nice long open shorts, short shots with plenty of chances of hitting some Ace's. There are slight elevation changes throughout most of the course adding a challenge. There are multiple pin positions and nice concrete tee pads with good signs showing you all the hole information. Be sure to look at the signs for the arrow that directs you to the next hole. There are bright red hole numbers on both tee box and basket making it easier to know which basket your throwing at. The park is clean and very well maintained, with plenty of trash cans and benches throughout most of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and challenging course and is a must play if you are in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area. This course has it all and is fun from the beginning to the end.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.