Cedar Hill, TX 
Lester Lorch Park - Beaver DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Open Twin Course-Homer

5+    7/20/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 31  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of trees, elevation and a little water. Concrete tee pads. Two other courses next to it. Well maintained. Challenging. Not very much of a chance to lose a disc.
Cons: Heard of snakes but never seen one. Thorny vines in rough areas. Some vandalism.
Other Thoughts: Yes this is one of my home courses. This course has just about everything. You will use every shot on this course. There is uphill, downhill, short, long, over water, old growth open areas. Tighter tunnels turning in different directions.
Bring a bag with variety because you will use everything you got to play this course as well as you can. Best in DFW with its sister course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lived up to expectations!

1    4/28/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great use of terrain and water.

-Not much non-DG traffic out there.

-Nice signage.

-There is a portapotty!

-Beautiful mature trees and secluded location make this a wildlife haven.
Cons: -Poison ivy and thorns.

-Hole 9 is unrealistic as par 3 if in the long position- you literally have to have 2 perfect throws to hit it in 3.

-Apparently "MELK" was here.

-Grass could use some cutting.
Other Thoughts: -Lots of people commented on the tee pads being too short. I found that the holes that have short pads were short holes (do you really need a giant run up to throw 200ft?)

-This pair of courses is the best I've been to in DFW.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good for beginners

5+    7/29/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: EL WORM
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Best park I been to... Havent been to many courses but best one so far
Cons: one hole has tall grass.. Easy to lose disc... Lost a yellow sidewinder first time I threw on this hole
Other Thoughts: Could have more beautiful women playing.. ;) lol

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Newbie Course

1    5/25/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: aktmjcor
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tee Pads, signs, baskets with #s on every hole. Good mix, at a par 54 it isnt a gimme. Some birdie holes, some tough 3's. Ive been playing for 5 years and I feel I could par this place after 10 or less tries. Pros would find it too easy. I brought a new player, he had fun without too much play from the rough. You will need most of you discs here. A forehand shot will prove beneficial too.
Cons: Poisonous Snake territory. One hole over grown.
Other Thoughts: Fix the few tees that are too short. Otherwise the place played well and was fun and challenging for a 880 rated player.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    5/26/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean and maintained course. Concrete tee pads. Every basket has the coordinating hole number on top of the basket so you don't have to guess which basket to throw to. More open holes and dog legs left and right.
Cons: More area to park. A better way to determine which holes go with coyote and which holes go with beaver. The signs on holes are faded and need to be redone. If you miss and land in the rough you will be looking for about 10-15 minutes and hope you find your disc.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the course, I liked Beaver better than Coyote. I enjoyed the more open and variety of shots on the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid, not amazing

2-4    2/23/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 48  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Nice variety of open and wooded holes, right and left dog legs
- Clean, not overly crowded park
- Equally challenging both in accuracy and power
Cons:
- Some teepads are too short
- A little frustratingly tight. Many holes just feel like "chuck and pray" - requiring as much luck as skill
- Thorns!
Other Thoughts:
I probably had too high of expectations based on the ratings of this course. It was fun, but not that much better than many other courses in north Dallas.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice challenges

1    4/13/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of two courses in the park, the Beaver course is a bit longer and a bit less technical. There are some longer shots that offer a chance to air it out with large grassy fairways and lurking brush. The rest of the course plays through the woods with a mix of shorter ace run chances and some longer shots that test your shot making ability without being too tight.

The rough is thick enough to cost strokes if you miss your line, but not so thick that it eats too many discs. The three holes by the pond are a nice way to mix things up with more open holes that still offer some tricky risks if you go for the birdies.

The concrete tees are in fine shape, as are the baskets. Tee signs are color coded to show which course they belong to, a nice touch in the area where the two play near one another. The alternate pin placements change things up nicely, if they're moved regularly it could offer some extra variety.
Cons: The signage is faded and damaged, many are difficult or impossible to read. That gets a little frustrating, with some longer holes and some blind shots in the woods. The ones that are readable don't have the current pin position marked, so it doesn't always save you the walk to figure out where to throw.

The tees are a bit small, and some were covered in mud washed over them in a previous storm. The fairways were all dry when I played, but a few showed evidence of being pretty muddy when wet. There are a few of the wooded holes that feel a bit repetitive, there was room for a little more creativity in lines with this much wooded property.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time at this complex, with two very fun courses that complement each other well. I played the Coyote course after the first 16 of this course to save the extra walk to and from the parking lot.

Beginners might find this course a bit long and tough, and the rough could get frustrating for a player without good line shaping skills. More experienced players will find this course a good test, with some length and a few tricky lines, and the two courses combined offer a great balance of different challenges.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Being a little hard on the Beaver.

1    4/9/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 concrete tees with nice tee signs and baskets. A couple holes have multiple pins. Good hole design and variety of shots with the available terrain and elevation. Fairways are well defined and bad shots typically punished. Lots of turtles and wildlife. Portapotty in parking lot. Disc golf only park.
Cons: Mud!!! I've seriously never had so many problems with mud on a course before. I guess some people maybe used to Texas soil, but this was ridiculous! Holes 5,6,7 had a lot of mud. This mud sticks to your shoes and just keeps building on them. My shoes must have weighed 10lbs each before scrapping some of it off. I had issues on the tees because my the bottoms of my shoes weren't level and also people use the tees to scrape the mud off their shoes.

Hole 9's fairway was ponded over, so you have to go around the long way to get to the other side . I got lost and then lost my disc and visual reference from the tee once I got back to the fairway. Navigation was a little tricky on the course on the back 9.

Trash on the course. I found someone's underwear on hole 8 near the turtle. Poison Ivy in the rough. Parking lot is small for one course let alone two courses.
Other Thoughts: I like Beaver....it was my favorite of the two Lester Lorch courses, even though the mud was worse. The holes are more diverse and just better IMO. Hole 1 was my favorite in the park.

For people out of town like myself, I'd make sure the course is dry before playing here. I'd probably rate a little higher if it weren't for the mud.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cedar Hill has a big brown beaver and shows it to all her........

2-4    5/23/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees
Easy enough to find way from hole to hole
good upkeep
Challenging
Awesome wildlife
Cons: Can eat discs
Some of the concrete tees are way too small, like they only poured half of it.
Needs real bathroom
parking lot can fill up

Other Thoughts: This is by far one of the best courses I have played and on top of it you have another 18 hole right on the other side. This course allows you to work on every type of shot you have, roller, thumber, hyzer, anhyzer....you will need your entire bag. I would not recommend this for new players because it would just destroy them, this is definitely a intermediate/pro course. And it is your first time print out the map you may or may not need it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 two course=long day and sore arm

1    5/17/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 51  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *most teeboxes are concrete (various sizes)
*park seemed mostly for disc golfers so not alot of extra people walking around
*good use of water on 2 of 3 water holes
*diverse it seemed pretty equal on open holes and heavily wooded holes, with a few that had both aspects on one hole (either started in woods and throw into open or vise versa)
*there is some good shade cover throughout, good for texas heat, but first 8 or so are pretty much in wide open
*number and signage to next hole
*pretty easy to navigate course/flowed well (but print the map from link section above)
*scenic, nice walking trail (hard to believe you are 15 mins from dallas or so)
*good overall layout and playability
*well maintianed fairways
*subtle elevation changes
*course has a good wind block with trees, in texas that sometimes is hard to do, that being said there still are breezes
Cons: *some teeboxes were a little rough (alot of gravel) and were all different sizes
*hole 9 was a bit itimidating, as you are throwing over a marsh to a basket you really cant see, and cant really see what is past the tree line (that being said it probably is one of the trademark holes)
*no stores seemed close, so make sure you bring water with you.
*a few hard to visualize baskets from teebox, you think it cant be that far left/right...it was (This is a pro for some, a con for the other, i kind of like knowing where im going to throw without having to walk to far just to see basket, yet i enjoyed the challenge)
-even though i did list some cons, i would go back and play in a heartbeat, as none of them would stop me
Other Thoughts: We decided to play both. I think we chose right as we played beaver and then coyote course, beaver seemed to be alot longer course then coyote did. By the end of the day my arm was all but gone. There are alot of hard dog-leg holes. you do come up to course entrance rather quickly so be watching

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center