Cedar Hill, TX 
Lester Lorch Park - Beaver DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good Drive for a Good Course

1    8/1/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Makes you throw every kind of shot, from long bombs across the pond on three holes to finesse shots on the back 9. Still working my flicks and forhand shots so the back 9 eat me lunch, but still had a good time. The course is easy to follow. The Course has good Tee-Boxes and good shade for those hot summer days
Cons: Out in the middle of no where so make sure you bring plenty of fluids. #2 Tee-Box is in the parking lot
Other Thoughts: This a fun course to play. there's 2 courses at Lester Lorch The Beaver and the Coyote we where going to play The Coyote course also but it was 102 the day we played and ran out of water. I really enjoyed playing the Beaver Course. Nice, Fun course will definatly be playing this course again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 DFW's best

5+    7/6/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads on every hole.

Tee Signs on every hole.

Great use of the varied land. 3 shots over the edges of the pond. (my disc landed on the Beaver Dam today)

the open holes have some length to air it out.

Has a few good tunnel shots thrown in.

Benches/picnic tables on several of the back up holes.
Cons: It was dry today, but hole 5 can be VERY muddy in the spring.

Tee pads need to be cleaned off on a few holes. I think it was 13 that was totally covered by dirt.

Poison Ivy
Other Thoughts: When ever I play Cedar Hill, I play both courses back to back. (Beaver 1 - 16, Coyote 2-1, Beaver 17-18)

This is why I call it DFW's best, when both courses are taken into consideration, it is THE place to play in the DFW area.

Out of the 2, the Beaver may be the better course. however I tend to shoot better on it than the Coyote.

I always enjoy listening to the birds as I play. Other than someone mowing there yard today, It was very quiet.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!!!

2-4    5/31/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 19  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great water shots! They can be extremely intimidating.
-Plenty of bombing holes.
-Some really great dogleg/tree holes
-Concrete boxes
-Has an info kiosk
-The locals are great
-2 excellent course right there!
Cons: -Can get hot during the summer, but hey, it is Texas!
-Parking lot is rather small
-#2 tee pad
Other Thoughts: Decided to go out there and play on Memorial Day. Ran into some guys I have played with at Z-Boaz a few times. All around fantastic course. The first 3 holes ate my lunch since I did not warm up. I would highly recommend warming up! And definitely bring something to drink during the summer. It can be a scorcher on the few holes that are in the open!

There aren't any restrooms here so plan accordingly.

The #2 Tee Pad is on asphalt parking lot. I slipped pretty good there. Its not bad, I just wish it was concrete. Still a badass tree hole though!

Can't wait for fall to play it when I am not drenched in sweat. :)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Kinda Waterlogged

1    3/27/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: jbain2012
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course was fairly shorter than some, but if your game is not tight and not straight, the trees and other hazards are going to play a big role in the outcome of your game.
Cons: The course was verrrrry soggy and muddy, it rained 3 days ago so go if you don't mind getting your shoes muddy.
Other Thoughts: I was overall impressed with the course I did not get a chance to play coyote the other course, but if you can really control your game and don't mind the poisonous snake warning in the parking lot, then this is the course to play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I LOVE THIS PARK

5+    3/7/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: Riverhouse82
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good length
Excellent use of water and trees to create a great package.
Nice walk and views.
Paths are distinct and mostly well kept
Cons: Swampy holes are often not worth the trouble
Could use a little work on a handful of paths.
Other Thoughts: This course is more open and park like than the other. The trees are often a background to what is really an open field shot. I love tossing it across the plush green spring fields.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cedar Hill's Beaver Rundown!!!

5+    12/14/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads
-Signage is good
-Shot variety (skill shot and drive accuracy work-out)
-Terrain variety and elevations changes.
-Scenic course
-Pretty clean course. (Let's keep the permanent markers off the course people)
-Great course layout. Even with no map, you can find your way around.
-Has really decent, top-of-the line hole length and hole variety.
Cons: -Muddy when wet!!!
-Large pond presents a "lost disc" water hazard
Other Thoughts: This is only one half of 36 hole's course out in Cedar Hill... it's a must visit. Worth your time...without a doubt in my mind. If you love disc golf -- well let's just say that Cedar Hill's 36 hole's is the best in the DFW area.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Retreat

5+    12/12/2009   1/6/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 83  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Little to No Crowds
Variety of Shots
Quiet and Scenic
True Test of Talent
Cons: No Facilities
Travel Time
Hole 1 is a Near Impossible to Birdie
Rocky Terrain
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course. I get out here as often as possible. Elevation changes and water hazards make this a unique North Texas course.

Cool Tip: Hole 8 has a secret tee box that shoots from across the pond, on top of the cliff edge. To get to it, go to hole 17's pin and follow the trail up hill until you get to a picnic table.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/5/2009   12/5/2009
Review By: Scoot_er
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots, terrain, and woods that puts more focus on a player's accuracy than anything else.

Plenty of chances for birdies for Adv and Pro level players but the lines are demanding enough that an errant drive on pretty much any hole can lead to a 4 or worse.
Cons: No major fallacies in the course except two back to back holes of 120' and 160? The 1st is a very tough gap for a duece with a slope behind the basket. The 2nd goes up 80ft then horseshoes up and to the right onto a hill for a tough birdie fo rsure and in the long pin it goes 80ft then turns right down a tunnel for about 235ft which is actually a good hole.
Other Thoughts: If your in Dallas you need to play this course a long with the Coyote as they are a great tandem which are pretty hard to beat.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Better Half

1    11/17/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of open shots early on, I enjoyed this course better than the other half. Hole 8 crosses the water, good pin placement, Hole 9 crosses a swampy area, had me remembering that warning sign. Course has benches, picnic tables, trash cans. Actually the trash cans make it easy to navigate, just look for the big blue trash cans, they're right by the tee boxes in most cases. If you get tired, the front nine is circles the parking lot, so take a rest, grab another Gatorade, it's kinda nice.
Cons: Ok so it's easier to be negative than positive, but this course irritated me several times. Holes 12 and 13 are just very short, very wooded, and uphill shots. It almost feels like they ran out of space, and just put some pins in. The trees on these two are a little ridiculous. Also, this course has some of the shortest tee boxes I've ever seen, no way to get a run up.
Other Thoughts: Ok, I'll post this photo when I get back home, the course starts with this "caution, this is a venomous snake nature preserve." Who builds a disc golf course on a snake preserve? I preferred this course to the Coyote, but the guy i played with liked this one better.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beaver Lester Lorch

1    10/24/2009   10/24/2009
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very Technical, lots of throws required. This course changes dramatically from one hole to the next, which keeps you on your toes. Low Ceiling, skinny paths, 3 difficult water shots, trees. Very fun.
Cons: Front 9 has a few muddy holes right after the rain. Not for beginners!! Will eat your discs, guaranteed.
Other Thoughts: it was a long drive, but i went because of the recommendations on this site. I will gladly drive back out for Coyote because this course was really fun.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center