Disc Golf Store
Hitchcock, TX 
Jack Brooks Park - Gulf Meadows Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #6 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee - old dirt tee box



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    11/3/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 124  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is by far the easier of the two courses at Jack Brooks Park. It is more wide open but does have a few holes that are short and involve a careful, accurate shot to get close to the basket for an easy 2.
-There is little chance to lose your disc since there is no water in play. Just make sure you watch where your disc lands, as the grass can get long.
-There are a few blind tee shots, which in my opinion is a lot more exciting because you do not know how close (or how far) you are from the pin until you walk up.
-The pin placements on a few of the more open, longer holes are nestled into some trees which can turn a good drive into a disastrous 5 if you are not careful with your putts.
-Concrete tees are great and the tee signs are posts with the hole design, and length etched into the wood. The posts is something that this course has and Cedar Hills is lacking.
Cons: -The baskets are starting to show wear. Accurate putts can easily be spit right back out.
-The wind can be pretty insane. There is nothing to be done about this, just leave your understable and blizzard discs in your bag.
-The ants were terrible. Last time I was out here, my bag and my partner's bag was completely covered in ants and we did not even realize it. Be careful where you set down your bag
Other Thoughts: The two courses on site offer the best disc golf you will get in the area in my opinion. The other park with two courses on site (Tom Bass) does not even come close to the caliber that this park has to offer.
-The birdies here come plentiful and if you are bringing a new person to play this would be a great place to do it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice hike with discs

1    4/3/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: kuhlmarl
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of annies and hyzers, long open shots and tight short shots. Course is relatively easy to navigate. I prefer the well-marked dirt tees featured by courses like this one to concrete ones. Surrounded by a beautiful park with picnic area, playground, tennis courts, walking/biking trails. In fact, the last 3 holes trace along a hiking trail, requiring short, accurate throws. Convenient design for completing 9 or 18 baskets. #18 is available for putting practice for warm-up.
Cons: Scorecard does not have a "mini-map" on it, nor is a course guide available. There is only one set of tees/pins, so there's only one way to play it--I don't think this would be great as a "home course".
Other Thoughts: I banked a birdy putt in off of a tree on #15--any course that has a helpful tree is a good one in my book! It was not hot when I played, but in the heat of summer, you will be out in the hot sun for a good part of the course--bring sunscreen and water.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My First Course

5+    6/26/1999   10/26/2009
Review By: Trampy1
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes. Some tight wooded holes on 16 and 17. Hole 18 has a blind curve over a stream that has eaten a few of my discs. Hole 12 is a rip-it hole. Alot of fun. This is where I learned to play and try different throws. Haven't been back to play since leaving college, but have always loved this course.
Cons: When it rains.....it floods. Bring skeeter spray!
Other Thoughts: Want to try the new 18 they just put in!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Jack Brooks is a one-two punch.

2-4    6/6/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jack Brooks - Gulf Meadows makes two big loops in a fairly clever layout that uses great pin placement to maximize the minor elevation changes. Each hole is marked with a simple wood post designating the number and yardage, and some even have the hole layout drawn on the post.

Holes are diverse, ranging from tight wooded tunnels to wide-open 500' bomb shots. With the average hole length a bit under 300', the course focuses more on accuracy and disc placement rather the big arm drives. However, the back nine opens up with a little more length for people who aren't fans of technical shots.

There are ample cool seating areas at most holes, lots of shady overgrowth, a port-a-john by hole one, and trash cans spread throughout area. Gulf Meadows is very well maintained even if the baskets are showing their age. The final three holes are strong finishers that are short but frustrating. The 230' blind curve right on #18 is deceptively hard and the dense shrubbery on the left will eat your disc if you're not careful. Note that hole #18 also makes an excellent practice basket for warming up.

BEST HOLE/S: #16; #17
Cons: The tee boxes are natural which felt right in the short technical holes under the trees, however the long open holes could certainly use concrete boxes for a player trying to maximize distance.

Mosquitoes were abundant and there wasn't even standing water, so I highly recommend bringing the bug spray. Some transitions from one hole to another can be tricky the first time out, so bring a map and watch for signs.

Note for first timers: Hole #12 pin is the one on the right.

WORST HOLE/S: #7
Other Thoughts: Jack Brooks was an extremely enjoyable experience. The holes were diverse and challenging, yet at the same time rewarded accuracy with multiple looks at birdie attempts. It serves as a good companion to the freshly installed new course down the road. Given the comparison to the two courses, new players may prefer this course to the longer and much more challenging Cedar Hills.

Note: the Jack Brooks Cedar Hills course now has baskets completely installed, however there are no marked tee boxes, posted yardage, maps, or numbers on the baskets yet - so if you're headed to the course, you had better take someone who has previously played it.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    4/29/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: bobpanico
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun course for both beginners and veterans. Great layout with variety of holes in open and wooded areas.
Cons: Bring lots of mosquito spray. They can be really bad as they are now (4/30/09).
Other Thoughts: Thanks to the volunteers who put in many hours to keep the course in shape.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Jack out da box

2-4    12/26/2008   12/28/2008
Review By: gsuslikesme
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is fun. Granted I am not a disc golf veteran, but this was a very fun, very challenging course. There is a great mix of heavily wooded tunnel-like holes as well as wide open let-her-rip holes. There are other disc golfers out there all of the time. It is definitely an adventure to play this course with many challenges.
Cons: Don't play this course alone...you WILL lose a disc. There were 5 of us with a couple of spotters on a few holes and we almost lost discs. If you can't find your disc, it is still up in the trees. The pace can be a little slow if there are a lot of people out there. If it has rained you will get mud on your shoes especially in the wooded areas.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this course. It is a great course for beginners and old pros. A good mix of easy birdies as well as bogeys. I am looking forward to playing the second 18 that seems to be almost finished.

I almost got my 1st ace on #16, hit the top ring. And the crowd goes wild....

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Two great courses in one park

1    5/26/2008   7/8/2008
Review By: Midnightbiker
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has a great mix of open and wooded holes. You will enjoy a mix of holes that make you think about your shot, and several holes were you can open up and just rip it. Well worth the drive from Houston. Only about ten miles from Galveston Island, and great place to visit after a great day of disc golf.
Cons: Course always seems to have wind. The skeeters are really bad this time of year. Course can be a little muddy after a hard rain
Other Thoughts: There are two great courses now at Jack Brooks park. Jack Brooks #1 is the original course, and is a great course for all players.
Jack Books #2 (the new course) as a lot more difficult, and is only recommend for players with a lot of playing experience. Pro players will enjoy the very long holes, encludeing #15 which is over 840ft.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

6/22/2008   6/24/2008
Review By: greigh
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall a well balanced and entertaining course. Community seems kind and active. As I was leaving I saw, what seemed to be, a whole new course. I'm excited to go out there again and try the new holes.
Cons: Lost a disc on hole #10. I think it got stuck tree. At first a couple of holes can be confusing to navigate.
Other Thoughts: It's hot out there so bring lots of water.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.