Disc Golf Store
Hitchcock, TX 
Jack Brooks Park - Gulf Meadows Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #3 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 407ft. Par / Distance:
Next tee sign on hole #3 directing you to tee for #4



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 My First Course

5+    6/26/1999   10/26/2009
Review By: Trampy1
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes. Some tight wooded holes on 16 and 17. Hole 18 has a blind curve over a stream that has eaten a few of my discs. Hole 12 is a rip-it hole. Alot of fun. This is where I learned to play and try different throws. Haven't been back to play since leaving college, but have always loved this course.
Cons: When it rains.....it floods. Bring skeeter spray!
Other Thoughts: Want to try the new 18 they just put in!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Party Time Down in Hitchcock Tx.

1    6/2/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 98  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jack Brooks #1 is a well laid out, challenging, unique course about 30 miles south of Houston. It resides in a large park complex that houses not only two of the best disc golf courses in Houston but also some of the best mountain biking trails this side of Austin. Being that I reside in North Houston I am used to playing through pine trees. This course on the other hand is full of cypress, oak, and dogwoods, this may not sound like a big deal, but the difference in trees gives this course a very unique feel. It almost felt like playing some of the courses up in Austin like Searight and Brushy Creek. The hole variety is excellent, with tight technical shots into small "cubbies" and long open bombers from 400 to 500 feet and I love the use of elevation on a course you would think was basically flat. The last three holes are as tight as they come and offer another challenge in an already varied course.
Cons: The cages at this course are starting to show their age, although they are still serviceable. The natural teepads can be bothersome, but are nowhere near as bad as those at Agnes Moffit. The bugs out here can get big real BIG and the spiders can be even bigger, so be careful when reaching for those stray discs. The aforementioned trees provide beautiful scenery but also can eat or catch your discs in their dense branches. I have heard other reviewers talk about the mosquitoes and I can definitely see them being a problem out there, but luckily I didn't encounter any on my first trip out, but as always keep that can off Deep Woods Off handy.
Other Thoughts: First off this is an excellent course, I can't stress that enough. It is extremely playable with challenges a plenty and will keep you interested the whole way through. It can be a drive to get there especially depending on where you're coming from. But don't let that dissuade you. Jack Brooks #1 is well worth the trip.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Jack Brooks is a one-two punch.

2-4    6/6/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jack Brooks - Gulf Meadows makes two big loops in a fairly clever layout that uses great pin placement to maximize the minor elevation changes. Each hole is marked with a simple wood post designating the number and yardage, and some even have the hole layout drawn on the post.

Holes are diverse, ranging from tight wooded tunnels to wide-open 500' bomb shots. With the average hole length a bit under 300', the course focuses more on accuracy and disc placement rather the big arm drives. However, the back nine opens up with a little more length for people who aren't fans of technical shots.

There are ample cool seating areas at most holes, lots of shady overgrowth, a port-a-john by hole one, and trash cans spread throughout area. Gulf Meadows is very well maintained even if the baskets are showing their age. The final three holes are strong finishers that are short but frustrating. The 230' blind curve right on #18 is deceptively hard and the dense shrubbery on the left will eat your disc if you're not careful. Note that hole #18 also makes an excellent practice basket for warming up.

BEST HOLE/S: #16; #17
Cons: The tee boxes are natural which felt right in the short technical holes under the trees, however the long open holes could certainly use concrete boxes for a player trying to maximize distance.

Mosquitoes were abundant and there wasn't even standing water, so I highly recommend bringing the bug spray. Some transitions from one hole to another can be tricky the first time out, so bring a map and watch for signs.

Note for first timers: Hole #12 pin is the one on the right.

WORST HOLE/S: #7
Other Thoughts: Jack Brooks was an extremely enjoyable experience. The holes were diverse and challenging, yet at the same time rewarded accuracy with multiple looks at birdie attempts. It serves as a good companion to the freshly installed new course down the road. Given the comparison to the two courses, new players may prefer this course to the longer and much more challenging Cedar Hills.

Note: the Jack Brooks Cedar Hills course now has baskets completely installed, however there are no marked tee boxes, posted yardage, maps, or numbers on the baskets yet - so if you're headed to the course, you had better take someone who has previously played it.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    4/29/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: bobpanico
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun course for both beginners and veterans. Great layout with variety of holes in open and wooded areas.
Cons: Bring lots of mosquito spray. They can be really bad as they are now (4/30/09).
Other Thoughts: Thanks to the volunteers who put in many hours to keep the course in shape.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Saturday...

5+    1/10/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: jlow54
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of long, short, left, and right shots. It provides a challenge to anyone. Couple of holes in the trees, then a couple in the open. I personally love the mix.
Cons: You could get discouraged if you dont have the arm to make some great drives. If you go too far into the woods it is hard to retrieve your disc if you didnt see exactly where it went in.
Other Thoughts: My friends and I gladly make the 50 minute drive to play this course. This is probably one of the groups favorite out of town courses. Must-play at least once.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Jack out da box

2-4    12/26/2008   12/28/2008
Review By: gsuslikesme
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is fun. Granted I am not a disc golf veteran, but this was a very fun, very challenging course. There is a great mix of heavily wooded tunnel-like holes as well as wide open let-her-rip holes. There are other disc golfers out there all of the time. It is definitely an adventure to play this course with many challenges.
Cons: Don't play this course alone...you WILL lose a disc. There were 5 of us with a couple of spotters on a few holes and we almost lost discs. If you can't find your disc, it is still up in the trees. The pace can be a little slow if there are a lot of people out there. If it has rained you will get mud on your shoes especially in the wooded areas.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this course. It is a great course for beginners and old pros. A good mix of easy birdies as well as bogeys. I am looking forward to playing the second 18 that seems to be almost finished.

I almost got my 1st ace on #16, hit the top ring. And the crowd goes wild....

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Two great courses in one park

1    5/26/2008   7/8/2008
Review By: Midnightbiker
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has a great mix of open and wooded holes. You will enjoy a mix of holes that make you think about your shot, and several holes were you can open up and just rip it. Well worth the drive from Houston. Only about ten miles from Galveston Island, and great place to visit after a great day of disc golf.
Cons: Course always seems to have wind. The skeeters are really bad this time of year. Course can be a little muddy after a hard rain
Other Thoughts: There are two great courses now at Jack Brooks park. Jack Brooks #1 is the original course, and is a great course for all players.
Jack Books #2 (the new course) as a lot more difficult, and is only recommend for players with a lot of playing experience. Pro players will enjoy the very long holes, encludeing #15 which is over 840ft.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

6/22/2008   6/24/2008
Review By: greigh
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall a well balanced and entertaining course. Community seems kind and active. As I was leaving I saw, what seemed to be, a whole new course. I'm excited to go out there again and try the new holes.
Cons: Lost a disc on hole #10. I think it got stuck tree. At first a couple of holes can be confusing to navigate.
Other Thoughts: It's hot out there so bring lots of water.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Out by the Dog Track

5+    2/9/2008   3/26/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Overall in very good shape. Minimal chance of pedestrian interference. Finishes with three tight holes through heavy woods. Simple wooden post tee markers are sufficient. First nine holes and last nine holes both start and finish by the parking lot making it easy to play only nine if you're in a time crunch.

The Brooks courses got a major upgrade in early 2011 with top quality concrete tee boxes on all holes. Teeing off in the mud should no longer be an issue!
Cons:
#18 is a blind tee shot through the trees that has potential to lose a disc without a spotter. If there's been wet weather the mosquitos will be very large and there are low spots on the course that retain water.
Other Thoughts:
Fun course to play. Holes #1 and #5 are all pretty similar RHBH hyzer shots that if thown decently should leave you a birdie putt.

Along with the installation of concrete tee boxes in early 2011 several of the holes were tweaked: tee box #3 moved back ~100', basket #4 moved back ~20', basket #12 moved to the right ~100', tee box #13 moved back/right ~100', tee box #18 moved back ~50'.

If this is your first time at Brooks, take a map because navigating from hole to hole can be tricky.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 JB

2/9/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well rounded course on a nice piece of land. Friendly and active disc golf "community". Requires several differerent types of shots and the challenge varies hole to hole. Not the toughest course, but one of the funner courses you will play.
Cons: Moquitoes can come out in force. A little bit down the road from Central Houston but drive is worth it if you have the time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.