Jackson, MI 
Jackson Community College Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Need more campus courses like this!

1    9/12/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: B3NDER
Played: 94  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is installed on Jackson Community College property (as the title says) and makes great use of the land.

- Plenty use of elevation, and good variation of lengths of holes.

- Variety of shots is also good, not too much repetition, which is a huge plus for me.


- Chainstar baskets also a plus, all in decent shape aside from one or two with warpage.

- apdrvya and I played on a school day, so the course was barren, no waiting to shoot and we didn't run into a single soul out on the course aside from someone doing some mowing.

- The tee signs and routing were actually all present, and not too hard on the eyes. It's always nice to know where you're going next (bring a copy of the map just in case)

- All around very scenic, definitely doesn't feel like a "thrown together" school course.

Cons: Course could definitely do with a little more maintenance, specifically mowing, as the rough really gets rough.

Also, the lack of teepads for me cost this course half a disc, as some of the holes don't even have an indicator where you should throw from.

Course seems to play across a cross-country track of some sort, as there are arrows and lines painted about, so this may come into account on busier days (didn't affect me)

- Can see insects being an issue in spring/summer months, but with bugspray you should be just fine.
Other Thoughts: As I stated, this course is amazing for being on a campus, and half the time you don't even feel as if you're on a school property. With the right amount of work this course could easily be rated four stars. With some more course maintenance this place could be top-notch.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very pleasantly surprised. great college course!

1    9/12/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through the campus area and wooded areas on the edges of the JCC campus. didn't see any other people but there were frequent arrows spray painted on the grass so I'm assuming cross-country or 10k/5k type running go on here as well.

Signage-- I'm assuming this isn't typical of this course, but all 18 had GREAT signage with accurate lengths, trees, obstacles and next tee arrows. I was overly impressed with the teesigns.

baskets--chainstars, in reasonable repair, a couple were bent, but all 18 had baskets.

Routing/nav-- take a copy of the map from here, 1, 2, and 7 on were accurate but 3-6 seem to be (at least) partially re-placed. the teesigns will help you route to the next tee. the back 9 could be VERY confusing with multiple trails throughout if you don't have the map.

Challenge-- the lengths here are great. averaging 300-425 this course keeps you throwing but demanding accuracy. the rough is tough but not unreasonable.

Basket placement-- great! tucked into enclaves and behind trees, I love the basket placement here.
Cons:
Risk v Reward-- none really, the rough is the biggest risk, throwing over the rough is definitely a risk. the reward lies on the fairway, trust me.

Teepads--dirt scuffs at best. some places don't even have this. this course would benefit from ANY sort of teepad other than dirt.

Safety-- first couple holes play near benches and busier areas than the rest of the course and could be a little more dangerous.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me a lot of Kensington Toboggan. this course could be champion caliber with a few tweaks honestly. the lengths aren't up to toboggan's lengths but the hole layouts do.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Back nine plays well

2-4    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: leindecjoeld
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good use of elevation
-Good variation on hole lengths
-Never busy
Cons: -Holes missing
-Baskets damaged
-Course is poorly maintained
-Tee pads are nearly imposable to find
-Holes lay on cross country course, so you may have to wait for runners to pass through
Other Thoughts: I have tried to play this course as an 18 hole course, but it is nearly imposable to do. Due to the school clearing a wooded section on the south side of the campus two holes no longer exist. My advise with this course is to start with hole ten, and play it as a nine hole course. The back nine has a solid set up. The map shows holes three and six sharing a pin, but this pin is damaged, and hole five does not exist. Also, it is imposable to tell where you are supposed to start for holes three four and six. This and the long walk from hole two over to three make for a hard start to the course. I would say your best bet would be to either start with ten, or play one and two, and then skip to nine and play through. It will save you time guessing where you are supposed to throw from and guessing on pin location.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good, could be great.

2-4    10/11/2011   10/24/2011
Review By: starskeeter
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a very nice layout, and plays just on the edge of campus so as not to get in anyone's way. The elevation changes are used very well, and there is a very nice variety to the holes. Overall I really like this course, and with some relatively cheap fixes this course could be very nice.
Cons: Maintenance is an issue, the grass is very long in some areas (even in the greens). Navigation is an issue, if you don't know this course you could spend a couple of hours trying to find your way around this course (bring a course map). I would recommend that you avoid playing this course by yourself, there are a few too many blind shots that can make your discs difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: The par for this course is ridiculous. I played the course as all par 3's and still scored a -1. I would recommend just playing them all as par 3's otherwise you could end up with an unrealistic score of -10 or -20.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Untapped Potential

5+    7/17/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Ricky_Rick
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course, lots of rolling hills and elevation changes, quality chain baskets, mowed fairways, solid layout. Strictly a disc golf course behind the college campus. Nice mixture of wide open holes and tight, tunnel like holes thru trees.
Cons: No official tee-pads, just worn out dirt spots. Four holes missing signage (2,3,4,9). Recent construction eliminated Hole #3, had to make up our own hole #3 using #6 basket. Fallen trees and logs on a couple of fairways. The rough is extremely rough, high grass and bushes make finding stray discs difficult. Deerfly are awful this season, bring Off.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course and wanted to score it higher, but had to be honest. Official tee-pads would be nice, signage needs updating, Hole #3 needs to be added back and some simple lawn work would do wonders. It could get up to a 4.0 rating fairly easy if the college wanted to do so.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging yet Fun course

5+    6/29/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: Fiznizzle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc Golf Course only!- No one else biking, running, or to look out for other than golfers.

Great use of landscape, hills, tight-closed in areas, a few wide open driving opportunities.

Baskets clearly labeled.


Lots and lots of nature!
Cons: No Tee Pads, be prepared to look for dirt patches to know where to tee off from.

Hard to find signs/missing signs for tees: Some are in plain sight, others are hidden in brush off to the side, others are simply not anywhere to be found.

Very tight fairways with unforgiving rough. Wear long pants to avoid thistles, prickers, etc. Even brightly colored discs can be lost in the tall, thick brush.

A new parking lot being paved has wiped out Hole #3, no longer visible or playable, you must make your own.

Tee for Hole #4 is gone, must make your own starting point.
Other Thoughts: Go to the "Links/Files" tab at the top of the page to download the course map!

Thanks for uploading it Ricky Rick, it made playing a heck of a lot easier knowing where to go!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course!

5+    7/16/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: elrumpo
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of long/short holes. Nice baskets which are pretty easy to find even on the first trip. Relatively quiet even on weekends. No water hazards. Some rocks have been added with directions between holes making it a little easier.
Cons: The later it gets in the summer, the longer the grass grows and the harder it is to find discs not in the fairway.

Missing a couple of holes due to a new dorm build over them...but hopefully they will replace them soon.
Other Thoughts: This is the first place I ever played disc golf, and it's still my favorite. The good course layout and variety in hole style makes it fun, and the lack of water makes it easy to not worry on most holes.

If they can replace or add a few signs this will be a phenomenal course.

First hole tee is next to the door to the field house, 10th is by the corner of the tennis courts.

After three holes you need to cross over past the big dome (old space center) and around the new dorm into the large field to find the next hole. Once there, you should be able to follow the rest of the front nine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/2/2010   3/2/2011
Review By: JN9000
Played: 56  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has great use of elevation changes. If you like hilly courses you should play this course. It's in a scenic area of the Irish Hills, with a great view from under the water tower. The fairways are mowed and well defined. It has a nice variety of holes and is well designed, at least the holes are.
Cons: Bad signs, on the holes that have them. The first time I played this course me and my friends spent more time looking for the right holes then we did actually playing. There's also a lot of rough that can make finding discs a pain.
Other Thoughts: For me the hole design and the other pros outweigh the cons. I don't know when all the construction finished up. But the course is better now(2014) then it ever was.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/10/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has really good design and aside from a few holes, had really good flow. My group found all the holes quite easily, although we could not find the tees for a few of them.
There was really really good use of the natural elevation change. I have played very few courses that were as hilly as this one.
If you like courses that have defined fairways, then this course is for you. All the holes have nice fairways mowed into them, though if you miss the fairway, you'll be in some thick stuff.
You will actually get punished for a bad shot, not just slapped on the wrist.
Cons: There seemed to be a lot more rhbh holes than right hand forehand. That is to say, there are quite a few holes that finish left, and a few that finish hard left.
There is some really thick brush on some of the fairways, so finding discs can be a problem.
Navigation was said to be an issue, though the only real problem I found was finding hole 3's tee, which is a long walk from hole 2. Also hole 4's tee didn't seem to exist.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, make sure to play this course. Every hole is unique and they all are challenging. I only wish I didn't live so far away. With a little upkeep and some new signs or tees, this course would be amazing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Jackson Community College Course?

1    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: Gustav
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Seems like it has POTENTIAL to be great. That is the only "pro" I can give this course. Great terrain and really like how elevations, trees, and rough come into play. Only positive thing I can say. Now on to the negatives...
Cons: The biggest problem with this course is navigation. It was almost impossible to find where tee pads are located, and where the actual hole is. The directions listed on this site are WRONG. I found the the first hole behind the Field Building, no mention on campus at all about a student activity center that the directions talk about. For as long as this course has been around, you would think the college or locals would care enough to post some sort of sign showing where next tee is located. Poured tee pads would be swell (I am offering free labor for it) and some sort of course guide. I understand that this may seem like few cons to deem such a low rating, but there are NO SIGNS or GUIDES and it is extremely easy to get lost. Hours of frustration trying to find holes almost guaranteed.
Other Thoughts: The course is tight (from the few holes I was able to find - had to guess about where I was teeing off from) which I really like, but there is definitely a possibility of losing discs. This course has the potential to be great. If anyone knows any locals or people in charge of this course, I would love to offer my services to help make this course better as it is the only course in Jackson. All it needs are signs that designate where next tee is located and maybe a sign to mark the tee pad. This course may have had markers in the past, but the time I put into finding tee pads (maybe I found them, too many random dirt spots on grass) and baskets was not worth the effort to play this course. Until further improvements are done to this course, my recommendation to players is stay away at all costs, unless you know a local or have hours to spend navigating your way through this course. I personally had no bug trouble, but that could easily change during summer. Please fix this course, it could be a gem.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.