Jackson, MI 
Jackson Community College Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 350ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Need more campus courses like this!

1    9/12/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: B3NDER
Played: 94  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is installed on Jackson Community College property (as the title says) and makes great use of the land.

- Plenty use of elevation, and good variation of lengths of holes.

- Variety of shots is also good, not too much repetition, which is a huge plus for me.


- Chainstar baskets also a plus, all in decent shape aside from one or two with warpage.

- apdrvya and I played on a school day, so the course was barren, no waiting to shoot and we didn't run into a single soul out on the course aside from someone doing some mowing.

- The tee signs and routing were actually all present, and not too hard on the eyes. It's always nice to know where you're going next (bring a copy of the map just in case)

- All around very scenic, definitely doesn't feel like a "thrown together" school course.

Cons: Course could definitely do with a little more maintenance, specifically mowing, as the rough really gets rough.

Also, the lack of teepads for me cost this course half a disc, as some of the holes don't even have an indicator where you should throw from.

Course seems to play across a cross-country track of some sort, as there are arrows and lines painted about, so this may come into account on busier days (didn't affect me)

- Can see insects being an issue in spring/summer months, but with bugspray you should be just fine.
Other Thoughts: As I stated, this course is amazing for being on a campus, and half the time you don't even feel as if you're on a school property. With the right amount of work this course could easily be rated four stars. With some more course maintenance this place could be top-notch.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good, could be great.

2-4    10/11/2011   10/24/2011
Review By: starskeeter
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a very nice layout, and plays just on the edge of campus so as not to get in anyone's way. The elevation changes are used very well, and there is a very nice variety to the holes. Overall I really like this course, and with some relatively cheap fixes this course could be very nice.
Cons: Maintenance is an issue, the grass is very long in some areas (even in the greens). Navigation is an issue, if you don't know this course you could spend a couple of hours trying to find your way around this course (bring a course map). I would recommend that you avoid playing this course by yourself, there are a few too many blind shots that can make your discs difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: The par for this course is ridiculous. I played the course as all par 3's and still scored a -1. I would recommend just playing them all as par 3's otherwise you could end up with an unrealistic score of -10 or -20.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Untapped Potential

5+    7/17/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Ricky_Rick
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course, lots of rolling hills and elevation changes, quality chain baskets, mowed fairways, solid layout. Strictly a disc golf course behind the college campus. Nice mixture of wide open holes and tight, tunnel like holes thru trees.
Cons: No official tee-pads, just worn out dirt spots. Four holes missing signage (2,3,4,9). Recent construction eliminated Hole #3, had to make up our own hole #3 using #6 basket. Fallen trees and logs on a couple of fairways. The rough is extremely rough, high grass and bushes make finding stray discs difficult. Deerfly are awful this season, bring Off.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course and wanted to score it higher, but had to be honest. Official tee-pads would be nice, signage needs updating, Hole #3 needs to be added back and some simple lawn work would do wonders. It could get up to a 4.0 rating fairly easy if the college wanted to do so.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging yet Fun course

5+    6/29/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: Fiznizzle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc Golf Course only!- No one else biking, running, or to look out for other than golfers.

Great use of landscape, hills, tight-closed in areas, a few wide open driving opportunities.

Baskets clearly labeled.


Lots and lots of nature!
Cons: No Tee Pads, be prepared to look for dirt patches to know where to tee off from.

Hard to find signs/missing signs for tees: Some are in plain sight, others are hidden in brush off to the side, others are simply not anywhere to be found.

Very tight fairways with unforgiving rough. Wear long pants to avoid thistles, prickers, etc. Even brightly colored discs can be lost in the tall, thick brush.

A new parking lot being paved has wiped out Hole #3, no longer visible or playable, you must make your own.

Tee for Hole #4 is gone, must make your own starting point.
Other Thoughts: Go to the "Links/Files" tab at the top of the page to download the course map!

Thanks for uploading it Ricky Rick, it made playing a heck of a lot easier knowing where to go!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/2/2010   3/2/2011
Review By: JN9000
Played: 51  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has great use of elevation changes. If you like hilly courses you should play this course. It's in a scenic area of the Irish Hills, with a great view from under the water tower. The fairways are mowed and well defined. It has a nice variety of holes and is well designed, at least the holes are.
Cons: Bad signs, on the holes that have them. The first time I played this course me and my friends spent more time looking for the right holes then we did actually playing. There's also a lot of rough that can make finding discs a pain. Resent construction has hurt the course. Most of the holes are the same, but some are missing or completely changed.
Other Thoughts: For me the hole design and the other pros outweigh the cons. It may not look the best, but it's a very fun course to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center