Course Extinct
Detroit, MI 
Jayne/Lasky Park Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #4 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 250ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 could do better

1    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: ZdybelT
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -empty when played. (could be good or bad.)
-signs were helpful (if they werent laying next to the tee pad.)
-cement tee pads.
Cons: -in a sketchy area.
-not maintained at all. (tall grass, broken baskets, tires laying around.
-not challenging at all. most are just straight shots.
-bad use of alot of land. designer seems like there was no vision.
Other Thoughts: We arrived at the course and couldnt find hole one til we walked around a bit. no variety of holes at all caused a 17 minute game for 3 people. Locals were looking at us like we didnt belong there but obviously three white suburban teenagers in detroit something isnt right there. basically played and got out of there. worth the trip but wouldnt go back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Unimaginitive, Unremarkable, Uninspiring

1    8/6/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 168  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2011
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Toughest thing about this course was coming up with a list of pros:
- Concrete pads, decent tee signs, 8 of 9 baskets in good shape.
- OK for small children and possibly beginners.
- I have to admit: this wasa good place to see how your discs behave in the wind, or to practice various lines/shots in an open field that has baskets.
- Field looked like it was recently mowed and not much trash.
- I suppose this would be OK for practice if you live or work nearby.
Cons: - No imagination in hole design whatsoever: 9 baskets in an open field with no obstacles. Every single basket is directly in front of the tee; straight shots from tee to basket the entire 9 holes.
- Nothing you could call a fairway or any reason to shape a shot - nothing curves left or right, no uphill or downhill.
- Course layout could and should have made better use of trees. Several are present on the land, but it actually looks like the holes were laid out to stay away from the trees, rather than to incorporate them. Hole 3 almost makes use of a couple, but not well.
- The walk from hole 9 back to 1st tee is too far for a course this size. Could easily have been laid out so hole 9 comes back near 1st tee, but they didn't. Mentioned here as further evidence of the COMPLETE lack of thought that went into this course, rather than as a complaint about actually walking the distance.
- Nothing that could remotely pass for scenic
- Did I mention there are 9 straight holes? Out in the open? Nary an obstacle?
Other Thoughts: I wasn't expecting much, but even at that, I was disappointed. This course really could have been better using the very land it sits on. I know it's the only course within the city limits of Detroit, and I really wanted to show it some love. For all I know, kids from the near by Rec Center play here and love it. But I'm just not feeling any love for this course - this simply isn't what disc golf is about, and it scares me to think that someone might play here and form any sort of opinion of the game. Although I commented about the lack of scenery, that didn't affect my rating. It's Detroit: I wasn't expecting hills, valleys and waterfalls. I gave it half a disc because the DG itself is boring and repetitive. Every single hole feels like the hole before except for the very few variations in distance (5 of the 9 holes range from 250'-285', with the rest clocking in at: 170, 205, 225, and 320). The disc golf itself is boring, so I looked to "the scenery" for some stimulation.

I'd have thought it tough to lose a disc on this course, but since I found one here, clearly, it must be possible (no name or #, so I got me a decent disc - maybe I should have mentioned above under pros?) Maybe it was lost when the grass was tall. More likely... someone heard all the buzz about disc golf, picked up a disc, and came out here to give it a try. After playing a round here, they probably thought "I don't see what the big deal is," and simply left it there. I'm being completely serious when I say if someone 14 or older came out here for their VERY first round (having NOTHING else to compare it to)it wouldn't surprise me at all if they came away from the experience thinking BFD, and never bothered to find a course elswehere.

Basket for hole 8 fell on the ground, but the pole & chains are still intact.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/28/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: DiscGolfinTheD
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2009
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a great beginner course. Very open, not too many obstacles, and very straightfoward, Very good for working on your drives since there is really nowhere to lose them, and most holes are in the 170 (shortest) to 250, with 2 holes over 300. Distance wise a good mix up.
Cons: Not alot of variety in holes other then distance, My buddy and me play this course very fast typical playing 18 to 27 holes in about an hr.
Other Thoughts: I played this a few weeks ago and they had not cut the field yet and the grass was about waist high on me. (I am 5'9") If this course gets cut it is a fun, short day out in the sun. Plus the only course inside Detroit.

They have now and seems like they are only cutting holes 1 thru 4 and hole 9.. Holes 5 thru 8 are unbelievable tall grass and make it very hard to find your disc. A friend of mine and myself are planning on doing something about this..pretty much were gonna use our own weedwhips and make some interesting fairways. Check back in about a week or so for an update as to what we have done with the second half of the course.

Go figure the day we went out with our equipment they finally cut the whole field!! Sweet irony.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/16/2009   3/19/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-The course is on and taken care of by Lasky Rec. Center, it's in very good shape. There are concrete tee pads and baskets on all 9 holes. Also there is no vandalism anywhere on the course.

-It's very easy to navigate this course, there's good signs on every hole. Only the hole #3 sign is not in place, it slid down to the bottom of the pole (its still readable though).

-Easy access from I-75.
Cons:
-The course is in an open field surrounded by 2 roads, a neighborhood, and the rec. center. Not too much variety on each hole besides slight change in pin placement, and a couple trees. There are a few holes in the 300 range, but an ace is still possible on every hole.

--9 Holes
Other Thoughts:
-This course is on a rec. center with more than just disc golf. It has a few nice bball courts, putt-putt golf course, and a rock climbing wall on the property. If anyone from out of the area came to this course they might think it looks shady, but really its in a pretty decent part of Detroit.

--This is the only course in the Detroit City limits, and even though its a short course without too much variety, I still think it can only be good for the sport. Having 1 course in a city of a million is better than having no courses at all!

--There was no standing water during the wet season.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 field course

7/4/2007   7/4/2008
Review By: compn
Played: 43  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice beginner course, no obstacles. steady east wind.
Cons: 20ft fence surrounding rock wall looks like it might eat a high flying disc.
Other Thoughts: hole 7? missing a basket, pick a tree.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.