Brigham City, UT 
John Adams Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #1 (Taken 11/2010)
4 / 263ft.   3 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Why all the hate?

5+    8/5/2016   8/11/2016
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 380  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 32.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: John Adams is a small park in the middle of Brigham City. It has restrooms, a picnic pavilion, a fire pit and grill, a playground, a sand volleyball court, and lighted tennis courts. In the middle of all this is the meandering Box Elder Creek which winds right through the middle of the park. There are two parking lots for the park one on the north at N 500 E and one on the south at N 500 E, the park prevents the road from going through. Unfortunately, hole 1 is not located near either parking lot. Instead it is found on the east side of the park along N 600 E, with only street parking. Hole 1 and 2 play down a slope into the park. As others have mentioned, most of the holes are short, with only one hole over 400 feet and most fewer than 300 feet. There is some possibility of water hazard from overthrows on holes 1, 2, 5, and 6 but for the most part the creek is out of play other than for pretty scenery. This seems to be a perfectly reasonable recreational course, I don't know if it's changed from previous reviews but it's not bad.
Cons: Holes 1 and 2. As The Grim mentioned there is a definite problem here, the flow is just bad. I don't know if he's right about the fairway cross or the maps right about which pad is which, but having to walk up to hole 2 after 1 is still a bad design. I think my suggestion would be to have Hole 1 play from Hole 2's tee, from the map, to Hole 1's basket and then adding a tee down by Basket 1 that plays a nice hyzer along the creek to Basket 2, if that all makes sense, in fact that's what we ended up playing after a bit because we didn't want to walk back up the hill.

Hole 9. This is sort of a blind shot around the restroom building back up to the road and the teepads.

Short Holes. Some of the holes are a little short, but not unreasonably so. Both of the under 200 holes have some slight uphill to compensate for the shorter distance. There are no long bombers here to be sure, but the distances aren't unreasonable.

Multi-Use Park. As with all multi-use parks, there are the potential of other park users rendering the course unplayable. I wish all DG course were DG exclusive, but it simply isn't going to happen. Please, represent the sport, be courteous to others, and serve as ambassadors to the game, if others our on the course try to get them to play if possible, or simply skip.

Navigation. There are no signs, and the writing on the pads is really faded, making navigation difficult without a map. With a map the park is small enough to find the pads. The signage is perhaps the biggest con of this course, I would like to see actual signs marking holes and maybe an intro sign on N 600 E marking the course. Also, ideally you would want warning signs posted around the course for other park users. With better signage, I could see rating this course a 3.5.
Other Thoughts: I don't know why all the hate on this course, it seems to me to be a perfectly reasonable recreational/beginner friendly/family and youth friendly course. It could use better signage for sure, but the holes themselves are perfectly fine. Not every course needs a 500 foot par 3 to be a good course. This course should serve as a good introduction to the game and as a very family friendly course, as well as practice on upshots and putts for better players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for what it is

2-4    9/5/2015   9/5/2015
Review By: tnerb
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.5 Years
Pros: Good beginner course. Other than a couple of holes with a few trees, a bad shot isn't punished. The creek really doesn't come in to play. Nice concrete tee pads.
Cons: A couple of really short holes (3 & 9). Holes 1 and 2 cross each other. No tee markers or maps, and from a few of the tee pads there are multiple baskets that "could" be the right one. Only 9 holes, and most are similar enough that 2 laps is a little boring.
Other Thoughts: Nice for what it is, but not worth the stop if you're passing through. Better off going to Riverpark.

 Excellent Beginner Course

5+    5/26/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: abarker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
Pros: This is a great disc golf course for beginners, and a great place to take the family as it has a playground area and restrooms.

Several short holes, some elevation, a few decent length holes, and good use of trees to require a variety of shots.

Good Tee pads.
Cons: The layout of the first two holes really struggles with crossing fairways and a significant walk to the number 2 teepad. Hole number 9 is short and fun, but is a blind shot right by the #1 tee shot and area where other park users pedestrians might be.

No signage, and hard to figure out where to go your first time if you don't have someone to follow.

Other Thoughts: Great place to play a quick round or two.

 pretty park

1    5/29/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5 Years
Pros: nice looking park

nice tees

nice baskets

holes 6, 7, 8 (I think) have trees and require some shot shaping

great beginner course
Cons: other than the three holes listed above this course is just wide open grass. not very interesting, but they did what they could in a park that is just that, wide open grass.

the tees were painted with hole number and distance, but the paint has worn off and is illegible now.
Other Thoughts: really nice park.

This is the most fun my wife has ever had playing disc golf, which is huge because usually I can't even talk her into coming with me. She is more excited about disc golf now.

 The Course Of My Dreams

1    6/14/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 73  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: I've always wanted to play a course that could be parred with just a putter, and this is it!

It's actually quite a nice little park with a fun, yet arguably overly easy, course through it. They do make good use of the hills and trees to try to toughen it up a bit, but let's face it, it's still just a beginner's course, and that's ok.

The tee pads are good, so props to the locals who put them in. There are bathrooms and running water which is always a bonus.

Take a moment to enjoy the beautiful area, the picturesque mountains and the burned out building by hole 4/tee pad 5. Absolutely stunning.
Cons: The map on here is incorrect for holes 1 and 2. They actually cross each other, which is a big fail in course design. Hole 1 starts by the restrooms. Plus you throw hole 1 then have to walk all the way back up the little hill and throw 2. It's just not good form.

Ok, now that we have that crying moment taken care of...

Aside from the somewhat wonkie (yes, I used the word wonkie, I'm cool like that) design of the course and no signage the only other con is really the length of the holes. Hole 4 is really the only one that is driver-worthy, unless you are trying out some different throws.
Other Thoughts: Look, not all courses need to be world-class to be fun. It's short, so take the opportunity to bust out some different throws or actually drive with your putter for a change. It was hilarious to see some guys throwing discs like softballs on hole 3!

An all-putter, tommies only or a rollers only round (yes, I'm aware of the "how do you roll a put into the basket" argument, deal with it somehow) or even frolfing, you know, with an actual frisbee, would be fun to play here.

 Great Beginners Course

2-4    4/9/2013   4/10/2013
Review By: Disc Buddy
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice easy course to play. All baskets are easy to spot. Park is pretty open and not too crowded with people. The concrete tee pads are super nice having. I played an easy round in about 30 minutes and the park was empty. There is a river with water always running fast. This comes into play on hole #1, #5, and #6. If you throw a heavy disc plan on wading in after it. I thought my disc would be swept away but I guess I was lucky. It is a fairly open course but there are some trees to offer fun obstacles on most of the holes.
Cons: There was never a super difficult shot which is why this would be great for beginners. None of the holes are super long.
I hate hate hate when there are not clear signs to mark the course. For example, even though I had played the course before, I was confused by the first hole. The map is incorrect. The tee pad for holes one and two are switched. So hole number one is actually closer to the bathrooms. There is a sign at the first tee pad that shows a few of the rules of disc golf.

Also something that bugs me about this course is that after you play hole one, they make you walk all the way back to where you just threw from and throw down the hill again for hole two. To avoid feeling like I was getting exercise and not having fun, play from hole one back to hole 9, by the bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: The course does use what little elevation change there is to its advantage. On hole number 8, the concrete pad is clear on top of the hill as you walk around the tennis courts. When I played the first time, I didn't know this and we just started from next to the tennis courts. This made us lose out on playing a harder hole.

Overall its a fun short course that you can play if you have a few extra minutes and you are in the area. It's pretty much all grassy area you play on so for me wearing work clothes for a quick game works well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best beginner course in UT

2-4    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: AltitudeDiscGlf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great beginner course - and it looks like it is designed with the beginner in mind. The tees are all concrete. The holes have very few obstacles (there are small elevation changes). And each hole has 1-2 extra strokes added to par (meaning they have 350' par 5 - in an open field shooting down hill). I play all the holes at par 3 and was 8 under on my second game. Not a ton of challenge, but I took my wife and kids up and they really enjoyed it.
Cons: The biggest con is that there is not a lot of challenge in this course for the pros for the same reason that this is a beginners course.
Other Thoughts: Here is the best advice: if you are in the Northern UT area and are a beginner or are introducing someone to the sport, take them to this park, if you are a pro, make the drive 1/2 hour south to Riverpark and skip it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/29/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: Crash207
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
Pros: Fun course in a really nice park. Good use of space and geography. Nice placement of baskets in and around trees. Really enjoyed playing this one.
Cons: Only 9 holes but you can always play through twice.
Other Thoughts: Generous pars. I really liked throwing down to 1 and 2 from up on the hill. If I lived closer I would play this one every day.

 A fun putter course

1    6/24/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: its a fun course but with some wide open shots there are lots of ace oppurtities there is onlyt one hole that i have to use a driver hole 4 wide open but a semi far hole but i only used 5 discs when i played 1 driver 2 midranges 2 putters there are cement teepads
Cons: there are alot of open shots with know obsticals thaere are alot of people walking
Other Thoughts: play riverdale utah state univerisity and this one there are pretty close together

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

2-4    6/7/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: Topher
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Short holes make for good beginner course
-Wide open fairways also make for good beginner course
-Stroller accessible
Cons: -Not very challenging, too short and open for most shots
-Creek ran through middle of course, yet you never have to throw over it for any hole... poor use of creek
Other Thoughts: Still a fun place to play, not anywhere near the best I have played at though. Currently it is the closest course to Logan UT and Utah State University now that the USU course was taken out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.