Grand Rapids, MI 
Johnson Park Share
Uploaded By: FoleyT Hole #14
3 / 374ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
coulda woulda shoulda

1    9/5/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
--aesthetic--I always start here. This course plays through the north end of Johnson Park in a DG dedicated area (during the summer). Johnson Park is a much larger multi-use park but this area is separate from the rest.

Routing/Nav--pretty easy with the map printed out...paths are pretty worn and easy to follow and with the lack of rain this year, the rough isn't all that bad...

Risk v. Reward/Terrain/Variety--The terrain here is impressive to say the least, the amount of elevation here is staggering for the city of Grand Rapids. There is truly a little of everything here, huge uphills, huge downhills, rights, lefts, tunnels, valleys, bombers, tight fairways. Great amount of everything here.
Cons:
Teepads/posts/mainenance--I'm going to roll all the cons into one big package. If people would just leave this course alone and enjoy it for the dg course that it is, it could truly be the greatest course in Grand Rapids (not counting Fallasburg) I would have loved to play this course in it's hayday with baskets and great upkeep. It's dilapidated and run down and you have to truly use your imagination to imagine what this course once was...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Johnson

1    7/8/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: Jbot49506
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very scenic with lots of elevation changes. The course is very well laid out and offers some nice challenges for both backhand and sidearm throwing styles.
Cons: The tee-pads do not offer the best footing for take driving. You can very easily loose discs with the long grass. Its very dry right now which makes it easier to keep track of things. TONS of poison ivy on the course. If you are prone to getting poison ivy be very careful!
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful stick course, I think with a little maintenance this could be a top notch course! Regular mowing, and pruning would really help. Be prepared for some exercise, there are lots of hills!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/15/2012   8/1/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For those looking for a workout this is the course. With the up and down hills and valleys it will give you a workout just walking the course. a lot of challenging holes. views are really nice. The entire area is only for the disc golf course. so everyone there would be discing and not picnicking or playing on playground equipment.
Cons: course doesn't appear to be maintained really well. i wouldn't want to mow it at all with the elevation changes and the steepness of the hills. if you haven't been here before the parking lot would be hard to find. bugs can be a problem so recommend bug spray. no restrooms so stop at park before playing.
Other Thoughts: I have played here with both the baskets and posts. I prefer the baskets. would like to see it maintained better. would even consider paying a small fee to help the park commission mow this undeveloped piece of land that is only use is for the disc golf course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Giver a shot

1    10/6/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: ovar
Played: 73  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The feel, layout, hole variety, and scenic setting
Cons: The lack of baskets, (good) tee pads, signage (PRINT OUT MAP IF YOUR NOT FAMILIAR WITH COURSE), and routine maintenance.

Be prepared: Bring water, bug spray, sunscreen, and a keen eye so you don't lose your disc.
Other Thoughts: Rating this course was difficult. The feel, layout, hole variety, and scenic setting easily make this course a strong 4 but the lack of baskets, (good) tee pads, signage, and routine maintenance drop this course down at least a full point. I feel this course would be the best course in GR if the above mentioned improvements were done.

I have live and played in the GR area for almost 7 years and this was my first time playing Johnson Park. I was turned off because there were only poles and I made the terrible mistake of judging this course before playing it. So my point is don't let the cons, although numerous, deter you from playing this course. If you live in the GR area, play this course. If your coming to the GR area I would definitely put this on your list of courses to play.

I have been in contact with Kent County Parks and Rec about improving this course, namely putting in baskets (signage and tee pads would be relatively cheap to do). The county said they do not have any money to put in the park but that if money was raised they would allow improvements to be made. Please contact me if you interested in teaming up with me to make this THE course in GR. Happy discing :)

Update:
I have started a thread regarding the progress of improving Johnson Park. Please add you 2 cents to this thread.

http://www.dgcoursereview.com...=Johnson+Park

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Such Potential...

1    9/20/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: DGninja
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation changes
-Little played
-Great landscape
-Workout
Cons: -Easy to lose a disc. (The grass is unmowed except for the strips of "path".)
-Tons of thorns and other weeds (not a problem if you have jeans...I didn't)
-Workout
Other Thoughts: Advice:
-Wear athletic shoes and JEANS!
-Bring a waterbottle if its sunny or hot. (Luckily remembered those!)
-Watch your shots very carefully. (We had 3 people spotting each other and still almost lost a couple)
Overall:
Great challenging course that could be amazing with some more attention.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but a challenge

5+    7/25/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: valkyrie
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course with alot of varity. Challenging shots but it makes for an awesome time!
Cons: No Baskets. Only fairways were mowed, so if you dident land on the mowed part you need to go digging through 4 foot tall grass/weeds to find your disc. No sighns, tee pads are not fun.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses to play in the grand rapids area. Don't play alone, you WILL need a spotter!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but needs work

2-4    7/10/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: mambrose
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most challanging course in Grand Rapids, alot of blind throw
Cons: While the blind throws are fun, bring a spotter or you will search in the tall grass and woods alot, the tall grass is innoying, dont wear shorts and DO bring bugspray
Other Thoughts: signs,teepads,baskets,trashcans,and basic course up keep would make it atleast a 4

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Attention to Shine

2-4    11/2/2008   4/22/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the variety of the holes on this course! Uphill, downhill, wooded, open, short, long, right, left, and straight....it's all here. The drive off the #18 tee is to die for! You'll want to empty your entire bag from this tee, just for the fun of flinging 'em!
Cons: There is NO signage, so print and carry the map to find your way around. The dirt and railroad tie tees pads just suck. The pole holes could be better. Some of the roughs get wicked later in the summer. Holes #8 and #9 and #13 and #14 are side-by-side making errant throws dangerous if others are on the course. The trudge up the sandy, washed-out hill on #14 is grueling and will leave you panting. The mosquitos here are big, numerous, and blood thirsty! Come prepared with lots of bug spray and sturdy hiking boots to negotiate this hilly and sandy course.
Other Thoughts: As others have said, some upgrading and maintenance on this course would certainly elevate its standing in the state. We'd love to see concrete or even rubber tee pads, trashcans along the course, basket tagets, and some signage....this would bring my rating up at least 1/2-1 point, if not more. Even so, it's by far the most challenging and interesting course I've played in the Grand Rapids area, so far.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem Depite No Baskets

5+    3/22/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: phishbrained
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Layout, downloaded the course map and it worked well.
Open and in some places, more wooded in others gives a nice variation.
Also many of the holes have tee boxes on a hill and the pole on another hill and you end up with some pretty amazing shots if you get it there. Its kind of a bummer when you get stuck having to toss uphill though.
Open 18th hole gave me a nice far toss.
Was nice and dry in the spring, easy to find your discs, no thick grass, waiting to find out how it changes in the summer.
Cons: Very hilly, but not bad if you're wearing athletic or skateboarding style shoes.
No baskets, only a few wooden stake type poles with paint on them.
The tee off pads are wooden blocks with dirt or sand and are really dug out, thankfully both sides of the pad are nice, flat, hard dirt and work nicely if you dont mind.
In spring the trees dont block the wind on the first few and last few holes. Can work with or against you.
No hole info near tee boxes so print the map.
Beer bottles and trash, unfortunately left by discers when there is a trash can in the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Nice course for practicing your drives and mid range shots, but without baskets, you don't get any putting pratice. I love the course, but I wish it had some baskets and I wouldn't mind the tees as much if i knew where I'm throwing to. The map is a great help.
I'm thinking about cleaning up the trash and flattening some of the tees. I also am thinking about tying bright cloth around the branches that are poles so they are more visible.
18th hole really has a spectacular view from the tee box

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 MOW ME!!!

7/26/2008   7/26/2008
Review By: 2006Ruckus
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you want a work out with your golf game this course is it. Lots of elevation changes will keep you huffing and puffing all thru the round. Its a longer course so you can really let it fly on many holes Especially 18, which has one of the best views you can find in the GR area. You tee off and bomb it straight down hill. Otherwise its a great mix of open and wooded, up hill and down hill. Lots of dog lefts. Good times with tons of potential.
Cons: LONG grass in the summer. Physically draining. Pole course. Sandy tees. First time navigating is tricky.
Other Thoughts: I know concrete tees and baskets are a pipe dream...but if they would just mow this course more often it would be killer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center