Grand Rapids, MI 
Johnson Park Share
Uploaded By: FoleyT Hole #15
3 / 293ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Fairway to Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
One of my Favorites

2-4    8/5/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: myhouseinthewoods
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great crazy level hills through-out the park - in which one hole you go down a steep hill just to go up another steep one.
- Very private - so activities involving 420 can take place privately if wanted.
Cons: - Hard to find for new people. The first time I've went to this park - even with my car - I couldnt find where to go for at least 20 minutes, and even got sidetracked walking into the forest lands. I even asked a few locals with no help.
- Can get really hot during the middle of summer being up top of some of these high level hills, so best to bring a drink.
- Can get confusing trying to find some holes, as it seems a couple have dissapeared - but it should be expected since as the park is old.
Other Thoughts: - In order to easily reach the park, just continue down past the local park until you feel you have reached a gravel drive way to your left - of course though most people come from that direction.
- The last time I've took a bike ride to, there were two strange kids, and my brother swears one had a axe in his pants, so be careful around this park, as it may be a good idea to bring a back-up knife.
- Theres only poles, no baskets.
- No concrete tee pads, mostly dirt
- Despite some of the cons I have put down, this park is still one of my favorites cause of the crazy terrain - gotta give the park credit for uniqueness.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 coulda woulda shoulda

1    9/5/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
--aesthetic--I always start here. This course plays through the north end of Johnson Park in a DG dedicated area (during the summer). Johnson Park is a much larger multi-use park but this area is separate from the rest.

Routing/Nav--pretty easy with the map printed out...paths are pretty worn and easy to follow and with the lack of rain this year, the rough isn't all that bad...

Risk v. Reward/Terrain/Variety--The terrain here is impressive to say the least, the amount of elevation here is staggering for the city of Grand Rapids. There is truly a little of everything here, huge uphills, huge downhills, rights, lefts, tunnels, valleys, bombers, tight fairways. Great amount of everything here.
Cons:
Teepads/posts/mainenance--I'm going to roll all the cons into one big package. If people would just leave this course alone and enjoy it for the dg course that it is, it could truly be the greatest course in Grand Rapids (not counting Fallasburg) I would have loved to play this course in it's hayday with baskets and great upkeep. It's dilapidated and run down and you have to truly use your imagination to imagine what this course once was...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fabulous course! Use your imagination!

5+    7/13/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: fenixtxfan11
Played: 56  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Rediculous elevation changes, great use of terrain within city limits, never crowded.
Cons: Grass can be tall in the late summer, but this year its fine because we haven't gotten any rain!
Other Thoughts: This is a post game, no baskets. It's not the end of the world. The fabulous drives make up for it big time.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Johnson

1    7/8/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: Jbot49506
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very scenic with lots of elevation changes. The course is very well laid out and offers some nice challenges for both backhand and sidearm throwing styles.
Cons: The tee-pads do not offer the best footing for take driving. You can very easily loose discs with the long grass. Its very dry right now which makes it easier to keep track of things. TONS of poison ivy on the course. If you are prone to getting poison ivy be very careful!
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful stick course, I think with a little maintenance this could be a top notch course! Regular mowing, and pruning would really help. Be prepared for some exercise, there are lots of hills!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/18/2005   4/16/2012
Review By: CDashMAN
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great challenge and topography
Nice scenery
good hole variety
Cons: what most other reviewers have stated:
bad tees
poor signage
posts instead of baskets (baskets were destroyed or stolen over the years due to remote location)
Other Thoughts: If you want exersize during your round, this is a great course to play. Goes up and down hills. One nice bomber shot down a hill.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Johnson Park...... What?

1    6/19/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This course has great challenges, which is possibly the ONLY reason it is a passable.
- Good variation between high and low, pretty much straight shots.
- Good hike and long, but the course is yet short. You will understand that when you play it.
Cons: - Bad tees, they are only dirt with a 2x4 block of wood.
- No signs stating what tee it is, let alone where the whole is
- Baskets are posts in the ground, which are impossible to hit as you would with a basket.
- Hardly mowed fairway, bring crappy discs, you will lose them
- It is hard to find; (after you get off the main road, follow the road past Johnson Park to the left, and as you see to the left a giant hill and a gravel parking lot with lots of brush, this is the course.)
- No garbage, bathrooms, and poor parking lot
- There is brush on either side of the fairway, itchy plants, poison ivy, etc. Beware!
- No water hazards, not a hyzer/anhyzer type course or mid-range lucky, will require a drive and then what would somewhat pass as a putt. (Determine if its a goal if its hit or in general area of goal.)
Other Thoughts: - Bring water, it is a long course
- Bring bug spray and long socks or pants

Overall, it is passable, but only because it was a interesting course, otherwise the Cons outweigh the Pros by a lot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Go early or late

5+    9/5/2010   3/28/2011
Review By: libertine5010
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great terrain and post layouts. Beautiful landscape with rolling hills and fantastic skylines. This is where I learned to play and this will probably always be my favorite course.
Cons: NO BASKETS. Stupid kids ruined them a few years ago so now we are stuck with posts for now. Also, avoid raining, humid days. Bugs and mud will be plenty. I suggest wearing high socks if you plan on wearing shorts because there are pricker bushes galore if you land in the rough. I personally thrive in this atmosphere however. This is the "manliest" course in the Grand Rapids region.
Other Thoughts: If this course had a bi-monthly mowing and baskets, it would earn a 5 without a doubt.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 used to be good

5+    10/30/2001   10/30/2010
Review By: discdeviant
Played: 75  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'll give it a 4 because it used to be a really fun course before a bunch of scumbag lowlifes stole baskets and gutted the course. A cool mix of shots with good elevation changes. Hole 18 is a blast!
Cons: Last I knew no baskets remain--just pole targets. Some throwers will consider it too short
Other Thoughts: 97 Am Worlds course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Looks can be deceiving...

1    7/24/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: scrotman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course looks promising especially since its the closest 18 holer near me but be aware... Only things this course has going for it is decent hole placements and lack of other players.
Cons: This course may have been at its prime years ago but it is nowhere close now. Tees are 2X4 barriers raised acouple inches above ground (dont trip) and some are extremely muddy. Fairways are hardly mowed, the roughs are brutal, if u hyzer a shot alittle to much and it goes into the rough be prepared to look for 10+ minutes for your disc. You have no idea where to go after hole 11 unless you have a map. Holes are poles which is a big turn off for me. This course is just plain not maintained well enough to even bother going.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray! Great views from its hilly landscape. Bring a map.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/15/2012   8/1/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For those looking for a workout this is the course. With the up and down hills and valleys it will give you a workout just walking the course. a lot of challenging holes. views are really nice. The entire area is only for the disc golf course. so everyone there would be discing and not picnicking or playing on playground equipment.
Cons: course doesn't appear to be maintained really well. i wouldn't want to mow it at all with the elevation changes and the steepness of the hills. if you haven't been here before the parking lot would be hard to find. bugs can be a problem so recommend bug spray. no restrooms so stop at park before playing.
Other Thoughts: I have played here with both the baskets and posts. I prefer the baskets. would like to see it maintained better. would even consider paying a small fee to help the park commission mow this undeveloped piece of land that is only use is for the disc golf course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.