Lewiston, NY 
Joseph Davis State Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #8
3 / 290ft.   3 / 375ft.   3 / 462ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    11/27/2014   11/27/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 33  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 27 holes of fun
- 3 sets of tees. The blues are a bit harder to find but generally right at the tee sign. For most of the holes the blues just add distance and don't change the hole otherwise.
- Ample cement tees on the whites. Natural tees on the reds/blues.
- Decent signage. Sufficient tee signs. The flow is pretty straightforward without a map with only 1 weird transition (near 9).
- Picnic tables at a few tee pads if you need a quick break.
- In my 2 trips, very few non-DG activities going on (a few dog walkers), its almost all DG in the park.
- Park is very clean, well maintained, and nicely mowed.
- A few ace runs, and a lot of birdie opportunities.
- With well marked short tees and little punishing rough this makes JD a great place to bring a beginner. Very little chance of a lost disc.
Cons: - A few holes have the tees too close to another fairway which can impact flow if full (as it was for dubs event today). For example, a normal RHBH line on 2 goes right over 3's tee, so I won't throw on 2 if someone is on 3's white tee. Then on 4, in 3 rounds I've seen 2 discs end up closer than I'm comfy with to 4s white tee. Granted you shouldn't be there, but if your RHBH drive doesn't flip like you intended you'll be on / near 4s tee.
- Although there are very few weak holes, a lot of ok/good holes here, I struggle to pick one or two GREAT holes.
Other Thoughts: JD has you playing 27 holes through a typical park setting. Most of the holes are rather open but do require you to do some shot shaping - it's not just a hyzer bomb fest like some more open courses. I found myself (primarily RHBH) throwing hyzers, S-curves, anny's, flicks, and a few straight shots as well. Playing with a partner that threw RHFH I didn't notice a bias for FH/BH.

This is a course I struggled with on my review and wanted to wait until I had an opportunity to come back. I can see why there is a bit of contention over the rating here. If you are looking for a bunch of memorable holes - you won't find it. But you will find a lot of decent / good holes that add up to a good course, IMO. It just depends on what you are looking for and what you expect in a course. Perhaps if they cut it down to 18 and put in a few par 4s it may be better, but I'm not sure the obstacles are there to work with to make that happen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Like

1    10/25/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good tee box signs
-Nice baskets
- 27 holes!!!!
- 3 different tee boxes on every hole
- This course had a flow to it

Cons: -The signs are far away from the tee box
-Some holes were hard to find
-The out of bounds was harsh
Other Thoughts: This course was great because it was 27 holes. It had a variety of holes

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/5/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 70  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes play throughout a very nice park setting. Most of the holes here play relatively short and open, so its a great course for beginners to learn the game, and also good for more experienced players to practice their lines, and dial in their shots.

Each hole has a tee sign that illustrates the hole layout from 3 tee placements, including distances for each.

Concrete tee pads are located on the white tees for each hole.

Picnic tables and trash cans can be found on most holes, so the course is very clean and has very little litter.

The original baskets have been replaced with new Mach III.

Hole #12 features an island green (surrounded by asphalt) which gives the course a bit of character.

The Mid 9 loops back around to the end of the front 9 and the beginning of the back 9, so if you only have time to play 18 holes, you can break off after hole # 8 and play # 18 - # 27.
Cons: This isn't the most challenging course. Most of the holes are pretty similar. Open, short, and flat. As stated before, great course for beginners.

Layout can get a little confusing at times. One example of this is after hole # 8, the next tee pad you see is actually hole # 18. Might want to print out the course map your first time.

There are a couple instances where two pins are located close to one another(hole # 5 and hole # 8, and also hole # 24 and hole # 26). Make sure that you check your map and the tee signs carefully to make sure that you're shooting at the correct basket.

The tee signs are located at the blue tees and the concrete pads are located at the white tees. This makes for a lot of walking back and forth if you're using the pads.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is very enjoyable. They're aren't many places here where one will be punished for a bad shot. Great course to play once a year coming from the next city over.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 better than expected

1    10/22/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - description: 27 hole course, mostly flat, moderately wooded
- tees and signs: graphics on signs are functional and give indication of where to find the next tee. tee pads are concrete. we found some of them to feel slick to tee off from, almost too smooth if your shoes are wet. most of them, however, had enough grit and were fine.
- variety: holes are good mix of short and long with lots of birdie chances and places to air out a great drive. fairways aren't too tight, usually giving you a couple of options for your lines if you're right or left handed.
- basket placements: good. on some of the shorter ones, the basket is slightly hidden off the tee to make them more interesting/challenging. one of my favorites is the island placement on hole #12 surrounded by the road (ob), another is hole 14 where you tee off through a small opening out into the fairway and the basket is just beyond another small opening 215 feet away.
- busy: not too bad. we let several groups play through, since we were a group of 5 and most were only 2. while we were leaving, a lot more groups showed up despite some bad weather. one group of guys we met we talked with about the course, how it's better than most people give it credit
- flow: pretty good with the help of the arrows on the tee signs. some of the holes are laid out pretty close to each other, but this didn't seem to be much of a problem
- difficulty: pretty easy. because it's so open, you rarely find yourself in major trouble. good course to practice shaping your lines
- bathrooms: open? locked for us.
Cons: - signs are looking old. it would be nice if each tee placement had its own sign
- blue and white tees are easy to find. no sign of the red tees
Other Thoughts: - one of the better open courses in buffalo. i was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed it more than wilson or ellicott
- a solid, fun course to pair up with beaver island if doing a trip on that side of buffalo


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Good

1    5/19/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the first 27 hole course I have ever played and from some one that has to travel here like I do I think its well worth the drive. The length of this course is Just fantastic. Some challenging holes to be played for both left hand and right hand players. Nice elevation changes and a good use of the area the holes are set to make for some interesting holes. All the holes are marked with signs and most of the have next tee this way signs too so its very easy to find your way through for the first time.
Cons: The parking lot is a little difficult to find now that the main road comming into the park is blocked off because according to the locals the park is closed but this should not stop you from throwing here. Because its closed the grass tends to not be kept as well as other courses but some people in the area mow it so its still will never get that bad.
Other Thoughts: Durring the wind storm right before i went a tree was knocked down right in front of one of the tees this makes this hole a little more challenging but I say to leave it like it is a good overhand shot and your home free!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/25/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: badmofo27
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: no charge to play, fairly straght on not a lot of doglegs or really tough holes. a nice course for beginners or casual players.
Cons: mosquitos can be horrible @ certain times of the day. if it rains there are a couple of holes u will want 2 skip because there will be small ponds in several areas
Other Thoughts: #12 (the island) is a fun hole, ive had a lot of good laughs on this hole

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mosquitos Everywhere

1    6/2/2007   2/13/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes. Good variety of holes. The original 18 holes are pretty short. The newer 9 is much longer. (I believe the 9 are inserted in somewhere in the middle, but you can tell a difference in the style if you are looking for it.)
Cons: This course was pretty crowded when we played it (later in the evening.) The billions of mosquitos were something I will never forget. Older course and it shows signs of that at times.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, 27 holes is a plus.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A beautiful, peaceful park

5+    9/22/2008   9/23/2008
Review By: simpletwist
Played: 25  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful, quiet, well maintained park. Even in the middle of summer on a weekend there are very few other park users particularly on the course in this large multi use state park. In my opinion the best course in the area for beginners, novices, families and those who don't throw very far. 27 holes provide a multitude of challenges and a variety of opportunities to practice different types of shots. 6 baskets have been replaced, kudos to NRDG. And a little grooming to some of the trees particularly on hole number 3, has made the course better.
Cons: For the very experienced players a long fairly straight shot of about 250-275 feet will give you a birdie opportunity on many holes. The thickets throughout the park can hide discs very easily especially in the fall; and these thickets are loaded with thorns making retrieving a buried disc a "prickly" problem. The course design is well laid out and easy to follow. The tee box for number 12 may not be readily apparent for first time players. The practice basket was stolen.

The basket for number 27 is missing.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course and in the short year and a half since I've taken up this excellent sport I've played here well over 100 times.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/25/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: bfaslewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2008
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The shear length of the course makes for a good outing. There are several hyzer and annie holes, and well planted trees/hedges do make for some technical shots on the straighter ones. I really like this course and it's definitely worth a stop if you're in the area.
Cons: As most have already mentioned there are 27 holes, unfortunately there isn't much variety between them terrain wise. The course was updated many years ago, and they added an extra 9 holes to the previous 18, but unless you've played before or go with someone that has, the course can be tough to follow at times.
Other Thoughts: Due to its originality hole #12 stands out to me as a signature hole: the pin is only 300ft away from the amateur(white) tees, but an unused part of the road loops around a small "island" with the pin being nestled within 2-3 pine trees, and the road is considered OB, so you need to plant your shot on the "island" as to not receive a penalty. It's like playing a water shot without fear of losing your disc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

6/8/2007   4/4/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes makes it worth the stop. No park fee when we stopped which is always nice. Excellent variety of lengths to make up for the redundancy of technical shots needed. Looks like the setting was built around disc golf rather than the other way around which is more typical.
Cons: Some baskets needed work. The main complaint....MOSQUITOS, especially on one hole in particular. It was like 'tee off, and then run like heck, to get your disc and throw again.
Other Thoughts: Mosquitos were really only bad on about 6 holes. But it may also just be that time of year. I liked this course a lot. I thought it was an excellent workout. There was a humongous house right next to one of the tee pads and I remember thinking "That is an amazing house....because there is disc golf course right outside!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.