Lewiston, NY 
Joseph Davis State Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #7
3 / 182ft.   3 / 264ft.   3 / 326ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A change of pace

2-4    7/17/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: ssejhill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * A 27 hole course - unique in Western NY
* White tees are concrete pads
* Clean park
Cons: * Blue tees are difficult to find
* Some tees and baskets play close to each other
Other Thoughts: The course designers have done a nice job putting this course in, as an original 18 hole course, and then adding to and updating it to a 27 hole course. The course has a good flow from one hole to the next but at times it would be helpful if the baskets had an arrow pointing to the next tee (just a suggestion). I liked the overall challenge to the course. Unlike many courses in the area this didn't seem to favor lefties or righties, the holes utilized many of the natural barriers (bushes, trees, mounds, ...) to challenge the player to pick his throws.

Unlike PRERUBE (see review below) I liked the challenges that the designers put in play with the bushes, trees and hedgerows. He thought they would be too challenging for novice players, but novice players could always play these holes from the RED tees which are easier and very well marked. Its too bad the PRERUBE was bored by this course. I found it a refreshing change from the courses I often play with many unique and thoughtful challenges. I wouldn't describe myself as an expert but I am definitely experienced as I've been playing for well more than 10 years and I've played at dozens of courses over the years. I'm happy to get a chance to play JD. I just wish that I could get up here to play more often.

We did find that the BLUE tees (indicated by blue bricks in the ground) are difficult to find but we almost always found them right next to the tee signs. PRERUBE found the signs being so far from the concrete tee pad to be an issue. I guess he doesn't like playing from the BLUE tees. We did talk with an NRDG member (Justin) working the course and he mentioned that new blue tee bricks will be going in soon. We saw the work that they completed on the red tees and found that they were first class and quite noticeable.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cluster of mediocrity

1    7/4/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not very crowded, concrete tees, and thats about all the positives I can say.
Hole 12 is only memorable hole with the fake island.
Cons: 27 holes is not a pro. This could be an epic 18, instead is is a clustered mess of 27 less than average holes. Tee 18 to basket 19 would be a great hole, instead 18 is a dinky.shot that rewards you for missing the hole and 19 is a tiny open putter hole.
BASKET 2 IS DEMOLISHED AND UNUSABLE.
Course flow was an issue, tees were often behind previous baskets or crossed other fairways. If you took a handful of paracord and tossed it into the air, the way it would land probably resembles this layout. From basket 8 to tee 9 you cross 18s fairway. Other close holes would make a tournament here very uncomfortable.
Tee signs are 30-60 feet from pads. I would.bet if I searched the 3 inch grass I would find a brick buried at ground level denoting "alternate pads" but to be honest this course is one basket one tee.
Hole 15 is uncomfortably close to the road
Gimmick holes are plentiful here. Hole 22 has brush 3 feet in front of tee on both sides. This hole provides no challenge for experienced players, but severly punishes novice players. another hole that screams gimmick would be 25. This hole is a joke with large brush directly infront of the tee 15 feet infront of you, forcing a massive anny, long flick, or for the novice a risky blind tommy.
Many holes are high disc loss for lower level players, the course beats up the weak while bores the experienced.
Other Thoughts: I can imagine the discussion for this course, "we already have several nice 18 holes, so why make another, lets make a crappy 27!"

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Like

1    10/25/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 35  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good tee box signs
-Nice baskets
- 27 holes!!!!
- 3 different tee boxes on every hole
- This course had a flow to it

Cons: -The signs are far away from the tee box
-Some holes were hard to find
-The out of bounds was harsh
Other Thoughts: This course was great because it was 27 holes. It had a variety of holes

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not what I expected, needs some loving.

1    7/27/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: comminute
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What makes this course special is the amount of disc golf to be played, going into my round I had never played a course with 27 holes, and the cement tee pads were a plus as well. There are not too many courses in Buffalo with cement so this is a very attractive addition to this course but...
Cons: This is a classic case of quantity over quality. There are a lot of holes but almost none of them are challenging or interesting, unless you are a beginner in which case this would be an excellent place to throw down, and the few that are interesting are just not good enough to make up for the lackluster holes in front and behind it.
Other Thoughts: The signage is not excellent and needs to be placed at the tee pads.

The cement tees should be at the blues instead of the whites.

If this course went from 27 to 18, got a redesign and some love it could be something special but right now it is one of the weaker courses in Buffalo.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/20/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: Safbo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you like Huge air and fairly open course this is it. Plus 27 holes,makes it a local standout. Several ace able holes makes it even better. Concrete tees keep you out of the mud when it's wet. Bring your throwing arm because the only other local course that has as much open air shots is beaver island. Good drives off the tee can deuce or 3 par most holes.
Cons: Few cons, older park that switched hands from state to county town back and forth but is on its way to back being a first rate park.
Other Thoughts: This is where I learned to play disc golf over 20 years ago and still like a home coming every time I go back. All round good mix of holes and probably the best local course for newbies to learn the game and long time players to just relax and have fun playing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/5/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes play throughout a very nice park setting. Most of the holes here play relatively short and open, so its a great course for beginners to learn the game, and also good for more experienced players to practice their lines, and dial in their shots.

Each hole has a tee sign that illustrates the hole layout from 3 tee placements, including distances for each.

Concrete tee pads are located on the white tees for each hole.

Picnic tables and trash cans can be found on most holes, so the course is very clean and has very little litter.

The original baskets have been replaced with new Mach III.

Hole #12 features an island green (surrounded by asphalt) which gives the course a bit of character.

The Mid 9 loops back around to the end of the front 9 and the beginning of the back 9, so if you only have time to play 18 holes, you can break off after hole # 8 and play # 18 - # 27.
Cons: This isn't the most challenging course. Most of the holes are pretty similar. Open, short, and flat. As stated before, great course for beginners.

Layout can get a little confusing at times. One example of this is after hole # 8, the next tee pad you see is actually hole # 18. Might want to print out the course map your first time.

There are a couple instances where two pins are located close to one another(hole # 5 and hole # 8, and also hole # 24 and hole # 26). Make sure that you check your map and the tee signs carefully to make sure that you're shooting at the correct basket.

The tee signs are located at the blue tees and the concrete pads are located at the white tees. This makes for a lot of walking back and forth if you're using the pads.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is very enjoyable. They're aren't many places here where one will be punished for a bad shot. Great course to play once a year coming from the next city over.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/26/2011   12/26/2011
Review By: dyngus
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 27 hole course, if you're looking to make a day of it this is the perfect course. Most holes are fairly short and flat. Concrete pads
Cons: Extremely simplistic and not too challenging of a course
Other Thoughts: Fun, flat, easy,

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 better than expected

1    10/22/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - description: 27 hole course, mostly flat, moderately wooded
- tees and signs: graphics on signs are functional and give indication of where to find the next tee. tee pads are concrete. we found some of them to feel slick to tee off from, almost too smooth if your shoes are wet. most of them, however, had enough grit and were fine.
- variety: holes are good mix of short and long with lots of birdie chances and places to air out a great drive. fairways aren't too tight, usually giving you a couple of options for your lines if you're right or left handed.
- basket placements: good. on some of the shorter ones, the basket is slightly hidden off the tee to make them more interesting/challenging. one of my favorites is the island placement on hole #12 surrounded by the road (ob), another is hole 14 where you tee off through a small opening out into the fairway and the basket is just beyond another small opening 215 feet away.
- busy: not too bad. we let several groups play through, since we were a group of 5 and most were only 2. while we were leaving, a lot more groups showed up despite some bad weather. one group of guys we met we talked with about the course, how it's better than most people give it credit
- flow: pretty good with the help of the arrows on the tee signs. some of the holes are laid out pretty close to each other, but this didn't seem to be much of a problem
- difficulty: pretty easy. because it's so open, you rarely find yourself in major trouble. good course to practice shaping your lines
- bathrooms: open? locked for us.
Cons: - signs are looking old. it would be nice if each tee placement had its own sign
- blue and white tees are easy to find. no sign of the red tees
Other Thoughts: - one of the better open courses in buffalo. i was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed it more than wilson or ellicott
- a solid, fun course to pair up with beaver island if doing a trip on that side of buffalo


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Keeps You Guessing

1    6/18/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: lucasfnelson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The length, and variety of holes, of this course makes it worth the drive. Every hole is different and there is a good number of memorable holes on this course. Not terribly busy, but there are enough players around to help out the first timer.
Cons: The signs don't tell you where the next hole is, and the layout is not very intuitive. I wasted a good amount of time trying to hunt out a few holes (14 and 18). Save yourself some time and print out a map before you come out.

There are a lot of shots that are in the open, so bring a hat and some sunblock for those sunny days.

A couple of holes are next to the road, and the wayward shot runs the risk of hitting a passing car...


This doesn't really have anything to do with the layout of the course, but the mosquitos are terrible. Some insect repellent will be greatly beneficial.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a really good course. Allow yourself plenty of time to enjoy the whole course (and bring plenty of water and a snack).

Be sure to stay on the fairway, I spent a lot of time in the bushes fishing out discs, and there are a lot of thorns!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 JD is still alive and kicking....

5+    6/25/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: leftyone
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes!! variety if shots required. its very flat and a nice quiet walk.
Cons: the grass is being cut but it's mostly paths and a little fairway, get off track and you'll be spending some time looking for your disc
Other Thoughts: This is my "home course" so to speak. When I want to go out and practice this is where I go. Shot back to back par rounds here from the am Tee's. I wish the pro Tees were marked better so I could start playing from them.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.