Lewiston, NY 
Joseph Davis State Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #12
4 / 213ft.   4 / 300ft.   3 / 358ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Surprisingly Good

1    5/19/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the first 27 hole course I have ever played and from some one that has to travel here like I do I think its well worth the drive. The length of this course is Just fantastic. Some challenging holes to be played for both left hand and right hand players. Nice elevation changes and a good use of the area the holes are set to make for some interesting holes. All the holes are marked with signs and most of the have next tee this way signs too so its very easy to find your way through for the first time.
Cons: The parking lot is a little difficult to find now that the main road comming into the park is blocked off because according to the locals the park is closed but this should not stop you from throwing here. Because its closed the grass tends to not be kept as well as other courses but some people in the area mow it so its still will never get that bad.
Other Thoughts: Durring the wind storm right before i went a tree was knocked down right in front of one of the tees this makes this hole a little more challenging but I say to leave it like it is a good overhand shot and your home free!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Shoot Alot

5+    9/1/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 27 holes lets you throw a lot. You can leave your drivers in the car. A great beginners course. The park is no longer used by anyone but DGer's. There are decen't cement teepads.
Cons: 27 holes of boring disc golf. The baskets are dismal looking and in the way they perform.
Other Thoughts: If you want to see a basket that has totally rusted out this is the place to come.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A park just for disc golfers

5+    10/24/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: jonnieoh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No major woods or trees to damage your discs, wide open; a driver's course. Hard to lose a disc. No water holes. Not crowded/very quiet park seemingly just for disc golf. 27 holes. Lots of apple and pear trees for a tasty snack. Tee boxes are paved concrete.
Cons: Not too challenging for really experienced pro-level players, (not a problem in my case). Flat, wide-open terrain can make it a little boring. Lots of hedgerows and shrubs to make retrieving a bad throw difficult. A little "in the middle of nowhere" for some.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses to just do an easy round at. It's probably my "home course". It's also nice that there are 27 holes, (and certainly room for another 9 to be put in--hopefully someday).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great playing course

1    11/16/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: challenging layout but open enough to be able to stretch your arm.
Cons: Signage is lacking, good thing I met some locals to play with or I would definately have been lost, and playing my own creative layout.
Other Thoughts: Thanks to the three guys who let me join in. hopefully we'll run into each other again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    9/4/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes, pretty wide open. Allows beginners to learn basic shots without worrying about lost discs. Park dedicated to disc golf course. Well maintained, good combo of new and vintage DGA baskets. Concrete tee-pads make for dry consistent drives. Signs on all holes.
Cons: A bit too short for pros/long drivers. Large amount of Par 3's leaves little room for error. Holes are packed in together so the course can get confusing.(make sure you're on the right hole each time). White tees are concrete, but signs are back at the blues which makes for unnecessary walking back on each hole to check the signs.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this was worth the trip up to Lewiston. We went the day after they mowed so we got grass clippings on our discs after every throw, but at least they're mowing...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/25/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: badmofo27
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: no charge to play, fairly straght on not a lot of doglegs or really tough holes. a nice course for beginners or casual players.
Cons: mosquitos can be horrible @ certain times of the day. if it rains there are a couple of holes u will want 2 skip because there will be small ponds in several areas
Other Thoughts: #12 (the island) is a fun hole, ive had a lot of good laughs on this hole

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Yaaaaaawwwwnnn!!!

1    3/21/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: Pyro419
Played: 17  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I did like that there are 27 holes, but thats about it. 'crete pads a plus.
Cons: It seems like the entire origional 18 were all just 300' or less straight in front of you with 1 or 2 trees that if you hit your an idiot. the added 9 are about the same , but a little longer.
Other Thoughts: Drove 50 minutes to play here, very dissapointed, had a good time, but only cause id never been here. Shot a 91 1st time here.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mosquitos Everywhere

1    6/2/2007   2/13/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes. Good variety of holes. The original 18 holes are pretty short. The newer 9 is much longer. (I believe the 9 are inserted in somewhere in the middle, but you can tell a difference in the style if you are looking for it.)
Cons: This course was pretty crowded when we played it (later in the evening.) The billions of mosquitos were something I will never forget. Older course and it shows signs of that at times.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, 27 holes is a plus.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 JD

5+    10/15/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: chuckgalbo
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are lots of birdies out there. You can play 27 holes as quick as some courses play 18. Garbage cans and picnic tables throughout the course.
Cons: The baskets are horrible. They need to be updated. This is a deuce or die course. Not a very challenging course.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course but not the best that buffalo has to offer. Would suggest playing Como park or Beaver Island if you are looking for a challenge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A beautiful, peaceful park

5+    9/22/2008   9/23/2008
Review By: simpletwist
Played: 25  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful, quiet, well maintained park. Even in the middle of summer on a weekend there are very few other park users particularly on the course in this large multi use state park. In my opinion the best course in the area for beginners, novices, families and those who don't throw very far. 27 holes provide a multitude of challenges and a variety of opportunities to practice different types of shots. 6 baskets have been replaced, kudos to NRDG. And a little grooming to some of the trees particularly on hole number 3, has made the course better.
Cons: For the very experienced players a long fairly straight shot of about 250-275 feet will give you a birdie opportunity on many holes. The thickets throughout the park can hide discs very easily especially in the fall; and these thickets are loaded with thorns making retrieving a buried disc a "prickly" problem. The course design is well laid out and easy to follow. The tee box for number 12 may not be readily apparent for first time players. The practice basket was stolen.

The basket for number 27 is missing.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course and in the short year and a half since I've taken up this excellent sport I've played here well over 100 times.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.