Lewiston, NY 
Joseph Davis State Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #20
3 / 173ft.   3 / 195ft.   3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

5+    5/25/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: bfaslewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2008
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The shear length of the course makes for a good outing. There are several hyzer and annie holes, and well planted trees/hedges do make for some technical shots on the straighter ones. I really like this course and it's definitely worth a stop if you're in the area.
Cons: As most have already mentioned there are 27 holes, unfortunately there isn't much variety between them terrain wise. The course was updated many years ago, and they added an extra 9 holes to the previous 18, but unless you've played before or go with someone that has, the course can be tough to follow at times.
Other Thoughts: Due to its originality hole #12 stands out to me as a signature hole: the pin is only 300ft away from the amateur(white) tees, but an unused part of the road loops around a small "island" with the pin being nestled within 2-3 pine trees, and the road is considered OB, so you need to plant your shot on the "island" as to not receive a penalty. It's like playing a water shot without fear of losing your disc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

6/8/2007   4/4/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes makes it worth the stop. No park fee when we stopped which is always nice. Excellent variety of lengths to make up for the redundancy of technical shots needed. Looks like the setting was built around disc golf rather than the other way around which is more typical.
Cons: Some baskets needed work. The main complaint....MOSQUITOS, especially on one hole in particular. It was like 'tee off, and then run like heck, to get your disc and throw again.
Other Thoughts: Mosquitos were really only bad on about 6 holes. But it may also just be that time of year. I liked this course a lot. I thought it was an excellent workout. There was a humongous house right next to one of the tee pads and I remember thinking "That is an amazing house....because there is disc golf course right outside!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2/21/2008   2/21/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes, about 15 minutes North of Buffalo. Three tee placements per hole. Can get VERY windy. I think the course is laid out nicely with the room they have. Being 27 holes is always a plus, the more disc golf in a day the better!!! Course is fairly flat, easy to walk. Some baskets are looking old and worn down. But I did notice they seem to be getting replaced slowly.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  A Very Good Course

11/2/2007   11/2/2007
Review By: smapdi
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide selection of hole (27), Usually not too busy, Challenging due to the wind conditons

Supposedly in 2008, the state has secured money to re-due the course and get new baskets.

There is also no charge to play. No one is ever in the tollbooths.
Cons: The course could use some new baskets.
Other Thoughts: I live right down the street so I'm always playing there. One of best courses in Niagara County and the WNY area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very... quiet

8/4/2007   8/6/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 243  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You'll never run into much of a crowd here. 27 holes.
Cons: Some signs missing, a few baskets in rough shape and a lot of holes play fairly short.
Other Thoughts: JDSP has a pretty decent variety of holes although I'd say most play in the open. Almost all holes have some sort of obstacle to contend with, normally various trees or bushes. There are also a few holes that require a bit of precision through wooded alleys.

My most recent round here stood out as there were more than two people in the entire park. I've played here a few times over the years and I was almost always one of the only people there which is a shame as it's actually a nice park.

I'd probably play here more often if I lived closer but it's definitely not a stand out course as far as challenge, variety or scenery is concerned. It's a solid, fun course that's worth playing at least one round if you're in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The best part of the park

7/21/2007   7/22/2007
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2008
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Twenty-seven baskets provide a good day's workout. This is a course where the landscaping seems groomed for its purpose; trees that appear to have been planted when it was first constructed are maturing. With the exception of the monster hedges that devour discs, the course is pretty forgiving. New, descriptive tee signs were added in late summer of 2007, and the par was updated to 21st century standards.
Cons: It gets a little repetitive after a while, with the course mostly open and flat the same kind of shots get played again and again. The age of the course means that the holes on average tend to be on the short side. The low-lying areas on the 6th, 8th and 18th fairways do not drain very well, resulting in sizable ice rinks in the winter and 8" deep ponds on the course in early spring.
Other Thoughts: The ruins of an old swimming pool and snack bar at the end of the course may once have been the focus of the park. But now, the disc golf course is what puts this park on the map. It is obvious that those who care for the course still take a great deal of pride in it, even after 27 years.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.