Jamestown, PA 
Pymatuning State Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #6
3 / 230ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Teed off

2-4    7/20/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 101  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Good variety of left and right doglegs
2) Some elevation changes
3) Beautiful views of lake and marina
4) Challenging length
5) Highlight holes: 13, 14, 18
Cons: 1) No concrete tee pads
2) Fly pads are slick af when wet
3) Low ceilings on quite a few holes that are over 500'
4) Grass too high
Other Thoughts: This course sits on some good property with small hills and a few trees to provide added challenge. The course plays long. From the white tees, it's approximately 7,000'.

One of the things you notice first about the course is its proximity to the lake. Beautiful and serene views of the lake from many holes. Water comes into play on a few holes....17 and 18 come to mind in particular.

The layout of the course is challenging and should provide some room for you to air out some big bomber drives, but, unfortunately, many of the holes have extremely low ceilings with branches and leaves hanging down that prevent a good rip. To compound this problem, you can't even do a roller because the grass is so tall that it will eat your drive up in a hurry.

To make matters even worse, the tees are either fly pad or gravel, and most of these aren't level. On a course with numerous 500'+ holes, IMO you need concrete tees so you can really rip one down field to have a chance to par it. Some of the holes with fly pads don't even have full fly pads...they're falling apart and disintegrating. And even if the fly pad isn't rotted out, it's still slick when it rains so be careful.

Negatives aside, this course has a lot of potential. The layout of the course is not the problem here, so luckily it can be fixed. Pour some concrete pads and trim the low hanging branches and cut the grass and you turn a 3/5 course into a 3.5 or 4/5 course!

The course has a nice mix of lefty and righty holes, although me being a RHBH thrower, I noticed that quite a few holes had a slight advantage for lefty or FH cshots.

Most of the holes are in the open, with a few well placed trees to make it more challenging. There are a few holes, such as 15, that are tightly wooded. There are also a few hills to spice things up. There's potential for roll away putts on a few holes.

All in all, this course is not bad and has the potential to be great. I played the Keystone Classic last weekend and was told that the club is just getting organized in this area and will be making improvements to the course in due time. I can't wait until its seen some TLC because this is like grandma's muscle car that has been in the garage for 20 years. It needs some work, but when you put the work in, it will pop, both visually and performance-wise.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course for those not quite ready for the championship-level courses

1    7/20/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: yokozunapete
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A lot of variety of holes (open, wooded, water, uphill, downhill, doglegs, etc.)
-Challenging for novice/intermediate
-Great practice for advanced/pros
-Restrooms are easily accessible during play
Cons: -Tees are not in great shape and very slick when wet (red tees are just grass).
-I never found a course map and the layout was not intuitive to me. Course needs to be marked better.
-Only one tee had a hole diagram which made blind shots very challenging since I didn't know where the basket was.
Other Thoughts: I played in the Keystone Classic, so course navigation was easier since my group had played the course before. Someone just playing a casual round for the first time would struggle to navigate the course without a map.

The local club is currently raising funds (to be matched by the state park) to replace the tees in time for next season. This will make a big difference in the playability.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

surprisingly good

2-4    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: LukeButch
Played: 107  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -2 to 3 tees and multiple baskets on every hole gives alot of options

-gravel tees on front 9

-very easy to follow, had no course map, played alone with no info and found my way around without a problem

-many par 4s, that have very good distances: good drives are rewarded with easier upshots:

-nice views of the lake along a few holes

-rolling hills throughout the course, but no extreme elevation shots
Cons: -most of the par 4s/5s had a VERY similar tee shot- long flip up straight shots with very little fade. bring understable discs!

-poorly done flypads on the back 9. very bumpy and uneven, also the ones in the woods were so slippery from pollen and dirt that even throwing stand still on them was very difficult :( wish they had gravel tees on the whole course
Other Thoughts: bit out of the way as nothing is nearby, but an easy 30minute drive from rt 79 that is definitely worth it

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Golfing in Northeast PA

1    9/16/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: el_duder
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course layout: really nice layout, it's somewhat sprawling but feels like a golf course. Not much elevation change, but seems to be well utilized. For the most part, we had no trouble navigating the course without a map on our first visit.
-Course maintenance: Very nicely cut "fairways" with some thicker rough to give you some troubles if you don't hit the fairways. Really thick brush will generally punish you and force a throw just to get back on to clear ground.
-Hole variety: seemed to be well balanced with no RH/LH bias. Maybe only 2-3 holes felt like repeats. Multiple baskets (while not utilized by us) looked to offer a pretty good challenge for more advanced players.
-Scenery: This would have have been a great walk through the park, the fact that we were playing disc golf just made it more fun. I especially like holes like 8 and 18 which offered great views of the lake and 14 which offered an unexpected great view of the lake.
-Restrooms: For the most part these were located within a reasonable walk from the course without causing a major delay in play.
Cons: Most of these cons should be taken as minor hits against the course, not major negatives. All could likely be easily remedied.

-Tee pads: While I would say they were all comfortable to throw from, they varied from gravel on the front 9 to flypads/natural on the back nine. It'd be nice to see flypads on the front nine. A couple of the flypads on the back nine are in need of replacement.
-Tee signs: Back nine signs were really nice, but the front nine (newer portion of the course) could use an upgrade to match the back nine. The signs showing the direction to hole 12 and all of the tee signs for 18 are missing.
-Garbage cans: I didn't see a single one on the course and this is kind of a pet peeve of mine. There wasn't any trash or broken glass on the course so it is obviously well maintained but the only place I could conveniently hit a trash can was on our walk from 9 to 10.
Other Thoughts: Overall my wife and I had a great time playing this course and we were somewhat surprised that we were the lone disc golfers on the course. I played from the red tees for the front nine and the whites for the back nine. I really enjoyed the layout of the course, while there are many holes that will have you reaching for your drivers they will likely be fairway drivers because of a clump of trees in just the right location. While the woods are fairly sparse on the course the trees that are there really force you to hit some accurate tee shots. I think the pars were fair and the different tee positions offered appropriate challenges for a wide variety of disc golfers.

One note on the long grass along the fairways (and I'm sure this is seasonal) but they are full of bees. On several holes we could hear the buzzing like we were standing next to a hive, but they were all scattered throughout the flowers in the rough. So if you have allergies, take your epipen! Everyone else may want to include some Benadryl in their bag even if you aren't allergic.

The park as a whole is somewhat remote so I would recommend planning a full day to take in some of the other available recreational opportunities like swimming, fishing, playgrounds (for the kids), and picnic tables. I suppose you could also just play another round! Regardless, this course is definitely worth hitting up for a round. We'll be back for sure!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Come in with bug spray; leave with bengay

1    6/24/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - An excellent blend of big-arm open-air bombing holes and holes that require accurate, technical throws to navigate the trees. On some holes, you have to do both in the same hole.
- Utilizes a variety of shots. I threw so many variations of hyzer and anhyzer angles to navigate the doglegs; I threw tomahawks and thumbers; I threw rollers to navigate the fairways peppered with trees. So many shots will be needed, so bring a decent bag with you!
- More elevation than I anticipated. We're not talking super steep hills--just rolling hills that vary enough to make for blind shots and slight downhill and uphill approaches to the basket.
- Water comes in play on #14 (kinda) and definitely on #18. The big risk here, more or less, is rolls or skips into the reservoir off the fairway, so it definitely adds an element of concentration and fun!
- Distinct lines are present on many holes for red, white, blue, and gold tees. As such, each tee has a line that rewards the respective skill level. In this regard, the tees are accurately rated, IMO.
- Many pins are well guarded by trees. You better have a good upshot game to try and make par or better.
- All 18 holes are now complete, and there arent any navigation issues. Aside from some long walks to the tee (see cons), you should be fine finding every hole.
Cons: - The gravel tees here are terrible for run-ups. The gravel is really thick, too--none of that nice crushed stuff. I know that the DCNR will never pour concrete, but flypads would be nice.
- Long walks between some tees. It's definitely more of an issue on the back nine as it is on the front nine. The course could use some "next tee" signs, as there's only one between #17-18.
- The less fun aspects of nature are quite prevalent here. And I'm talking of course about bugs and poison ivy. Watch out especially on hole #13, as there's quite a bit growing in the middle of the fairway between the tee and pin.
- Not a big fan of the dual pins on a lot of holes. From far away, it's hard to tell whether the pin belongs to gold/blue or red/white shots and is kind of annoying for a first timer.
- Wind from the reservoir can be a factor. I noticed some heavy gusts on the back nine, but I'm sure it's a hazard on all 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: It's fitting that PA's largest state park is also one of the largest disc golf courses in the state park system if you add up the hole lengths (Codorus and Tyler are larger, but are also 27 holes).

This course is a no brainer if you live in NW PA or are visiting the area. I waited to play here when all 18 holes were done and it was well worth the wait! Can't wait til Prompton is done being worked on so I can compare the two!

It's definitely different than some of the quality courses south of it (Moraine, Deer Lakes, Knob Hill, etc.) in that the course is far more open and less wooded. I would also say that, from the red tees, a beginner would have an easier time playing here than some of the quality courses in the Pittsburgh Area. Well, except for the noodle arm part.

During the summer months, taking a dip in the reservoir is almost mandatory! :)

From what I understand, the PA State Park Points Series will culimate at this park for the championship. After playing at places like Nockamixon and Pinchot, the competitors should really have fun airing out some discs.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Air it out at Pymatuning

1    5/27/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 171  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic, well maintained course in a large state park with all the amenities that come with, including several clean bathrooms (with running water), pavilions, camp sites, and lots more: http://www.dcnr.state.pa.us/s...ion/index.htm

• Interesting set up: Thirteen "Par 3" holes with three tees and a single basket, plus five "Par 4/5"holes featuring dual tees and dual baskets, with the extra (blue) basket in a longer, harder to reach position for those seeking greater challenge. This allows you to play a red, white, blue, or gold level layout… kinda. Does a decent job of accommodating players of varying skill levels.
• Clearly defined fairways were well mowed - really gives the course a much more polished look.
• More long &open rather than short, wooded and technical, but several holes get a bit tight in spots, with decent variety overall. Most holes allow for numerous routes to the basket, with opportunities to throw hyzer, annie, straight and overhand shots. Distances that will have you throwing putters, mids, fairway and distance drivers from the tee.
• Significant elevation comes into play with tee and fairway shots that have you throwing uphill, downhill, over gullies and rises, as well as some greens where rollaway putts can bite you.
• Starts off with an appealing hole that has you shooting downhill to a landing area that lies 400'+ away behind a stand of tree, grass and brush that traverses an otherwise open fairway, for your upshot and putt. The long pin lies another 180'or so further out, tucked in among some trees. The rest of the front 9 is comprised mostly of flat fairways that play through some open fields, except for one or two holes where you really need to work around some trees to reach the pin. Back 9 really ramps things up, with trees and elevation figuring more prominently on more holes. Hole 15 is the only true "technical" hole; a short straight shot through some fairly densely packed trees. Most of the holes are pretty solid and stand on their own.
• Nice, tall 4x4 posts mark each tee with hole #, tee color, distance, and basic hole layout; simple yet effective and really helps you find the next tee. Scorecards with map available at the office near the park entrance.
Cons: • No fly-pads when I visited, gravel tee pads are less than desirable, felt unsteady. Please: pour some CONCRETE! This wouldn't be such an issue if this were a short, placement critcal type of course, but it's not. It's a long course that requires power off the tee to score well, and power comes from... the legs. It's hard to crank out good drives on long holes without firm footing to push off on. Most of the holes on this course are quite accessible, so it really shouldn't be as tough to put concrete pads in here as it is on other courses.
• Not a fan of thick, 3ft tall grass lining fairways - doesn't serve to shape shots, its sole function is to hide discs. If I land 15 feet off the fairway, I deserve to hump around looking for my disc, but not on a shot that lands in the fairway and skips or rolls a few feet into the savannah.
• Navigation can be tough, even with the map, particularly on the back 9. Feels a bit disjointed, with several long walks to the next tee that kind of break up the flow. Doesn't really have you throwing over one, but you have to cross a road about 8 times to get to the next tee, which means there are many instances where locating it isn't as obvious as "follow the well-worn path." My round would have taken a lot longer without the map. Also kind of kills that secluded, "away from it all feel." Had to wait for a car to clear the area before throwing my tee shot on 2.
• Holes 2, 3, 5, 6, 12… meh. I'd say they are filler holes to get you to the next hole, but the way the course is laid out, I can't really buy that.
• Some tee signs are damaged/missing.
Other Thoughts: • Wind off the lake can be strong and figure prominently in disc/shot selection.
• A bit paradoxical in that the park kind of seems in the middle of nowhere, but with the open holes, crossing over roads, holes playing near the park office, pavilions, marina, etc, the course itself lacks that "away from it all" feel.
• Memorable holes: 1, 4, 8, 9, 11, 13,14, 18
• Not sure I buy this as a true Par 66, but I wouldn't call it a Par 54 either. • Not sure how much my perception of "disjointed feel/flow due to long walks between holes" is really the result of being unsure where the hell I was going; entirely possible I might not feel that way if I were familiar with the layout. Visitors take note: I should have used the aerial photograph on the Links/File tab of the course page links on the course page - MUCH better than the map on the score card.
• There's a lot to like, but I have my criticisms.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: caston59
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Is a great beginner course. Holes are mostly open and terrain is slightly rolling not too steep on any hole.
Cons: Need to get tee matts on all of the holes. On hole #9 near the basket the DCNR needs to get the oil leaking from the ground capped and cleaned up. Lastly the walkway between hole 17 and hole 18 needs some gravel or the water needs to be diverted so that here isn't such a mud pit to walk through.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    7/11/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: very detailed course with many different tee and basket options. not much "park" traffic to interfere with gameplay.
Cons: VERY LONG. it is a long hike and even longer throws on some of the holes
Other Thoughts: it was a beautiful course to play. some of the holes seem excessivly long

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Unique

1    6/13/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park.
Fairly new baskets
Tee signs at every hole and decent signage
Tees are color coded Blue white and red, some Gold

Cons: Tall grass
Vandals have damaged some of the tee signs
Finding 1st hole was was little confusing.
Some walks in between holes, can be confusing as well.
Dirt Tees
Other Thoughts: I started this game on Hole 8 . There was no real indication where the begining of the course was, so we followed it from there.
After 8 you walk behind the baseball feild and you will eventually find the Blue tee, opposite corner of the field.

Hole 9 was an enormous hole, with several elevation changes up ,down , and up again.
After the basket you'll walk probably 70 yds past the pavillon thru a field to eventually end up at hole 10 .
Cross the street to 11 , which again plays up a hill to a basket that sits on the edge of a ravine .
From 11 you have to walk back to the street down and around the wooded area..You will see the tee's for 12 in the woods, but no path makes it a hike to get to . After that the course is pretty easy to follow.



Alot of up and down elevation changes in the fairways of this park, which i thought was really unique.
There are several holes with multiple baskets, and not all the tee's indicate it , making it confusing to first timers.
As much negtive as i've said about this course, i still think it is worth the trip. Figuring out the course for the first time was tough.

I drew up a google map, and placed everything as best i could remember. I hope this is able to help somebody in finding most of the holes.

Some tees are kickboard, some are gravel, some rubber

LOts open fields to air it out on . Winds off the HUGE lake will make for some tough throws. Not sure if it is like this year round...but the grass outside the fairways was really tall when i was there.

Fun challenging course, i'd give it 4.5 if was cleaned up a little . JUst some TLC.
Definitely a course you can play over and over.

Marina is near by. They have great rates on Pontoons as well !

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another great coures in Western PA

2-4    10/16/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: bcsst26
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played two rounds on this course and overall it is an excellent course. Of the courses I have played this is my third favorite course. Deer Lakes being number one and Moraine number two. The major strength of this course is the par 5's. I found them very challenging and using elevation change very well. This course has some great holes where you can just let loose. I also found using my forehand more in this course than most. The multiple tee positions along with the long and short basics make for different skill levels to be tested. Overall another excellent course.
Cons: I thought some of the par 3 and par 4 were just throwing at a basket in a field. I feel that they could have been setup better. These few holes are what keeps this from being in the same field as Deer Lakes and Moraine. Also I think a parking lot could be designated to disc golf along with some better signs showing where the course is within the state park.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed myself on this course. I drove 2 hours to play so I played two rounds. I would do the drive again so the course is worth it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center