Germantown, TN 
Johnson Road Park Share
Uploaded By: finnious Hole #4 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 360ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Better choice elsewhere

1    9/12/2014   9/21/2014
Review By: discblues
Played: 30  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wooded holes nice, but short
Cons: way too much walking between holes, layout of course not the best, people walking on the paths through fairways (I did get too shank a disk toward a game warden that was walking on the path, that was a plus).
Other Thoughts: So far my least favorite course in the mid south.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Overlooked Gem

5+    1/18/2014   1/23/2014
Review By: BIGHAFNER
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -A wide variety of shots 10 wooded 8 open with water
-Very scenic park
-Big Teepads
-Multiple pin placements for every hole
-#6, #16, #17, and #9 are some great holes. They stuck out to me after the first time I played.
-Right in the middle of town
Cons: -There aren't any courses that are very close except for The Grove, which isn't open all the time.
-Walkers can get in the way, but there usually aren't many out

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 125  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is laid out on a very beautiful park, very scenic and a great place to have a disc golf course.

The course was very easy to find with the signs entering the park saying how to get to where you need to go. Signs at the holes were decent, they did their job and kept you from getting too lost.

The first few holes are in the woods. Your shots better be good or you will hit a tree and careen out of the fairway. The next holes play out around the pond with some very memorable pro-like holes.

All the baskets are in great in shape, there is a practice basket perched on a hill in the parking lot which is always a plus.

The locals seemed very nice and respectful of the course.

There are restrooms and a water fountain nearby which could come in handy in the hot Tennessee heat.
Cons: A few of the holes played on the walking trail so being cautious of pedestrians is always a must. Expect a few delays at certain holes due to walkers.

The pond comes into play a lot at this course especially #16 where it is about a 225' over the water. Some might say this a pro others a con but if it does go in the water there may be no getting it back.

A few tee signs were missing and some tee pads are not well defined so navigation at only a few parts can be a bit of a problem.
Other Thoughts: Memphis is not known to be a hot spot for disc golf but this course seems to take the cake when it comes to the best local courses. A very friendly environment plus a championship caliber course that will test the wit of even the most seasoned golfers.

Johnson Road Park is a definite course to go to if you are in the Memphis area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/20/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 challenging holes of technical wooded holes and open shots over or around 2 small lakes. This course will test your mental game of both strategy and poise. The wooded holes are pretty standard and well-done with a good variety of shape and tree density. The course's signature, however, are the intimidating water holes that also utilize a good deal of elevation. One must decide on each tee how much of the water you want to come in to play and decide if that is the right time to risk/reward to gain a stroke on your opponents. The banks are pretty steep too, so how the disc lands adds to the challenge.

Alt. tees are still challenging and a couple of times may have been shorter and taken the water more out of play, but are not necessarily easier. I appreciate how the course goes with a mix of woods-water-woods-water.

Park is super nice and clean with several other park activities available. It is located in an upscale section of Memphis.

I would consider hole 17 where you play over a landscaped waterfall to be the signature hole- almost like something you would see on the PGA tour! It is good that this hole is near the end of the round so it is not spoiled early. It and #18 make for a great finish that can easily decide who wins and loses. I also really liked the hole over the culvert (#11) where you had to carefully place your drive for the approach and #13 that has the basket in the woods just over a small creek.
Cons: This course was recently redesigned, and it seems they tried their best to maintain some holes, so a couple times there was some odd backtracking as holes played parallel (8-9, 12-13). #14 had an awkward (putter off the tee?) feel to it, not horrible, but it felt like a filler hole design.

Tee signs were missing on several holes. Odd for a course redesigned 3 years ago.

The water holes are good, but you play around both ponds counter-clockwise, so the water is always on your left- could have been nice to figure-8 around them both in order to get some shots with water on the right too. Also there are few to no flat spots on the water holes, so even a good shot has the chance of skipping or rolling down the hill to the pond.
Other Thoughts: This course is a strong 3.5, around a 3.75 if I could give it. It is one of the more challenging courses in the Memphis (maybe 2nd to only Bud Hill). I agree with Warhammer's and Zman's review that the course is just missing something- a key element or wow factor that would put this in the 4+ category for me. Though for a public parks course it is still very good.

If you don't like losing your discs in water, then you probably will not want to play here.

( I wrote down the hole distances, but some of the signs were missing, and then I lost my list (!) before I got home. Maybe someone else can get some distances listed on this site.)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Loved this water course!

2-4    1/11/2012   1/11/2012
Review By: pfpro
Played: 46  Reviewed: 36
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - good mix of holes, plays in various parts of the park and utilizes woods, open, water excellently
- several ace runs, mixed with longer shots, staggered throughout the course
- this course is not overly long (I played two speed runs in 80 minutes), but it makes you think about your shot (especially by the water).
- the park itself is a great setting
- many of the baskets are on/ next to hills. This has been mentioned a con, but when I played it really made me think about risk/reward of going for it or laying up AND when laying up the type of upshot/approach.
Cons: - the water - if you aree RHBH, you will be punished if you do not hit your shot. It runs counterclockwise around the lake. I throw thumbers, so personally, I loved this course/layout. The lake didn't look real friendly either - don't know how deep it is, but looked like it got non-wadeable pretty quick.
Other Thoughts: - make sure you go to Johnson Park in Germantown and not Colliersville (if you're an out-of-tower like me). Google brings up that other one... (oops when you're on a time crunch...)
- I don't agree with the posted pars on the teepad signs. On this site it looks like they are all 3s. Per the signs, I got 3 eagles or the two rounds I played. I'm not that good, my shots were not that amazing (and I didn't ace). Maybe I could agree if they were in the long pin location, but they were all shorts when I played today. I think the signs should have different pars for the different pin locations.
- one note: I playd this after a night of rain and I thumb, so I tombstoned a lot of shots. Since the ground was soft I didn't have to deal with the downhill roll. If its dry, I could see this being a pain and making this a more difficult course...
- signature hole(s)... Hole 7, the only hole where you can't really lay up without throwing across water, and the basket is low on the hill between two walking paths. Hole 17 you throw across the waterfall.
- was in town on a business trip and got the tip to play this instead of Shelby (wanted to play both but rain, early dark and work got in the way). I would highly recommend playing this course - but bring your water discs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty cool course

1    6/18/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: K_Woodcock
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great in and out of the woods course. Some of the shots are pretty easy but you have to go over water so the Par is High.
Cons: The signs are not great. Some don't point at the tee box and some are not even there.
Other Thoughts: All together a good course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/7/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A tremendously well-designed course, especially considering the land that was provided.

It's a beautiful piece of land, especially when the fountain and waterfall are running.

Wooded holes all have legitimate lines to attack, but are still punishing if a disc runs off course.
Open holes take advantage of the pond in the center of the park, as well as the concrete paths running its perimeter.

On-site (remarkably clean) bathrooms and a water fountain.
Cons: The beginning handful of holes are a bit soggy after a good rain.

No real "air-it-out" drives required. But that's not a big deal, given that the vast majority of players will need to throw driver to sail the water on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: I can see how some players may say that this course is lefty biased. But I shot it well and I'm a right-hander. Two of the holes over the water would be very difficult for a lefty, and so I think that it evens it out more or less.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 johnson road park

1    5/1/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: pchoukalas
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: real technical course. It offers great skill shots in the woods and the hill around the water holes add a slight challenge to accurately place shots. Some great rear back and rip it holes with short have to have good aim shots. alternate pin placements is nice and not hard to tell which pin its on.
Cons: Some property lines are near some holes which can be annoying having to go in people yards to get discs. Warm up hole is on a hill so you can not really warm up your long straight shots. during summer there can be heavy foot traffic around course, which can be a hazard and annoying.
Other Thoughts: overall great course and has the potential to be a challenging course.

 Johnson Road Park

1    10/22/2010   10/22/2010
Review By: Warhammer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course was well maintained and compact. You were never more than 4 or 5 minutes from a bathroom with water. The course makes good use of the woods in the park. There was plenty of room to take your time on the course as there were not a ton of people playing. There is a nice little practice pin where you park prior to play.
Cons: I hated the way they utilized the water on the course. Virtually every hole where water came into play, the pin was on an incline, that sloped 45 degrees into the water. There were multiple times where we had a disc roll in excess of 50 feet into the water. The particularly bad holes were #7 and #17. The first has a 320 or so carry to the pin over water. There is no area to lay up in, so either you chance losing your disc in water, or you take the penalty strokes. #17 is similar, but there is a 10' strip where you can lay up. Either you are over a fence into someone's yard (to the right), or you risk losing your disc into the water. There is also a waterfall near the pin, so if you play right to stay away from the water, you can still wind up in it and find your way into the lake.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my play on the course, but I felt that the layout left something to be desired. The wooded holes were nice, but a few felt as though "there's a spot here for the pin, let's put it here". The water holes were poor for the reasons stated above. However, the amenities were nice, particularly having my kids in tow, I didn't have to worry about a long trek to the bathroom and I could let them go to the bathroom while still maintaining sight lines to the bathrooms (I could let them go by themselves).

If you are a new player, I would recommend staying away from this course until you get better. For the intermediate players and up, this would be a good course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/4/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: dirty8224
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: GORGEOUS!!! The first 5 holes are in the woods and aren't as pretty but the last 13 are immaculate and look awesome with the lake background on almost every hole. Lots of different shots.
Cons: WATER!!! I didn't lose any discs out there but a friend I was playing with threw 5 in the drink in one round.. Try not to early release if you throw RHBH.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.