Germantown, TN 
Johnson Road Park Share
Uploaded By: finnious Hole #7 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 242ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    3/20/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 challenging holes of technical wooded holes and open shots over or around 2 small lakes. This course will test your mental game of both strategy and poise. The wooded holes are pretty standard and well-done with a good variety of shape and tree density. The course's signature, however, are the intimidating water holes that also utilize a good deal of elevation. One must decide on each tee how much of the water you want to come in to play and decide if that is the right time to risk/reward to gain a stroke on your opponents. The banks are pretty steep too, so how the disc lands adds to the challenge.

Alt. tees are still challenging and a couple of times may have been shorter and taken the water more out of play, but are not necessarily easier. I appreciate how the course goes with a mix of woods-water-woods-water.

Park is super nice and clean with several other park activities available. It is located in an upscale section of Memphis.

I would consider hole 17 where you play over a landscaped waterfall to be the signature hole- almost like something you would see on the PGA tour! It is good that this hole is near the end of the round so it is not spoiled early. It and #18 make for a great finish that can easily decide who wins and loses. I also really liked the hole over the culvert (#11) where you had to carefully place your drive for the approach and #13 that has the basket in the woods just over a small creek.
Cons: This course was recently redesigned, and it seems they tried their best to maintain some holes, so a couple times there was some odd backtracking as holes played parallel (8-9, 12-13). #14 had an awkward (putter off the tee?) feel to it, not horrible, but it felt like a filler hole design.

Tee signs were missing on several holes. Odd for a course redesigned 3 years ago.

The water holes are good, but you play around both ponds counter-clockwise, so the water is always on your left- could have been nice to figure-8 around them both in order to get some shots with water on the right too. Also there are few to no flat spots on the water holes, so even a good shot has the chance of skipping or rolling down the hill to the pond.
Other Thoughts: This course is a strong 3.5, around a 3.75 if I could give it. It is one of the more challenging courses in the Memphis (maybe 2nd to only Bud Hill). I agree with Warhammer's and Zman's review that the course is just missing something- a key element or wow factor that would put this in the 4+ category for me. Though for a public parks course it is still very good.

If you don't like losing your discs in water, then you probably will not want to play here.

( I wrote down the hole distances, but some of the signs were missing, and then I lost my list (!) before I got home. Maybe someone else can get some distances listed on this site.)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: allenbosox
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the wooded holes - cooler in the summer, more technically challenging than a long water flyover. Good, quiet neighborhood. Good signage. Make sure you check the sign at the tee for the direction from the pin to the next tee.
Cons: All of the water holes either cross the water or have the water to the left, a big problem for most RHBH players. I didn't even notice the bag hangers until I got to the eighth tee. Look for somewhat obscure metal spikes in the trees. I really hope these don't harm the trees over time.
Other Thoughts: Consider using a map and parking in the cul-de-sac near the 8th tee and playing 8-18, followed by 1-7. Not too far from Shelby Farms, making a nice morning/afternoon double-header.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tricky Course to Review

1    11/27/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Johnsons Road park is in a very nice area. The area is extremely safe and family friendly. Water comes into play on many holes which adds to the challenge. The park is very well maintained and there are an abundance of shrubs and plants. Since the course meanders through the main section of the park, these are included as "pros" for this course in my opinion. There are signs on each hole and benches are scattered randomly throughout the course. Holes 16 and 17 may be the best back-to-back holes I have ever played.
Cons: While I really enjoyed the atmosphere of this course, it would only be good for a relaxing round. The course is not very challenging. This was only my second round since knee surgery in early September. I am currently only able to get a max of about 250 feet on my drives...and I shot a 59. Since I am not a pro level player...and am currently injured...I would expect an experienced player to be able to shoot under par easily on their first run through the course. On the holes with water-in-play, the water is exclusively on the left. For RHBH a strong hyzer will be wet. Many of the wooded holes are anhyzers for RHBH. A lefty should be able to shoot an extgremely low score and stay out of trouble with the water. There are a few navigational issues. The tee signs do indicate which way to go after holing out, but sometimes you have to look around to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Johnson Road Park is an exceptionally clean park and the course is now one of my favorites. However, it does not offer the challenge that many disc golfers look for when they are traveling. If you are in the Memphis area, I would definitely recommend giving this course a try. The water adds to the challenge but is only daunting on 2 holes (16 and 17). I put that it is tricky to review, because as far as a relaxing round, it is definitely a 4 or better. As for the challenge of the design, it is more like a 3 or less. I am giving it a 3.5 because it takes both into account.

As a side note, this time of year the leaves are horrible...even in the fairways of wooded holes. It would be nice if the parks department or a volunteer would take the initiative to use a blower and clear of the fairways of the wooded holes. There are only about 8 of these holes. Right now, discs can easily disappear in the fairway. I put this in the "other" section because it is obviously not a problem during the majority of the year. Today it was a big problem.

Overall, this course will definitely not disappoint if you are looking for a recreational round. It is also a very safe place to play in a metropolitan area (Memphis) where safe places are somewhat uncommon.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 overall a great course

2-4    9/24/2009   9/24/2009
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenges every aspect of your game. wooded shots, big water holes, uphill, downhill, shots that must go left and right, and a few long holes that if you miss, you miss BIG. I love this course and play it often. concrete pads, multiple pin locations and great signage.
Cons: Some of the holes are par 4's and should only be 3's. it's very easy to score well on this course so if you've had a few bad rounds playing here will boast your failing confidence.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.