Germantown, TN 
Johnson Road Park Share
Uploaded By: finnious Hole #7 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 242ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Overlooked Gem

5+    1/18/2014   1/23/2014
Review By: BIGHAFNER
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -A wide variety of shots 10 wooded 8 open with water
-Very scenic park
-Big Teepads
-Multiple pin placements for every hole
-#6, #16, #17, and #9 are some great holes. They stuck out to me after the first time I played.
-Right in the middle of town
Cons: -There aren't any courses that are very close except for The Grove, which isn't open all the time.
-Walkers can get in the way, but there usually aren't many out

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 127  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is laid out on a very beautiful park, very scenic and a great place to have a disc golf course.

The course was very easy to find with the signs entering the park saying how to get to where you need to go. Signs at the holes were decent, they did their job and kept you from getting too lost.

The first few holes are in the woods. Your shots better be good or you will hit a tree and careen out of the fairway. The next holes play out around the pond with some very memorable pro-like holes.

All the baskets are in great in shape, there is a practice basket perched on a hill in the parking lot which is always a plus.

The locals seemed very nice and respectful of the course.

There are restrooms and a water fountain nearby which could come in handy in the hot Tennessee heat.
Cons: A few of the holes played on the walking trail so being cautious of pedestrians is always a must. Expect a few delays at certain holes due to walkers.

The pond comes into play a lot at this course especially #16 where it is about a 225' over the water. Some might say this a pro others a con but if it does go in the water there may be no getting it back.

A few tee signs were missing and some tee pads are not well defined so navigation at only a few parts can be a bit of a problem.
Other Thoughts: Memphis is not known to be a hot spot for disc golf but this course seems to take the cake when it comes to the best local courses. A very friendly environment plus a championship caliber course that will test the wit of even the most seasoned golfers.

Johnson Road Park is a definite course to go to if you are in the Memphis area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Loved this water course!

2-4    1/11/2012   1/11/2012
Review By: pfpro
Played: 47  Reviewed: 37
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - good mix of holes, plays in various parts of the park and utilizes woods, open, water excellently
- several ace runs, mixed with longer shots, staggered throughout the course
- this course is not overly long (I played two speed runs in 80 minutes), but it makes you think about your shot (especially by the water).
- the park itself is a great setting
- many of the baskets are on/ next to hills. This has been mentioned a con, but when I played it really made me think about risk/reward of going for it or laying up AND when laying up the type of upshot/approach.
Cons: - the water - if you aree RHBH, you will be punished if you do not hit your shot. It runs counterclockwise around the lake. I throw thumbers, so personally, I loved this course/layout. The lake didn't look real friendly either - don't know how deep it is, but looked like it got non-wadeable pretty quick.
Other Thoughts: - make sure you go to Johnson Park in Germantown and not Colliersville (if you're an out-of-tower like me). Google brings up that other one... (oops when you're on a time crunch...)
- I don't agree with the posted pars on the teepad signs. On this site it looks like they are all 3s. Per the signs, I got 3 eagles or the two rounds I played. I'm not that good, my shots were not that amazing (and I didn't ace). Maybe I could agree if they were in the long pin location, but they were all shorts when I played today. I think the signs should have different pars for the different pin locations.
- one note: I playd this after a night of rain and I thumb, so I tombstoned a lot of shots. Since the ground was soft I didn't have to deal with the downhill roll. If its dry, I could see this being a pain and making this a more difficult course...
- signature hole(s)... Hole 7, the only hole where you can't really lay up without throwing across water, and the basket is low on the hill between two walking paths. Hole 17 you throw across the waterfall.
- was in town on a business trip and got the tip to play this instead of Shelby (wanted to play both but rain, early dark and work got in the way). I would highly recommend playing this course - but bring your water discs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/7/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A tremendously well-designed course, especially considering the land that was provided.

It's a beautiful piece of land, especially when the fountain and waterfall are running.

Wooded holes all have legitimate lines to attack, but are still punishing if a disc runs off course.
Open holes take advantage of the pond in the center of the park, as well as the concrete paths running its perimeter.

On-site (remarkably clean) bathrooms and a water fountain.
Cons: The beginning handful of holes are a bit soggy after a good rain.

No real "air-it-out" drives required. But that's not a big deal, given that the vast majority of players will need to throw driver to sail the water on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: I can see how some players may say that this course is lefty biased. But I shot it well and I'm a right-hander. Two of the holes over the water would be very difficult for a lefty, and so I think that it evens it out more or less.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course!

5+    11/1/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: volmed10
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I rated this course as 4 stars since all of the additions and "amenities" have been added. Concrete tee pads, benches, tree hangers, bridges, signs, bathrooms, trash cans, etc. The benches and signs have been installed, and now some baskets have been installed at longer more challenging distances. Overall feel of the course is great, since it is located in one of the nicest parts of suburban Memphis. One of the few courses that allows glow golf as well.
Cons: Extremely left hand biased course (cough, cough.... Nelly....). All of the longer water holes have the water on the left, which makes swimming a very easy possibility if your release is off a little. Also, during the summer, the first five holes are ridiculously wet and marshy so make sure you wear shoes that you don't mind getting filthy. Plus, some of the spoiled rich kids in the area obviously have nothing better to do than steal the hole signs, so if a sign is missing you know where it went.
Other Thoughts: Great course with variable holes (open, hyser, anhyser, wooded), and the ability to play glow is great. Can be easily played with 2-4 discs.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best "New" Course in Memphis

5+    7/22/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: memphisDGdestroyer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Before the addition of the nine new holes this course was almost a time-filler; someplace to go and practice and mess around between rounds at other longer 18-hole courses. The new holes have made all the difference in the world. You start at the west end of the park next to the restrooms and playground. Take this chance to fill up your water bottles at the fountain. You won't get another chance for 6 holes. The front 5 are all shorter wooded holes with holes 3&4 requiring L to R movement. Use bug spray during the summer or you will get carried off by mosquitoes. Number 6 is the hole that flies over the water. If your discs tend to hang and then fall sharply to the left watch out or you'll be swimming. Shorter no. 7 also takes you over the water but with a huge OB area all around the target. With the exception on no. 9 the next 6 are shortish woods shots. Keep your cool or you'll lose it during these technical holes. Nos. 14-18 are primarily long open shots. Bring your long arm for the 440ft no. 16 over the lake. All in all, this is great course with a little bit of everything. Definitely worth a visit if you're passing through.
Cons: There's not much to say negatively about this course. The mosquitoes are a pain but if you survive the first 5 you're ok. Also because the paths through the first 5 haven't been established thoroughly they tend to get real boggy after rains. Again, not a problem after the first 5. There's only 2 places to fill up your bottle and only 2 places to throw away trash. Watch out for unsuspecting pedestrians as they can become targets of errant discs.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with tons of opportunity for great shots. If you feel you're not up for the long water holes there are shorter recreational tee pads so you don't have to chance losing discs. This course sees a fair amount of traffic so there's always a chance to play-in with a group.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Totally Different Course!

5+    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: mcdavis17
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was recently expanded from 9 holes to 18 holes, and it was done right. Rather than tacking 9 more holes onto the existing layout, the course was totally revamped. It offers a mix of wooded holes, open holes, and plenty of shots with water in play. On the wooded holes, there is always an obvious route, and often an alternate route as well, so there is a element of challenge without being punishing. The tee signs are very informative as to distance, basket location, and also anything that might be OB or mando on that hole (such as Hole # 7 -- mando landing area). The course follows the terrain well and makes good use of elevation changes. At all holes either the tee sign or the basket (if not both) directed you to the next teepad.
Cons: Trash cans are spaced out quite a bit on the course, especially on the first few holes and when you get back into # 11 - # 16 or 17. There are not really any benches convenient to the tee pads at this time. You also need to keep an eye on walkers on the track and other park patrons to make sure they are aware you are about to throw.
Other Thoughts: This course used to be overlooked in favor of other courses in the area in terms of challenge. However, the designers seemed to take that into consideration with the changes, and have made a course that I will be visiting a lot more frequently now. There are some awesome views from several of the teepads (# 6 and # 16 in particular), and # 7 offers a unique challenge in terms of your drive. Anyone who gave up on this course needs to come back and play the new layout -- it is worth the time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 All encomapassing course

5+    3/19/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: otown pyle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenges all aspects of game... Water holes, tight wooded holes, hyzer and anhyzer holes
Cons: loosing your disc in the water if your disc rolls down hills or from wind or bad throw

or ending up in thicket of woods if you griplock
Other Thoughts: this course has changed dramatically... I used to go to Johnson the 9 hole course only if I was bored at lunch cause it's close to work... Now I go out of my way to go to play at Johnson on the weekends and such...

One more note... Traffic on the course has increased dramatically since expansion... Also though, alot of people have no clue what the baskets are and will just walk over in front of them looking and touching on them while you're ripping a 200ft + drive right at their head... Don't neccessary expect them to duck when you yell "Fore" b/c they don't know they're on a frolf course...

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Nice setting / pretty easy

6/30/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: huge fan
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate, well maintained, nice setting - backs a neighborhood of nice houses, plenty of people at the park but the course is not crowded
Cons: Pretty easy, too short
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play after work or when you don't have much time. The course and park are clean and the scenery is nice. There's a lake and walking trail with plenty of people out when I was there. But me and another guy were the only one's playing the course. Good for beginners. Mostly played through trees but there are a few open areas.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.