Disc Golf Store
Germantown, TN 
Johnson Road Park Share
Uploaded By: finnious Hole #17
3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee: Basket off to left across fountain



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great home course

5+    8/16/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: memphisrider93
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I love the variety of holes between tight wooded shots, shots around and over the water and big clear drives. It provides an all around practice for all kinds of situations.
Cons: The only thing i would say that is wrong with the course is if you throw one in the lake alot of the swimmers will not call and you shouldnt hold your breathe on getting a disc backunless you go in and get it yourself.
Other Thoughts: The people that play at this course are super friendly and will usually let you play along with them.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: allenbosox
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the wooded holes - cooler in the summer, more technically challenging than a long water flyover. Good, quiet neighborhood. Good signage. Make sure you check the sign at the tee for the direction from the pin to the next tee.
Cons: All of the water holes either cross the water or have the water to the left, a big problem for most RHBH players. I didn't even notice the bag hangers until I got to the eighth tee. Look for somewhat obscure metal spikes in the trees. I really hope these don't harm the trees over time.
Other Thoughts: Consider using a map and parking in the cul-de-sac near the 8th tee and playing 8-18, followed by 1-7. Not too far from Shelby Farms, making a nice morning/afternoon double-header.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 too much hype

5+    6/3/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: Bikeknut
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2010
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The woods holes are great and well thought out. The course has nice benches, bathrooms and other amenities.
Cons: Let's put baskets in strange places..make up some stupid OB's..and there you have it! If you have played disc golf at any real course...you will hate it! Seriously folks....someone was smoking the pipe on this one!
Other Thoughts: Save your time..save your discs....save your gas....not the worst(Shelby Farms is!)..but not much better...It is like throwing your frisbee through a hula hoop!..about as much fun!
Oh...the locals will steal your discs from the water..and not give them back. I ran into a little punk at BUD HILL who was playing with my favorite TEEREX I threw into the waterfall...He scribbled my name out...told me someone? gave it to him....freaking dirtbags!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course!

5+    11/1/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: volmed10
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I rated this course as 4 stars since all of the additions and "amenities" have been added. Concrete tee pads, benches, tree hangers, bridges, signs, bathrooms, trash cans, etc. The benches and signs have been installed, and now some baskets have been installed at longer more challenging distances. Overall feel of the course is great, since it is located in one of the nicest parts of suburban Memphis. One of the few courses that allows glow golf as well.
Cons: Extremely left hand biased course (cough, cough.... Nelly....). All of the longer water holes have the water on the left, which makes swimming a very easy possibility if your release is off a little. Also, during the summer, the first five holes are ridiculously wet and marshy so make sure you wear shoes that you don't mind getting filthy. Plus, some of the spoiled rich kids in the area obviously have nothing better to do than steal the hole signs, so if a sign is missing you know where it went.
Other Thoughts: Great course with variable holes (open, hyser, anhyser, wooded), and the ability to play glow is great. Can be easily played with 2-4 discs.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tricky Course to Review

1    11/27/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Johnsons Road park is in a very nice area. The area is extremely safe and family friendly. Water comes into play on many holes which adds to the challenge. The park is very well maintained and there are an abundance of shrubs and plants. Since the course meanders through the main section of the park, these are included as "pros" for this course in my opinion. There are signs on each hole and benches are scattered randomly throughout the course. Holes 16 and 17 may be the best back-to-back holes I have ever played.
Cons: While I really enjoyed the atmosphere of this course, it would only be good for a relaxing round. The course is not very challenging. This was only my second round since knee surgery in early September. I am currently only able to get a max of about 250 feet on my drives...and I shot a 59. Since I am not a pro level player...and am currently injured...I would expect an experienced player to be able to shoot under par easily on their first run through the course. On the holes with water-in-play, the water is exclusively on the left. For RHBH a strong hyzer will be wet. Many of the wooded holes are anhyzers for RHBH. A lefty should be able to shoot an extgremely low score and stay out of trouble with the water. There are a few navigational issues. The tee signs do indicate which way to go after holing out, but sometimes you have to look around to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Johnson Road Park is an exceptionally clean park and the course is now one of my favorites. However, it does not offer the challenge that many disc golfers look for when they are traveling. If you are in the Memphis area, I would definitely recommend giving this course a try. The water adds to the challenge but is only daunting on 2 holes (16 and 17). I put that it is tricky to review, because as far as a relaxing round, it is definitely a 4 or better. As for the challenge of the design, it is more like a 3 or less. I am giving it a 3.5 because it takes both into account.

As a side note, this time of year the leaves are horrible...even in the fairways of wooded holes. It would be nice if the parks department or a volunteer would take the initiative to use a blower and clear of the fairways of the wooded holes. There are only about 8 of these holes. Right now, discs can easily disappear in the fairway. I put this in the "other" section because it is obviously not a problem during the majority of the year. Today it was a big problem.

Overall, this course will definitely not disappoint if you are looking for a recreational round. It is also a very safe place to play in a metropolitan area (Memphis) where safe places are somewhat uncommon.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 overall a great course

2-4    9/24/2009   9/24/2009
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenges every aspect of your game. wooded shots, big water holes, uphill, downhill, shots that must go left and right, and a few long holes that if you miss, you miss BIG. I love this course and play it often. concrete pads, multiple pin locations and great signage.
Cons: Some of the holes are par 4's and should only be 3's. it's very easy to score well on this course so if you've had a few bad rounds playing here will boast your failing confidence.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best "New" Course in Memphis

5+    7/22/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: memphisDGdestroyer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Before the addition of the nine new holes this course was almost a time-filler; someplace to go and practice and mess around between rounds at other longer 18-hole courses. The new holes have made all the difference in the world. You start at the west end of the park next to the restrooms and playground. Take this chance to fill up your water bottles at the fountain. You won't get another chance for 6 holes. The front 5 are all shorter wooded holes with holes 3&4 requiring L to R movement. Use bug spray during the summer or you will get carried off by mosquitoes. Number 6 is the hole that flies over the water. If your discs tend to hang and then fall sharply to the left watch out or you'll be swimming. Shorter no. 7 also takes you over the water but with a huge OB area all around the target. With the exception on no. 9 the next 6 are shortish woods shots. Keep your cool or you'll lose it during these technical holes. Nos. 14-18 are primarily long open shots. Bring your long arm for the 440ft no. 16 over the lake. All in all, this is great course with a little bit of everything. Definitely worth a visit if you're passing through.
Cons: There's not much to say negatively about this course. The mosquitoes are a pain but if you survive the first 5 you're ok. Also because the paths through the first 5 haven't been established thoroughly they tend to get real boggy after rains. Again, not a problem after the first 5. There's only 2 places to fill up your bottle and only 2 places to throw away trash. Watch out for unsuspecting pedestrians as they can become targets of errant discs.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with tons of opportunity for great shots. If you feel you're not up for the long water holes there are shorter recreational tee pads so you don't have to chance losing discs. This course sees a fair amount of traffic so there's always a chance to play-in with a group.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Leaves of 3, let it be.

1    5/22/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: Thtcat
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice park, including public restrooms. Some good design (which I expect I'd appreciate more on a second playing). There is definitely a challenge here.
Cons: Wow, the poison ivy is terrible if you stray off the new wooded holes. There are 4 holes that play over the lakes in the park (and a few more that play very near them) so it's easy to lose a disc if you miss your shot. On top of that, there are signs posted indicating that nobody is allowed in the lakes. These were being ignored by several young men while I was playing. The course closely follows a walking/jogging trail that seems to get heavy use.
Other Thoughts: I was sad to lose a driver in the lake. I was amazed at the heavy ivy growth just off the narrow fairway (more like a path) in the woods. It's the ivy that made this course a 2.5 for me. I'll try it again in the winter months.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Totally Different Course!

5+    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: mcdavis17
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was recently expanded from 9 holes to 18 holes, and it was done right. Rather than tacking 9 more holes onto the existing layout, the course was totally revamped. It offers a mix of wooded holes, open holes, and plenty of shots with water in play. On the wooded holes, there is always an obvious route, and often an alternate route as well, so there is a element of challenge without being punishing. The tee signs are very informative as to distance, basket location, and also anything that might be OB or mando on that hole (such as Hole # 7 -- mando landing area). The course follows the terrain well and makes good use of elevation changes. At all holes either the tee sign or the basket (if not both) directed you to the next teepad.
Cons: Trash cans are spaced out quite a bit on the course, especially on the first few holes and when you get back into # 11 - # 16 or 17. There are not really any benches convenient to the tee pads at this time. You also need to keep an eye on walkers on the track and other park patrons to make sure they are aware you are about to throw.
Other Thoughts: This course used to be overlooked in favor of other courses in the area in terms of challenge. However, the designers seemed to take that into consideration with the changes, and have made a course that I will be visiting a lot more frequently now. There are some awesome views from several of the teepads (# 6 and # 16 in particular), and # 7 offers a unique challenge in terms of your drive. Anyone who gave up on this course needs to come back and play the new layout -- it is worth the time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 All encomapassing course

5+    3/19/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: otown pyle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenges all aspects of game... Water holes, tight wooded holes, hyzer and anhyzer holes
Cons: loosing your disc in the water if your disc rolls down hills or from wind or bad throw

or ending up in thicket of woods if you griplock
Other Thoughts: this course has changed dramatically... I used to go to Johnson the 9 hole course only if I was bored at lunch cause it's close to work... Now I go out of my way to go to play at Johnson on the weekends and such...

One more note... Traffic on the course has increased dramatically since expansion... Also though, alot of people have no clue what the baskets are and will just walk over in front of them looking and touching on them while you're ripping a 200ft + drive right at their head... Don't neccessary expect them to duck when you yell "Fore" b/c they don't know they're on a frolf course...

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.