Emporia, KS 
Jones Park - East Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #10 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Excellent challenge of a course

2-4    7/10/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: spaceguy87
Played: 77  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course twice for the PDGA Amateur Disc Golf World Championships in July 2013. Once for practice and once in competition.

This course is a great challenge. The use of elevation and limited water hazards here is well done. It deserves its par 60 status and a score in the 50s should be considered well played.

Most of the holes that use water have a way to lay up for people with smaller arms (except for maybe hole 12).

Course is in great shape following Worlds. Nice tees, nice signs, nice baskets.

Lots of parking at various places around the park allow you to conveniently start at the beginning, or the middle.

Located next to Jones Park - West. One can easily park once and have nice long 36 hole round.

Very few holes that I remember that clearly favor only left hand throws or right hand throws (maybe hole 4 and 14?).

It is a long course, but technical enough that someone with a short arm but accurate control can still score well against a big arm thrower.
Cons: Some of the OB that I played with in Am Worlds was temporary. The course is not quite as challenging if the casual player does not have the same OB marked.

A few unimaginative holes: I thought Holes 3 and 17 left something to be desired. This is just my opinion and others may like them. Hole 17 felt a bit simple. I think the tee box can be moved slightly to make this hole better. Hole 3 feels a bit forced. I don't feel like using a building in the fairway on a 500 foot hole makes for a good challenge, it's just annoying. These are the only 2 holes I have much negative to say about.

The tall grass, while nice for a clear OB line, makes discs frustratingly hard to find. Some of t he grass has thorns so its not fun to walk through.

This course is a long walk. This is not necessarily a con for everybody, but some casual players, or people with less endurance, will not be able to enjoy this course because it is too long.

No restroom near the parking lot at Hole 1. Restroom is at the parking lot where the two Jones courses meet in the middle.

The course map on DGCR is old. It has the wrong hole numbers, at least compared to what the numbering was for Worlds.

I don't know for sure, but I would guess the drop zones that were marked for Worlds are not permanently marked.
Other Thoughts: Just wish I lived closer to Jones Park so I could play it more often!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Did That Just Happen?

1    4/14/2013   4/16/2013
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits in a very nice park that actually has two disc golf coruses in it. The tee pads are incredible consistent and the design of the course makes really good use of land. Many trees and other plant features offer a challenge as OB comes into play on several holes. The variety of shots and length of holes makes this course feel challenging and yet fair at the same time. There are some long pin placements that can really make a hole significantly more challenging. New tee signs and baskets are in place and make the course feel newer than it is. The park does have other amenities for family members who may not like playing disc golf. There are also restrooms at various different places on the course. There is a good amount of elevation that comes into play on a few holes. There are a lot more of those holes that you will remember, either for how well you did on what looks like a tough hole or because of how poorly you did on a really tough hole.
Cons: There are a couple of places where the course plays near other park features that might be in use by other park visitors. There are a couple of places where holes are close to eachother and tee shots may come close to other players. The ground can get really soggy when it is wet and you will find some really muddy places, especially around the water features.
Other Thoughts: When the new baskets and tee signs went in, the start of this course was moved to the parking lot on the far East side of the park. This means that the same parking lot should no longer be used for both courses. This will make tournaments easier but casual play on both courses more difficult. This is probably one of the places you will want to stop at if you are in this part of the country. The course is very fair and does not punish players who cannot throw as far. That is in comparison to the temporary course in Emporia on ball golf courses. The fact that there is a second course to play in the same park is a big plus. I found this course to be really encouraging, even in the midst of some tough holes. The fun factor on this course was really high for me and the uniqueness of most shots on the course pushed the rating higher.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Longer Half

1    3/16/2013   3/16/2013
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 48  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course utilizes water very well. The water is there and definitely in play, but not too intruding.
This course really tests your arm, especially with the Emporia wind.
The technical holes on this course are a great change of pace.
If this was the only course you play in a day, its a great length.
Great baskets!
Cons: There is a lot of back and forth on this course.
Distance is great, but it would be nice to mix up the distance a little bit more. This was my 3rd course out of 4 on a day trip, and it was by far the longest and most tiring.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to test your distance and somewhat of accuracy. However if you are playing multiple courses in a day, make sure to plan a lot of time for this one. I would like to give this a 4, but there is too much back to back and monotonous of holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The beast

5+    10/2/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: SteezeOG
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety and not just a bomb it type of course although the length is there. Best baskets in town. Usually not busy at all the west course gets more action. Requires strategy and thought but also allows for the grip it and rip it mentality on some holes.
Cons: The length can be both a pro and con depending on your mood and level of play. It is sometimes too much of a course for your average player but the good thing is you can just walk to the other side of the park and play the west course. Wind will always be a factor but it's Kansas so get used to it.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course but since getting back into the game recently I just don't have the skill to make it all that enjoyable. If you're looking for a challenge or are a top amateur/pro then have at it. I just prefer the west course. Oh and bring a long stick or some floating discs. There is water on both courses and the wind will land you in some eventually.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mucho Grande

1    1/17/2011   1/18/2011
Review By: kcplease
Played: 101  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pretty good variety of hole length
Many holes allow you to really open up on the drives
Quite a bit longer than the West course, but with fewer obstacles (hole 2 being an execption, 610 feet, trees all over the place. Least favorite hole)
flows well, as does the west course
Baskets catch rather well
Cons: Sometimes too long, but I have no room to complain, I have played Blue Valley.
Hole 2.
Trees can be obtrusive, (less of avoid the tress, but pick the best one to hit)
Other Thoughts: I would love to come back and play these in the summer. I am sure they would be more fun. I love how this course lets you bomb on some holes, then makes you place the drive on others. Trees are in a variety of areas, except on hole 2, where they are everywhere. Every hole seems fresh, so it rarely hits a dull moment.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Very Fun and Unforgiving Course

1    10/3/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When you step up to the first tee pad and see the road to the right (OB) and a long, wide field (OB) between you and the basket, which stands beside some large trees near the road, you know immediately this is going to be a long and difficult course. What you may not realize is that this is only the tip of the iceberg for a course that is filled with trees, OBs, weeds, hills, blind shots, and water hazards. Also, the wind can sometimes be a factor with your shots. Jones Park East is in great shape and shows no mercy to anyone regardless of skill level. The challenges vary with each hole, encouraging you to use different types of throws throughout the course. Each hole has multiple hole locations that offer more variety and more challenges for you to deal with. Even if you don't play that well, you'll still enjoy this beautifully designed course. It's strategically set up so that if you make the right decisions with a long and solid throw, you can usually set yourself up for a chance to get a decent score. That's a lot easier said than done though with this long and difficult course.
Cons: This course might be too difficult for beginning players, but it's a course they'll want to work up to. They'll probably be better off playing the friendlier West course in this park first.
Other Thoughts: This course will challenge you in almost every imaginable way, but the holes are designed in ways that also make them very fun to play. Depending on your skill level, you may not get a low score on this course, and you might possibly lose a disc or two, but you'll still enjoy playing here. It's easily one of the best courses I've ever played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The East is a BEAST

2-4    5/11/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredibly challenging. Its long, but its not a fun and gun kind of long. You really have to assess your abilities and plot a strategy right from the teepad on many holes. Steering your disc around, between and over trees is a big part of the challenge here. Many baskets are set in areas where dense trees, OB areas or other objects are close so placement is key. The water holes have an around route for people who can't clear them by going over. Its tough. Very tough, but its fair. In the minds of many who play disc golf in Kansas, this is the arguably the most difficult course in the state when the pins are set long. If this course emasculates you your first time out, you will want another shot at it.
Cons: Some of the same drainage issues that plague its sister course which it bumps right up against. Some hellatious thorns (more like small daggers) in the woods along the little creek by holes 9-11, and some less endangering ones in the tall grass areas on Hole 1 and 16-18. They provide for excellent obstacles, but I hate the idea of risking tetanus for a round of DG. Best keep your disc out of these areas. The conjoined teebox on holes 5 and 8 (see hole 8's picture) is rather awkward.
Other Thoughts: This one's not for the kiddies folks (send them to the other side of the park), but tournament caliber players will love this, even if the course is set in a short configuration. Much like the West course, I recommend seeing what position the basket is before you tee off as that may have an effect on your strategy. If you're passing through on I-35, and demand a challenge, this one is a must hit.

UPDATE: 5/2012. I've decided to lower this course to 4.0 discs. Nothing is particularly wrong that constituted the drop, but looking at where it fit compared to other courses that I've reviewed, the new score in hindsight seemed more befitting. If 4.25 was available, I'd give it that.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/6/2009   5/10/2009
Review By: KSLAWDAWG
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course does have a good mixuture of open and wooded. Mostly longer holes. More for advanced players. Good tee pads. If you cant drive a long ways - this course will be perfect for you.
Cons: Very long and diffucult. Not a good course for beginners that want to shoot a good score.
Other Thoughts: I live in emporia and really like the east and west course, but prefer playing the west course. Prolly b/c I cant throw like a pro either

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course.

9/16/2007   5/16/2008
Review By: ZCRogers
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging. I played this at the 07 Glass Blown and I was blown away. Tons of shot variation with alot of OB's. This course definately left me wanting more.

Shooting over ponds, through gaps in tree lines, elevation, distance, technical, everything you would want to see in a course.
Cons: No real cons I can think of.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite of the two Jones Park courses.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Big Arm Paradise

10/3/2007   4/17/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out course, lots of challenges, water, trees, doglegs to the right and left, tunnel shots. This course has it all. Rolling Prairie scenery, old growth trees, set in a large public park. Lots of opportunities to 'let it fly' if you've got the arm for it.
Cons: I mistakenly played the 'East' course, after being lured here by the description of the 'West' course. 'East' is considerably longer and harder, from what I understand. Some of the signage could be a bit clearer, I got lost and played a few of the wrong holes around the back 9 where the two courses intersect. I imagine this course is pretty tough when the wind blows.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.