Emporia, KS 
Jones Park - West Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #15 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
West World

1    12/31/2016   1/5/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 304  Reviewed: 201  Exp: 13.6 Years
Pros: Jones Park West course is the first of two 18 hole courses on site. It has concrete tees, Dynamic Discs provided the targets and tee signs. There are two pin locations at each hole, and an extra tee at hole 17. All of the equipment is in place and looking good.

There are enough trees to give each hole character of its own, and the staggered pin positions do a nice job to change the look and strategy of each hole. Fairways are all grass, and there is water in play on a couple of them. Mild changes in elevation on a few holes also.

A great course for learning, there are not tight lines or a lot of heavy rough. Several of them are fairly long, and the wind ups the difficulty a notch when blowing. Many of the evergreen trees are thick and tall enough to make a stuck disc tough to retrieve.

My favorite holes were 9, 11, 16 and 17. 9 was placed in the position to the right, a bit downhill and protected lightly by a few trees around the basket. I made a tee shot that put me 10' away but I clanked the putt like a chump. 11 has the most crowded fairway, so a low line with the correct angle is crucial if you want to get close to the pin. It is on a slight downhill slant most of the way, but not easy to reach with the first throw even if you don't get interference from the trees. 16 is long, and is a tough par 3, but an excellent warm up for hole 17. There are two tees on 17, and water in play near the basket. Depending on the pin, you may have to throw across the pond. I had a good drive off the long tee, but turned it into the wind on the second throw, so I was happy to stay dry, but not in good shape to make petter than par.
Cons: Overall a very nice course, maybe a little ho-hum for the advanced disc golfer. I enjoyed it, but there are other courses in and around Emporia that offer a much harder challenge, or more defined fairways.
Other Thoughts: I did not get to play the East course on this visit to the Emporia area, but will probably play the West course again when I do return to finish the other half. It has nice balance, is well marked and fun.

It has a similar feel to a lot of the older courses I have played. Not too much clutter on the fairways, and lots of room for big sweeping turns.

This was my final round of 2016, and third course of the day. I scored better here than the first two, but was still several shots over par. Opened with bogeys on the first 7 holes, but got a couple of birdies on the back nine to salvage the round.

 Local knowledge plus was 1 of 5 who put west in.

5+    11/6/2015   11/6/2015
Review By: Bstoney 12332
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is fun for anyone. It's got your longer holes#4, #11, #16, #17, #18, on long setting . But you can reach all the goals on short if you have a good arm. Watch out for the trees just waiting to clip your disc . When the course was set up we were all new too the game of Disc Golf but it has always been my favorite in town plus with baskets on all the holes how could you have a bad round here . It is big enough for pros and short enough for recreation players water for danger and enough trees too put a stop to any great round . Awesome course I've played it for over 20 years I've beaten it and it's beat me and that is what I feel is a great place too play.
Cons: The walk between 13-14 and 16-17 little long but a good time to get focused on the last five holes. Oh bring your own drinks the water fountains (2) are 100 ft apart and they don't work that well
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for any level of Disc golfer you might think it's to open to easy but I can tell ya this course will put you in your place. Come to Emporia and ripp it I'll be lookin forward too seeing you all.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    1/17/2011   1/18/2011
Review By: kcplease
Played: 128  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2013
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course. Absolutely love the layout and how they divided the courses.
West is Best
logical layout
Beautiful holes
Cons: baskets don't watch as well as I might have preferred
Not as much hole variety as the one next door, but this one is ,more fun, so it makes up for it.
Other Thoughts: This is possibly my favorite course ever, along with Peter Pan and Water Works. It really is great. Trees are not too horribly obtrusive, but do provide a nice obstacle. Holes really do flow with the land well. No doubt why these courses produced a World Champion.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The friendlier side of Jones Park

5+    5/11/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 342  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 13.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well taken care of park. Good signage. Designed with varying challenges for different skill levels, therefore while it can be tough, its a fair kind of tough.. Multiple pin positions that actually give you a different look and may cause you to vary your strategy. Some pins cleverly hidden inside groups of evergreens. Hole 17 with the pin long (686 feet) with two preferred routes, one through a low tunnel, the other over the top both of them hazardous is one of the challenging holes anywhere.
Cons: Has a few areas where there are flow issues on the back nine. No map of the course onsite. For all its care, Jones Park has some issues with drainage. You can find waterlogged or muddy spots in lots of places after a hard rain. An extra pair of socks would come in handy here.
Other Thoughts: Not as overwhelming as its sister course which it literally brushes right up against, this is still a very serious challenge when the pins are in the longs. Even the short holes are no gimme as there is always that errant tree branch and sometimes relentless wind that blows your disc off its line. I would highly recommend taking a look down the fairway to see the basket if you can't spot it from the tee. The Mach 3's on this course aren't as visible as the yellow Discatchers on the East course. Regardless of what configuraton you get, you will want another crack at this one when you're done. Better for newbies and casuals along with Peter Pan Park across town. You could really spend a night in Emporia with all the disc golf courses available.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.