Jumonville, PA
Jumonville Glen Share
Uploaded By: Jimb Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 132ft.   3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Fairway



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Disc Golf at Church Camp

1    3/14/2014   3/16/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 39  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 1.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jumonville Glen is located on a Christian retreat/summer camp site and plays around a section of the campgrounds that includes a pool, tennis courts, basketball courts, and a baseball field. It is listed as private on this site, but I had no trouble getting in to play it and I have heard others say that they never have had any problems either. I think it is generally easy to gain access to, but one is probably discouraged to play while there are camps/retreats going on.

The first tee is located next to the swimming pool, and a course map is there to assist you (follow the map at the course and not the one on this website, as some of the holes have been changed). The tees are natural, but there are two sets of concrete blue/white slabs that have the hole numbers on them for most holes. The different tees give different looks, and for most of the holes offer a good difference in length. DN Liberty baskets are in great shape and I believe are a recent upgrade from the course's previously homemade baskets.

I liked the mix of completely open, somewhat open, and wooded holes that the course offers. Holes 1-6 and 9 are in open fields with trees placed here and there and holes 7 and 8 offer fun shots in the woods. Holes 4 and 6 have pins strategically located within a group of pines. I also appreciated the use of elevation for holes 1 and 9.

This is a real good course for beginners, as there aren't really any chances to lose discs and there are mostly open holes with a few wooded holes for the beginner to experience.
Cons: -It was hard for me to find the first tee for a number of reasons. For one, there is not any parking near holes 1 or 9, so it made it tough to find an obvious starting point. The parking - while not really far away from the course - is not conveniently located near the course either. Also, the lack of signage and no numbers on the pins made it hard for me to determine what number the holes were, and the numbers of the designated tee areas were initially hard to spot because there are flat on the ground. Thank God for the course map, or else I would have been completely lost as to where to start.
-Not much variety from the tee, as most holes were straight shots to the basket. It gets pretty repetitive when there are 3 completely open, flat holes in a 9 hole course. There were a few anhyzer and hyzer lines, however.
-If it is out of season, no bathrooms or water fountains are available.
-The course plays very close to the pool, baseball field, and tennis courts, so you would need to be very cautious if other activities were going on.
Other Thoughts: I had trouble deciding whether this course should be a 1.5 or a 2.0. The lack of shot selection off the tee on most of the holes would make it a 1.5, but the wooded holes (7 and 8) are a lot of fun, have a great design, and are what put this course up at a 2.0. The parking situation and the difficulty of finding the first tee were a little frustrating for me. But, it is a church camp so I'm sure there are often camp counselors that show everyone where to begin. Again, it is a good course for beginners and is a relatively quick play (took 3 of us 45 min). I would only stop here for course bagging and if you are passing through the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

It's a campground course

1    10/23/2009   9/23/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 59  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of space they have available.
Other Thoughts: It's been a while since I played this course so I don't want to pile on cons. The baskets were a little rough when I was there, but it isn't a bad course for a campground.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Throwing on Historic Braddock's Road

2-4    8/30/2012   9/12/2012
Review By: Geepster
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall the course has made the most of the available terrain allowing for elevation changes, tight and open fairways, and protected shots.

Played several times both with campers onsite and no campers around at all and never had to worry about people in the way of any shots.

Asked for permission to play at office and was welcomed and given a scorecard/map.

Holes 6, 7, & 8 are the best on the course. 6 & 7 are tree holes that provide ace opportunities but are narrow enough to bounce your discs deep into trouble. Hole 8 is an open hole with an elevation rise to a partially protected basket.
Cons: The pars are way too generous.

The tee boxes could've used existing paths more to provide consistent footing.
Other Thoughts: The tree holes 6 & 7 are on the Historic Braddock's Road and the camp itself is close to the battlefield location of the opening battle of the French & Indian (7 Years War).

Course plays much differently in the wind by either adding distance to shots or length to holes.

Jumonville is definitely "Stroller-friendly" for playing with little ones in tow.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Little Course

1    10/18/2009   7/23/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a fun course to play while you are attending camp there. The holes are not bad for the land that is available.
Cons: Baskets were not that bad. It was tough to find a tee pads for the holes. Only 9 holes. It would not be as fun doing a second 9 to play 18 total holes.
Other Thoughts: If you are going to a camp or weekend retreat here I would recommend playing this course once. I would not say to drive or go out of your way to come play here, it just is not good enough for that. It is kind of close to the one football field so when you are throwing on some holes you might hit someone. My friend hit a guy in the chest when we played it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Old course New baskets!

2-4    4/20/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: discdug
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new baskets are great. Also the new tee pads are a great addition to the course. Blue and White tee pads are installed. Course map and score cards are available at hole 1.
Cons: #6 Tee pad placed under a tree that has limbs in the way. The more leaves that grow on it the harder it would be to drive from tee pad. Simple tree pruning is all that needs done here. #7 Blue Tee pad needs more clearance behind the tee marker. Not enough room for driving. Hole #3 blue Tee is impossible to drive thru the tree branches. The tee needs to be moved away from the tree.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course that allows you to use your entire bag. Only 9 holes now but 9 more planned for near future. Love the woods section. I hope the next 9 will be more in the woods like #7 and #8. Not a very busy course. I had the whole place to myself.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  2012 update

5+    3/26/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: Bryce
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 4/9/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All 9 new baskets are installed and playable..The course looks great!!!
Cons: No cons with this one, fun little course with room for expansion..
Other Thoughts: Alot of potential here for additional holes. Tee markers are coming soon.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Primitive

1    7/24/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 326  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
An opportunity to throw discs is always welcome.

Quality map (under Links) quite useful.
Cons:
The baskets are quite shallow and the circumference of the ring holding the chains is smaller than normal.

No marked tee locations. Simply tee off from near the previous basket, except for holes 6, 8, and 9, where you'll need to estimate from where to tee - the map is a necessary aid.

Plays near/across tennis courts, basketball courts, baseball/soccer field, road, and walking paths.
Other Thoughts:
Despite the tee/basket shortcomings, the course was fun to play. While on the flat and open side, wooded holes 6-7 offered some challenge, and a few of the other holes had some trees somewhat near the basket.

The map is essential to help orient and guide you. If you park at Andrew's Lodge then cross the street, basket-2 will be to your left, and basket-3 to your right.

Learning how to putt successfully on these baskets will make putting on conventional baskets seem extremely easy!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Falling Apart

5+    10/15/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You will most likely never share the course with any other golfers.

The camp that this course is located on is a great place in a fantastic location. There is tennis, basketball, volleyball, a large playground and a phenomonal view.

For a small nine hole course this has some good distances with most of the holes over 300' with one that is close to 500.

The two wooded holes 6 and 7 are really nice and I wish the whole course could have been designed that way.

This course would be perfect for kids and beginners since it is somewhat short with not alot of obstructions.
Cons: Baskets are bad. These are homemade baskets that are old enough to have begun falling apart. They did not catch all that well to begin with so putting now is an iffy proposition.

There are no tee markers. You can get a map/scorecard from the camp office that will let you know where the tee's are but if you don't have one just tee off from near the previous basket except 6 and 8 where you need to cross a road first. And 9 you walk up a little concrete path first.

Some of the holes play really close to other camp activities in the summer so you really need to be careful.
Other Thoughts: I have played this 9 hole course alot and it is an older course that was designed by amateurs 15 years ago. The camp itself is very supportive of disc golf but cannot dedicate resources for it.

As I said before the camp office has a Map/Scorecard as well as loaner discs for anybody who needs them.

Jumonville is a Christian camp but does not mind outsiders or locals playing as long as the hide the drinking and behave themselves.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Take it for what it is.

1    1/1/2009   1/1/2009
Review By: Jimb
Played: 66  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The views of the Uniontown, PA valley below from on the grounds are beautiful. The course sits way above the surrouding area so you can see a really, really long way. If you've ever been through Uniontown and noticed the big white cross on the mountain above town, that's where the course is.

The course is short and you can play a very quick round or two. Hole #9 pin does circle back around to hole #1 tee to make a nice circuit. This course would be very nice for beginners. And the hole numbers are clearly marked on the pins. A simple, but clear map/scorecard is available at the office.

See other thoughts below.
Cons: 7 of 9 holes play mainly over open grassy fields with few obstacles to the flight path of the disc so it's not very challenging.

The homemade baskets are in need of repair. A couple chains have come loose at the top and the vinyl landscaping material used as the edge of the baskets has come loose on several of the baskets. I also believe that the basket width is a little smaller than official size. *****UPDATE 11-10-12. Baskets upgraded to Disc Nation Liberty baskets so baskets are no longer a con.*****

I couldn't find a single tee marker on the course. I used the course map/scorecard to guesstimate where to tee off from. *****UPDATE 11-10-12: There are now tee markers in the ground. Most were snow covered so I'll have to go back again to find them all. The couple that I saw appear to be cement slabs about 8" x 3' with the hole number and color painted on them. Although they won't be as easy to find as posts, they should serve the purpose.*****

***Update: Played again 8-30-09. Some chains are still in need of repair and still no tee markers present. Ran into a couple locals who said that they basically start close to the previous tees' basket when teeing off on the next hole for most holes. This adds distance to holes #1-5 for sure.

See other thoughts below.
Other Thoughts: *****11-10-12 UPDATE: Kudos to the people at Jumonville Glen Retreat Center!!! The improvements to the course are not going unnoticed by me. When weather permits, I'll definitely be back to re-evealuate the course and, more importantly, to play it and have some fun!! Even with the limited amount that I was able to play the course (because of my own poor footwear choice) I am totally comfortable moving my rating up from a 1 to a 1.5. This could very well move to 2 the next time I play it. And if the rumor is true about 9 more holes, who knows how good Jumonville can be.

Take it for what it is... my title. This course is at a church camp. It's used by kids attending the camp. And I bet that it's a lot of fun for them. So I hate giving the course a 1. But from the perspective of an experienced disc golfer the course is sub-standard.

It may be that the course was in disrepair since it's definitely the off-season for "Summer Camp." If the tee marker and basket challenges are resolved, my rating could easily move up to a 2 or 2 1/2.

My camera wouldn't work in the 15 degree weather so I didn't get to take any pictures. My father-in-law works out of town and he stays very close to this course so I'll be back in Spring to take some pics and to possibly update my review. In the meantime, here are some hole specifics.

#1) A short little downhill shot with either hyzer or anhyzer routes around two big trees to an open pin placement.

#2) Grip and rip across an open field... but don't rip it too far... it's a short hole. ;-)

#3 is a "wide tunnel shot" that plays between a row of pine trees and some OB tennis and basketball courts. It requires a little accuracy.

#4) Much like #2.

#5) Much like #2 & #4 but longer.

#6) Short shot in the woods along a wide foot path with a couple trees to work around.

#7) Playing along the continuation of the footpath on #6. Big dog leg right at about 150' out makes for the most accurate shot required on the course to avoid going into the deeper woods.

#8) Much like #2 & #4 but slightly uphill.

#9) Short downhill open shot. Beware of going OB long.

If you do a Yahoo search of Jumonville Camp you can find the website for the camp that includes a little bit of information and a couple pics of the baskets and course.

So if you've made it this far through my novel, it's almost over. ;-) Basically, if you're in the Uniontown, PA area and need a little disc golf fix, check the course out and have yourself a nice relaxing round to work on your short game.

***Update: based upon playing the course again my assessment hasn't really changed. With tee markers and upgraded baskets this could improve to a "decent" level course for sure. The length isn't long but there are a couple holes that I can't reach with my drives (#4 & #5, when teeing off from the previous holes' pins play probably 75' and 50' longer than listed on the scorecard), there's a little elevation in play, and with a couple wooded holes there's a little variety here. So it's not a waste of time. Just don't go far out of your way or set your expectations too high.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.