Disc Golf Store
Jumonville, PA 
Jumonville Glen Share
Uploaded By: Jimb Hole #3 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Disc Golf at Church Camp

1    3/14/2014   3/16/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 78  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jumonville Glen is located on a Christian retreat/summer camp site and plays around a section of the campgrounds that includes a pool, tennis courts, basketball courts, and a baseball field. It is listed as private on this site, but I had no trouble getting in to play it and I have heard others say that they never have had any problems either. I think it is generally easy to gain access to, but one is probably discouraged to play while there are camps/retreats going on.

The first tee is located next to the swimming pool, and a course map is there to assist you (follow the map at the course and not the one on this website, as some of the holes have been changed). The tees are natural, but there are two sets of concrete blue/white slabs that have the hole numbers on them for most holes. The different tees give different looks, and for most of the holes offer a good difference in length. DN Liberty baskets are in great shape and I believe are a recent upgrade from the course's previously homemade baskets.

I liked the mix of completely open, somewhat open, and wooded holes that the course offers. Holes 1-6 and 9 are in open fields with trees placed here and there and holes 7 and 8 offer fun shots in the woods. Holes 4 and 6 have pins strategically located within a group of pines. I also appreciated the use of elevation for holes 1 and 9.

This is a real good course for beginners, as there aren't really any chances to lose discs and there are mostly open holes with a few wooded holes for the beginner to experience.
Cons: -It was hard for me to find the first tee for a number of reasons. For one, there is not any parking near holes 1 or 9, so it made it tough to find an obvious starting point. The parking - while not really far away from the course - is not conveniently located near the course either. Also, the lack of signage and no numbers on the pins made it hard for me to determine what number the holes were, and the numbers of the designated tee areas were initially hard to spot because there are flat on the ground. Thank God for the course map, or else I would have been completely lost as to where to start.
-Not much variety from the tee, as most holes were straight shots to the basket. It gets pretty repetitive when there are 3 completely open, flat holes in a 9 hole course. There were a few anhyzer and hyzer lines, however.
-If it is out of season, no bathrooms or water fountains are available.
-The course plays very close to the pool, baseball field, and tennis courts, so you would need to be very cautious if other activities were going on.
Other Thoughts: I had trouble deciding whether this course should be a 1.5 or a 2.0. The lack of shot selection off the tee on most of the holes would make it a 1.5, but the wooded holes (7 and 8) are a lot of fun, have a great design, and are what put this course up at a 2.0. The parking situation and the difficulty of finding the first tee were a little frustrating for me. But, it is a church camp so I'm sure there are often camp counselors that show everyone where to begin. Again, it is a good course for beginners and is a relatively quick play (took 3 of us 45 min). I would only stop here for course bagging and if you are passing through the area.

UPDATE: The course has recently been updated with new scorecards near hole 1 plus the addition of 9 new holes with nicer tee signs. The new holes play in the woods after 6, where old 7 and 8 used to be. These new holes offer some challenging and tight lines within the woods and give the course a much more complete feel. The rough is very thick at this time, but I'm sure will get better over time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's a campground course

1    10/23/2009   9/23/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 79  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good use of space they have available.
Other Thoughts: It's been a while since I played this course so I don't want to pile on cons. The baskets were a little rough when I was there, but it isn't a bad course for a campground.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Throwing on Historic Braddock's Road

2-4    8/30/2012   9/12/2012
Review By: Geepster
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall the course has made the most of the available terrain allowing for elevation changes, tight and open fairways, and protected shots.

Played several times both with campers onsite and no campers around at all and never had to worry about people in the way of any shots.

Asked for permission to play at office and was welcomed and given a scorecard/map.

Holes 6, 7, & 8 are the best on the course. 6 & 7 are tree holes that provide ace opportunities but are narrow enough to bounce your discs deep into trouble. Hole 8 is an open hole with an elevation rise to a partially protected basket.
Cons: The pars are way too generous.

The tee boxes could've used existing paths more to provide consistent footing.
Other Thoughts: The tree holes 6 & 7 are on the Historic Braddock's Road and the camp itself is close to the battlefield location of the opening battle of the French & Indian (7 Years War).

Course plays much differently in the wind by either adding distance to shots or length to holes.

Jumonville is definitely "Stroller-friendly" for playing with little ones in tow.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

1    10/18/2009   7/23/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a fun course to play while you are attending camp there. The holes are not bad for the land that is available.
Cons: Baskets were not that bad. It was tough to find a tee pads for the holes. Only 9 holes. It would not be as fun doing a second 9 to play 18 total holes.
Other Thoughts: If you are going to a camp or weekend retreat here I would recommend playing this course once. I would not say to drive or go out of your way to come play here, it just is not good enough for that. It is kind of close to the one football field so when you are throwing on some holes you might hit someone. My friend hit a guy in the chest when we played it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old course New baskets!

2-4    4/20/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: discdug
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new baskets are great. Also the new tee pads are a great addition to the course. Blue and White tee pads are installed. Course map and score cards are available at hole 1.
Cons: #6 Tee pad placed under a tree that has limbs in the way. The more leaves that grow on it the harder it would be to drive from tee pad. Simple tree pruning is all that needs done here. #7 Blue Tee pad needs more clearance behind the tee marker. Not enough room for driving. Hole #3 blue Tee is impossible to drive thru the tree branches. The tee needs to be moved away from the tree.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course that allows you to use your entire bag. Only 9 holes now but 9 more planned for near future. Love the woods section. I hope the next 9 will be more in the woods like #7 and #8. Not a very busy course. I had the whole place to myself.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  2012 update

5+    3/26/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: Bryce
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 4/9/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All 9 new baskets are installed and playable..The course looks great!!!
Cons: No cons with this one, fun little course with room for expansion..
Other Thoughts: Alot of potential here for additional holes. Tee markers are coming soon.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Primitive

1    7/24/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
An opportunity to throw discs is always welcome.

Quality map (under Links) quite useful.
Cons:
The baskets are quite shallow and the circumference of the ring holding the chains is smaller than normal.

No marked tee locations. Simply tee off from near the previous basket, except for holes 6, 8, and 9, where you'll need to estimate from where to tee - the map is a necessary aid.

Plays near/across tennis courts, basketball courts, baseball/soccer field, road, and walking paths.
Other Thoughts:
Despite the tee/basket shortcomings, the course was fun to play. While on the flat and open side, wooded holes 6-7 offered some challenge, and a few of the other holes had some trees somewhat near the basket.

The map is essential to help orient and guide you. If you park at Andrew's Lodge then cross the street, basket-2 will be to your left, and basket-3 to your right.

Learning how to putt successfully on these baskets will make putting on conventional baskets seem extremely easy!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Falling Apart

5+    10/15/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You will most likely never share the course with any other golfers.

The camp that this course is located on is a great place in a fantastic location. There is tennis, basketball, volleyball, a large playground and a phenomonal view.

For a small nine hole course this has some good distances with most of the holes over 300' with one that is close to 500.

The two wooded holes 6 and 7 are really nice and I wish the whole course could have been designed that way.

This course would be perfect for kids and beginners since it is somewhat short with not alot of obstructions.
Cons: Baskets are bad. These are homemade baskets that are old enough to have begun falling apart. They did not catch all that well to begin with so putting now is an iffy proposition.

There are no tee markers. You can get a map/scorecard from the camp office that will let you know where the tee's are but if you don't have one just tee off from near the previous basket except 6 and 8 where you need to cross a road first. And 9 you walk up a little concrete path first.

Some of the holes play really close to other camp activities in the summer so you really need to be careful.
Other Thoughts: I have played this 9 hole course alot and it is an older course that was designed by amateurs 15 years ago. The camp itself is very supportive of disc golf but cannot dedicate resources for it.

As I said before the camp office has a Map/Scorecard as well as loaner discs for anybody who needs them.

Jumonville is a Christian camp but does not mind outsiders or locals playing as long as the hide the drinking and behave themselves.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

New and Improved for 2014!

2-4    5/25/2009   1/1/2009
Review By: Jimb
Played: 78  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2014
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ***Review totally updated due to upgrade from 9 to 18 holes in May of 2014***

The view of the Uniontown, PA valley below the grounds is very nice. If you've ever been through Uniontown and noticed the big white cross on the mountain above town, that's where the course is. There's plenty to do in Uniontown... eating, shopping, etc. and it's just a short drive away. Plus the region has lots of other outdoor activities to participate in (hiking, boating, fishing, caving, etc.).

On site there are hiking trails, tennis courts, volleyball courts, basketball courts, a playground and a baseball diamond. You would need to check with management to see if it's OK to use these facilities, though.

The course has been greatly improved over the last few years with the new baskets and tee markers (2012), and especially the 9 new holes (2014). If you park by the pool-house, in the dirt parking lot off of Old Braddock Rd., you'll be close to the beginning and end of the course.

The tee markers for #1-6 and #16-18 are just concrete slabs in the ground with the hole number on them. Holes #7-15 have vertical posts with the hole number on them. Navigation is very simple, especially from #7-17. When the new map is made, it will be very helpful.

The Liberty baskets are all in very good shape. They catch pretty well. I found that they don't catch hard putts very well, as they'll hit the pole and bounce out, or off center putts, especially on the left side for a RHBH putter. The chains seem to have more spitouts than on other "'pro-grade" baskets.

The holes are an excellent mix of open, lightly wooded and very wooded. Overall, the course is pretty short. #6 is the longest open hole at 471' and #12 is the longest wooded hole. I estimated it at 350'. For reference, I can drive on a wide open hole around 350' with a good pull. With that being said, #6 is the only hole that I can't reach from the tee due to sheer distance. But I do get to throw driver from 2 other holes. The rest are mid-range and putter holes for me. There's not a lot of elevation on the property, but what there is gets used.

With the addition of the new wooded holes, the blend of left turning, right turning and straight shots is well distributed. There are some interesting right turning holes and a very nice "S" shaped hole, #10. So you do need more than just a "big stupid hyzer" in your arsenal. The wooded holes are generally pretty tight, but are definitely fair. The super short #13 doesn't appear to have a real shot at the basket, but I found a very reasonable, unexpected line. No I'm not giving away my secret. ;-)

If you don't want to deal with the thick wooded holes, #7-15, you can still play the original 9 hole course as holes #1-6 and 16-18.
Cons: If you must have nice tees, a lot of length, drastic elevation changes and/or water on your courses, then this isn't the course for you. This isn't really a con for me, but I just wanted to note it.

The new holes are still a work in progress. There are tee signs, but it's unclear in a few instances which side of the marker you're supposed to throw from. The signs interfered with my follow through on a couple so I just backed up a little extra. The tees are natural and rough in several cases.

The rough is very rough and will probably only get deeper and thicker as the Summer progresses. Hopefully they keep up with course maintenance. Plus the trees and brush from the clearing of fairways has been left very close to the holes and definitely comes into play.

On holes #7-15, the next tee is very close to the previous basket on most holes. Errant drives and approaches could easily find there way into the teebox of the next hole. Also, be careful on holes #3-4, as it is easy to go OB onto the road.
Other Thoughts: Highlights:
**Hole #1 is now a nice, blind, right turning opener.
**Hole #6 is open all of the way to the basket, with the basket tucked in-between a small grove of pine trees. It should give all but big arms an opportunity to really air out their drives at 471'.
**Hole #8 is a cool "S" shaped hole down a narrow, but reasonable path. A "two" on this hole would feel really good.
**Hole #12 will probably open up just a little pretty soon, with a dead tree currently leaning over the fairway early. In any case, this is a very cool, slightly down-hill, long and straight hole, though a couple gaps in the trees.

This course is at a church camp and I bet that it's been a lot of fun for attendees. I wonder, though, what they'll think of the new wooded holes. The tight fairways, hole configurations, and nasty rough will not prove to be very beginner friendly. And my kudos to the people at Jumonville Glen Retreat Center!!! The improvements to the course have not gone unnoticed by me.

I still wouldn't call Jumonville a destination course. But if you live within an hour or so, I would absolutely recommend that you check out the new layout. It's about 1:20 for me to get there, and I'll definitely be going back.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.