Madras, OR
Juniper Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: PDXDisc Hole #1 (Taken 4/2011)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Pleasently Surprised

1    4/30/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 20  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variation and challenges for a short 9 hole course. Easy to find. Increadible views, Had the course to myself for 2 rounds.
The variations in distance, uphill shots, and trees made this an absolute blast to play. Much more interesting than I was expecting for a 9 hole course on the edge of a public park.

The tee markers made navigation a snap.
Cons: The tee boxes are more of a hazard than a help at this point. They have turned into small sand pits and it looks like players are teeing off from next to the pads and tearing up the ground. Kinda defeating the purpose of the tee pad placement.

Just guessing but I played this course April 30 with 70 degree temps, blue skys, and absolute dream conditions. I would expect come July/August when it's 110+ and the cheetgrass comes in the fun factor could wane a bit. But in April/May it is increadible.
Other Thoughts: Whoever laid this course out deserves an award. Great job! It would be a destination course if it were a full 18.
I made the drive into Madras from the Kahneetah resort where I was staying with my family and was kinda grumbling about the distance for just "a stubby 9 holer". But it was definitely worth the drive.

Please consider making it an 18 and changing the tee pads... Please.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/23/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very interesting holes for a small 9 hole course.
Great Use of elevation change.
Distances range from 202' to 478' (Big downhill)
Each hole really forces you to throw one direction or the the other a challenge often lacking in shorter 9 holers.
Zero Navigation issues, nice tee signs walkouts aren't an issue.
Consistent high winds add a huge challenge factor.
No free birdies outside of perhaps hole 4.
Hole 7 is an Amazing top of the world-esque shot 50' down 478 feet long with raging winds.
Cool benches.
Nice new baskets.
Cons: Tee pads are completely Unusable! As of when I played the tees were 2 foot deep dirt pits, I didn't use a single pad during the round due to safety risk.
The Huge wind factor is frustrating in this central Oregon hill course each time I've played it's been around 25 mph sustained.
For more experienced players there are only a few holes that offer a real bogey threat yet at the same time some of the routes make getting a birdie very difficult leading to a par fest.
Only 9 holes, with so much surrounding space.
Other Thoughts: Juniper Hills is a fantastic little 9 hole course that has a lot of desert charm, I was completely taken aback by the top of the world hole, it's a stunning hole on a course that isn't all that huge by other standards. The tee pads are an unfortunate situation and if they were even just level dirt launch pads the course would be that much better. With the amount of variety and fun hole ideas Juniper Hills is a great course for newer players and offers one of the only places to play in all of Central Oregon. I would definitely stop here if you're driving through on your way to Bend or anywhere else in Central Oregon, it's a fun 9 that shouldn't take more than a half-hour.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 If you find yourself in Madras with some time to kill...

1    5/22/2008   10/5/2009
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Elevation change
*Decent flow
*Empty, I've played there four or five times and have seen two other people playing.
*Fun hole designs
Cons: *Woodchips make for horrible tees
*Its only 9
*Its in Madras, so unless you live in Madras, its far....
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty fun high desert course that works its way up, across, down, and around a hill.

If you find yourself in Madras, or more likely driving through, check this course out for a real quick nine.

Once you enter the park, the course is on the hill in the back right (NE corner) of the park

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Forearm course

5/2/2008   5/5/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice little course that goes through trees up the hill and then you throw off the top of the hill back down to the valley. Room and space for improvement.
Cons: A lot of left drives.
Other Thoughts: Course is in the far, far, back of the park. You cannot see it from the street so look for the small sign for disc golf. Toward the only house on that hill.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.