Bloomington, IN 
Karst Farm Park Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #5
2 / 229ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
One of a kind…or Two?

2-4    8/29/2015   9/2/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 244  Reviewed: 228  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well, this is the first time I've ever played a course that has pairs of baskets to shoot at (on 7 of its 9 holes, anyway) with no discernable reason for having a second basket there. I took advantage of the layout to play two sets of discs 'left versus right', and was a little surprised to enjoy myself on the way. A very open layout in a family friendly park, the disc golf holes play to recreational to intermediate distances, and interestingly have signage that shows course par as mostly 4 per hole on 'longer' ones (seemingly indicating the target audience to be casual players), and a par of 2 (!) on one or two shortie ace runs (which might be 'true' for tournament players). Different.

Decently sized, level, concrete tee pads, simple and direct flow, and 18 chain baskets mean the amenities here are fine. There's even a kiosk sign (pretty much empty) at the first tee (behind the #3 shelter) and a couple of trash barrels on the loop. Maintenance is good, possibly because almost every hole plays pretty wide open. You do have gently rolling slopes and some widely spaced trees to work around.

The holes that might challenge a tournament player somewhat would be hole 5, which plays to a just-blind basket position slightly left and 40-50' past the middle tree, and hole 9, where an overthrow will put you into a bit of a foliage sanctuary. Otherwise, it's a very quick round with very little chance of misplacing a disc.
Cons: The openness of most of the holes means there's not much to challenge your shot-shaping, and the family-oriented nature of the park means you might have folks climbing a tree near your fairway or even dozing in a hammock 40 feet from the 8th baskets, on a warm summer weekend. I felt obliged to be sure and lay up, rather than bothering them.

It would be nice to see either a course map at the kiosk, or next tee signage (or both) out here for first timers.
Other Thoughts: Added a map here on DGCR for first timers. The oddity of having pairs of baskets, usually within 30 feet of each other, in the open, is striking. Clearly, they had access to more of the park in the past, and pulled back from an 18 hole layout to a 9, but the extra baskets could definitely be used to greater benefit. I'd even suggest pulling the extras (from holes 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8 & 9) and using them for one practice basket and a six hole, putt-putt, introductory course even closer to the shelters, if it were up to me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great begginer course

5+    5/25/2014   12/30/2014
Review By: blclevenger2
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its a great beginner course. Hole ones layout playing behind the oak forces beginners to practice both low ceiling and uphill shot. This course is open and that draws a focus on the accuracy of your game. Decent use the elevation.
Cons: Its not the original 18 and cant see the point in having two baskets per hole.
Other Thoughts: Plain and simple its no built to cater to pro calibre players. Its built for families and new players to enjoy and hone their skills on. That's not to say pro calibre players wont find layouts they enjoy, you just have to use your mind and find the lines you want to practice.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Closest course to my hometown.

2-4    11/1/2014   11/12/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 276  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There's baskets (two on each hole).


Some signage matches up.
Cons: I'm not sure what they were thinking by putting two baskets on each hole approx. 10 feet apart. It doesn't add anything.

The course is long and boring with little shade in the summer.

Some of the tee signs are not accurate.
Other Thoughts: Such a shame that this is the closest course to where I grew up (Greene County) It was not in the ground when I played soccer at Karst Park in the early 90's. Kind of embarrassing to tell people I play disc golf when this course is what they think of.

I've played an alternate layout with temp baskets during a Bloomington Disc Golf Club tourney. It was really fun. I'm curious what's keeping them from installing that course permanently.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/10/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 249  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Karst Farm is a mostly open 9 hole course with concrete tee pads, good tee signs and a good variety of hole distance ranging from 200 feet to 360 feet. There are some modest elevation changes that come into play on many holes. They're not big enough to be a major factor, but the rolling hills are enough to make you take them into account and add a little spice to the otherwise bland course.

This course used to be 18 holes but has been reduced to 9 holes. A few previous reviews mentioned that some holes were hard to find, didn't have signs or were mis-numbered as a result of this. I'm happy to report that I didn't have any problem finding the next hole, every hole has a tee signs and they are all appropriately labeled.
Cons: This is a great course for new players to get started so I feel bad criticizing it, but I feel an opportunity was missed here. So many of the holes have large, mature trees on either side of the fairway but they don't actually come into play so while there are trees around, most holes play as if it is wide open.

There are two baskets on almost every hole, I'm guessing as a result of the course being downgraded from 18 to 9 holes. I wouldn't consider this a con, but the baskets are like 15 feet away from each other on every hole! Which, IMO, is about the most useless way to used extra baskets. But maybe I'm completely missing something so please send me a PM if you know something I don't.

No shot variety.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course and is an excellent place to bring beginners to learn the game and some of the longer holes will continue to challenge players as they learn to gain distance and accuracy. More experienced players will not find a challenge here.

The tee signs made me laugh! The pictures of the baskets look like those square, old school clothes lines.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A shame it was reduced

1    7/17/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads, baskets were clean. Park was in great condition with plenty of parking and restrooms and fountains available. The course itself was in general simple to follow, signs were easily spotted and marked very well. Grass was cut well and the holes were good for a 9-hole course.
Cons: it was only 9 holes. shots were redundant and fairly wide open. there was not much use of elevation or obstacles. the holes were short which was a let down. Hole 7 was just randomly placed by the parks department from what I understood and it is really lacking. There was also a listed Par 2 which was a long putt or soft drive.
Other Thoughts: with the addition of alternate tees by the saturday morning league players it was interesting and there is an opportunity that they could put them in permanently if they pushed for it in my mind. location was great and it really is nice park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/4/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: dickyp1113
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice distance on several of the holes. Decently maintained tees make for a nice course to pratice on. Several of the holes on this course have some beautiful old trees that make for a nice scenic game. Nice changes in elevation that makes a mostly open course a little more challenging.
Cons: The biggest con in this course is the poor signage. It used to be 18 and now its nine and the course really is hurt by that. Some holes have signs. Some dont. Hole 7 is completly unmarked and is a short and pointless hole. Too many open holes which makes it pretty boring to play often.
Other Thoughts: Overall, not the worst course but certainly not the best. The elevation changes are the highlight and its worth playing just for that feature. Hole 7 is unmarked and theres 2 baskets nearby. Youll want to throw at the basket at the top of the hill and to the right rather than the one at the bottom of the hill. Hole 8 and 9 are labled as hole 17 and 18. Overall if your in the Bloomington area its worth playing all 3 courses and making your own judgement on which courses are the best but i find that Sherwood is generally the same difficulty level but alot nicer. And Cresmont is alot more challeging and of a course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Where Did The Last Holes Go

1    5/11/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: tlgobble
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 5/16/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good beginning courses. Good to practice (especially straight-on drives and putts.) Nice concrete tees on most holes. Par ratings ridiculously easy.
Cons: I couldn't find hole 7 or 8 or 9...all the way until 17. So we played 1-6, 17, 18. Thus we only could play 8 holes. Also, I saw a few holes without tees and tees without pins. The area around the tee pads were poorly maintained and susceptible to flooding. Overall, the course just seemed poorly maintained.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long & Open

5+    5/22/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets and concrete tee pads in perfect shape. Good use of land (obstacles/trees and hills). There is only disc golf on this side of the park. Restrooms and water fountain very close to holes 1 & 9,
Cons: Only 9 holes. It is very open - makes things a little boring visually. Not very challenging - does not really require too many different or difficult shots regardless of your where your disc lands.
Other Thoughts: Good, fun course for a quick round - too bad it is so far from everything (aka campus, downtown, etc.) It's a small step up from Sherwood in Bloomington mostly because of it's length. Does not offer much of a challenge. Maybe try the alternate tees on Saturdays during league play...

It's a good course for beginners to learn to throw far and accurate. More advanced players looking for more of a challenge should check out Crestmont instead...

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Gallop Stretch

5+    5/4/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: KETBLC
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I love playing this course. Open tee shots make it good for trying out a new disc of trying to get the perfect shot. Most holes are on some kind of incline, pins are easy to find and well signed. Most players are courteous if they have big groups.
Cons: If it's windy prepare to watch your disc go haywire if you don't account for it you'll find yourself on the next hole. The course hasn't been mowed yet.
Other Thoughts: I wish it were longer!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice open course

5+    4/20/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great course for beginners and players looking for a fairly quick round. There is plenty of parking unless large events are going on, and lots of space to practice throws before/after a round.

There are rolling hills throughout the course, and many holes have some elevation changes. Much of the space is open and grassy, with scattered mature trees. These trees are well-used as obstacles on some holes, adding interest beyond simple open shots.

For a small course, Karst has good length, with a number of holes over 300'. A couple holes force shots other than simple RHBH hyzer shots, though a new player with only this shot will still find the course easy to play.

The tees are all nice concrete, and in good shape. The tee signs are easy to follow, and well marked with distance (though the pictures look nothing like actual disc golf baskets...). The park is nice, and well maintained for the most part, and the part of the park that the course is in usually remains free of other traffic.
Cons: The biggest con is the loss of the other half of the course to be used as a parking lot once a year. Other than this, the course is nice, but a little easy. Many of the holes are wide open, and easily reachable on a single drive by an experienced player.

Update: The city has decided that mowing will be very infrequent during the summer of 2009, so the grass might get pretty tall...
Other Thoughts: This course uses the space well, and has a few interesting holes. There are generous pars on the signs that are beginner friendly, though locals play all the holes as par 3.

League play happens every Saturday, with an alternate set of tees for each hole to make 18.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.