Atlantic Beach, FL 
Kathryn Abby Hanna Park Share
Uploaded By: Greg Boyer Hole #3
3 / 140ft.   3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Definately Gone

2-4    7/19/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: FlickMobster
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: In a great setting and a beach across the way.
Cons: Definitely gone down hill! They park refuse to tend to it because it is not there for them to manage.

The people that installed it do not keep up with it any more and it is growing brush all over, so good luck. Hardly ever see anyone out there playing and that could have a lot to do with why.
Other Thoughts: Would be nice if it were cleaned up, Shorter than average holes, definitely ace worthy on a lot of them.

Good Luck!

Bordline Playable

1    9/14/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Cons: So this is supposed to be a tight, technical course. It may have once been. It is not now. It is tight, in the sense that the fairways are wide enough for people to walk down them single file, but its not technical. The "obstacles" or "rough" can be thrown over. Nothing inhibits your throws. The only thing that matters is where you land. And besides that foot-and-a-half wide fairway, the only places to land are thick, dangerous rough and rusty baskets. Again, if you do land in the rough, and manage to find your disc before being attacked by the various things that lurk there, (signs warn of gators and feral cats) your shot is not impacted at all by your previous poor shot.

I guess they meant it to be a course where the landing spot is more important than the path of the disc, but what once may have been landing spots are overgrown. That type of course also is dependent on knowing where to throw, and here, every throw is blind.

It's just not a course worth going too. It's nice that there is a course essentially at the beach, but there are two real courses within fifteen miles. I'm guessing, based on the pictures, that this course has grown to its present state, and that it might have been a much better course at one point. Maybe it could be again, but time would be better spent starting from scratch somewhere else.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tight, shortish and fun

1    1/12/2013   2/5/2013
Review By: Rossome
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tucked away in a wooded section of a natural park in north Florida. Being right on the coast, there is constant wind, but this course through the woods offers protection for a challenging round of shaped shots. Reminds me of some of the wooded courses in the Northwest, but instead of ferns you have palmettos covering the ground. Fairly well marked out and intuitive to follow. Adequate tee pads, and signage. Blue tees play longer and add to the challenge.
Cons: Keep and eye on your discs as they can be hard to find once you hit trees. Having a spotter on several holes can really help. A little tricky to find the first hole, but ok once you get going. Several blind shots (pro and con) with dense undergrowth.
Other Thoughts: If you have time for one or two courses in the Jacksonville area I would recommend either Ronnie Van Zant or Ed Austin park over this one. However, it can get windy and this course was well protected. I was fun playing a wooded course in Florida with its variety of flora compared to the pacific northwest.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 THE SPIDERS!!!!

1    8/10/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: Jim West
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Secluded 9 hole course with some technically challenging holes, some blind tee offs and with a decent amount of challenges from the surrounding forest.
Cons: The holes were hard to find sometimes #2 is on a Handicapped parking space. The #8 pad I NEVER found and quit after 20 minutes. There are banana spiders up above and be careful of the snakes laying under the saw tooth pimento leaves on the ground. If you throw your disc off course be prepared to fight the Spears, Spiders, Thorns and Snakes! The lay out can be down right confusing at times and I had to go to see the basket and to check the number to make sure what I was throwing at. The signs at each tee off pad were confusing in that they state there are multiple NONEXISTENT secondary baskets to throw at. There were downed trees and signs of very little maintenance on the course.If there was an association looking after this it would get more care I think.
Other Thoughts: After paying 3 Dollars to play I felt ripped off. The course has Uber potential to be even a 9 hole course that would be great to play while on vacation or even as a break from the norm course in Florida. This course was my FIRST stop in Florida and was massively disappointing. Go to Ed Austin Park if you are near by its only a little further away and is a delight.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/29/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great park right next to the beach with abut everything you could ask for. The course is fairly short but plenty of technical challenge. The space given to this course is relatively small but well thought out and designed. There are only nine baskets but double tees on each hole. Both the
"A" and the "B" tees have signs, this was a nice touch. The change was enough to keep my
interest for all 18 holes. There are also multiple pin positions for each hole. You definitely know you are in Florida with the palm trees and other tropical foliage. There are definite lines on each hole most are pretty tight and will require accuracy if not much power. The tees were 2 X 2 cement blocks but played well. The baskets were in good shape. Very fun course.
Cons: There were quite a few spiders and webs to dodge, however if you stay alert they were not a problem. A few next tee signs would have been helpful since I didn't have a map.
Other Thoughts: What other place can you get in a round of disc golf and walk on the beach and camp all at the same place? There is a newly fallen tree across hole 6 fairway. Adds challenge but I thought it added interest too. I thought the "handicap"
entrance at hole 2 tee box was humorous. Don't know how a truly handicapped person could navigate the rest of the course. I will return to play again next time I am in Jacksonville.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Fun course in the woods

1    5/8/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: specialk
Played: 37  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Mostly short course. Its a good thing considering how wooded it is. The two different tee positions change some of the holes drastically. Plenty of shade. Definitly a few holes you could ace.
Cons: The spiders. They are everywhere. No real way of knowing what position the goal is in. I had to walk down to check it out. No water holes.
Other Thoughts: The course is in a park with beach access, lakes, play grounds, picnics and camping.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Better now, but beware...

5+    2/21/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: Thizzle J
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Makes you work on the more technical side of your game rather than power, Shade from the hot Florida sun, Usually if you are playing there you are the only one/group.
Cons: Short, If there happens to be people outh there at the same time it can get a little bit jammed up and potentially dangerous, No trash cans on the coourse so there is some litter that you can tell has been there for a while.
Other Thoughts: This is a kind of lost course here in Jacksonville... It needs quite a bit of grooming and TLC to make it a really good or even great course, but unfortunately it sits on the backburner. On another note it was nice that there weren't any spiders in the "winter" because I would stay away in the summer when they come out because they are everywhere... Can't walk through that course in the summer without getting a face full of webs on every other hole....

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tropical fun

2-4    1/21/2011   1/28/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 sets of tees making a round of 18.
Small but workable concrete tees made with large tiles, but since the course is short you don't need a run-up anyways.
Not a lot of ground schule so finding discs was relatively easy even with the thick bushes and plants.
Good signs and 2 pin positions, most were set for the lefty (right dogleg) shot.
Cons: Not that it was an issue (we were the only ones playing) but if you had folks on the course playing the "back 9" and "front 9" at once then you could have some conflict.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, short course with a very tropical flair. There were a couple of blind shots that a spotter could be useful (mainly 3/12). We played this course before leaving for the disc golf cruise so we both only had 3 discs in the bag and it was more than enough to have a couple mids and a putter.

The fairways are nice and tight and it was basically like playing a north GA pine course but with palm trees and plamettos as the main vegetation which made the experience unique for us.

Again, the course is not hard, but it is fun, the course has multiple tees and pin positions and is in great shape right now (now tree issues or any other issues for that matter).

I felt the 3 bucks for the park was well worth it and enjoyed the course and the facilites in general.

We both loved the Do not feed the cats, alligators, raccoons and possums signs.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Putter Course

1    9/22/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: mrpbody33
Played: 60  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It has Discatcher baskets and teepads. Multiple teepads and basket positions. The park is beautiful around the lake.
Cons: There is almost no variety in shots and most of the holes are around the 200' mark. Not technically challenging even with the multiple baskets/teepads.
Other Thoughts: So I went to this park with low expectations. I knew I was going to a "technically demanding" course and so I brought my entire bag of tricks with me to the park. Now despite the fact that no one can seem to agree on whether it is Hanna or Hannah park on the signage it was probably one of the worse courses I have played yet. There were trees down across the fairways making it difficult to play or even walk the holes. One giant tree fell across hole 6/15 that make it almost impossible to play. Now if I was on county land I would be a little forgiving but I just paid money to get in. There shouldn't be a tree down in the middle of the course!

Now I have played a few of what I like to call "Roc and Putter" courses. This is not one of them...it is a putter only. You can practically have a putt within the circle on ever basket by just throwing a putter straight up the middle 180 feet. There are few you have to finesse but otherwise extremely easy.

The rest of the park is nice. Disc golf was a complete afterthought and there is so much more land that could have used but sadly wasn't. What this course needs is a dedicated group of golfers to keep it up and maybe it would be fun. Unless you are in the park for another function I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/10/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: AJ_86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A technically demanding course, this nine hole is a change of pace from the area's two other courses (Ed Austin and Ronnie Van Zant).

Narrow fairways of moderate length require straight throws and the trees are low enough that most holes require shots no higher than six feet off the ground. The first/tenth hole is an exception to this, as you are shooting down an incline.

Two concrete tee boxes are of good size and are numbered 1 through 18, with the forward tees being the front nine and the rear tees being the back nine. Most of the time this is just an increase in distance, but occasionally, the back tees take a different route onto the fairway, altering how you make your tee shot.

Elevation changes. A rarity in Florida, this course does have a few and they are a welcome change from the normal flat courses of the state.

I would say that every hole is a birdie opportunity, from both tees and there are some that are possible aces from the front tees.
Cons: Brush. Heavy amounts of it surround the fairways... so much so that using a green, yellow or mottled brown disk is asking for trouble. Even if you do find it, you will have to contend with many sapling stumps cut off at a couple inches high, leading to some painful steps.

The brush causes another problem, as well. With so much of it, there is little to no breeze except on most of the course and heat tends to be trapped by the trees. This leads to the course becoming a slow cook oven in the Summer... so plan on throwing early in the day in the middle of the year.

The fairways are tunnels at times and I feel a little judicious trimming on some could open it up a bit.

There are a lot of insects and more than a few snakes about, but a little bug spray handles the insects and I've never seen anything worse than a black snake or a common boa on the course. I'd say the spiders are more of a threat than the snakes, by a long shot.
Other Thoughts: The course is challenging for multiple skill levels and can seem unfriendly to new players, but this is not the case.

I took a friend for his very first round of disc golf here and he scored a bogey on every hole, except two. He did suffer a double bogey, but made up for it the very next hole with a birdie. While Ed Austin Park might be a friendly course, new players shouldn't shy away from this course.

There is a fee to get into the park, but I have never seen that as an issue, so long as the course is good enough. And three dollars (even less on weekend mornings, I believe) is well spent on a round here, so I don't consider it a Con.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.