Deerfield, IL
Keller Park Share
Uploaded By: heywillard90 Hole #9 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 415ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Pretty Bad

1    3/17/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Keller Park plays in a small suburban multi-use park. #1 plays along a yard before doglegging briefly to the right. #2 plays back, a small stream with fairly steep banks to the far right. The course then crosses a rusty bridge (at least one hole seems to have been removed from this area) where the remaining holes play along the stream, along a couple of rows of large trees, and then kinda peters out near a school building where the last two holes also appear to be deleted.
- A couple of risky shots for beginners or amateur players on #'s 4 and 5, as the tree line to the left has been completely cleared of vegetation. This exposes the stream and the bank, greatly increasing the risk of getting wet.
- Decent concrete pads.
Cons: - Missing hole #'s 3, 8 and 9. Apparently #'s 8 and 9 were located on a small hill that no longer exists.
- Ugly as sin with the surrounding suburbia, other park activities (#4 plays scarily close to a ball diamond's bleachers), the cleared foliage, and the city stream.
- Except for the sign announcing this as a disc golf course, there is no signage. Nothing to tell you to cross the river, no tee signs, nothing.
- Basket #'s 5 and 6 were broken.
- Next to a water treatment facility. Depending on the wind, be prepared for a foul odor.
Other Thoughts: - At one point, this course might have been fairly decent. It seems to have fallen into utter neglect. Definitely something to skip unless you have NO other options. This is hardly even a course at this point. With no signage, no real flow, and the missing holes, this rates with the "worst of the worst."
- It's not good when you finish playing and literally say, "Is that IT?! Fo' realz?!"
- This course would have frustrated me to no end but luckily I had a guide. Thanks Alan! I'd still be looking for #3.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Beginner course

5+    6/23/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: Chicagolandlefty
Played: 74  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the tee shots force you to do something a little bit different and there is some distance to be had here. It's a good beginner course to practice your drives on.

There are a few semi-interesting lines thanks to trees in the way on a few holes.

Concrete tees are nice for those that are picky about that.
Cons: Some of the baskets are in pretty bad shape. I think they have 3 new baskets on the course and the rest are older in varying levels of decay. A few of the baskets rest against the pole on an angle because they are loose. I will say that the chains play a bit 'softer' on the older ones so simply tightening the actual basket would probably be enough.

There's no real memorable holes on this course. It's not too much of a challenge for an intermediate or pro player. With the possible exception of the 9th hole (just because of distance), any decent player should be able to 3 every hole without too much trouble.

There isn't much signage on the course though you shouldn't need it in terms of figuring out where to go. There is a course map by the first tee, but most of the holes are pretty self explanatory. That said, it would be nice to have tee signs for distance markers and pars (though they're all pretty obvious 3s).
Other Thoughts: The course underwent a minor redesign in 2012. The former 'signature' hole (which was #3) is no longer there because of construction around the basket. You used to throw over a creek with trees on both sides of an opening, but that hole is no more unfortunately. Same goes for the former 9th hole which was in the same area (may have shared the basket with 3, but I don't remember for sure).
The replacement holes are now 2 and 3 and the old 2 is now the current 4th hole. There is a painted arrow on a sidewalk after the 4th hole to tell you to cross the (very stinky) bridge to reach the tee for 5.

The creek has been cleaned up. It used to have trees lined up all along it (as you can see in the pictures in the media section), but they're all gone. It's completely wide open with a steep downward slope to the water. This makes the two holes lined up along it quite interesting if only for the mental fear of winding up in the sewage creek. Ultimately, it's not that hard to avoid, but since the course is probably best used for beginners it's worth noting that a drive sprayed to the left can easily wind up wet. They're still messing with the creek so who knows what it will look like down the road. They've added rocks for damming and small fences on both sides, which will stop discs from rolling down into the water.

Overall, it's a decent beginner course, but that's about it. If you're intermediate or better you won't find much challenge here. It's a good place for a beginner to learn a few different drives, but it's not worth driving to from outside the north suburbs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Beginner Course

5+    10/10/2010   2/26/2011
Review By: Ukeubuuke
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good beginner course
-some longer holes to practice drivers
-well maintained park
-cement tees
-good course sign at hole #1
-flat terrain and short distances makes for a fast and easy round
-hole #3 plays across a small creek which makes for a fun challenge. Not too great a challenge.
-several holes are ace holes, therefore a fun try at getting your first ace.
-good mix of long and short holes, especially for a 9-hole course
Cons: -busy park with many other things going on besides disc golf such as baseball games. Only a problem because the course intersects with the ball diamonds.
-a couple of blind spots near paths and traffic,which cause a risk of hitting a pedestrian unknowingly
-a few holes have houses and yards lining the fairways. A bad throw can land you in a yard or even hitting a house.
-a little too flat, even for Illinois.
-no signs at the tees
-tees are on the smaller side
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to start learning disc golf. Some longer holes create a good tee-off challange and shorter holes leave you encouraged. There are no great challenges to speak of in this course. If you are an advanced player there are other courses in the area you should go to first.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

1    6/11/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good mix of hole length. There are a few over 400', and a few that are short ace runs. Not just the same power throw throughout.
- Great use of elevation on a few holes. #8 especially, which has a long, gently downsloping fairway to a pretty big hill with the basket on top. If you can't throw it around 400', you have to get it close to the hill, and then putt up it. The throw over the creek also has a slightly elevated tee box.
- A couple of the holes make good use of trees to provide some challenge. Mostly, this prevents a typical RHBH hyzer shot to get to the basket. RHFH comes in handy on these holes. Conversely, some holes by the creek use the forest to prevent a LHBH syle shot, yet is wide open for a RHBH.
- Navigation easy, especially with the map in front.
Cons: - These baskets were pretty darn old. Also covered with some sort of paint, I am assuming to muffle the chains. A couple of the baskets were a swift kick away from falling to the ground.
- Teeboxes were nice concrete, but were very small. Probably 6' x 2' or so. Definitely needed a runup on the grass for full power. Also, all of the plaques were missing on each hole (were originally set in the concrete). Make sure to check the map the first time around.
- A lot of non-DG activities in this park. There is a playground on the front side, and multiple kiddie baseball fields on the back side. On a bad day, this place must be packed with little kids running around.
- Water treatment facility is quite smelly once you cross the creek. Makes me wonder what that hill is made out of...
- Holes 3 and 9 share a basket. I didn't have a problem taking turns with the people also throwing to it, but it was still a pain. Not to mention both holes are extremely short, which makes it feel like you are sharing a practice basket.
- Ground was fairly wet around the #3/#9 basket, I can't imagine how it would be after a real rain. A mud pit that you have to throw into twice, probably.
Other Thoughts: - This course was pretty unique compared to others in the area. #8 is very enjoyable; you have enough room to rip a drive, and then have to contend with a pretty big hill. The short throw over the creek on #3 is kind of gimmicky, but still fun. The short, open holes are very easy, but a slope to the creek will absolutley punish you if you go too far left.
- The pros and the cons are pretty extreme at this course, I feel. The rare elevation changes are a major pro, but the bad smell is a major con. The holes with denser trees are a nice change of pace, but the wide open, short holes are way too easy. Still, I feel the cons have it, and will probably make this a once-a-year type of course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing Special

5+    5/28/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 91  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Some interesting holes (#3, #6, #7)
- Creative use of terrain playing around and over the creek
- Nice distance variety allowed for some open drives
- Concrete tee pads
- Not a lot of traffic
- Nice sign with accurate distances before hole one.
- Good flow, easy navigation.
- Challenging par if you do not have a big arm, some 400+ ft holes.
Cons: - Few holes are redundant. (#4, #5)
- Concrete tee pads are too small and are starting to show some wear.
- No tee signs, only the one before the 1st hole.
- Baskets are in terrible condition. most have only one set of chains, and the actual basket wobbles on the posts. Some are rusted over or painted brown?
- Some holes play dangerously close to houses that back up the park. Don't shank one!
- If you throw it in the creek it can be annoying to retrieve due to the steep banks.
- A nearby water treatment plant sometimes leaves a funky smell.
- Hole 3 and 9 play to the same basket. Could cause problems if the course was crowded.
Other Thoughts: Keller Park has a decent layout and some interesting holes, but it lacks the general amenities one comes to expect from a solid disc golf course. No tee signs and rickety baskets to name a couple. Overall it gives me the impression of an incomplete course, that is now neglected. Though others have mentioned it, I have never seen a lot of traffic here. I imagine it makes the course even less enjoyable if it were crowded. Though the smell from the water treatment plant likely can't get fixed it does play into the overall rating. Even if there was a total revamp of disc golf course equipment such as new tee signs and new baskets, the layout of the course only lends itself a 3/5 max. It is worth a play if you are in the area, but don't make a trip for it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Keller

2-4    9/28/2009   2/7/2010
Review By: steven2361
Played: 155  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tucked into a nice neighborhood in a park. Really nice sign by the first tee. Good signage throught the course. This course has decent variety. 2 400+ holes, 1 in the 100s and 1 in the 300s. The rest are in the 200s :P. All the holes are fun except for 4 and 5 (see cons). Hole 8, even though it is wide open has a sweet elevated green that is very punishing to errant putts. I played here in heavy winds once and it was brutally punishing. Some elevation, a tunnel shot, and trees add much to this course. Hole 1 requires a monster turnover shot to get a bird, most shorter throwing players will not like this hole tho as for them it is probably a 3 every time. Hole 3 is a short one over a creek through a small openning. You really need to know where the basket is to card this seemingly easy birdie. I really like hole 5, a wall of trees block the direct route to the basket. How should you attack this hole? Flick Hyzer Bomb, roller, it's a tough birdie to get. 6 requires a good left to right shot. 9 is a short downhill shot, don't overthrow it!
Cons: Some holes are right next to a school. Errant shots WILL go into backyards. I know this from expirience lol. Literly, like on hole 6, houses are 10 feet off the fairway to the left. Hole 5, it's almost like the basket is in someone's yard. Some houses don't even have fences and their backyards basically seem like part of the course. Short and right on the first >400 bomber and you will be jumpin fences to get your discs back. Throwing over roads sometimes, (9). The baskets are homemade and were not too much to my liking. They were very rusty chain wise and single chained. Very stiff chains did let soft putts in sometimes.

Holes 4 and 5 are stupid filler holes. They are 2 right in a row, short, wide open, straight shots. Boring...

Too many 200 feet range holes.

Tee pads be short...
Other Thoughts: Fun 9 holer if you're in Deerfield, IL. Definately not a destination though, head north or south for better 18 holers.

The land is park district land even though it is directly next to the school. You can still play during school hours but watch out for kids.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 a bit of real length

1    11/18/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 685  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 25.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mashnut and Harr have given you a novelette;and lots of good information.... I'll add my two cents.
Recently installed grippy cement tees.
Nice map at beginning of course.
Some length on a few holes. Two 400 ft. and one, over 350 ft. Rare for nines in this area.
Still not a long course, but a few testers.
This is another course in this area, where playing walking sidewalk as o.b. would add another layer of toughness to course.
#8, nice elevated green, after a long drive.
Cons: Tees are very small: 2.5' X 6'
No tee signs. Look at the map before you start.
A number of single chain, homemade baskets with very deep buckets. Catch fairly well....but, are single chained.
A couple of holes with private yards definitely in play. My playing partner had to go through one yard, and around a fence into another to retrieve one disc. I am actually somewhat surprised this has not been trouble.
Green for #1 is actually between two residences.
Other Thoughts: We felt that this was a solid two; equal to Diamond Lake Slough. The Slough was more picturesque, Keller had some tougher shots....and the private residences made things somewhat scary/exciting. I am thinking the neighbors must be "on board" with the course; but, obviously be courteous when dealing with them.
We invented our own hole for #9; which finished across the creek to basket for #4. No one was in the park when we were there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Aveage course with some challenge

1    8/16/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 683  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice new concrete teepads. They are nice because they are not slick, you can get good grip on your plant foot. The teepads even have a red square in one corner of the pad. I assume this means it is a red teepad . . . perhaps leaving room to add some longer tees? Not sure if there is even that much more room for longer tees. They are also a perfect width and length.

2) Nice main sign by the first tee. It has a nice layout of the course and distances listed (if I remember correctly).

3) Distance varies on a few holes which is positive. It forces you to throw some different shots. It also makes you use different discs. There is a hole under 200' and two over 400' with a good range of distances on the other 6 holes too.

4) Course uses some nice features to its advantage. There is a river that you have to throw over on #3. It is close to the tee but there is a gap you need to keep it in. I instead griplocked over to the tree on the right side and nearly went into the river. Man did it smell I am glad it didn't go in (ask me later about hole #4!).

5) #4 and #5 have that same river on your left that you had to throw over on #3. It seems like you are protected from the river by the dense trees but immediately inside the line of the trees is a severe slope going right down to the river. It is clearly a main drainageway during heavy rains. Well I was warned to throw it out to the right to avoid the water and I chunked it right into the woods and it ran down into the river. It was floating upside down and although I slipped in John was able to get the disc wih a branch as it floated down. THANKS JOHN.

6) #8 has a nice large mound that will come into play. The basket is about 8' up in he air on this mound. Although the mound is large you can still get rollaways especially on windy days where your putter isn;t coming in at the same angle as it normally would on a flat throw. (ASK Doktor John about the rollaways and the wind) Course also uses a nice row of large trees on the 6th hole to force a tight shot between the trees and private property on the left. I decided to try and go outside the row of trees and I chunked it right into the first tree!!! Doktor John launched his disc into the White Pine inside of a fenced in private property. He even went to the door to ring the bell and ask if he could go up the tree to get his disc . . . noone home and I am sure if they were they would have said no because they seemed like that type of people! Anyways he climbed the tree and got the disc.

7) #9 throws from the top of the mound on #8 basket down to the #3 basket. It has a backstop if you go past with the big mound that blocked you on #3 from seeing the basket.

8) Beginner friendly for the most part. Wide open enough to allow some errant shots but #3 and #6 may be tough on the beginner because of the river and the row of massive trees (cottonwoods or poplars if I remember right) on the right and the Private residences on the left.
Cons: 1) No tee signs which would be really nice to have on this course, especially for beginners and new players.

2) Baskets leave a little to be desired. They are old and some have only one ring of chains. Some of them have had a new top and basket put onto the post which is nice. The older ones have the chains painted brown . . . which truthfully I feel like it helps the chains catch better, so they don;t look like they are n good shape because the paint is chipping off. Some of the baskets are taller than others and we weren;t positive but it did seem like a few of them may have been higher up the chains making them inconsistant. This should be corrected if there truly is a difference. It changes how you throw at each basket and we all know routine and consitancy are important with putting.

3) #3 basket is not visible from the tee being difficult for a new player.

4) #8 basket and #9 tee are way too close together. The mound could be used for both but another 50' of seperation would be better.

5) Path winds through #3 and #9 and you need to have some etiquette for passerbys. We had to wait for about 8 family bikers that took a minute or two so we could throw on #9. Not seeing the basket and the path on its left on #3 is also a shot that could hit passerbys without even being able to see the danger. The soccer field is also slightly in the way on #8 drive. Noone was there when we played so we could take a straight line at the basket but other day you might have to throw a 45 degree dogleg around the field.
Other Thoughts: This was an allright course and was the 6th course on my 9 course day. It had some length that some of the other courses lacked. It had a slight elevation change by using the mounding on #8 basket and #9 tee. It has river that can come into play on 3 holes. It also has some nice placement of trees to force certain shots. There is a big willow on the right of #1 and a long 200' hedgerow with the basket tucked around to the right of the hedge. I enjoyed this course even though i didn't particularly play that well. Basket placement is pretty good and the concrete teepads are a plus.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for begginers and pros

1    8/5/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: Seananagins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is a nice curve on hole one. The third hole goes over a creek and you can't see the hole from the tee so it's pretty tricky. 4 and 5 run along the creek, so be careful to keep it to the right. Nice placement of trees on a few holes makes fo a little challenge
Cons: Fairly short course. Nothing exceeding a par three makes for a quick round of 9. The creek can eat you disk if you hook it wrong on 4 or 5 so try to stay to the right more.
Other Thoughts: Fun little course to keep my game intact. Don't go out of your way for it tho.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice Grass!

1    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazingly well maintained grass. Might just have been my timing to visit, but grass was short and smooth. Great for rollers and skippers. Nice tee pads, but might be a bit small for shooters who like a bit more run up.. not that you need it here 'cept for on 8. Dog leg on 1 is fun. 3 had me worried as it is a shot over the creek and screamed "lost disc", but I made it. Amazing the mind game water plays. 4, 5, 6, 7 skirt the park and are easy to navigate. An unexpected hyzer can put you in the creek on 4. Garbage can placement on 7 in front of basket is not great (has since been moved). Needs to be relocated. 8 is a slightly different uphill longer shot and the wind around the school building can be fierce. Shared basket 3 and 9 can make for a wait for the others t finish. Tee off on 9 from on top of the hill is nice change. I keep finding different ways to play 6... Nice options. As of 5.25.12... Tee pads have been poured on NEW 2 and 3. Landscaping along new 5 and 6 changes things up a bit. New 5 is now a tight fall away on the left into the creek. RHBR tossers will be in trouble with the water willies. Many a disc will land in the drink on this one.
Cons: Move from basket #1 to tee #2 was not clear. (head dead east). A few baskets are a bit damaged 2, 4. Update 3.22.12 NEW 2 and 3 are added between old 1 and 2. old 3 is gone. Old 9 is gone. 4 is now 5, 5 is now 6, 6 is now 7, 7 is now 8. 8 is now 9. I am not crazy about the choice of tee pad location for new 2. I would have gone 40 feet east to make a harder hyzer out of this one... but it is still a bit blind and a fun hole. Pad for NEW 3 is O.K. I might have moved it back a bit to place the trees deeper into the fairway... But the trees will make this one a shot shaper with a few different playing options.
Other Thoughts: Shared basket for 3 and 9 requires good etiquette when others are playing. Info board at tee off for #1 is nice, gives distances, but not pars... have to make up your own. The more I play this course, the more I like it... if for no other reason than it is always deserted... and it plays a bit longer than my fave course by my house... and the more I play my arm is getting bigger and bigger holes are getting smaller. Other park improvements, path between 1 and 4 had been moved. 4 now shoots over path. new trees have been added to 4 as well... This will make 4 a better hole in that as trees grow in you will have to make different tee shot and approach choices. New changes as of 5.25.12 are overall improvements here. it is a better place to play than it was 1 year ago. Cannot say anything bad about that.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.