McCook, NE
Kelley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 400ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun, but challenging

1    11/9/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained park with mowed-grass fairways and nice amenities in the park, including jogging/bike paths, a swimming pool, and a nice playground. Surprising amount of elevation change for a course in Nebraska. Nice concrete tees. A lot of variety in hole shape - up, down, left, right, open, and tight. The trees add a lot of challenge to this course. Several holes have low ceilings, which force you to keep the disc low, while other holes are more open, giving more flexibility with how to throw the tee shot. The 14th was a challenging short hole that has either a tight tunnel shot, or a big swinging shot for a chance at birdie. Both would be tough, but it was a fun hole to try for birdie. There were a couple of fun, fairly open, downhill teeshots. Also, a couple holes play near or over a small creek.
Cons: Navigation was a bit challenging. Signage wasn't great, but adequate. A couple holes play a little too close to roads. The first hole has a big side slope that leads to a neighborhood road. If your disc starts rolling when it hits the ground, it can go into the street or into people's yards on the other side of the street (I know this from experience).
Other Thoughts: This wasn't a planned stop, so normally, I'd check the course map better beforehand, but navigation was a bit tricky. You have to cross streets a few times to get to the next hole. I parked near a practice basket near the 7th hole. I didn't know where the 1st hole was, so I started on the 3rd. The first hole is at the top of the hill, near the swimming pool. I'd suggest printing the map and carrying it with you if you haven't played here before. Be careful with the trees here. My disc got caught in the trees twice, which has only happened very rarely prior to my round here, so there must be something about the trees here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The best course I played in Nebraska

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scorecards and course map at kiosk that doubled as a giant map.
Concrete tee pads, elevation, sections of good flow and navigation, and some signature holes.
So many good holes; Hole one starts off with a risky slanting hill by the basket. A putt that hits the basket could roll OB. Hole 2 was a big downhill with a creek behind the basket. 3 was a fun 375 foot uphill shot. 4 was a 400 foot downhill into the center of a small valley. 5 was a small uphill with the basket peeking out from behind a hill. This is another hole where a disc that hits the basket can roll away adding a stroke. Hole 13 was a big dog leg right 525 where you had to hit a gap 300 feet away. Hole 14 was a right to left downhill wooded slope. 15 looked like professional golf greens. It would have been a perfect hole if you could play across the creek.
Par is attainable for an intermediate player, but it is not given away as easy as many of the other Nebraska courses.
I played a dozen Nebraska courses and this was by far my favorite. It tested skill while maintaing the maximum fun factor. I remember walking by hole 14 earlier in the course and could not wait to play it. The course is broken up into little sections and there is some issues navigating from section to section, but it appears this land was used in some of the best ways possible. It is a great design for the land available and it is evident work is still being done to improve this course.
Cons: Same 6x6 signs as Cottonmill. 2 pin positions with no idea which location they are in on blind holes.
Some small navigation and flow issues. I needed the map to find holes 6, 8, 11, 15. Some took a while to find even with the map. Hole 6 seemed like a filler hole. Flow did not fit. From 5's basket you are closer to 7's tee.

Hole 8 was a bit of a safety issue, playing parallel with road.

While this course had some challenge, I would like to see a little more challenge for more advanced players.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play. I tried to play everything from North Platte to Kearney then south to McCook and this course was the best.


2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Kelly Park is a must

5+    5/28/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: discnebraska
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
Pros: One of the best laid out course in the area, you will not be disapointed. It is both beginner and pro friendly, you will need every shot you have to pull off a good score and for those used to playing flat courses you better get those calf muscels in shape there are several hills lots of trees and several new trees which will make some holes much more challenging in the future. Do not miss this one.
Cons: They have alt pins but they haven't moved them in a long time. Can be a mosquito magnent at times, bug spray a must durring the summer.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course many times and it never gets old, wind is a big factor on most days so having a wind game is a must. Overall beautiful course well kept and a great time.

 Just Plain Fun

2-4    5/7/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed course in a well maintained park. The parks and Rece dpartment like having this course and do what they can to make sure the park is in greak condition. The Tru Line Customs guys and rest of the local crowd do a great job of keeping this course looking amazing. The tee pads are all concrete and very consistant from hole to hole. The design has a great mix of long and short holes. The design also makes really good use of the natural terrain. There are also some nice amenities in this park including a pretty spectacular looking playground and a very nice pavillion right in the middle of the course.
Cons: The tee signs are very basic and may not give you the best idea of what the hole is actually like. There are a couple of places where finding the next hole may be difficult without having a map. The trick is getting from 7 to 8 and then 10 to 11. The bathrooms in the park are run down and one doesn't even have a door on it, just in case you want to let someone watch you pee.
Other Thoughts: I had an absolute blast playing this course and everyone I have talked to that has played this course wishes they lived closer to the course. It honestly felt at times like I was playing on some private ball golf course with how well this course was maintained. I have to give props to the guys at Tru Line Customs again because they run quality tournaments and this is their home course. They run at least three tournaments here a year and you will not be disappointed when you play one of these events.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 McCook is McAwesome

1    5/7/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course offers players a great park setting. You will throw a good mix of up and down hill shots. The parks and rec group does a great job of upkeep.
Cons: What you see is what you get. The alt pin placments do not offer much of a diffrence of play. Overall the course plays more on the short side.
Other Thoughts: Make the trip to McCook.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1    3/23/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: _dm4
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I just want to say, if you are from this area, or just passing by, this course is a must play!!!!!
Cons: Alt. pins are a little close together, but original pins are very good! I am sure the sleeves could be moved in the future.
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Rolling Hills

1    10/2/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 186  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides the perfect balance of fun and skill. The rolling hills on this course make for plenty of creative and enjoyable upshots and bombs. The fairways are logical and are nearly perfect in width and length. The next tee box is always near the last basket. There is just about every different type of shot to be found here, and many of the fairways are non-repetitive. They have good tee boxes and posts and a good kiosk.

The stairway from 16 to 17 is a great touch! After walking across that stairway it becomes quickly apparent how much effort they put into this course and it shows, reflected in the design and the shot variety need throughout. Some of my favorite holes here are number 14 that provides a narrow alley and has an awesome pin placement next to a murky pond. Number 15 is also great, in that you have to put out a well placed drive to a tree opening and then you are shooting uphill to the basket, very creative. Number 13 and 4 provide you a chance to let out epic downhill bombs. Long story short, the variety here is top notch!

This course has to be one of the best, most honest, courses in Nebraska.
Cons: The course ends in the middle of the park somewhat. There is some confusion when looking for the next tee boxes when at Numbers 7, 10 and 13 where you must cross the street. Nothing a few little signs couldn't fix. Be prepared to climb up and down hills a bunch. I got tired and could use a bench or two thrown in.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with fellow reviewer Donovan. We decided that this course was better than we anticipated. Together we forged a strange dccoursereview phenomenon in which two critical reviewers came to a consensus on a course at the same time. While playing, my initial reaction was to give the courses a 3.5 but, like Donovan, I have decided that a four suits the course well. Since playing Kelley Park, I have been trying to come up with excuses to return!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great Highs & Lows - elevation that is

2-4    10/2/2008   10/3/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 207  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This has some real fun elevation changes. There was a little water coming into play, besides the old fashioned sprinklers they use. This had one of the best message boards I have seen so far. It had the hole signs for each hole on it and the entire course map like a Google satellite image. The holes signs were on posts and were just fine. The cement tees were great. It has a bathroom available on #4 tee and #18 green. There are no real safety issues, except falling and rolling down one of the hills. LOL The fun factor was pretty high. I liked all the uphill throws and cliff like tee shots. Teeing off way up high #13 and watching it glide out of sight as it goes down the hill is a real blast.
Cons: It is quite a walk back to #1 when you are done. You will need the map to find your way around. You have to cross a road in three times (after #7, #10, #13). #16 will get muddy as it seems to be a good place for some water drainage.
Other Thoughts: There are lots of trees on this course but not forest like. I was getting tired after 2 rounds of these hills. My putting and scores were showing this too. LOL They built a beautiful stairway to get you down from 16 green to 17 tee. I had lots of fun and wouldn't mind having this course near me as a regular.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.