Douglasville, GA 
Deer Lick Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #7
3 / 402ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Decent course

1    11/21/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: Gilpinfreak
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great signage, good "next tee" markings, wide range of shot types, open and wooded holes.
Cons: Some tee shots are quite difficult even for experienced players, no real clear fairways
Other Thoughts: Previous reviews mentioned poor signage. There are currently great signs on each tee. Pro / Con ( you decide) mixed tees. I am ok that there are different types of tees. Great park overall for multiple sports.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice! Well worth the drive.

1    11/26/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: Chrisgeoguy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - The course makes great use of area within park. The holes are laid out well and the course is pretty easy to navigate.
Shot selection - I will have to say that this is one of the few courses that is very well balanced for both right and left handed players. I also liked the mix of wooded and open holes.
Park - Seems like a great park. Lots to do and well maintained.
Cons: My only real issue would be the two finishing holes 17 and 18. They seem kind of cramped compared to the other holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought that this was a great course. Hole 3 was a nice challenge with the water to the left but not a huge issue to worry too much about losing a disc. My favorite hole had to be 4, can't throw to high and the basket is guarded by the stream. The wooded fairways on this course are nice and the brush has been cleared. Overall I didn't have high expectations for this course but it far exceeded them and made the trip worth it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Deer Lick does the job

1    10/25/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Deer Lick Park is a nice recreational park that hosts a very good disc golf course as well as a miniature golf course, batting cages, ball fields, walking trails, a community garden, a pond and more. The disc golf course is fun and challenging, with holes featuring a good mixture of wooded and open fairways that are varying lengths, and nice elevation changes and a couple of water hazards. Constant changes give new looks from one part of the course to the next. The tee pads are mostly natural, but in good condition. They all have signs showing the distance. All baskets were in place and in fair condition.
Cons: The layout of the course was sort of disjointed, so a map may come in handy. I missed the transition from 8 to 9, where you cross the mini golf course and tee off next to the batting cages. There are places where other park users near the disc golf course, so be cautious.
Other Thoughts: Deer Lick Park is a versatile and unique course that is certainly worth checking out. It may not be a total stunner, but it is a high quality course that I would be happy to play regularly. There are opportunities to shoot under par, but the OB and wooded fairways can add strokes quickly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    12/22/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: Journeyman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots needed for this course. I liked the progression of the course, 1 and 2 are short, 3 is long and deceptively hard, 4 is a beautiful downhill shot with an evil pin placement. The back nine is a nice mix of open and tight technical through woods. Some holes are "shoot and pray" as there is just a hint of a "fairway".

15 is a great open downhill . When I played there were mounds of lovely Georgia clay 1/2 way to the tee. Made for an interesting "Links style" shot from slippery mud.
Cons: Poor signage! I expect this will improve over time, probably in the spring (hopefully in the spring?)

After you finish the hole by the parking lot (I forgot whether it is 8 or 9) the next tee pad is up the hill behind the batting cages. VERY EASY TO MISS!

dirt tees marked by flags.

I rated this a 3.5 due to the layout of the course. Had I taken the signage into consideration I would drop it to a 3.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This Course Handed Me My Lunch!

1    7/12/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 677  Reviewed: 607  Exp: 36.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course can and will frustrate most players. A great drive can sometimes land OB. There are some awfully tight holes, especially on the back nine.

There were two holes which really stood out for me as "signature holes" on this course, # 4 and # 13. # 4 is only a 269' slight hyser throw across an open field to a basket set about 50 feet into the woods and guarded on three sides by a creek (almost dry in mid-July). The entrance to the woods is fairly tight in inself and then you have the creek to contend with. I luckily got through the opening landed about 8 feet from the basket - splashed down OB. And like the map says # 13 is a favorite of many of the locals and I can see why. It's a 296' slight hyser shot out over the field to a basket perched just up the hill at the edge of the field. Just a pretty DG hole.
Cons: Many dirt tee pads. The back nine did feel like an after thought, like they were't quite thought out as well as the front nine. Some were more luck than skill throws. Navigating this course would be very difficult without a map. On # 3, my 2nd up-shot would have been aimed directly at a couple swinging on a bench between me and the hole. Oh well, it probably saved my disc from rollong into the lake below. The tee sign distances were not very accurate at all. There were very few resting benches on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course wore me out both physically and mentally. I'd like to play it again for the challenging aspect and of course, to throw #'s 4 and 13 again.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    7/3/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: darktoaster
Played: 34  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes are extremely varied at this course and all give a different challenge. I like how there are both long and short holes on the course. Other courses often feel too similar from one hole to the next because they are all about the same length.

The three standout holes for me are 3,4, and 16.

Hole 3 is a long shot along a hillside that slopes down to the lake on the left side of the fairway. It really makes you be careful with your shots. This is especially true once you reach the basket because you need to be careful about having a putt role all the way down the hill.

Hole 4 has to be the signature hole on this course. It is an extremely scenic shot off of a hillside from a nicely created natural tee box. The drive gives you two options. The first is to shoot it into a opening in the woods to a safe landing spot. The second more interesting line is to shoot over the winding creek that enters the woods straight onto the green which is surrounded by the creek on 3 sides.

Hole 16 is a nice shot from an elevated tee located at the edge of the woods out into a field. I like this hole because it really lets you open up for some long drives. Additionally you must get past a large log pile about 100 feet down the fairway and to the left of the tee. It shouldn't be a problem for anyone other than new players, but it always manages to get into my head.

I really enjoy the wooded holes on this course due to the fact that almost all of them have multiple routes that you can take. I wish more courses would employ this sort of risk reward shot in their design.

For newer players there are alternate tees on at least half of the holes but they are often difficult to find because they are just painted bricks in the ground.

I hadn't realized how much shade this course had until today which was a plus in the hot Georgia summer.

As for amenities there is a restroom right by 18's pin,a nice pavilion near 1's tee, and pro shop between 8 and 9 although it is often closed when I visit.
Cons: The cons of this course are mainly of the course accessories type and do not effect the actual game very much in my opinion unless you are new to the course.

The first issue is that the teepads are inconsistent some are concrete and some are dirt. Basically any hole with a concrete tee is an original hole from the previous 9 hole layout. All of the new tees are dirt.

The second issue is the tee signs. Almost none of back 9 have a tee sign of any kind and the holes on the front nine that do have tee signs often have wrong information due to pins being moved.

Navigation can be a major problem the first time through if you have not brought a map. This is extremely true of the back 9 due to hardly any next tee signs.

The one hole I don't like is 17. It just seems to be a little too much of a close your eyes and pray hole. Although I don't get out to this course as much as I would like to so maybe there is a good route on it that I just don't see.
Other Thoughts: I still can't get over how much nicer this course is since they completely re did it a couple of years ago. I appreciate all the hard work those guys put in to make this a great course to play.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/13/2009   4/21/2009
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Rating would have been better if the course had all concrete pads and signage.
-Great variety of holes. Wooded and open with tricky, tight shots.
-The most technically difficult course that I have yet to play in the Atlanta area.
-Baskets were in good condition and easy to locate once you found the tee box.
-My score was really horrible due to the challenging nature of the holes. I can't wait to play again.
-Favorite holes were: the 3rd (you really have to be cautious if you throw RHBH that you don't roll down the hill into the pond on the left). The 4th hole and the challenge of avoiding the winding creek (very scenic hole). The 7th hole goes way back on a dogleg right amongst many trees (Make sure you end up left (thicket of trees to get through on the right).
-I was the ony discgolfer out there. No waits, but, unfortunately, no locals to ask for advice.
-lots of foot traffic, but pedestrian paths do not cross the course.
Cons: -Signage was very poor. Without the map I printed from this site I would never have been able to navigate. Fortunately the map also had distances.
-No garbage cans and benches were rare.
-The tee pads were in poor shape. There were only a few concrete pads, a majority of the tees were dirt/ mud (they were flooded as it had rained that morning). It was challenging to have a good tee shot with no footing.
-All of the trees! Not really a con since it makes the course more challenging but I think I hit a minimum of 2 trees on every hole.
Other Thoughts: Similar to McCurry Park this course is not short and will zap your energy (especially after a rain in sloppy conditions). The course is very challenging and there are several shot options on each hole. I think it will be necessary to play this course several times in order to determine the best shot for you on each hole.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This course is fun

5+    9/9/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes from the original 9. This course has a dedicated group of locals who worked hard on making this course a full 18. The holes are fair, fun, challanging, and have a nice variety.
Cons: Not too many. Some people might not like the fact that there is not concrete on every teepad, but it's not a major factor IMO.

Tough to navigate if you not played there before
Other Thoughts: I beleive the park office has course maps available but this will be helpful as well:

Finding hole #9 after 8 will be kind of confusing for first time players (it's by the batting cages). After hole 16 you will need to go down the hill and to the left for holes 17-18.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Deer Lick Park

1    11/30/2008   11/30/2008
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2010
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a nice mix for sure. Not only are some holes fairly open but some are tight. Additionally you'll find some of the holes fairly easy to some quite challenging.

You'll be greeted by easy parking near hole one and eighteen with bathrooms between the two.

Holes one and two are tame and give you a chance to warm up with a couple of birdie opportunities. Three is a longer shot with the chance of rolling off the bank and down to the pond. Number four is a big challenge. It is down a slight hill and up on an "island" just past the creek. There is a big risk of getting wet but it's a great reward if you stay dry. It is one of the best holes on the course in my mind. The next few are basic fun holes. A couple more birdie and ace runs are sprinkled in as well. Halfway through you'll pass a putt-putt course with a nice air conditioned area that sells snacks, drinks, etc. It also has a bathroom if needed. Pass that area and it's into the woods for some pretty tough holes as far as trees are concerned. They're the type of holes where you can feel really good if you make it through but have to buckle down if you clip a tree. I love this kind of hole. You'll really appreciate a little luck and some tree love. Hole 16 is kind of nice because it brings you back out into the open and you can really let loose on this comparatively long hole. Don't get too comfortable though because 17 and 18 take you back in the woods. These last holes can also make or break your round.

There are a few holes with concrete tees on the front nine. Otherwise natural tees are the offering but they are in fairly good shape. Signs are also hit and miss. The ones that are present are old but OK although I wouldn't trust all of them as far as distance is concerned.

There is a pretty nice retaining wall defining the tee pad for hole four. You'll also find a few benches, bridges, and steps installed by the locals and they're a nice touch.
Cons: I think it could use some better signage. You may have to look around for a few holes, especially on the back nine. A quick print of the map should help on your first trip, beyond that you should be good to go.

A lot of people have the opinion that the wooded holes need to be refined. Mainly trimming a few trees and taking out a late tree or two. This mainly effects holes 10,11,14,15, and to a lesser extent 17 and 18.

The older single chain Innova baskets will inevitably be blamed for a couple extra strokes per round.
Other Thoughts: There is a nice pond with wildlife, a mini golf course, walking trails, and a skate ramp at this park. I think it is well worth the drive and because of the other activities it is easy to convince an otherwise reluctant spouse and kids to come along, if you know what I mean...

To sum it up, this is a very fun, challenging, and unique course. It's actually one of my favorites. It really is a must play in my view. Come check it out and see for yourself. Enjoy.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

A course to test all your skills

5+    6/14/2014   11/4/2008
Review By: atl scott
Played: 152  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2014
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Several tough wooded holes and several tough open holes
Wide variety of hole length
Almost never busy
Cons: Natural tees on some holes
Difficult to navigate (maybe even with a map?)
Sometimes feels like an odd assortment of holes bunched together
Other Thoughts: I rate this course a 3.5 due to the design of the holes. You will need a wide variety of shots in your bag on this course and with a well-placed drive a birdie is possible on every hole (even though some are almost 500 ft long and some snake through tight woods).

There has been a recent effort with the upkeep of this course and it shows--especially in the teepads. Almost all of them are now concrete and funds are being raised to finish the few that are still natural. Navigation is still less than straightforward and I don't like the relocation of hole 1 to the long hole by the parking lot at the putt putt course. Starting on old hole 1 (a couple of short easy holes) made warm-up easy. Now you start on a 450' hole next to a road and then head directly into a section of tight wooded holes. By the time you get to the short holes they seem more boring than before and out of place on the course.

I would not consider this course an easy one for beginners to shoot well although it is a good place for them to hone their skills.

Poison ivy and thorns are at an all time low at the course.

Apparently the park is now a non-smoking facility and there is a park security officer who will make no bones about approaching you to enforce it. Be forewarned.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.