Douglasville, GA 
Deer Lick Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #12 (Taken 12/2009)
3 / 214ft.   3 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Incredibly Underrated

1    10/27/2012   11/2/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 75  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a mix of natural and concrete, but the natural tees were extremely effective and I noticed no difference.

An excellent amount of shot variety with a great blend of distances.

The disc golf course is pretty isolated from the rest of the park activities.

Good next tee signs.
Cons: A couple trees could be removed on some of the holes to make slightly more fair gaps.

It would be NICE to have uniform tees although as previously stated I didn't notice a difference, maybe just more from an aesthetic standpoint.

Other Thoughts: I can't quite place my finger on why white oak is the higher rated course of the two. I came in with pretty much 0 expectations because I did enjoy white oak earlier in the day.

I also didn't deal with any of the problems prerube had. I'm assuming he played on a day where it had rained or had rained previously in the week. So yeah, tee pads are probably going to be kinda messy for natural tees, that should be expected. The park was also not busy when we played, there were some people walking but they were never in danger.

We started on hole 8 because we pulled into the wrong entrance, it was a pretty standard hole, but once hole 9 puts you in the hoods for a couple, this course totally blew me away!

I thought that maybe minus hole 9(which I had a really sick ace run on, although mostly lucky :D) the holes were all very fair, the gaps were plenty wide of executing shots.

I'm assuming that they have added next tee signs fairly recently due to them being in nice shape, and other people complaining about navigation.

Sure, there's a couple long winding holes, but people need to have realistic expectations, you can't always throw your destroyer off the tee. A birdie is realistically obtainable on every hole by playing placement shots and playing smart golf.


It's definitely a preference thing, but if you're in the area, this is the course I would play. It's much more polished than white oak. Both were enjoyable courses though, with extremely contrasting styles of play, allowing for a really nice day of disc golf had by all.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Got Licked

1    12/29/2011   12/29/2011
Review By: New2Disc
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well thought out course. Plenty of trees, and chances to use just about all the shots in the bag !!! #3 seems a little weird with the swinging bench in the way up high, or if you stay low on the fairway, you have the walkway and the lake just waiting for a stray shot !!! #16 is still kinda a mess, even though I never saw it before the ( clean up ) !!!
Cons: A sign directing you to the # 9 tee would be helpful for first timers. And a final leveling, scraping and grass planting on #16 would really be a nice final touch to a great layout !!!
Other Thoughts: I love this course, and will be back many times I'm sure !!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I play here all the time

5+    4/9/2013   7/9/2011
Review By: Dsplayname
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As far as permanent courses go, this is one of the closer ones to Atlanta. It only takes about 30 minutes for me to get there from Midtown.
It's a nice, well seasoned course with a fair mix of holes.
It has never been crowded when I have played, and the people that I have seen all have great course etiquette.
The mix of shots and distances makes this a good challenge for just about everyone.
The course is always well maintained, and the bugs are minimal.
Some really tough lines out there for the risk-takers, but the fairways are pretty clearly defined.
With the revised layout, the course seems to flow better. It still has distinct sections to it, with different styles of play necessary for each section.
Parking/practice basket/start of course from the segregated lot is nice, especially during baseball/football seasons.
I see a lot of people doing other activities around the park, but have never had an issue with crowding on the course.
Cons: Some would say that the mixed tee pads are a con, but they are all maintained well.
There could be more trash cans on the course, but it is exceedingly rare to see a course with cans, and have them emptied regularly. I'd rather haul my own trash than tee off near a can full of beer cans and bees.
There a a couple "filler" holes that don't require much skill, but they are also a good balance for players who don't throw 400 feet and still want a birdie.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It's not the most challenging one I've played by far, but it is interesting and always keep me pushing myself to do better.
The use of open spaces and elevation are pretty good here and there's not really a huge advantage for the 400+ foot drivers. It's a nice, quite park for a casual round of disc golf. If you consider the other options close to Atlanta, I believe it's one of the better ones to play. White Oak isn't too far away from here, so if you have the time and energy, play both. This isn't a championship level course, but it is entirely worth playing and highly enjoyable.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favs in my area

5+    3/25/2009   3/27/2009
Review By: Jonnykatz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 31.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love this course. Its in a great little park to take your family (fishing in the little lake, tennis, volleyball, mini-golf, batting cages, etc.) Just wish I lived closer. I've traveled the 45 minutes up there just to play the course more than a couple times. This course definitely deserves a 4 (at least of the ones I've played it is one of the best). I love hole 4. I don't know if the creek is OB on this hole or not. I don't play it as OB because it would be extremely tough otherwise. I play it from the road, but I'm not sure where the pro tee is. The front 9 are fun, with a fair amount of challenge. The back nine are a bit more challenging with some longer holes.
Cons: If regularly maintained its great, but the undergrowth can get pretty nasty otherwise on back 9. There are some signs to hole 9 now, but still a little tricky if its your first time (walk up the sidewalk to the building and then back down around the mini-golf towards the batting cages), and a long walk (but it takes you to the 'clubhouse', which is a good idea if its ever open). Some other tees need a sign or better signs with maps (4, 6, 9, 12). Needs better directions to find tees for 9 and 17, especially. Both are long walks.
Other Thoughts: Not very busy when I've been. Most courses I usually meet someone to play with.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/20/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: grease
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I can't say enough about the crew that put this course in. I was one of them. The front 9 minus 1,2,and 6 were also redone. After hole 8, we had dense jungle to cut through and usually started in a general direction and eventually ended up where the basket would be. It was extremely hard to cut in the back 9. I helped with White Oak also, and personally, I think Deerlick is a better course due to it's variety. The initial intention when designing this course was to incorporate all of the best holes from local courses into one. We tried our best.
Cons: This is not a barney course. People with lack of skills will either have to accept it for what it is, or play at an easier course.
Other Thoughts: Course improvements are pending and will be coming soon.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.