Douglasville, GA 
Deer Lick Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #7
3 / 402ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Deerlick

5+    8/21/2008   2/21/2009
Review By: reggaB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 29.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of shots required. Much better since they redesigned the original layout which was a joke. Never very crowded even on the weekends. Drinks and restroom available near hole 8/9 (when its open) at the skatepark area. Has some real holes where placement counts more than distance to score well.
Cons: Course does not flow well, very easy to get lost without a map. Example would be after hole 8 you have to walk across the putt putt course to get to the next tee. The first 3 holes are sometimes hard to play when the weather is nice due to all the park goers. They have even been known to park on the tee pads for hole 1 and 3. During the summer some of the woods holes get a little overgrown.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, I would stop by and play this course. It is one of only a few on the west side of Atlanta.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/20/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: grease
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I can't say enough about the crew that put this course in. I was one of them. The front 9 minus 1,2,and 6 were also redone. After hole 8, we had dense jungle to cut through and usually started in a general direction and eventually ended up where the basket would be. It was extremely hard to cut in the back 9. I helped with White Oak also, and personally, I think Deerlick is a better course due to it's variety. The initial intention when designing this course was to incorporate all of the best holes from local courses into one. We tried our best.
Cons: This is not a barney course. People with lack of skills will either have to accept it for what it is, or play at an easier course.
Other Thoughts: Course improvements are pending and will be coming soon.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging course with a few flaws

1    2/8/2009   2/10/2009
Review By: eck_03
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course has a great set of holes and can be played by about anyone. There are a lot of elevation changes and little creek beds that run through some fairways that are easy to avoid but can prove challenging if you are off your game.
Cons: A few holes are hard to find without the map that is provided at the office. Hole 3s basket is almost impossible to find even with help, the trick is to throw up along the road until you find the basket. Some of the wooded holes need to be a bit less wooded, there are absolutely no shots from some positions.
Other Thoughts: As my first course I have played in GA this one is great as a start.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This course is fun

5+    9/9/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes from the original 9. This course has a dedicated group of locals who worked hard on making this course a full 18. The holes are fair, fun, challanging, and have a nice variety.
Cons: Not too many. Some people might not like the fact that there is not concrete on every teepad, but it's not a major factor IMO.

Tough to navigate if you not played there before
Other Thoughts: I beleive the park office has course maps available but this will be helpful as well:

Finding hole #9 after 8 will be kind of confusing for first time players (it's by the batting cages). After hole 16 you will need to go down the hill and to the left for holes 17-18.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not very good

2-4    9/3/2008   1/29/2009
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 126  Reviewed: 23
2 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Course requires some good shot making and course management skills. The course is longer and provides a decent work out.
Cons: This course is very poorly designed. I personally cannot think of one good hole. Hole four is completely unfair as laying up to avoid the creek can leave you with no shot? The course is poorly marked and many of the holes (especially on the back) are just not fair with no real "fairway" existing. The large clear cut area reminds me of scene from Mad Max and is quite depressing.
Other Thoughts: Disc golfers need to learn that just having a course is not always a good thing. Courses like this hurt the game as a whole and make the entire sport look bad. If all you have is a scrub pine, former clear cut, "forest" to build in just don't do it, it's not worth the baskets.

2 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Deer Lick Park

2-4    12/8/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of distances, not much walking between holes on the front 9 or so. Good mix of terrain. Course flows fairly well until you get towards the back half. Clean park and there are security guards patrolling the park, but they can give you parking tickets so watch out. Great variety of difficulties with holes, some easy and some tough. Holes 3 and 4 play with some water so watch out especially on 3 with big pond on left. Has a "pro shop" and sign says they have discs 4 sale but I didn't see any but they do have drink and snack machines also has restrooms too btwn 9 and 10? I think. You can use most of the discs in your bag cause this course is very diverse and you can use just about every type of throw you know on this course.
Cons: The newer holes which I guess are the back 9 or so are designed pretty poorly in my opinion. Either they are very wooded or no obstacles at all. No clean shots in the wooded holes, and by this I mean even with a great or decent tee shot you still wont have any line of view to see the basket. Course was pretty busy on the weekend with little kids on some fairways and what not. The front 9 are manageable without a map but the back definitely aren't unless you are with someone who has played before.
Other Thoughts: I like the front 9 a lot but once I got past the pro shop the course just didn't seem fun to me. well at least not as much as the front. Hole 4 was awesome I like the creek that comes to play cause even if you get into trouble it is usually shallow enough to fish your disc out. The back 9 either need to be cleaned up a little bit or moved around. They have plenty of land to play with on the back but w/e. Over all decent course not worth a long drive to but if you're in the area it is worth a visit.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Deer Lick Park

1    11/30/2008   11/30/2008
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2010
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a nice mix for sure. Not only are some holes fairly open but some are tight. Additionally you'll find some of the holes fairly easy to some quite challenging.

You'll be greeted by easy parking near hole one and eighteen with bathrooms between the two.

Holes one and two are tame and give you a chance to warm up with a couple of birdie opportunities. Three is a longer shot with the chance of rolling off the bank and down to the pond. Number four is a big challenge. It is down a slight hill and up on an "island" just past the creek. There is a big risk of getting wet but it's a great reward if you stay dry. It is one of the best holes on the course in my mind. The next few are basic fun holes. A couple more birdie and ace runs are sprinkled in as well. Halfway through you'll pass a putt-putt course with a nice air conditioned area that sells snacks, drinks, etc. It also has a bathroom if needed. Pass that area and it's into the woods for some pretty tough holes as far as trees are concerned. They're the type of holes where you can feel really good if you make it through but have to buckle down if you clip a tree. I love this kind of hole. You'll really appreciate a little luck and some tree love. Hole 16 is kind of nice because it brings you back out into the open and you can really let loose on this comparatively long hole. Don't get too comfortable though because 17 and 18 take you back in the woods. These last holes can also make or break your round.

There are a few holes with concrete tees on the front nine. Otherwise natural tees are the offering but they are in fairly good shape. Signs are also hit and miss. The ones that are present are old but OK although I wouldn't trust all of them as far as distance is concerned.

There is a pretty nice retaining wall defining the tee pad for hole four. You'll also find a few benches, bridges, and steps installed by the locals and they're a nice touch.
Cons: I think it could use some better signage. You may have to look around for a few holes, especially on the back nine. A quick print of the map should help on your first trip, beyond that you should be good to go.

A lot of people have the opinion that the wooded holes need to be refined. Mainly trimming a few trees and taking out a late tree or two. This mainly effects holes 10,11,14,15, and to a lesser extent 17 and 18.

The older single chain Innova baskets will inevitably be blamed for a couple extra strokes per round.
Other Thoughts: There is a nice pond with wildlife, a mini golf course, walking trails, and a skate ramp at this park. I think it is well worth the drive and because of the other activities it is easy to convince an otherwise reluctant spouse and kids to come along, if you know what I mean...

To sum it up, this is a very fun, challenging, and unique course. It's actually one of my favorites. It really is a must play in my view. Come check it out and see for yourself. Enjoy.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

A course to test all your skills

5+    6/14/2014   11/4/2008
Review By: atl scott
Played: 152  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2014
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Several tough wooded holes and several tough open holes
Wide variety of hole length
Almost never busy
Cons: Natural tees on some holes
Difficult to navigate (maybe even with a map?)
Sometimes feels like an odd assortment of holes bunched together
Other Thoughts: I rate this course a 3.5 due to the design of the holes. You will need a wide variety of shots in your bag on this course and with a well-placed drive a birdie is possible on every hole (even though some are almost 500 ft long and some snake through tight woods).

There has been a recent effort with the upkeep of this course and it shows--especially in the teepads. Almost all of them are now concrete and funds are being raised to finish the few that are still natural. Navigation is still less than straightforward and I don't like the relocation of hole 1 to the long hole by the parking lot at the putt putt course. Starting on old hole 1 (a couple of short easy holes) made warm-up easy. Now you start on a 450' hole next to a road and then head directly into a section of tight wooded holes. By the time you get to the short holes they seem more boring than before and out of place on the course.

I would not consider this course an easy one for beginners to shoot well although it is a good place for them to hone their skills.

Poison ivy and thorns are at an all time low at the course.

Apparently the park is now a non-smoking facility and there is a park security officer who will make no bones about approaching you to enforce it. Be forewarned.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A Course in Need of Some Work

7/30/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: sfeather
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park folks were very friendly, and with 2 or three park police cruising around, we felt very safe. The original front nine holes are great. Holes 1 and 2 are rather easy. 3 brings some water risk with the pond on the left (mind the goose droppings). Hole 4 is beautiful. It was a tough hole. I took the high risk and ended up in the drink.

The "Pro" shop between 8 and 9 is a great idea, with drink machines and air conditioned eating area.
Cons: - Neither office had a course map (glad we had the one from here)
- Without a map, good luck. Back nine is totally unmarked.
- Where is the 12th basket? Oh, over the hill, left in the treeline.
- Where is the 17th tee? Out of the field, down the hill, into the woods, hang a left.
- Holes 10, 11 are a loggers nightmare.
- Hole 16 should be a par 4 and who puts a 20 foot tall log pile in a fairway?
- Basket numbers need to be replaced as they are worn and difficult to make out at distance.
Other Thoughts: The entire site feels like 2 nine hole courses instead of a single 18. A player goes from an enjoyable front nine to a back nine that feels like it may never end.

If you are visiting Atlanta to play some disc golf, there are other, prettier courses to visit before this one.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun & Improving

6/1/2008   6/9/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *As mentioned, the course was revamped in 2007, taking it from a boring 9 hole super short course to a fun, 18 hole course. A couple of the woods holes are legit par 4 holes...all are fun & challenging
*The locals - find 'em, great folks, and they put in a lot of time clearing & improving the wooded holes
Cons: *Aside from the creek on #4 and the pond on #3, this is not the nicest parcel of land...not nearly as scenic as some of GA's other courses. Minor elevation changes. Meanders through a pine forest that is in the initial stages of transitioning into hardwoods.
*Cement teepads on beginning holes, but dirt in the back
*Signage is missing after #7
*Some of the original holes are very short...although some have gotten new pin placements that have made them much more challenging & fun
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play & will continue to improve as the locals keep putting quality maintenance time in. Worth a drive to Douglassville if you're on the west side of Atlanta (about 20 min west of downtown).

If you played here when it was 9 holes, it's definitely worth another visit.

Course record is 47 (singles) and 43 (doubles)

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.