Cadillac, MI 
Kenwood Heritage Park - Park Side Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #12 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Mosquito heaven

1    7/27/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: reichmusic
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -concrete pads
-nice baskets
-pretty good signage
Cons: -signage was good except for the added r holes when you get to 7.
If you just add a sign saying you add 6 holes if you play the r's it would ease all confusion.
- you need to make this course as if you've never been there and there isn't internet. Signage was okay except for this.
-most of the holes are the exact same- wooded- tunnel-low canopy shots, became boring.
-not enough a Variety, no open shots to air it out.
- design doesn't have any risk/reward, you could use a putter and make par here if you just play conservatively.
- some of the design incorporated hyzer shots, but if you hit the line perfectly, you still needed luck to get past a few random trees.

Mosquitos are very bad here, I went morning time around 8:30am.
Other Thoughts: My main problem with this course was the lack of pride and maturity of the locals that use this course.

Every sign had a message that pot wasn't invited here, followed by someone else writing something obscene about a person , or graphic drawings of people, nudity, violence, etc. grow up people. I would have hated to have a family day out there and have my kids see trash like that..

Local club needs to take pride and have a can of spray paint and fix this. It's not hard. After a few times of removing this crap, the few bad apples will likely stop. Very disappointed with the community and lack of self control. This is the future of our country, scares the heck out of me,

Bring deet
And a bathing suit.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short toss, still challenging

1    5/17/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: crusadersounds
Played: 88  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Clearly marked tee signs
* Distances marked on most holes
* Great Chainstar baskets
Cons: * Couldn't see a lot of the baskets
* Lots of vulgar graffiti on the tee signs
* Baskets seemed to be a little lower than normal
Other Thoughts: * Short course (almost all less than 250')
* Really tight fairways that were pretty crowded with trees
* Nice accessible location

I was travelling through Michigan and stopped at this park for lunch not even realizing that there was a course there! What a great surprise when we drove up and saw chainstars. In spite of the fact that I couldn't see a lot of the baskets and the fairways were pretty crowded with trees, I still managed to shoot just +1. Not a difficult course, but not an easy one either. If you're in the area, give it a shot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Trees, trees everywhere!

5+    12/12/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Break out your hyzers, anhyzers, and overhand shots because you'll need them to negotiate the trees on the fairways and in the roughs here. There are very few chances to go wide of the fairway cleanly due to heavily wooded areas through the entire course. The course is fairly well marked and not too confusing to negotiate, even in the fall. Concrete pads make tee-offs nice. Almost all baskets are hidden behind trees. A 9-hole pole course is available across the street as are a nice beach, a boat launch, concessions, and nice bathrooms, along with other activities for non-discers.

Watch for the giant swamp/puddle on #2 following wet periods during the spring and fall. Hole #11 is designed as a dogleg right but a "tunnel of trees" corridor has been cleared to allow an almost straight but very tight route to the basket. Straight down the right side of the woods with a left fade is also an option on this hole. Hole #6 has a similar shortcut through the woods to by-pass the dogleg left. Holes #16 and #17 offer excellent ace opportunities, especially with a Buzzz or Impact.
Cons: Very little elevation change in effect here. Almost all challenge is the result of avoiding trees. Tee markers have no hole layout so finding the basket can be require pre-scouting at times. The tee markers also lack footage designations on a couple of holes. Trash can be a problem (being addressed with the city) as can heavy brush in the rough. No extra points awarded for hitting hikers, bikers, dogs, or cars on any of the many roads or trails that wind through the course!
Other Thoughts: This course is in my back yard and I have been making an effort to keep the trash picked up during our daily rounds. I've also designed and printed score sheets and have been trying to keep them loaded in the box on the first tee, but bring your own pencil. This course can get pretty darned busy on the weekends and sometimes during the week, particularly on Thursdays due to a very active league. (Update 5/26/10 - leagues are now on Sunday nights)

Holes with missing tee signs have been wheeled off and corrected lengths have been Sharpied in and added to the score sheets.

I have also designed a course map; both that and the score sheets are now available on the "Links" tab.


***Update 7/7/09***
6 new holes have been added, starting from the #7 tee and working back around to the same tee. Currently, the fairways and rough are pretty wild, and there is no real signage, tee pads, or baskets, but navigation is simple and obvious and the pole holes are super visible since they're painted hunter orange.

Hopefully, the added holes will help spread out congestion on busy days. Again, the only real challenge here is just trying to avoid trees.

I have to admit that I was super disappointed in these holes given that they wiped out the coolest section of the mountain bike singletrack in order to add them. I didn't really see any of them as being anything particularly special or unique.

***Update 8/31/09***
Tee and goal posts have been moved on the alternate 6 yielding dramatically increased distance and difficulty. Buried 4x4s mark tee foul lines now. They're still pretty rough but are now vastly improved from their original layout. Still.....I get a little sick of trees, trees, and more trees after a while.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.