Cadillac, MI
Kenwood Heritage Park - Park Side Share
Uploaded By: Oldstump Hole #7R (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7R Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
mids and putters (almost) exclusively...

1    4/25/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 204  Reviewed: 196  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- area used for dg is mostly dg exclusive. course does cross access roads a couple times (even playing down the roads at times) and comes near to some more public areas.

Baskets-- discrafts, in great repair and somewhat visible in dense woods.

Teesigns-- they are there but they should/could be more descriptive as to where the baskets are. It seems that scouting about half the holes may be necessary.

Routing/Nav-- Easy. follow the paths and you'll be fine. I was impressed that the transition from the regular 18 to the alt 6 was as easy as it was. the pads for 7 and 7R were literally right next to each other. There was one longer walk between 13 and 14 but it was pretty easy to figure out.

Teepads- nice, a little short but the holes here are pretty short as well. clear enough, leave covered but that's to be expected.

12R-- Special mention to this hole. dual fairways make this one a special challenge. the right fairway is super tight while the left fairway is a little more open
Cons:
Variety & Risk v Reward-- there is a lot of repetition here, the challenge factor is pretty small with the short holes here. Water comes into play on one hole (7R I believe).

Shortness- this course is seriously short and technical but the basket placement could be improved to improve the challenge factor.

Parking- I wasn't sure where to park for this one, I parked across from the first tee between some traffic cones.
Other Thoughts:
I think this course was fun but it was just that fun. Nothing more. It wasn't challenging or exhilarating. the lack of elevation didn't help.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/7/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: jmac79
Played: 64  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: you will throw every thing you have open and tight holes. left right and tight.
Cons: I know it is winter but almost all of the tee pads were covered in ice. farways were packed down by park trucks but are now a sheet of ice.
Other Thoughts: a few more warm days and the ice should melt but untill bring some spikes

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/27/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros:
-I liked the "feel" of the course. woodsy with a beach visible on a few holes.
-nice signs with hole number, distance, and par
-tee pads were decent, not great but not a hinderance
-a ton of ace runs
-would be great for beginners
-navigation wasn't a problem
-the locals were nice, a couple large groups let us play through and a some guys gave my friend and I advice on the hole
Cons:
-very repetitive. every hole is under 300'. almost every hole is straight, and when there is a dogleg there is an optional straight shot as well. hole 6 is a dogleg left with an alley between some trees that is just straight. hole 11 is a dogleg right but again has the option to just throw straight through a narrow gap.
-lots of trash and graffiti
-it would be nice if the signs had a picture of the hole, but most baskets were easy enough to find
-tee pads were all different shapes and sizes. I'd rather a course have the same size pad on every hole so that I don't have to get used to new footing on every drive.
-no elevation change and no water hazards.
Other Thoughts: bring bug spray. terrible mosquitos.

 

1    8/20/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park features 18 original holes and 6 additional holes as well as a pole hole course on the other side of the street. The holes are quite short, as none eclipse the 300 foot mark, and largely straight forward through a serene forest route. The tees feature concrete pads and each hole is marked with a 4X4 post that clearly displays the hole number. Navigation is intuitive with little chance of misguided bumbling. The course was quite clean on this day, which allowed the splendor of the forest to dominate the scene. The land is largely flat here with only subtle variance in elevation in a few spots. Although moderately wooded, the holes provide fair play with definite defined lanes and landing areas as opposed to being a tree peppered crap shoot. Skill is allowed to trump luck.
Cons: The short nature of these holes is the only potential drawback apart from the fact that the basket placements are generally easy and not overly challenging. Variety is a bit lacking. There are many straight down the pipe shots here that require little in the way of creative shot making. The alternate holes are quite wild at this time and could benefit from repeated play.
Other Thoughts: This course is an ideal family course. It is a perfect setting for a beginner to learn the game as it is simple and forgiving. Experienced players can enjoy the charms of nature and have a great time working these holes. Solid ace runs and plentiful birdie opportunities ensure an enjoyable round with little potential for frustration. A nice little wander in the woods.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/6/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: LangWu99
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This being my local course I play it multiple times a week. This course allows you to get your fix but leaves you wanting more.

Great potential, tight fairways really keep you on your toes and help with precision practice. Ace and birdie opportunities make up for some bad luck you might encounter.
Cons: The mosquito's get absolutely RIDICULOUS in the summer

Lack of variety with pin placement really takes away from what could be.

Heavy traffic no matter what day or time
Other Thoughts: There is a front 9 by the beach with poleholes and then a serperate course across the road(back 18, now 24). The front 9 is a good warm up before your real round.

Though there is some lacking with variety there is still plenty of difficulty with all the trees and some great exciting moments when everything goes right.

This course is best in the spring when there is lighter traffic and less bugs

*UPDATE*
The 6 hole alternate has gotten a complete revamp after multiple complaints. They are still a bit rough and require more tree removal but it is a work in progress.

Its nice to know that our voices were heard.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course!

1    6/28/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: xrockfistx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a pretty simple course. The place was very clean and, the it was easy to follow. Some holes were pretty neat. Hole 2, you have to throw over a small pond, which is pretty cool.
Cons: Not very much elvevation change or a variety of shots.
Other Thoughts: Sign says 9 holes but, it lies. There's really 18.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Technical

1    4/11/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: Merkaba311
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of ace opportunities
-Easy to navigate
-Concrete tee pads
-Footage of every hole marked
-Some holes have multiple fairways, allowing for some creative shots
Cons: -Not a lot of variety. Nearly every hole is a medium to short length, mostly straight hole.
-Few memorable holes
-If you're playing around noobs, you will often have discs flying at your head. I had someone behind me that nearly hit me on six or seven holes. The holes are packed in pretty close so when someone terrible is a couple of holes behind/ahead you, their shots will cross into your fairway.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that takes some luck and a lot of skill. If you can't throw a disc straight then don't even bother trying this course. I would recommend this course for intermediate to advanced players. Novices will become quickly frustrated with the tight fairways. Experts will be bored with the majority of holes being short straight shots.

The course isn't difficult, it just requires more accuracy and finesse than the typical beginning disc golfer has.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Wooded Course

2-4    11/10/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 66  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a challenging and fun wooded course,nice signs,nice park with beach across the street,easy to navigate,well designed through woods that you have a chance of making it through,course was a little busy when I was there but everyone was nice and several groups let me play through,hard to lose a disc for a wooded course,
Cons: Several fairways are close to picnic areas and were being used as a parking lot when I was there,
Other Thoughts: You can play 18 in about an hour or less,would play again if I was in the area

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Walk in the Woods

8/25/2006   4/17/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 8.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finesse and Luck will come in handy on this heavily wooded course. Not ridiculously dense forest like some here in Michigan, and off the fairway isn't a complete disaster. Secluded and scenic even though it is near a usually crowded public beach. Take a dip in the lake when you are finished.
Cons: Some of the holes on the back 9 are a bit more rustic than the rest of them with regards to debris off the sides of the fairway. Easy to lose discs in the underbrush. Not much variety with regards to hole design.
Other Thoughts: Across the road is a short 9 hole 'pole course', but with the disadvantage of being right in the middle of the heaviest pedestrian traffic.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.