Layout Extinct

Cabot, AR 
Kerr Station Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: jongoff09 Hole #1 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  

5+    3/24/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: VJH32
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really clean and safe. This is a fun course that is not confusing. It is not real challenging, but it is well kept. Do not under estimate this nice short course. It can not be played in under ten minutes, unless you throw nothing but aces, and run from tee box to basket.

This is one of my favorite courses. You can get some birdies with course management, but the baskets are close, therefore the chances for an ace is high, so go for it!
Cons: Really needs concrete tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: A play ground is very close, and a lake is next to the course. A perfect place to take the family.

I made my first ace on this course. Hole 8, 180 feet. I know it wasn't a long drive, but I was excited. Play the course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Selection: Putter!

1    5/9/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This little beginner's course can be played in under 10 minutes. This place is clean, has a few trees, a pond, a little creek, and OB. The baskets are in great shape. It certainly doesn't get too much play. Taking your smaller kids here is the perfect introduction to the sport. Aces will certainly happen if you played here a lot. Parking was perfect and the tee signs were great.
Cons: The dirt tee pads are not really defined well. I wasn't sure which side I was really supposed to throw on. This course is really short and the last few holes are pretty close together. The course par is obviously for kids, so keep that in mind (250 foot par 5). I was only at the disc golf part of the park, so I saw no trashcans or restrooms there. This place can hold water after a rain.
Other Thoughts: Fun Factor here was not really registering. You can bring just a putter and be good here. If I was trying to learn to throw my putter different ranges from 250 to 100 feet, this might not be a bad place to go. I felt like I blinked and the round was over. Not that that is all that bad, but it happened so fast recalling the entire round was kind of tough. LOL I can say it is clean and I appreciated the idea of having a course that smaller kids could go and play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun - but pars seem off

1    10/23/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: tasha
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short course - could play many rounds if wanted. good signs - lots of mandos.
Cons: kids on the way to and from the lake/pond to go fishing go right threw the course - seem unaware that they are on a disk golf course. Pars seem really high.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I've seen Mandos on, so that was interesting and fun - but the Pars need to be reevaluated for sure.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for putting.

2-4    9/1/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: fountg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice short course, can get many games in.
Never really anybody else there, so you can play in peace.
Cons: Most shots seem to be putts straight off the Tee. Last time I went the course was fairly well maintained, but they are building a bridge near the basket on hole 3/ the Tee for hole 4, and when it is finished I could see that bringing the fishing people over into the DG area. Also the course is right next to a small playground, and I spent alot of my time Trying *not* to hit kids as they ran in front of my path.
Other Thoughts: I know I wrote much more negative than positive things about this course, but it IS nice for a small practice session. Its a nice practice spot that isn't intimidating, good for working on the basics.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Little Tikes Course

5+    7/7/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Jeepshrm
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great for a quick 9 holes. Great to work on mid-range and putts.
Cons: Needs 9 more holes; spread the chains further apart.
Other Thoughts: I do not go here often any more not worth my time. Course has great potential if the city would work on it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet!

2-4    3/19/2010   3/20/2010
Review By: vtsquid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very short course, can get many games in! Interesting Mando's! and The ability to make up house rules while you play, Nice area and two different places to park. Area to wash off your discs if you need to (lake)
Cons: Can be muddy, Alittle confusing the first time played.
Other Thoughts: This is a great little short course. I loved it. There are open areas and some very interesting Mandatories to go around! It was well up kept when I went and Just looked really nice. I Had a great time. Some of the signs where Kinda confusing at first but after playing it the first time, it was clear where to go. It is short enough that you can play three games it would normally take you to play one round some where else. I really think its a local Gem! There are alot of areas to really work on your forehand throws!

Being a short course, you can play a hole, and if you decide to you can play it again and again with out walking a mile every time, there is an ability to skip holes and go back to them as well!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/7/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: jongoff09
Played: 32  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Very well maintained and looks nice.
-Baskets are in very good shape.
-Great for beginners to learn on.
Cons: -Prone to being unplayable days after a rain. There are places where the water stands and doesn't drain or evaporate for a week or more.
-No teepads. I usually play about 5 feet away from the tee sign. Some of the tee areas have water/mud on one side so play those from the other side of the sign. Any others you can decide as a group which to play from.
-Holes are close together. If this was a busy course, this could be a problem, but seeing as how there is almost never anyone else there, this might actually be a pro.
Other Thoughts: -It is a very short course and I would recommend playing each hole by the path that is shown on the sign as a mando. It would be boring if not played this way for an advanced player.
-This is not a wooded course, so losing a disc shouldn't be a problem unless you make an extremely bad shot that lands in the pond on 3, or throw left into the ditch that runs along 4. The ditch isn't very deep, but the grass is long that lines the ditch, so spotting the disc may be the hardest part.
-Most good players should be able to play this with a putter because all the holes are 250 or less.
-Only look at the tee sign for the path that could be used as a mando, or don't even do that and make up your own mandos. I know that the distance on at least 3 of the 9 tee signs are wrong and I would assume more. Also, the par listed on the tee sign is for young kids, in other words, they are really high.
-I give this course a rating of 1.5 because it is a very nice 9 hole pitch and putt course. I believe that this is the best I could give a course like this. If you are in the area, it is worth playing if you like pitch and putt courses or like to bag every course there is, otherwise, go up the hwy to Jacksonville or North Little Rock to play Dupree or Burns Park

***Update 9-17-10***
A bridge is being built over the ditch that goes into the pond. It is about 20-30' to the left of #3 basket and #4 tee area. If people are on or near the bridge, you might want to play safe and to the right on #3.

Update 10-7-11
I am not sure what the ultimate goal is, but there has been a lot of work done on the ditch next to #4. The ditch is clear and there is no more weeds or grass at all in the area, just a whole lot of loose dirt. No more discs will be lost there, unless it fills to the top with water. The tee sign for #4 looks to have been broken during the work, and it is now laying on the ground near where it used to stand.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Juniors/Warm up course

6/1/2008   6/10/2008
Review By: discdawg
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Had been mown and looked great when I played it. This is a great course for a quick warm up before heading to a more serious course, or a great place to teach kids how to play the game. 8 or 9 year olds could have a blast!
Cons: Short, out of bounds / mandatories and pars are a little confusing, but just make up some house rules.
Other Thoughts: Someone did a good job putting together a nice little course. Is a suburb / family park environment.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some work

4/14/2008   4/14/2008
Review By: anoncow
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty fun course. Short and to the point - 9 holes, none over 250. Pars are very high and holes are very easy - someone could ace every hole here! A good follow up to a day of playing at Burns Park.
Cons: Not well maintained -- tee boxes are not well defined, much of the course is grown up (this may be due to the weather and the fact part of the course was a mud hole), it is in low ground, so you should expect mud 8 months out of the year.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, not too out of the way. Works well for the area it is in. Be aware -- do not even consider bringing alcohol or other substances here - this is in a residential park, and is near a major road in a dry county -- if you get caught expect to probably get a ticket at best, and more than likely a trip to the jail.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center