Millersville, MD 
Kinder Farm Park Share
Uploaded By: Radarx Hole #1 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 316ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good if you live nearby

5+    7/24/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fairly open course for those who enjoy that. Good for beginners with very few chances to lose a disc. Nice park with a petting zoo, walking trails and other things. Maintenance is good for what little is out there. (except tees)
Cons: Probably the biggest con is the park entrance fee, however you can just walk in from somewhere else and not have to pay if you're willing to walk that far. The tees are natural and the grass has eroded away on nearly every hole and so its basically like an uneven sand pit, which is not good. It can be difficult to find the next holes for a first timer without a map. There are a few spots around the course where pick-nick tables are placed nearly in the middle of the fairways. Only 9 holes, wind can be a factor.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course but not a great one either. The design is decent but not great. Some baskets are too close to some low branching trees which doesn't reward a good tee shot since the only way possible to ace or birdie some holes is to somehow skip one off the ground into the basket, if you're lucky enough. Easy to play though, and good for beginners if the wind isn't too bad. This isn't a course you would go way out of your way to play, but if you live nearby its a nice easy round to practice some shots on. There's enough room for many more holes at this park and hopefully more will be added someday.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 will keep a beginner interested

5+    6/8/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: Pauly456
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Perfect for a beginner
-great for testing a new disc
-great park to bring family
Cons: -park charges for entry, but you can park at sports complex and walk the trails to the course for free
-a lot of runners and dog walkers around course
-only nine holes
Other Thoughts: -add difficulty by making road and trails OB
-just like any course, watch for snakes. Almost lost my hand. The ranger are nice and took time to explain it wasn't a poisonous snake.
-Rated a 4 for beginners and 2 for a pro

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Practice Local Course

5+    7/19/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: JSlavy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good course to take a beginner.
- Somewhat short, open holes with some decent trees as obstacles but not much heavy brush. Baskets 2 and 8 contain some heavy brush but that's it.
- Good course to test out new discs. Basic straight away, hyzer and anhyzer shots with little chance of losing a disc you are new to throwing.
- Excellent practice course if you live nearby. Plays fast allowing you to go through multple times to tweak your game.
Cons: - Only nine baskets
- Too many pedestrians and picnickers in the same space as the course. I have had to skip holes to avoid.
- Have to pay to drive into park. Paying good money to drive in and have a family picnic keep you from playing 1 or 2 holes of a nine hole course would really tick me off. I park at the nearby baseball fields and walk in about .5 miles. The walk is good exercise which adds to the value of being a practice course.
- No wooded tunnel holes. 1 or 2 would be nice and there is room for them.
- No tee pads and some tees are heavily rutted.
Other Thoughts: The extra .5 score is because of its usefulness as a local practice course. Not worth going out of your way to play but worth playing if you are in the area or live nearby. Walk in, don't pay!

This course could be a little gem if expanded and upgraded with pads and alternate blue tees. The space is there and you could have wooded holes. The price to park would not be as bad if there were 18 holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/26/2011   4/29/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 50  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this is a well maintained course, fairly wide open holes. good course for a quick round. its pretty easy to find the next hole. its pretty hard to lose a disc here. on the second hole, the basket is back in a pretty tight area between some bushes. the third hole runs parallel to the road that runs through the park. the 5th hole is a wide open, straight shot. after throwing all my drivers on the 7th hole, i found that a for me a flick was my best shot because of the trees to the right and straight in front of the basket. the 8th hole is pretty tough, you need some good hyzer because of the sharp left to the basket tucked back in the woods.
Cons: theres a 6 dollar fee to enter the park, which i was not aware of. i didnt have cash, but luckily the woman at the gate let me in anyways.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Basically a DG Pitch & Putt

5+    10/21/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: cmartin
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice setting. Has a couple of holes that can be challenging (#8). Trees come into play on about 1/2 the holes and the other 1/2 are very straight with the potential for an reasonably easy ace on any of them. There are slight elevation changes and, depending on the time of year and recent weather, #5 & #6 may have water to drive over.
Cons: Course is too short. On a few holes branches literally hang down and almost touch the baskets making putting very challenging. The park is multi-use so it's very common to have people in the middle of fairways (I've seen picnics set up, a couple laying out on a blanket, kids playing football, a father teaching his kids soccer) that you have to avoid.
Other Thoughts: The course has a good variety of holes - a few new players can just try to learn to drive and work on their distance - a few that help with learning techniques to get around obstacles. I think this is a pretty good beginners course to learn the fundamentals on.
If there was any way to extend the course to 18 holes (and keep or increase the difficulty) the course would get much higher marks.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 so-so

1    4/23/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: good beginner course and a good finish to a 3 course day. short, quick and fun.
Cons: pretty basic tee to basket locations. won't be driving the 30 mins to play there. many more courses within that drive time for me to enjoy rather than this one
Other Thoughts: $6 fee to get in the park is definatly not worth this 9 hole course

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Kinder Farm Park, Beginner Friendly Fun

1    3/27/2011   4/2/2011
Review By: SippiSteve
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kinder Farm Park is a great beginner course, with short, mostly open holes. There are a few trees to work around that will prepare novices for more advanced courses. Holes range from 200 feet to 350 feet. Traffic is very light. Non-disc golfing pedestrians are not often a problem, the only exception being a few holes (2, 3, 6, possibly 9) that have walking trails/roads nearby.
Cons: Lack of multiple basket locations makes this course very boring after multiple plays, and the tee-boxes (read: ruts in the ground) make teeing off in the proper spot difficult. The overall simplicity of this course does not warrant much replay, except for those cases where you are unable to travel to a better course.
A couple of the baskets are also in need of replacement / maintenance. No chains are missing, but a few of the baskets are bent and/or warped.
Other Thoughts: This course could stand much improvement if Kinder Farm either maintained the tee-pad areas, or installed real tee-pads. There are also many holes that could use the multiple pin treatment, to keep things fresh.

All of the other attractions for Kinder Farm Park make this a great place for families to visit, but you can tell the disc golf course is low priority, which is a shame.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Down on the Farm

1    4/3/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little course, a fine place to go if you have small children. We took our kids and had a BLAST. The farm is very accessible, the playground is huge, and the course is also family friendly. Course had scorecard/map and there were some good opportunities for aces.
Cons: Cross shooting on some holes. Only 9 holes. Paying to get into the park. Can be a little confusing for such a short course.
Other Thoughts: I'd say this is a 1.5 if you go alone, a 3.5 if you bring the kids, so I settled with a high end ranking since I brought my three kids. The wife even enjoyed a few hours hanging out here, and she doesn't golf.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Waisted Potential

2-4    4/20/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: Radarx
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Markers clear, found all holes without a map. As stated before, 9 holes are beginner friendly. Elevation changes. Excellent course to learn on in windy conditions and with all the open holes wind can make this course challenging. Hard to loose a disc. Approach shots challenging when trees blooming. Small course for quick rounds.
Cons: Baskets not marked or marked wrong. Ignor 3 sign on top of basket for hole 1. Tee areas dirt or grass, needs some leveling. Couple baskets bent some. Wasted course potential. So much woods, stream & property around yet its not used for the disc course. Needs longer more challenging holes. Sometimes have to watch out for and wait for joggers-walkers.
Other Thoughts: I really wish somebody would take this project on of trying to expand or improve this course. With a park like that its a shame this course is the way it is. So much waisted potential. Maybe if you start paying to park they might buy more baskets although the $6 cost I believe goes more towards taking care of the farm animals there for the kids. If anything do what Pine Grove did and utilize the baskets twice for 18 holes.

I added a maps on here under the link tab, added updated photos as well.

I am not so sure the course fottage on this web site is correct. You can see some of the tee signs in the photos and they are different than what is listed here.

Course not to crowded so you can create your own holes driving to different baskets.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for beginner

5+    10/14/2009   3/14/2010
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee signs, nice baskets, fairly easy to navigate, some elevation changes. Nice bathrooms. Hard to lose a disc. Has a farm.
Cons: Only 9 easy holes. Busy park with ignorant picnic'ers. Mostly open hole layout. Can be interesting with other players on the course. $5 parking(you can park further for free and walk through the farm). Closed on Tuesdays. Poison Ivy in summer. Natural tees.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played and got me hooked. This is a great course to take a beginner. More experienced players will be left feeling blah. The actual farm is pretty cool with animals.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.