Kingsley, MI 
Kingsley Civic Center South Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #7 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The Good, The Bad and The Ugly...

1    9/25/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a large multi-use park but plays mostly along the edges and through one larger field. non-discers could be an issue here so throw carefully.

Teepads and signs-- concrete pads, nicely sized and in good repair. the signage is basic but effective giving you a basic line to follow BUT I do question some of the lengths being listed as shorter than they actually are.

Baskets--ChainStars. All in good repair. hard to see in some of the woody holes and could really use some increased visibility. Some holes are just straight blind (the huge turnover on #11).

Upkeep-- I was at this course very early in the morning and the park (on-site) caretaker greeted me and gave me a course map which was much better than the one provided on here. I posted a pic of it. There was nary a bit of garbage here and the grass was all nicely cut.
Cons:
Routing-- this course is easy in places and really really difficult to follow in some other places. #1 is all by itself with a long walk to #2. there are other places that aren't so obvious as well #11-#12.

challenge/risk v reward-- none really to speak of. there really isn't a chance of losing a disc here (with the exception of #11) and the challenge factor is mostly encompassed by the thick foliage on the woody holes.

Basket placement-- some of the basket placements here is really really bad. I hate 90 degree turns out of the woods. they really just don't make good sense. you will always over throw these and have to throw back to the basket...

Variety-- either it's wide wide open or it's wide wide shut... not much in the way of variety here.
Other Thoughts:
I wasn't overly blown away by this course. it was fun, but nothing to write home about.

 Course Reflects Community

2-4    5/30/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This course was a very pleasant surprise, when it really shouldn't have been. It may be small, but I have always found Kingsley to be a community that takes a strong pride in itself, and that pride shows again here with a clean, fun, intelligently designed course that's a part of a very well maintained, municipal grounds.

There are not very many elevation changes, but this course makes the best of them, and taking in natural and man-made obstructions to make a fair show in the risk/reward department. While there are fairly non-exceptional holes on the front 9, pins are placed near/behind trees and bring into play OB like roads and tennis courts.

Some of the more memorable holes were 11 (a downhill with a 90 degree hard right after ~250' with OB if you miss the turn) and 6 (uphill with a heavy headwind, fat sprawiling trees with nice lanes and an OB the length of the right side.)

Signage was (crude, but) effective, nice uniform, concrete tees and a healthy balance of open field and woodsy holes.

The "long" walk back to the car was hardly a con, as it took place across an unused field which begins with an obvious raised, paved "extra" tee that allows you to empty your bag with a tailwind.
Cons:
The lack of water hazzards often means a similar lack of mosquitoes, but not here. This is a dry, dusty course with a large quantity of sand.

The beginning holes are very much no-frills, garden variety, field holes. While they are a bit dull if it is calm, they can be very useful if hitting this course late in the day. Starting at hole 7 allows you to play the tighter woods holes and finish on the beginning field shots which are much easier to play in fading light than woods holes.

No amature tees, for there is no need for them, as there are no 400'+ holes, most over 300' are field shots, and 5 holes are <200'. Would definitely get a higher rating from me if this course was a bit longer.

I'm sick of crude but effective signage.
Other Thoughts:
We played this course on the same day as Hanson Hills, skipping Log Lake Park in Kalkaska. LLP would actually have been the logical course given our path, but we substituted this course instead, since even though it is roughly the same "walk through the woods"-type course, it doesn't play as much like a "putt & approach" course like LLP.

The mix of deciduous and coniferous trees means that this isn't a completely different course before/after the heavy foliage.

This course is not signed from the main road through town that I saw. I have failed to bring my directions to this course whenever I've played it, but stopping by the nearest playground and asking a local got me friendly accurate directions both times. One mom even had me follow her while she drove past it.

Nice course, fantastic community.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Yawn

1    5/10/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: sorotan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Concrete Tees, Wood Directional signs, Mix of open and woods
Cons: From Tee 1 to Tee 18, there's a big hike back... would be nice if it had ended closer to the beginning.

Not a fan of the Plantation Pines.... Sorta ugly. I think Tee 9 had the arrow pointing to the wrong direction for the basket.

Overall wished a better mix of open and woods, with better types of woods. The first few tees in the pines were interesting, but by the 15 or 16th tee, was wishing I'd gone to Osprey Int. in Benzonia, or Mt. Holiday.
Other Thoughts: When I'm playing in a park I like the open area that should be grass to be more grass than sand. I think the grounds keeper cuts the grass to low which leads to a lot of sand exposed. I really really didn't like the row upon row of pine. It's not pretty, and after the first couple tees, it gets boring quickly. I live close to Kingsley, but would rather travel to almost any other course than this one locally.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Kingsley

1    10/1/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: tccrapsdealer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some very easy, open holes. Some challenging tight holes. Great mix. Most of the holes are easily navigated (had a little trouble finding hole 2, but I've got it now). Wasn't too busy on the day I was there.
Cons: Hole #2 was a little tricky to find. First 5 or 6 holes are pretty boring. They just cover one field. After that, the woods are in play and the course is more fun.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/20/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-This is a nice little course. Well maintained with extra necessities like concrete tees and good signs.

-Coming here I expected a lame little course just to throw in on our way back from Hickory Hills, but it ended up being better than I thought. I especially liked the variety with the woods on the later part of the course. Also moderate to minor elevation is a factor on a few holes.
Cons:
-The first holes are very bland and can get you bored with the course at the beginning. It would be nice if the course was mixed from hole to hole better, rather than having the first half wide open and the second half super technical.

-There's no map or signs to direct you to the next hole. Also a couple holes can be confusing on which basket to throw to.
Other Thoughts:
-Overall CCS is a fun course. It's definitely not the main attraction, but it's a good side show for the other courses in the area, and it's good for the people who live around it to have.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A good mix.

5+    6/21/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: rlbontrager
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I enjoy the mix of wide open spaces for the first few holes and then the tight throws required on on the last few holes. When I'm done I feel like I've had an opportunity to "let it rip," but also feel like I've had to make some tricky shots.

They've done a pretty good job with the layout around an already filled in Civic Center with baseball and soccer fields filling in a lot of areas.

One of the better maintained courses in the area.
Cons: It is a rather simple course layout, especially the front. While I like the freedom that the wide open holes bring, they tend to get boring after the first couple of plays.

The second half of the course through the trees all have at least one sort of throw's line, but for the average/beginning disc golfer these holes can be quite difficult is you can't throw that line.
Other Thoughts: People who disc golf in the Traverse City area should definitely have this course in their rotation, but I wouldn't travel hours out of my way just to play it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/19/2005   7/2/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.6 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -the addition of cement pads was very nice
-the wooded holes are all a lot of fun and require some precision
-a few fun, blind shots, so make sure you check out basket locations before throwing or you can lose a disc pretty easily
-good layout, but a very average course overall
Cons: -very dry/dusty
-lots of mosquitos
-even with the tee signs this course can still be difficult to follow, so make sure you have enough time to walk around and find your way (this really only comes into play in the middle of the course, the beginning/end are pretty easy to follow)
-because of the simplistic signs and some baskets being close together its more than likely you'll throw at the wrong basket once or twice
Other Thoughts: the tee signs are very simplistic wooden 4x4 posts. other than being able to spot the next tee from a distance, they don't do very much to help you when you're actually on the tee.

not too much in the way of elevation, but regardless this course will make you think about each shot

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Eh...

5+    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: www4d4mnet
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The first 7 holes are open and fun. They are not overly challenging but for a run of the mill course it is nice. I like the slight elevation changes with out having to climb mountains.
Cons: From 8 on out the wholes become rather ridiculous with the trees. I find that several courses try to make up for lack of distance with an almost insane amount of trees. So I hope you have a good arsenal of throws.
Other Thoughts: At the end of the day course like Kingsley and Kalkaska make up for short easy hols by just leaving an absorbently large amount of trees in the way. Makes it very difficult to pull off a solid drive and you end up make more "trick" shots than you do normal throws. Don't get me wrong, I like my fair share of thumbers / tomahawks but I don't like to be forced to use them constantly. At the end of the day if they would widen out several of the fairways in the back half of the course it would actually be worth at least a 3.

The trees are not as much a factor during the early season, before the leaves come out.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/27/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: woodchuk
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wind is a factor on the front nine.Back nine requires accurate throws, then you must be able to putt.
Cons: Some holes could of been a little longer
but there wasn't any more room.
Other Thoughts: Road and walking path come into play on the front nine. Could use a course sign.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Playing the the park and the pines

5+    12/8/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2010
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Each hole on this course is well marked with hole #, basket direction, and footage. Almost every tee area has a trash can or bucket to keep the area clean. Concrete pads are always well tended and are big enough for a run-up. Wind comes into play regularly on the front 9 with some holes being longish drives through wide open fields. The back 9 are heavily wooded with straight shots through the pines and curving fairways through the hardwoods. Bring a full range of shots as hyzers, anhyzers, and pancakes will all come in handy. Minor but fairly regular elevation changes also make this course interesting. Creative basket placement, fun and interesting use of available natural terrain features, and some long drives will keep you coming back for more.

The best holes here are #7 for long, wide open drives; #9 for a long anhyzer or a thumber over the trees; #10 for its funky "S" shaped, narrow fairway and hidden basket; and #11 for its looong, sharp right dog leg around a hill, flanked by the shooting range on the left and the forest on the right!

*** Updates from 5/16/10 ***
The park has added a new directional post in the fence line along the road, just before the cross-walk to the restrooms (right near the #3 tee pad). It points the way to the first tee. They've also added a course kiosk, although nothing had been posted as of 5/16/10.
Cons: Several holes flirt with the tennis court fence, the walking path, and the main entrance road, so watch for cars and people. No overall map and few/missing "Next Tee" signs may have you searching through the park or woods for the next hole - even #1 isn't clearly marked! I made a map and have added it to the Links tab; printing and taking it is recommended for your first outing here.

The park can get exceptionally busy with participants in other sports.

Beware of the bees nest on the ground just to the left of tee pad #6. It is very well populated and they get cranky come mid summer!

It's a pretty long hike back to your car around the soccer fields when you're done.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1 can be found by looking for the corner of the tennis courts with the yellow donation post - the first basket is along the court fence line and across the walking path, in a clearing. Follow the back edge of the tennis court fence past the groundskeepers' RV then left to the edge of the woods for the #2 tee. A long walk back towards the restroom building will bring you to tee pad #3. The remainder of the tees follow more obvious routes.

Interesting views of the park can be had from the back 9 through the pines. The bathrooms are convenient and nicely kept.

Scorecards and a course map are now available on the Links tab.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.