Kingsley, MI 
Kingsley Civic Center South Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #13 (Taken 10/2008)
3 / 191ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Beautiful views of the park from here - watch the drop off to the right



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Course Reflects Community

2-4    5/30/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This course was a very pleasant surprise, when it really shouldn't have been. It may be small, but I have always found Kingsley to be a community that takes a strong pride in itself, and that pride shows again here with a clean, fun, intelligently designed course that's a part of a very well maintained, municipal grounds.

There are not very many elevation changes, but this course makes the best of them, and taking in natural and man-made obstructions to make a fair show in the risk/reward department. While there are fairly non-exceptional holes on the front 9, pins are placed near/behind trees and bring into play OB like roads and tennis courts.

Some of the more memorable holes were 11 (a downhill with a 90 degree hard right after ~250' with OB if you miss the turn) and 6 (uphill with a heavy headwind, fat sprawiling trees with nice lanes and an OB the length of the right side.)

Signage was (crude, but) effective, nice uniform, concrete tees and a healthy balance of open field and woodsy holes.

The "long" walk back to the car was hardly a con, as it took place across an unused field which begins with an obvious raised, paved "extra" tee that allows you to empty your bag with a tailwind.
Cons:
The lack of water hazzards often means a similar lack of mosquitoes, but not here. This is a dry, dusty course with a large quantity of sand.

The beginning holes are very much no-frills, garden variety, field holes. While they are a bit dull if it is calm, they can be very useful if hitting this course late in the day. Starting at hole 7 allows you to play the tighter woods holes and finish on the beginning field shots which are much easier to play in fading light than woods holes.

No amature tees, for there is no need for them, as there are no 400'+ holes, most over 300' are field shots, and 5 holes are <200'. Would definitely get a higher rating from me if this course was a bit longer.

I'm sick of crude but effective signage.
Other Thoughts:
We played this course on the same day as Hanson Hills, skipping Log Lake Park in Kalkaska. LLP would actually have been the logical course given our path, but we substituted this course instead, since even though it is roughly the same "walk through the woods"-type course, it doesn't play as much like a "putt & approach" course like LLP.

The mix of deciduous and coniferous trees means that this isn't a completely different course before/after the heavy foliage.

This course is not signed from the main road through town that I saw. I have failed to bring my directions to this course whenever I've played it, but stopping by the nearest playground and asking a local got me friendly accurate directions both times. One mom even had me follow her while she drove past it.

Nice course, fantastic community.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A good mix.

5+    6/21/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: rlbontrager
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I enjoy the mix of wide open spaces for the first few holes and then the tight throws required on on the last few holes. When I'm done I feel like I've had an opportunity to "let it rip," but also feel like I've had to make some tricky shots.

They've done a pretty good job with the layout around an already filled in Civic Center with baseball and soccer fields filling in a lot of areas.

One of the better maintained courses in the area.
Cons: It is a rather simple course layout, especially the front. While I like the freedom that the wide open holes bring, they tend to get boring after the first couple of plays.

The second half of the course through the trees all have at least one sort of throw's line, but for the average/beginning disc golfer these holes can be quite difficult is you can't throw that line.
Other Thoughts: People who disc golf in the Traverse City area should definitely have this course in their rotation, but I wouldn't travel hours out of my way just to play it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/27/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: woodchuk
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wind is a factor on the front nine.Back nine requires accurate throws, then you must be able to putt.
Cons: Some holes could of been a little longer
but there wasn't any more room.
Other Thoughts: Road and walking path come into play on the front nine. Could use a course sign.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Playing the the park and the pines

5+    12/8/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2010
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Each hole on this course is well marked with hole #, basket direction, and footage. Almost every tee area has a trash can or bucket to keep the area clean. Concrete pads are always well tended and are big enough for a run-up. Wind comes into play regularly on the front 9 with some holes being longish drives through wide open fields. The back 9 are heavily wooded with straight shots through the pines and curving fairways through the hardwoods. Bring a full range of shots as hyzers, anhyzers, and pancakes will all come in handy. Minor but fairly regular elevation changes also make this course interesting. Creative basket placement, fun and interesting use of available natural terrain features, and some long drives will keep you coming back for more.

The best holes here are #7 for long, wide open drives; #9 for a long anhyzer or a thumber over the trees; #10 for its funky "S" shaped, narrow fairway and hidden basket; and #11 for its looong, sharp right dog leg around a hill, flanked by the shooting range on the left and the forest on the right!

*** Updates from 5/16/10 ***
The park has added a new directional post in the fence line along the road, just before the cross-walk to the restrooms (right near the #3 tee pad). It points the way to the first tee. They've also added a course kiosk, although nothing had been posted as of 5/16/10.
Cons: Several holes flirt with the tennis court fence, the walking path, and the main entrance road, so watch for cars and people. No overall map and few/missing "Next Tee" signs may have you searching through the park or woods for the next hole - even #1 isn't clearly marked! I made a map and have added it to the Links tab; printing and taking it is recommended for your first outing here.

The park can get exceptionally busy with participants in other sports.

Beware of the bees nest on the ground just to the left of tee pad #6. It is very well populated and they get cranky come mid summer!

It's a pretty long hike back to your car around the soccer fields when you're done.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1 can be found by looking for the corner of the tennis courts with the yellow donation post - the first basket is along the court fence line and across the walking path, in a clearing. Follow the back edge of the tennis court fence past the groundskeepers' RV then left to the edge of the woods for the #2 tee. A long walk back towards the restroom building will bring you to tee pad #3. The remainder of the tees follow more obvious routes.

Interesting views of the park can be had from the back 9 through the pines. The bathrooms are convenient and nicely kept.

Scorecards and a course map are now available on the Links tab.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.