Kirkwood, CA 
Kirkwood Mountain Resort Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #13
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Kirkwood

2-4    9/5/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: Swiftacle
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an excellent challenge. There's a lot of variety from hole to hole. You'll use almost every disc in your bag.
Cons: There is almost no signage. You really have to search around for the next tee and on a few holes you'll have to search for the basket as well.
It's a difficult course to hike. I say hike, because that's what you'll be doing. Through the course you venture up two ski lifts and back down.
Other Thoughts: If you're playing the course before mid-summer, bring mosquito repellent and think about wearing pants. Also, bring lots of water. You'll need it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Kirkwood

1    6/20/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am pretty sure we were the first to play this course this season as the snow is still on the ground in some places and as we rounded #9 we ran into the guy installing the baskets!
What a great course. All kinds of different holes, up down, left, right, straight...
Bring at over 8K your disc does different things here so be prepared. The course flows well and is easy to follow thanks to some trails laid out with rocks and limbs. Starts at the first lodge as you enter the resort, works up and across some runs then winds it way back to finish right by where you started.
Baskets are all in great shape and with the yellow on them pretty easy to spot.
Cons: Non, this place rocks
Other Thoughts: We had a long late winter this year and there is still some good snow on the ground, if your reading this after July 1 I would say its not an issue but prior to that BE CAREFUL if you are walking on the snow. The are hidden creeks that you can fall into if your not careful. You will get hurt or possibly worse if you fall into one of these.
If your anywhere near here (about 45 min from tahoe, hour and a half from Reno and Sacramento)
If you play here please respect the forest and pack out your trash.
Have fun

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of a Kind

5+    6/20/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: trashmonster1985
Played: 80  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kirkwood is unlike any other place i've ever played, or snowboarded at. I worked there for 3 years so i may be partial, but it is a great course. Some real challenging shorter shots make up the front 9. Most of the shots are uphill and can be deceptive with distance. The back 9 starts to come back down the hill and you get one of the best descents at any course. Hole 16 is a 1200 foot monster downhill shot. The elevation is over 8000 feet so get out your light discs. Awesome elevation changes, some tight short shots, some huge downhill shots.
Cons: Very long, normally i will play 27-36 holes in a day and be fine, this is one course where 18 is enough. It is as much a hike as it is a round of disc. So bring water, food, tents what have you. Mosquitoes, and dense forest can make the course a bit of a bane.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, very unique, insane elevation changes and an isolated location make for a great round of disc. When your done hit up the Kirkwood Inn on hwy 88, between 3-5 pm and get some 2 dollar tacos. In lieu of playing 20 new courses this summer, I am lowering my rating some. I feel confident in saying this course is a 3.5 though.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 ski mountain course

1    7/16/2005   11/4/2008
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful location, some excellent long downhill shots, you can mountain bike after you play a round. Not crowded at all
Cons: lots of snow in the winter make the season very short. When I played, it was in mid July and there was still snow in spots, making it very wet and messy in certain spots. Also, there is some fairly thick grasses and underbrush, so losing your disc after a long downhill shot is definitely a possibility.
Other Thoughts: Kirkwood is definitely out of the way if you are in the Tahoe, but if you are there in Aug-Sept, make the hour drive and check it out. Its pretty cool.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.