Kirkwood, CA
Kirkwood Mountain Resort Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #13
3 / 340ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun mountain golf

1    9/22/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays up and down a set of beginner level ski runs and through the woods in between. Though I would prefer a little more wooded golf, there were enough technical shots to keep things interesting. Several holes had baskets tucked into the woods or tight enough shots that you really did have to shape a line. The holes in or near the woods had enough rough that you will have to be somewhat creative on your recovery shot after an errant drive.

The elevation is used really well here. There's a great balance of tough uphill holes and payoff downhill shots including the last three holes which make for a very fun finish to the round. There are several places where the pin offers rollaway potential or you're shooting across elevation so a bad shot can fade way down the hill. There's pretty good distance variety throughout. The views are incredible, and despite some weeds the course was maintained pretty well for a ski hill setting.
Cons: Signage would go a long way here. With nothing above ground, it can be a little tricky to find your way to the next tee especially if it's early or late in the season and there's a little snow on the ground. It also makes it tough to know where to throw on a few blind holes (and when it means a big uphill hike you don't really want to run ahead to scout on some of them).

The course is just a little open for my tastes. The fun factor is still very high with the great elevation but that's the major thing that keeps it from a higher rating in my book.
Other Thoughts: Beginners might be a bit intimidated by the big hike and the chance for some long walks to retrieve errant shots. More experienced players won't get a real workout for their technical game, but it's definitely a cool place to play with some tough elevation to contend with. I highly recommend a trip here if you're in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

WOW

1    7/1/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: nickrew1
Played: 69  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Incredible views and stunning elevation change.
Solitude- Did not see any other groups the entire Sunday that we played.
FREE
Wildlife- Need I say more
Cons: Hard to find hole one- It is right by charlift #9
Map- The map is not entirely accurate, finding tee pads can be difficult.
The walk to hole #9 is long and confusing
Other Thoughts: This is sort of a hidden gem in the Tahoe area, as many people do not want to drive 30 mins to play this when there is soo many other options around the lake. This has elevation and danger on many holes, including a 1200' downhill smash. Relatively easy to find your discs, especially when compared to Squaw Valley. This is a must play, just be prepared to do a little searching for the holes. Enjoy the solitude and smash some birdies!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful & Technical

2-4    6/15/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: MrAnderson7
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the most beautiful courses you will play at for sure. Snowmelt creeks running all over, so lots of places for dogs to get water (although they are almost gone already due to the dry winter). There is a large variety of shots and terrain - short uphill tree shots, long downhill curve shots, and everything in between. Each hole is challenging enough to be rewarding when played well, but not too daunting for beginners. Rubber tee pads and decent trails.
Cons: A bit of a drive from most places - although this could be a pro since it is usually deserted. The tee pads are a bit too small/confined in some places, so players who like a big run up will have to start on a slope. The course is hard to navigate your first time there, so make sure you grab a map or go with someone who has played there before.
Other Thoughts: This has probably already been mentioned, but it's hard to figure out where to start. Turn into the lot on your right that is adjacent to the Timber Creek lodge. The tee pad is right by the northernmost chairlift. BRING BUG SPRAY.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Difficult to HIt Par But Fun

1    9/10/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: erikc64
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation challenges from tee to basket were a great change from a lot of my time spent on valley courses. The scenery was amazing this time of year. Dry conditions, very few mosquitoes, everything that could grow and bloom was doing so all at once. Great fun on the par 5 1200' hole near the end. I was surprised that no one else was up there.
Cons: Not to fun in sandals. Wear boots or solid walking shoes. I can imagine it being too wet any earlier in the season and too cold any later. I think we hit it on the perfect weekend. The baskets and tees were not always where indicated. We just played through and made our best guess. Time was spent walking from the tee to where you thought the basket should be, searching around until you found it, and then walking back down to throw.
Other Thoughts: This course appeared daunting but was not so upon reflection. I am out of shape and heavy but I got around by taking little steps and taking my time. It took us almost 4 hours to get through 18 holes. It is very dry no matter the temperature so take lots of water. My six year old caddy thought it was a blast also. He slept all the way home. Bad copilot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Stunning Views!

1    9/10/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: gwillim
Played: 154  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 12.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-The views at Kirkwood Mountain Resort probably top any other disc golf course I have played.
-Course design is intuitive and flows quite well.
-Rubber tees are adequate for summer alpine disc golf.
-Innova Discatchers help provide visibility in the high desert/alpine environment.
-Great shot variety between uphill, downhill, traverse, and left/right hooks.
-Holes are challenging, but not as unforgiving as chairlift mountain golf.
-Trails from basket to next tee were helpful, yet unmarked.
-Kirkwood General store open for snacks, drinks, a small amount of discs, and course maps.
-The resorts main entrance sign has a disc golf symbol on it right next to the skiing and hiking signs!
-Restrooms available at General Store. (on the mountain, you're on your own)
-Course maps with scorecard on back help with navigation.
-Course is free to play, which is rare for a private mountain resort course!
-Some really cool basket locations, inside of stumps, on fallen logs, etc.
-Benches on most holes to rest if need be.
Cons:
-No tee signs at tee pads. Some holes have little metal plaques with hole number and distance, but at least 1/3 were missing.
-Signage leading to next tee would be helpful. Walking uphill in the wrong direction is a big bummer for mountain golf.
-Hole 11's teepad was pretty iffy, not made of the same material as the rest of the tees.
Other Thoughts:
Kirkwood Mountain Resort is a fantastic mountain course. Driving through the main entrance and noticing that they acknowledge disc golf with it's own symbol right next to the skiing and hiking gave me a really good feeling. I only wish they had a t-shirt with their disc golf logo on it for me. I asked the lady at the general store and she said they might do t-shirts for next year!

The course itself is definitely all mountain, and starting at just over 7800' things are pretty fun, pretty hard, and pretty rough. Hiking boots and long pants are a good idea, but not 100% necessary. The main selling point for the course is the scenery. The course is set on the the side of the mountain giving you fantastic views of the surrounding mountains, with beautiful rock outcroppings and sheer rock walls.

Other than scenery, the course design is quite good as well. The thing to remember is that this is not Chairlift style mountain golf. You have to climb up, in order to shoot down. This will probably frustrate a lot of people. Some of the holes are steep enough that they should almost be par 4s. But then again, after you're down climbing up, you are rewarded with throwing down. The 1200' par 5 is pretty awesome considering it's actually a placement shot hole. After that you get to throw a +600' hole straight down the mountain with little in the way.

Bring some water, two or three granola bars, and a camera. This is a must play course if you are visiting Tahoe or the surrounding area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.