Midwest City, OK 
Kiwanis Park Share
Uploaded By: rd.bittle Hole #4 (Taken 1/2013)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Playable Neighborhood Course

1    1/10/2013   1/10/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets (seem to catch fine)
A few lines to hit
Creek-OB comes into play on several holes
A little challenge
Decent to work on mids with a few drivers worked in
Good for family/newbies
Playground for the kids
Plenty of benches/picnic tables
Clean
Plenty of parking
Well kept
Not crowded when I played

Favorite Hole(s): #6
Cons: Baskets need a little work/bigger numbers
Dirt tees get muddy
Lots of bare ground that gets muddy
No signage whatsoever
Tees are hard to find.
Plays across the walking path several times (not a big deal to me, it wasn't busy)
Plays around a pavillion, a soccer field, and numerous picnic areas. Could cause people problems.
Not much challenge
Several holes seem repetetive
Navigation isn't easy (thanks cap-tan for the directions)
Seems a little short but not too bad
Not a lot of variety
Almost no risk/reward
I didn't notice any restrooms
Other Thoughts: This is a well kept, clean course to play if you need a quick nine holes. I wouldn't recommend driving very far to play it. If I lived in the neighborhood I would probably play it often for decent practice. Several tees could be moved slightly and tee of of the concrete walking path. Not a horrible course just not a great amount of fun. With a little work this would be a decent course.

If you are going through the area and need a quick nine swing by. Other than that don't bother.

My "disc rating" is based heavily on fun factor which this course didn't have much of. I then adjust it up or down a little based on amenities which this course had little of.


PM me and tell me how I can improve on my reviews to be more "helpful."

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Course

5+    5/14/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: Cap-Tan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's right down the street from my house haha
Cons: Crappy baskets, tees are difficult to find, alot of kids and other public obstacles and dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: The first tee is located at the south end of the park next to the pavilion and the basket is to the west next to the creek, the second tee box is in the far southwest corner next to a fence, the basket is located to the north next to the creek(past the first basket on the left), from the 2nd basket go straight west and there is the 3rd tee, the 3rd basket is straight north from there. the 4th tee is to the west of the 3rd basket next to the fence with the 3 dogs in the back yard, this is where you shoot over the soccer field to the north towards the large tree, the basket is right next to it. the 5th tee box is in the far northwest corner and the basket is located to the south east between 2 trees(south of the pavilion)from that basket the 6th tee box is to the south west, and the 6th basket is to the south next to the creek. the 7th tee box is to the east across the creek and the basket is at the far north east corner of the park, after that basket go back south and across the creek there is a bald spot where you tee off for 8. the 8th basket is behind the big annoying bush to the north of the public restrooms. continue south to the end of the ramp with the handrail and that is the 9th tee box next to the tree. the 9th basket is located to the south behind a small(but annoying)tree. if those directions are too confusing, follow a local. we know the course very well.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Excellence

5+    3/15/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: brandOWNage
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice practice and nice variety of holes.
Cons: The little cement creeks and gravel trail will tear up your discs. Sometimes there is a soccer game in the middle of hole 4. Tees are a bit difficult to find if you don't know where you are going.
Other Thoughts: I play this several times a week and it's a little slice of perfection :-)

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 There are baskets......

1    4/18/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: kc135golfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has baskets and is open with little hazards. Park is kept clean.
Cons: A friend and I found this course very confusing. There is almost no signs of any kind to let you know what basket you are throwing to. We were only able to find 2 markers for tee boxes. The rest of the round consisted of us making up our own holes and just denoting a bare spot in the grass as the tee box.
Other Thoughts: While I would not recommend this course in any way it does offer new players a chance to just get used to throwing at a basket. If Midwest City would just put a little effort time and effort into the course it would be a viable quick 9 durring lunch.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Does not compare...

2-4    9/25/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: JM@nD1ng0
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The only good things about this course are: 1) There are holes, 2) There are obstacles, 3) I found a disc on it once.
Cons: The many this wrong with it are: 1) Each hole seems to be 100-200ft; not even enough for a decent drive, 2) There are no Tee locations, 3) There are no designated flight paths, 4) There are WAY too many public obstacles, i.e. kids running every whichway, people just out walking, birthday parties, close housing/roadways to holes, etc. 5) The baskets' rims are too narrow, 6) The baskets' chain-diameters are not wide enough, 7) The baskets are not well marked, 8) The wind through that area is unhindered and brutal
Other Thoughts: On a lighter note, the people inhabiting the outlining houses are kind enough to return over-/miss-thrown discs

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Side Trip to Kiwanis

1    10/1/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: Daveharvey83
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is very clean park/course. There is a playground nearby and within sign of every basket. The parking is easy and plentiful on both sides of the park. The baskets are present and in ok condition.
Cons: My biggest issue is the fact that this course has public obstacles throughout. Picnic tables, the playground, and a running/walking path. There were a few times that I had to wait to drive because of people walking around. The baskets are all marked and the situation with the tee's are worse. I couldn't find all the starting points during the game.
Other Thoughts: I wish that this course was in the park near my house. This can be a great practice course for putting and short drives.

As for the tee pads, look for out of place dirt patches in the logical places for starting points. This helped me alot. Oh and also, tee #1 is on the cement next to the brick wall. I didn't see this till after my game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Whatever

1    10/2/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are baskets here. The park is very clean and well manicured. It is a very cool park right off of the road and it has good elevation. Safari golf is the only thing that I see is possible here which is what I did for the most part, therefore you can throw any shot that you feel like, ranging from your short game to the long one. There is a park for the kids to play in if you want to get them out of the house while you play.
Cons: The baskets are poor at best. The navigation is impossible, I only found one set of bricks on the entire course. Some of the baskets arent numbered so you dont really know where to go. There are parkgoers everywhere which gets kind of interesting at times.
Other Thoughts: There is lots of potential here if they would just mark some tees. I dont think it is worth the drive off of the interstate to play here and barely worth it to add to the course count.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice starter course

5+    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: mikeb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Light traffic as far as other players goes, never crowded. Good course for learning. As others have mentioned, a good place to just make up your own holes or stand at one basket and practice putting for a while. Restrooms. Water accessibility on the north and south ends of the course. Snow cone stand for those hot summer months.
Cons: It is in a city park, so you have to deal with people walking through your flight path. The course is hard to follow if you don't know where the bricks are. The baskets are pretty bad, but if you can play them well, you can play about any basket. No alt pads, no pads at all for that matter.
Other Thoughts: My understanding is that hole number 9 starts at the end of the sidewalk leading from the restrooms to the playground area directly to the left of the big tree. There is one brick there that is well out of the ground and others there half buried in similar fashion to the other markers.

Note: when playing hole number one it is a good idea to scan the area for other people before throwing since you have to throw around the pavilion; taking someone else with you and "spotting" for each other works fine.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Kiwanis

5+    3/27/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: B-Steve
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is an excellent course for practice. People play it all kinds of ways beacuse they dont realize there are bricks in the ground. Every hole but 5 has bricks. And hole 5 got a basket back up. You can work on every part of your game there. Hole one is marked with 2 white dashes right by the big pavilion. Hole 9 is marked with one white dash one the concrete pad the little cazeebo is setting on in the middle of the park.
Cons: Theres really not that many cons. I live in the neighborhood right beside the park and play there every day. Very seldom is anyone in my way. And if they are its usually just a person walking or jogging and they are out of your way within a few seconds.
Other Thoughts: I play the course almost every day so if you wanna throw a round and learn the real layout of the course just shoot me an email at sbrando02@yahoo.com

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Practice

6/25/2008   7/9/2008
Review By: SoonerDisc
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: They have most of the baskets. Good practice course.
Cons: No identifiable tees. flight paths around kids

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.