Mitchell, SD 
Kiwanis Woodlot Park Share
Uploaded By: Naps Hole #2 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 227ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Gets Repetitive Quickly...

1    7/5/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: -Nice baskets that catch well
-Good concrete tee-pads. The tee-pads are not too long, but for the length of this course they work fine.
-The course is very easy to navigate. Tee-pads are close to the last basket and the flow of the course makes sense. You won't spend very much time looking for the next tee-pads.
-There are lots of ace runs on this course
-This is a very good course for beginners. None of the holes are very long or hard and a beginner would have a good time on this course.
-Well groomed park, which is a pleasant place for a round.
-Good map that features the hole distances on the kiosk at the start of the course.
-The trees are grown in enough to add a little punishment on bad shots (but the course still isn't overly challenging).
Cons: -Very small park area. Holes are very close to each other. If there are a lot of people out on this course, it would be wise to keep an eye out for incoming discs and other players.
-No tee-signs
-This course has a lot of safety issues. Hole 7 tees off right next to a play ground and an errant ricochet of a tree could easily hit the playground. The basket for 9 is also pretty close to the play ground and a shot that goes long could land in the playground. The course also plays really close to several roads. Keep an eye out for cars before throwing.
-This course feels like the same shot nine times. It is basically a straight shot down a fairway lined by trees. It doesn't really feel like there is any variation in the holes, except for a slight change in distances. The course got boring quite quickly.
-Not much variation in distance. All of the holes are under 300 feet and most of them are under 250 feet.
-There is really no elevation on this course at all.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for beginners but experience players will get bored pretty quickly. I felt like the area this course sits in was a little small for nine holes. I feel like a smaller course of about 6 holes could utilize this land better. This course is good for beginners or a very quick round. If you have the time for a full round though, the other course in Mitchell, Dry Creek Run, is much better.

 Nice little course by the lake.

5+    4/27/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: Naps
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
Pros: Often the park is empty.
Easy to follow course with views of the lake.
Numbered baskets and cement tees.
Variety of throws needed to avoid trees.
Bathroom, drinking fountains, picnic area and benches.
Well maintained grounds, generally clean.
Cons: The playground is close but not too close.
A little tight when a few groups are playing.
Other Thoughts: For a town the size of Mitchell, it's great that they have 2 courses. This is the smaller course, but for a quick round it's fun in a low key, easy going way.
I play here often, and when I'm the only player it's a very peaceful experience. I've never lost a disc here. Not meant to be super difficult, for me this is the place to just enjoy tossing a disc.

 Fun Short 9

2-4    6/12/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: JoseP
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Map
bathrooms
water
Nice tee pads
Baskets in good condition
Wells maintained park (no overgrown crap to lose your disc in unless you grip-lock real bad)
Great course to host an Ace Race at!
Very very aceable course
Cons: Too short of a course to make it challenging at all
Always throwing into other players lines
Can be a bit confusing if you don't have a picture of the hole layout
Playground very close to #9 basket
Other Thoughts: My friends and I had a great time in this fun little course as everyone was able to compete for the low scores since a bog arm was not a necessity. Had to take a little off a few times due to kids in the playground area. Would love to attend an Ace Race here as you can see everything that's going on throughout the whole course. Long 18 hole course in town is great if you want a challenge but this one is great for fun short rounds.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Scary Pitch And Putt Across From The Cemetery!

1    7/14/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is just your basic little neighborhood pitch & putt. It's squeezed into a fairly small park. There is a map atthe start. The baskets are OK. The pads are large concrete ones. Hole lengths range from short of 168' to the longest at 297'. There's enough mature trees here to give you a little challenge.
Cons: It's relatively flat. With six of the holes are 227' or shorter, it certainly qualifies as a pitch & putt. Don't bring your driver.
Other Thoughts: I arrived in Mitchell after 8:30 on a July night and rushed over to squeeze this course in before it got dark. It was dusky when I teed off on # 1 and getting darker by the minute. By the time I had reached # 8, it was almost too dark to see the basket or locate my discs. However, the # 8 fairway is right across the street from this cemetery, and this cemetary was all lit up with these little red, blue and green lights. Kind of like Christmas in July. Actually it kinda creeped me out! It just gave me another reason beside the impending darkness to try and finish my nine quickly.


My advice is to play this course in the daylight!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Small but alright

1    10/10/2010   1/19/2011
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 347  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A few elevation changes make for interesting putting on a few holes.
-Baskets in good shape.
-Map at the beginning.
-Mature trees for obstacles.
-Large cement tees.
-Aces!
-Bathroom, drinking fountain and garbage cans near the start.
-Good for a quick round.
Cons: -Fairly small and crammed.
-Easy to confuse baskets
-Playground is too close for comfort.
-No signage on each hole.
-Not too long or many variations in distance.
-A few pieces of garbage on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is a pretty average city park course. They did what they could with the available land which wasn't much. The other course in Mitchell is much better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/20/2008   10/1/2009
Review By: justindfpr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: ....
Cons: Dangerous course. 6 or 7 of the holes cramped into a very small space. Every hole is aceable. Most of the first holes are black aceable.
Other Thoughts: I did not have fun at this course. The only reason I kept playing it is that I was just killing time and didn't know where the other course was.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.