Mitchell, SD
Kiwanis Woodlot Park Share



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Short 9

2-4    6/12/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: JoseP
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Map
bathrooms
water
Nice tee pads
Baskets in good condition
Wells maintained park (no overgrown crap to lose your disc in unless you grip-lock real bad)
Great course to host an Ace Race at!
Very very aceable course
Cons: Too short of a course to make it challenging at all
Always throwing into other players lines
Can be a bit confusing if you don't have a picture of the hole layout
Playground very close to #9 basket
Other Thoughts: My friends and I had a great time in this fun little course as everyone was able to compete for the low scores since a bog arm was not a necessity. Had to take a little off a few times due to kids in the playground area. Would love to attend an Ace Race here as you can see everything that's going on throughout the whole course. Long 18 hole course in town is great if you want a challenge but this one is great for fun short rounds.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Scary Pitch And Putt Across From The Cemetery!

1    7/14/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is just your basic little neighborhood pitch & putt. It's squeezed into a fairly small park. There is a map atthe start. The baskets are OK. The pads are large concrete ones. Hole lengths range from short of 168' to the longest at 297'. There's enough mature trees here to give you a little challenge.
Cons: It's relatively flat. With six of the holes are 227' or shorter, it certainly qualifies as a pitch & putt. Don't bring your driver.
Other Thoughts: I arrived in Mitchell after 8:30 on a July night and rushed over to squeeze this course in before it got dark. It was dusky when I teed off on # 1 and getting darker by the minute. By the time I had reached # 8, it was almost too dark to see the basket or locate my discs. However, the # 8 fairway is right across the street from this cemetery, and this cemetary was all lit up with these little red, blue and green lights. Kind of like Christmas in July. Actually it kinda creeped me out! It just gave me another reason beside the impending darkness to try and finish my nine quickly.


My advice is to play this course in the daylight!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Small but alright

1    10/10/2010   1/19/2011
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A few elevation changes make for interesting putting on a few holes.
-Baskets in good shape.
-Map at the beginning.
-Mature trees for obstacles.
-Large cement tees.
-Aces!
-Bathroom, drinking fountain and garbage cans near the start.
-Good for a quick round.
Cons: -Fairly small and crammed.
-Easy to confuse baskets
-Playground is too close for comfort.
-No signage on each hole.
-Not too long or many variations in distance.
-A few pieces of garbage on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is a pretty average city park course. They did what they could with the available land which wasn't much. The other course in Mitchell is much better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/20/2008   10/1/2009
Review By: justindfpr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: ....
Cons: Dangerous course. 6 or 7 of the holes cramped into a very small space. Every hole is aceable. Most of the first holes are black aceable.
Other Thoughts: I did not have fun at this course. The only reason I kept playing it is that I was just killing time and didn't know where the other course was.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.